Supreme Court (trial level)

171 no-fault decisions in our database, 2004–2026, each with a short summary. Most recent: July 9, 2026.

By county: New York County 58 · Kings County 38 · Nassau County 35 · Queens County 18 · Bronx County 7 · Suffolk County 6 · Rockland County 1 · Schenectady County 1 · Saratoga County 1 · Albany County 1 · Putnam County 1 · Westchester County 1 · Ulster County 1 · Schoharie County 1 · Otsego County 1

Decisions per year
  1. 9
  2. 6
  3. 9
  4. 8
  5. 16
  6. 14
  7. 1
  8. 5
  9. 7
  10. 7
  11. 2
  12. 3
  13. 5
  14. 4
  15. 6
  16. 3
  17. 12
  18. 6
  19. 10
  20. 20
  21. 6
  22. 3
  23. 9

Latest decisions

Trial court, Second Department Jul 9, 2026 2026 NY Slip Op 51108(U) Insurer prevailed

Rahman v Allstate Ins. Servs., Inc.

A SUM insurer's statutory notice duty does not require advising insureds to purchase additional coverage. The Supreme Court, Rockland County, granted the insurer summary judgment dismissing the insureds' breach-of-contract and negligence claims. The contract claim was barred by the six-year statute of limitations, applying the reasoning of an earlier dismissal involving the insurance agents. That earlier ruling did not resolve the insurer's separate statutory duties under the law-of-the-case doctrine. Nevertheless, the SUM endorsement and declaration pages satisfied Insurance Law § 3420 (f) (2) (A) by providing the required definitions, availability and coverage-limit information. The policy required the insureds to contact an agent if they wanted additional SUM coverage, and they raised no material factual issue.

Trial court, Third Department May 29, 2026 2026 NY Slip Op 50905(U) Provider prevailed

Palisades Ins. Co. v Boodram

The insurer failed to show likely success on its address-misrepresentation defense because it alleged only that the premium would have been higher. The Supreme Court, Schenectady County, denied a preliminary injunction against benefit litigation and arbitration and dissolved the temporary restraining order in the insurer's declaratory judgment action. Under Insurance Law § 3105 (b), materiality required a showing that truthful disclosure would have led the insurer to refuse the contract. The insurer did not allege that it would have declined coverage had it known the insureds' true residence. The court separately granted the insurer's unopposed motion under CPLR 3025 (b) to add provider defendants, finding the amendment meritorious and nonprejudicial.

Trial court, Second Department Mar 26, 2026 2026 NY Slip Op 50401(U) Provider prevailed

Matter of Liberty Mut. Fire Ins. Co. v Segal

A staged-collision defense does not excuse CPLR 7503 (c)'s 20-day deadline to seek a stay of uninsured motorist arbitration. The Supreme Court, Kings County, denied the insurer's petition for a permanent or temporary stay and dismissed the proceeding. Following Matter of Allstate Ins. Co. v Rosado, alleged intentional conduct concerned conditions of coverage, not the existence of an agreement to arbitrate. The untimely filing also barred court-directed discovery. Independently, hearsay and unauthenticated materials failed to establish sufficient evidentiary facts for a framed-issue hearing. An incorrect policy number did not justify a stay because the insurer was not misled and no evidence linked the error to its delay.

Trial court, Second Department Mar 13, 2026 2026 NY Slip Op 50312(U) Insurer prevailed

Matter of Sampilov v Motor Veh. Acc. Indem. Corp.

The injured claimant failed to establish timely reporting of a hit-and-run accident or an excuse for reporting it 12 days later. On a renewed motion for leave to sue MVAIC under Insurance Law § 5218, the claimant submitted an MV-104 report, efforts to locate surveillance footage, and an affirmation describing the claimant's condition after the accident. The Supreme Court, Kings County, denied the motion and dismissed the proceeding. Insurance Law § 5208 (a) (2) required reporting within 24 hours unless reporting was not reasonably possible or occurred as soon as reasonably possible. The claimant's submissions did not establish an excuse. MVAIC's acknowledgment of qualified-person status concerned only no-fault benefits, not non-economic loss. No triable factual issue required an evidentiary hearing under CPLR 410.

Trial court, Second Department Feb 13, 2026 2026 NY Slip Op 26033 Split result

ENS Med., P.C. v Nationwide Ins. Co.

A provider may arbitrate a claim for lost earnings incurred in attending an insurer-demanded EUO. Insurance Law § 5106 (b) encompasses reimbursement disputes arising from claim verification, and 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (e) requires reimbursement. The Supreme Court, Kings County, nevertheless denied vacatur and confirmed the master arbitration award rejecting the provider's claim for lack of arbitral jurisdiction: that interpretation was plausible, and legal error alone did not warrant vacatur under CPLR article 75. The court ordered the American Arbitration Association to modify its request form and deemed service proper nunc pro tunc, but denied mandamus to compel the Superintendent to promulgate procedures because rulemaking was discretionary, without reaching the CPLR article 78 objection. Attorney's fees were denied; the court deemed the interest and fee issue academic.

Trial court, Second Department Feb 6, 2026 2026 NY Slip Op 50180(U) Insurer prevailed

American Tr. Ins. Co. v Bronx Chiropractic Assoc.

A master arbitrator's affirmance of a no-fault award of at least $5,000 permits a de novo action under Insurance Law § 5106 (c). The Supreme Court, Kings County, denied the provider's motion to dismiss the insurer's de novo action. The provider argued that the master arbitrator merely affirmed the hearing arbitrator's award and did not independently award the statutory minimum. The court rejected that interpretation as an unreasonable restriction of the statute. De novo adjudication is available when the master arbitration determination results in an obligation to pay at least $5,000 in no-fault benefits, exclusive of interest and attorney fees, whether the master arbitrator affirms, reverses, or modifies.

Most-cited decisions

By the number of decisions in our database that cite them.

  1. American Tr. Ins. Co. v Right Choice Supply, Inc. (2023) · cited by 13

    A no-fault arbitrator need not apply summary judgment rules requiring a provider's medical evidence to specifically rebut an insurer's peer review.

  2. Canarsie Med. Health, P.C. v National Grange Mut. Ins. Co. (2008) · cited by 9

    The interest suspension in 11 NYCRR 65-3.9 (c) is consistent with Insurance Law § 5106 (a).

  3. Gokey v Blue Ridge Ins. Co. (2009) · cited by 6

    Overdue no-fault benefits bear simple interest at two percent per month under 11 NYCRR 65-3.9 (a).

  4. St. Paul Travelers Ins. Co. v Nandi (2007) · cited by 6

    An insurer obtained preliminary injunctions against acupuncture collection suits based on evidence of provider licensing defects.

  5. Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co. v Inwood Hill Med., P.C. (2005) · cited by 5

    An injured claimant's failure to attend EUOs and IMEs rebuts presumed medical necessity but permits the provider to prove necessity at trial.

  6. Kemper Independence Ins. Co. v Accurate Monitoring, LLC (2021) · cited by 4

    An insurer must provide specific objective justification for an EUO when the claimant requests it during claims verification.

  7. Country-Wide Ins. Co. v Delacruz (2021) · cited by 4

    The insurer's EUO no-show summary judgment motion failed for missing timeliness proof and outstanding discovery into justification.

  8. Country-Wide Ins. Co. v Duff (2022) · cited by 3

    An assignor's two unjustified IME nonappearances defeat all providers' claims when the IME was duly scheduled within 15 days of an NF-3 claim's receipt.

  9. Unitrin Advantage Ins. Co. v Dowd (2020) · cited by 3

    An insurer may deny claims for EUO nonappearance only where its EUO request was timely as to those claims.

  10. American Tr. Ins. Co. v Curry (2013) · cited by 3

    The insurer failed to justify its EUO request or offer admissible proof of the injured claimant's nonappearance.

Later reversed, vacated, modified or overruled 6

Labels assigned by a language model reading the later decision and checked by a second reader.

Issues decided most often

Timeliness and preclusion 51 Discovery and procedure 45 CPLR article 75 (arbitration awards) 39 Policy issues 30 Verification requests 22 Interest and attorney fees 21 Defaults and vacatur 19 Declaratory judgment, res judicata 17 EUO no-show 17 Staged accidents, lack of coverage 16 SUM / uninsured motorist 14 IME no-show 14

Our classification of each decision, from its summary.

Legal questions

Questions on which decisions of this court rule, with the authority map of each.

All decisions by year

2026 9 decisions
2025 3 decisions
2024 6 decisions
2023 20 decisions
2022 10 decisions
2021 6 decisions
2020 12 decisions
2019 3 decisions
2018 6 decisions
2017 4 decisions
2016 5 decisions
2015 3 decisions
2014 2 decisions
2013 7 decisions
2012 7 decisions
2011 5 decisions
2010 1 decision
2009 14 decisions
2008 16 decisions
2007 8 decisions
2006 9 decisions
2005 6 decisions
2004 9 decisions

Headnotes, outcome labels and monthly summaries are our own summaries, not the courts’ words; the decision itself is the authority. Months follow the date a decision was handed down; new decisions are added monthly, so a recent month can still grow.