Appellate Division, First Department

131 no-fault decisions in our database, 2004–2026, each with a short summary. Most recent: July 9, 2026.

Decisions per year
  1. 3
  2. 2
  3. 1
  4. 1
  5. 3
  6. 1
  7. 3
  8. 5
  9. 1
  10. 4
  11. 7
  12. 11
  13. 8
  14. 9
  15. 9
  16. 10
  17. 11
  18. 7
  19. 11
  20. 9
  21. 5
  22. 7
  23. 3

Latest decisions

Appellate Division, First Department Jul 9, 2026 2026 NY Slip Op 04363 Provider prevailed

Matter of American Tr. Ins. Co. v Heyligers

The insurer failed to undermine the arbitrators' conclusions on the IME cut-off date and verification tolling. The Appellate Division, First Department, affirmed denial of the CPLR article 75 petition, although it was timely under CPLR 7511 (a) because it followed required master arbitration review under 11 NYCRR 65-4.10 (a). The arbitrator used the provider's receipt of termination notice as the cut-off; the insurer did not address that ground or reliance on an Insurance Department opinion requiring timely denial. The insurer also failed to challenge findings that requested verification had been supplied and the unanswered request sought previously furnished information. Under 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 (a) (1), the arbitrator reasonably found tolling ended. Both awards had a rational basis.

Appellate Division, First Department Jun 23, 2026 2026 NY Slip Op 03933 Insurer prevailed

Matter of USAA Cas. Ins. Co. v Kastor

The claimant failed to provide the sworn factual notice required for a hit-and-run UM/SUM claim, permitting disclaimer and a permanent stay. The SUM endorsement unambiguously replaced the policy's UM coverage and tracked Insurance Law § 3420 (f) and 11 NYCRR 60-2.3 (f). Counsel's claim letter and sworn NF-2 application did not identify a hit-and-run accident, establish physical contact, or address the offending vehicle's unascertainable identity or efforts to identify it. An accident report supplied over three months after the accident also omitted the hit-and-run characterization, which first appeared in the arbitration demand nearly 11 months later. The Appellate Division, First Department, affirmed the order permanently staying arbitration.

Appellate Division, First Department Apr 2, 2026 2026 NY Slip Op 02035

Matter of Country-Wide Ins. Co. v National Indem. Co.

The responding insurer's post-decision submission of a coverage disclaimer defeated jurisdiction over the loss-transfer arbitration. The petitioning no-fault insurer sought reimbursement under Insurance Law § 5105 after paying its insureds' claims. The other vehicle's insurer had disclaimed because the vehicle was not listed as a covered auto, but submitted its disclaimer to Arbitration Forums Inc. only after the award, through a Post-Decision Inquiry. The Appellate Division, First Department, reversed confirmation, granted vacatur, and dismissed the petition. The submission satisfied AFI rule 3-9 and defeated jurisdiction under AFI rule 2-4. Under 11 NYCRR 65-4.11 (a) (6), the good-faith lack-of-coverage defense made mandatory arbitration inapplicable absent that insurer's specific written consent.

Appellate Division, First Department Dec 2, 2025 2025 NY Slip Op 06648 Provider prevailed

Health E. Ambulatory Surgical Ctr. v Country-Wide Ins. Co.

An insurer's admission in its motion papers that it received the claim may establish a provider's prima facie case at trial. The Appellate Division, First Department, reversed the Appellate Term's order and reinstated the provider's judgment after a nonjury trial. The insurer's admission was admissible without a witness, but its affidavit statements concerning verification requests could not serve as evidence in chief. Although the rule of completeness ordinarily would permit those statements, the insurer made no offer of proof and did not preserve that issue; it also did not argue business-record admissibility. Having conceded that it neither paid nor denied within 30 days, the insurer bore the burden of proving that verification requests were sent, rather than requiring the provider to disprove mailing.

Appellate Division, First Department Oct 30, 2025 2025 NY Slip Op 06022 Insurer prevailed

Hereford Ins. Co. v 21 Century Chiropractic Care

A claimant's failure to subscribe EUO transcripts violates a condition precedent to no-fault coverage and warrants denial of the claim. The Appellate Division, First Department, affirmed the order, insofar as appealed from, granting the insurer summary judgment against the appealing providers. Their arguments concerning contract performance, willfulness, and untimely subscription demands were unpreserved and alternatively rejected. Following Unitrin Advantage Ins. Co. v Bayshore Physical Therapy, PLLC, willfulness principles governing liability policies did not apply. The subscription demands were sent after 9 and 14 business days, within 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (a) and (b)'s 15-business-day period. Subscribed transcripts supplied years later did not establish compliance; 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 (b) (3) permitted denial after 120 days without verification or a valid written excuse.

Appellate Division, First Department Apr 3, 2025 2025 NY Slip Op 02025 Provider prevailed

State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Lifeline Med. Imaging, P.C.

The insurers' EUO-based summary judgment motion was premature because they had not disclosed their objective justification for the EUOs. The insurers sought a declaration of no obligation to pay the provider's bills, alleging nonappearance and refusal to produce a knowledgeable individual. Under 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (e), their criteria for requiring EUOs were essential to the provider's opposition and exclusively within their knowledge and control. They had not fully answered discovery seeking those standards. The Appellate Division, First Department, reversed, denied the motion and vacated the declaration. Whether the no-coverage defense was subject to preclusion remained undecided pending determination of the EUO rationale.

Most-cited decisions

By the number of decisions in our database that cite them.

  1. Unitrin Advantage Ins. Co. v Bayshore Physical Therapy, PLLC (2011) · cited by 129

    An assignor's failure to attend required IMEs permits retroactive denial of no-fault claims regardless of denial timeliness.

  2. American Tr. Ins. Co. v Lucas (2013) · cited by 36

    Failure to attend duly scheduled IMEs voids the policy ab initio and permits retroactive denial of claims regardless of denial timeliness.

  3. Mapfre Ins. Co. of N.Y. v Manoo (2016) · cited by 30

    EUO requests made before receipt of a claim form are not subject to the verification notice requirements of 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 and 65-3.6.

  4. Matter of MVAIC v Interboro Med. Care & Diagnostic PC (2010) · cited by 30

    MVAIC's lack-of-coverage defense is not precluded by failure to pay or deny a no-fault claim within 30 days.

  5. American Tr. Ins. Co. v Longevity Med. Supply, Inc. (2015) · cited by 27

    An insurer seeking summary judgment on an IME no-show must prove compliance with the 30-day period in 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (d).

  6. Hertz Corp. v Active Care Med. Supply Corp. (2015) · cited by 25

    A provider's failure to attend EUOs violates a condition precedent to no-fault coverage and vitiates the policy.

  7. Radiology Resource Network, P.C. v Fireman's Fund Ins. Co. (2004) · cited by 23

    The provider's 68 assigned claims were properly severed because individual issues predominated and a joint trial risked confusion.

  8. American Tr. Ins. Co. v Jaga Med. Servs., P.C. (2015) · cited by 19

    The insurer's summary judgment motion based on the claimant's EUO nonappearance was denied because essential discovery remained outstanding.

  9. Allstate Ins. Co. v Pierre (2014) · cited by 15

    Failure to attend requested EUOs breaches a no-fault coverage condition, regardless of denial timeliness or willfulness.

  10. Allstate Ins. Co. v Belt Parkway Imaging, P.C. (2006) · cited by 15

    Insurers may withhold payment of pre-April 4, 2002 claims from fraudulently incorporated providers under 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (12).

Issues decided most often

Timeliness and preclusion 48 CPLR article 75 (arbitration awards) 41 EUO no-show 32 Discovery and procedure 25 IME no-show 23 Interest and attorney fees 18 Policy issues 12 Fraudulent incorporation (Mallela) 11 Defaults and vacatur 10 Priority, other coverage 9 Verification requests 8 Staged accidents, lack of coverage 8

Our classification of each decision, from its summary.

Legal questions

Questions on which decisions of this court rule, with the authority map of each.

All decisions by year

2026 3 decisions
2025 7 decisions
2024 5 decisions
2023 9 decisions
2022 11 decisions
2021 7 decisions
2020 11 decisions
2019 10 decisions
2018 9 decisions
2017 9 decisions
2016 8 decisions
2015 11 decisions
2014 7 decisions
2013 4 decisions
2012 1 decision
2011 5 decisions
2010 3 decisions
2009 1 decision
2008 3 decisions
2007 1 decision
2006 1 decision
2005 2 decisions
2004 3 decisions

Headnotes, outcome labels and monthly summaries are our own summaries, not the courts’ words; the decision itself is the authority. Months follow the date a decision was handed down; new decisions are added monthly, so a recent month can still grow.