December 10, 2015
Matter of Allstate Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. v New Way Massage Therapy P.C. (2015 NY Slip Op 09184)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/matter-of-allstate-prop-cas-ins-co-v-new-way-massage-therapyp-c-2015-ny-slip-op-09184/
- Decided
- December 10, 2015
- Citation
- 2015 NY Slip Op 09184 · 134 AD3d 495
- Posture
- Article 75 petition
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Distinguished in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- Fraudulent incorporation (Mallela) · Court review of arbitration awards (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Matter of Allstate Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. v New Way Massage Therapy P.C. (2015 NY Slip Op 09184)
| Matter of Allstate Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. v New Way Massage Therapy P.C. |
| 2015 NY Slip Op 09184 [134 AD3d 495] |
| December 10, 2015 |
| Appellate Division, First Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
[*1]
| In the Matter of Allstate Property and Casualty
Insurance Company, Appellant, v New Way Massage Therapy P.C., as Assignee of Nancy Febus, Respondent. |
Bruno, Gerbino & Soriano, LLP, Melville (Mitchell L. Kaufman of counsel), for appellant.
The Geller Law Group, P.C., Brooklyn (Abraham J. Meir of counsel), for respondent.
Order, Supreme Court, New York County (Cynthia S. Kern, J.), entered on or about April 2, 2014, which denied the petition to vacate the award of the master arbitrator, and confirmed the award, unanimously affirmed, with costs.
Whether or not the fee-sharing arrangement at issue constitutes unprofessional conduct (see 8 NYCRR 29.1 [b] [4]), it does not constitute a defense to a no-fault action (compare State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Mallela, 4 NY3d 313, 319 [2005] [“insurance carriers may withhold payment for medical services provided by fraudulently incorporated enterprises to which patients have assigned their claims”]). It is solely a matter for the appropriate state licensing board (see e.g. Necula v Glass, 231 AD2d 457 [1st Dept 1996]; see also H & H Chiropractic Servs., P.C. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co., 47 Misc 3d 1075, 1078 [Civ Ct, Queens County 2015]). Concur—Mazzarelli, J.P., Richter, Manzanet-Daniels and Kapnick, JJ. [Prior Case History: 2014 NY Slip Op 30874(U).]
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On the merits, when may a no-fault insurer withhold payment because unlicensed persons own or control the provider (Mallela)?
This decision: Alleged conduct legally cannot support the ineligibility defense
Held that a fee-sharing arrangement, even if unprofessional conduct, was not a defense to a no-fault claim, unlike fraudulent incorporation, but a matter for the licensing board, so the master arbitrator's award was confirmed.
Of the 17 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 5 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
When does a court vacate, modify or confirm a no-fault arbitrator’s or master arbitrator’s award under CPLR article 75?
This decision: No ground for vacatur or modification shown: the award is confirmed or left in place
Affirmed denial of the insurer's petition and confirmation of the master award because a fee-sharing arrangement, even if unprofessional conduct, is not a defense to a no-fault claim but a matter for the licensing board.
Of the 55 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 34 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Mallela (2005 NY Slip Op 02416) Contrasted (cf., but see)Fraudulently incorporated medical providers are ineligible for no-fault reimbursement under 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (12).
- H & H Chiropractic Servs., P.C. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 25132)Impermissible fee-splitting alone does not violate a licensing requirement or furnish a defense to a no-fault claim.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Andrew Carothers, M.D., P.C. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 04643) DistinguishedAn insurer need not prove common-law fraud to deny reimbursement to a medical corporation improperly controlled by nonphysicians.
- Government Employees Ins. Co. v Mayzenberg (2025 NY Slip Op 06527)An insurer may not deny no-fault reimbursement for alleged professional misconduct short of ceding control to an unlicensed party.
Similar decisions
- Matter of Country-Wide Ins. Co. v Bay Needle Acupuncture, P.C. (2018 NY Slip Op 08238)The insurer's billing-fraud evidence did not establish a Mallela defense exempt from the 30-day denial deadline.
- Matter of Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. v North Shore Family Chiropractic, PC (2019 NY Slip Op 08951)The insurer failed to establish that the assignor was injured in the course of employment and eligible for workers' compensation.
- Matter of Global Liberty Ins. Co. v Professional Chiropractic Care, P.C. (2016 NY Slip Op 04156)A master arbitrator's award was irrational because it ignored the coverage effect of the assignor's failure to attend duly scheduled IMEs. The insurer presented authority establishing that the IME nonappearances rendered the no-fault policy void ab initio.
- Matter of Global Liberty Ins. Co. v Therapeutic Physical Therapy, P.C. (2017 NY Slip Op 01833)An insurer preserves a fee-schedule defense by checking box 18 on the NF-10 denial form to assert noncompliance with the fee schedule.
- Country-Wide Ins. Co. v Valdan Acupuncture, P.C. (2017 NY Slip Op 04068)The insurer failed to establish grounds to vacate an award rejecting its fraudulent incorporation defense.