• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
June 9, 2016

Mapfre Ins. Co. of N.Y. v Manoo (2016 NY Slip Op 04446)

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/mapfre-ins-co-of-n-y-v-manoo-2016-ny-slip-op-04446/

Court
Appellate Division, First Department
Decided
June 9, 2016
Citation
2016 NY Slip Op 04446 · 140 AD3d 468
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Later treatment
Declined to follow in 1, distinguished in 1, contrasted (cf., but see) in 1 and followed in 20 later decisions (see Cited by)
Issues
EUO no-show Timeliness and preclusion Verification requests
Legal questions
No-show defense: insurer's proof · No-show: coverage defense or precludable? · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Cite as
Mapfre Ins. Co. of N.Y. v Manoo, 140 AD3d 468 (1st Dept 2016)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

EUO requests made before receipt of a claim form are not subject to the verification notice requirements of 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 and 65-3.6. The insurer requested the assignor's initial EUO before the provider prepared its claim form. After the claim was submitted, the insurer sent follow-up scheduling letters seven days after each nonappearance, satisfying 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 (b). The assignor never appeared. The Appellate Division, First Department, reversed the order, insofar as appealed from, granted the insurer summary judgment and declared that it owed no payment for the provider's claim. Under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1, nonappearance breached a condition precedent to coverage, without requiring a timely disclaimer. A dissent found the insurer's proof of claim receipt insufficient.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Mapfre Ins. Co. of N.Y. v Manoo (2016 NY Slip Op 04446)

Mapfre Ins. Co. of N.Y. v Manoo
2016 NY Slip Op 04446 [140 AD3d 468]
June 9, 2016
Appellate Division, First Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, August 3, 2016

[*1]

 Mapfre Insurance Company of New York, Appellant,
v
Balgobin Manoo et al., Defendants, and Active Care Medical Supply Corporation, Respondent.

Bruno, Gerbino & Soriano, LLP, Melville (Mitchell L. Kaufman of counsel), for appellant.

The Rybak Firm, PLLC, Brooklyn (Damin J. Toell of counsel), for respondent.

Order, Supreme Court, New York County (Manuel J. Mendez, J.), entered on or about November 13, 2014, which, to the extent appealed from as limited by the briefs, granted the motion of defendant Active Care Medical Supply Corporation (Active Care) to reargue and, upon reargument, denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, reversed on the law, without costs, plaintiff’s motion granted, and it is declared that plaintiff is not obligated to pay Active Care for the claim at issue.

On November 14, 2011, plaintiff’s insured, defendant Balgobin Manoo, was involved in an automobile accident. On or about January 10, 2012, he received treatment from Active Care, at which time he executed an assignment of benefits. Prior thereto, plaintiff had referred Manoo’s claim for no-fault benefits for investigation due to inconsistencies in his statements as to treatment.

The policy’s New York State Mandatory Personal Injury Protection Endorsement required, as a condition precedent, full compliance with the conditions of coverage, which included the insured’s appearance at an examination under oath (EUO), “as may reasonably be required” (see 11 NYCRR 65-1.1). By letter dated February 3, 2012, plaintiff requested an EUO to confirm the facts and circumstances of Manoo’s loss and the treatment he received. The letter, which scheduled the EUO for February 16, was received by Manoo on February 9. Meanwhile, Active Care drafted an NF-3 claim form dated February 7, 2012.

Manoo did not appear on February 16, 2012 for his EUO. By letter dated February 23, 2012, the EUO was rescheduled for March 9, 2012. When Manoo again failed to appear, by letter dated March 16, 2012, the EUO was rescheduled for a third and final date of March 30, 2012. Manoo failed to appear, and plaintiff commenced this action seeking a declaratory judgment that defendants are ineligible to receive no-fault reimbursements due to Manoo’s failure to comply with a condition precedent to coverage under his insurance policy and the no-fault regulations by failing to appear for an EUO.

Supreme Court initially granted plaintiff summary judgment declaring that it was not obligated to provide no-fault coverage to Active Care. However, upon granting reargument, the court denied summary judgment and restored the action. In so ruling, the court held that plaintiff did not establish that its initial February 3, 2012 request for an EUO was made within the time frame set forth in the no-fault implementing regulations, because it submitted no proof as to when it received Active Care’s NF-3 form (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [b] [“Subsequent to the receipt of one or more of the completed verification forms, any additional verification required by the insurer to establish proof of claim shall be requested within 15 business days of receipt of the [*2]prescribed verification forms”]). We now reverse.

Plaintiff made a prima facie showing of its entitlement to summary judgment dismissing Active Care’s claim for first-party no-fault benefits by establishing that it timely and properly mailed the notices for EUOs to Manoo and that Manoo failed to appear at his initial and follow-up EUOs. The record establishes that plaintiff requested Manoo’s initial EUO by letter dated February 3, 2012. Although Active Care’s NF-3 form is dated February 7, 2012, plaintiff was entitled to request the EUO prior to its receipt thereof (see 11 NYCRR 65-1.1; Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 7 Misc 3d 18, 20-21 [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004], affd 35 AD3d 720 [2d Dept 2006]; Life Tree Acupuncture P.C. v Republic W. Ins. Co., 50 Misc 3d 132[A], 2016 NY Slip Op 50023[U] [App Term, 1st Dept 2016]; Alfa Med. Supplies, Inc. v Praetorian Ins. Co., 50 Misc 3d 126[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 51847[U] [App Term, 1st Dept 2015]). The notification requirements for verification requests under 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 and 65-3.6 do not apply to EUOs that are scheduled prior to the insurance company’s receipt of a claim form (see Fogel, 7 Misc 3d at 21; New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. v Bronx Chiropractic Servs, P.C., 2014 NY Slip Op 33210[U] [Sup Ct, NY County 2014]).

Once Active Care presented its claim dated February 7, 2012, plaintiff was required to comply with the follow-up provisions of 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 (b) (see Inwood Hill Med., P.C. v General Assur. Co., 10 Misc 3d 18, 19-20 [App Term, 1st Dept 2005]). Plaintiff established that it fulfilled its obligation under section 65-3.6 (b) by rescheduling Manoo’s EUOs within 10 days of his failure to appear at each scheduled exam (see Arco Med. NY, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co., 37 Misc 3d 136[A], 2012 NY Slip Op 52178[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2012]). The second EUO scheduling letter was sent on February 23, 2012, which was just seven days after the February 16, 2012 nonappearance. The third EUO scheduling letter was sent on March 16, 2012, which was just seven days after the March 9, 2012 nonappearance.

In opposition, Active Care did not raise a triable issue with respect to Manoo’s nonappearance or the mailing or reasonableness of the underlying notices (see Unitrin Advantage Ins. Co. v Bayshore Physical Therapy, PLLC, 82 AD3d 559 [1st Dept 2011], lv denied 17 NY3d 705 [2011]; Easy Care Acupuncture P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co., 49 Misc 3d 137[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 51524[U] [App Term, 1st Dept 2015]).

The failure of a person eligible for no-fault benefits to appear for a properly noticed EUO constitutes a breach of a condition precedent vitiating coverage (see Hertz Corp. v Active Care Med. Supply Corp., 124 AD3d 411 [1st Dept 2015]; Allstate Ins. Co. v Pierre, 123 AD3d 618 [1st Dept 2014]). “There is no requirement to demonstrate that the claims were timely disclaimed since the failure to attend medical exams was an absolute coverage defense” (American Tr. Ins. Co. v Lucas, 111 AD3d 423, 424-425 [1st Dept 2013], citing New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 17 NY3d 586, 593 [2011]).

The dissent believes that Fogel should not be followed because it is inconsistent with settled principles in this Department. Yet the dissent cites no precedent holding that an insurer cannot request an EUO prior to its receipt of a claim form pursuant to 11 NYCRR 65-1.1 and the terms of the policy’s Mandatory Personal Injury Protection Endorsement. As the Second Department explained in Fogel (35 AD3d 720), “The appearance of the insured for IMEs at any time is a condition precedent to the insurer’s liability on the policy (see 11 NYCRR 65-1.1). This conclusion accords with the language of the mandatory endorsement and the interpretation given it by the State Insurance Department, which promulgated the regulations (see 2005 Ops Ins Dept No. 05-02-21 [www.ins.state.ny.us/ogco2005/rg050221.htm; http://www.courts.state.ny.us/reporter/webdocs/no-fault_benefits_cutoff_ date.htm]; 2003 Ops Ins Dept No. 03-02-12 [www.ins.state.ny.us/ogco2003/rg030212.htm; http://www.courts.state.ny.us/reporter/webdocs/failure_to_attend_no_fault_ ime.htm]; 2002 Ops Ins Dept No. 02-04-19 [www.ins.state.ny.us/ogco2002/rg 204121.htm; http://www.courts.state.ny.us/reporter/webdocs/no_faultinsurer_ medicalexaminations.htm])” (id. at 722).

In sum, plaintiff established its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment through evidence that (i) it mailed Manoo the original EUO request in accordance with the policy’s New [*3]York State Mandatory Personal Injury Protection Endorsement, before Active Care prepared its verification; (ii) after Manoo failed to appear at that EUO, and Active Care submitted its verification, plaintiff twice rescheduled the EUO in conformity with the requirements of 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 (b); and (iii) Manoo never appeared for an EUO, a condition precedent to coverage. In opposition, Active Care did not disprove any of these facts. On this record, plaintiff’s failure to tender proof as to the exact date it received Active Care’s verification is immaterial, and the dissent’s position would unduly reward an insured who repeatedly failed to honor his obligation to appear for an EUO under the policy and the Insurance Department regulations. Concur—Tom, J.P., Friedman, Sweeny and Andrias, JJ.

Acosta, J., dissents in a memorandum as follows: I dissent because I believe that plaintiff failed to establish prima facie that it was entitled to a judgment declaring that it had no duty to cover defendant Active Care Medical Supply Corporation’s bills for no-fault medical services rendered to Active Care’s assignor, defendant Manoo, due to Manoo’s failure to appear at examinations under oath (EUOs) (see National Liab. & Fire Ins. Co. v Tam Med. Supply Corp., 131 AD3d 851 [1st Dept 2015]; Unitrin Advantage Ins. Co. v Bayshore Physical Therapy, PLLC, 82 AD3d 559, 560 [1st Dept 2011], lv denied 17 NY3d 705 [2011]).

Although Manoo’s failure to appear for a properly noticed EUO constitutes a breach of a condition precedent vitiating coverage (see Hertz Corp. v Active Care Med. Supply Corp., 124 AD3d 411 [1st Dept 2015]; Allstate Ins. Co. v Pierre, 123 AD3d 618 [1st Dept 2014]), plaintiff failed to tender proof that it received Active Care’s verification. Thus, plaintiff did not demonstrate that it requested Manoo’s EUO subsequent to such receipt within the time prescribed in the Insurance Department Regulations (11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [b] [“(s)ubsequent to the receipt of one or more of the completed verification forms, any additional verification required by the insurer to establish proof of claim shall be requested within 15 business days of receipt of the prescribed verification forms” (emphasis added)]). Plaintiff’s argument that it submitted evidence showing that its request for Manoo’s EUO was made prior to the date of Active Care’s claim is unavailing in the absence of proof of when the claim was received (see id.). Indeed, plaintiff’s motion never disclosed when it received any claim forms whatsoever from either Manoo (Form NF-2) or any medical provider who rendered services to him (Form NF-3). Plaintiff would have this Court ignore 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (b), notwithstanding the long-established rule that “[t]he No-Fault Law is in derogation of the common law and so must be strictly construed” (Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Atlanta Cas. Co., 210 AD2d 210, 211 [2d Dept 1994]; see also Matter of Bayswater Health Related Facility v Karagheuzoff, 37 NY2d 408, 414 [1975]; Pekelnaya v Allyn, 25 AD3d 111, 118 [1st Dept 2005]). To the extent Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (7 Misc 3d 18, 21 [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004], affd 35 AD3d 720 [2d Dept 2006]) holds otherwise, I would not follow it, because it is inconsistent with settled principles in this Department. Plaintiff having failed to establish its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment, it is irrelevant that, as the majority notes, plaintiff rescheduled Manoo’s EUO within 10 days of Manoo’s failing to appear.

Legal questions (3)

Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

No-show defense: insurer's proof

Open the full map

Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?

This decision: Insurer proved mailed, compliant requests and the nonappearance; claimant's answers rejected

Held the insurer proved its no-show defense: the 65-3.5 time frames did not apply to an EUO requested before the claim form was received, follow-ups were sent within 10 days of each nonappearance, and the insured never appeared.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 52
  • Appellate TermApp Term 71
  • Trial courtsTrial 40
2023, Appellate Division: 4 decisions (3 Defense proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2022, Appellate Division: 8 decisions (3 Defense proved, 5 Requests not compliant)2021, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Defense proved)2020, Appellate Division: 4 decisions (3 Defense proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2019, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (1 Defense proved, 1 Mailing not proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2018, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (2 Defense proved, 1 Mailing not proved, 2 Requests not compliant)2017, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Defense proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2016, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (3 Defense proved, 1 Nonappearance not proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2015, Appellate Division: 7 decisions (2 Defense proved, 5 Requests not compliant)2014, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Defense proved)2013, Appellate Division: 4 decisions (3 Defense proved, 1 Mailing not proved)2011, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense proved)2024, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Defense proved)2025, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Defense proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2019, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Mailing not proved, 1 Nonappearance not proved, 1 Triable issue)2018, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense proved)2017, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Nonappearance not proved)2016, Appellate Term: 14 decisions (5 Defense proved, 6 Nonappearance not proved, 1 Requests not compliant, 2 Triable issue)2015, Appellate Term: 12 decisions (11 Defense proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2014, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (6 Defense proved)2013, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (4 Defense proved, 1 Mailing not proved)2012, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (6 Defense proved, 2 Mailing not proved)2011, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (6 Defense proved, 1 Mailing not proved)2010, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Defense proved)2007, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Requests not compliant)2006, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Requests not compliant, 1 Triable issue)2005, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Defense proved, 2 Requests not compliant)2025, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Defense proved)2026, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Defense proved)2020, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Mailing not proved)2022, Trial courts: 8 decisions (2 Defense proved, 1 Mailing not proved, 1 Nonappearance not proved, 4 Requests not compliant)2021, Trial courts: 6 decisions (3 Defense proved, 2 Requests not compliant, 1 No-show excused)2020, Trial courts: 7 decisions (1 Mailing not proved, 6 Requests not compliant)2019, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense proved)2018, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Defense proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2015, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense proved)2014, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Defense proved, 1 Nonappearance not proved)2013, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Defense proved, 2 Nonappearance not proved)2009, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense proved)2007, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Requests not compliant)2024, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Requests not compliant)2025, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Mailing not proved, 1 Nonappearance not proved)2026, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Mailing not proved)2005, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense proved)2023, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense proved)This decision
20052010201520202025
Defense provedMailing not provedNonappearance not provedRequests not compliantTriable issueNo-show excusedThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followedDistinguished or limited

Of the 163 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 92 (this one included) are in the same category. 5 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.

No-show: coverage defense or precludable?

Open the full map

Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?

This decision: No-show voids coverage; insurer need not show a timely denial (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)

Held the EUO no-show a breach of a condition precedent vitiating coverage, so the insurer had no requirement to show the claims were timely disclaimed because nonattendance was an absolute coverage defense.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 12
  • Appellate TermApp Term 13
  • Trial courtsTrial 11
2021, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Coverage defense)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Coverage defense)2018, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Coverage defense, 1 Precludable: denial lacking)2016, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Coverage defense)2014, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Coverage defense)2013, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Coverage defense)2011, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Coverage defense)2024, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Coverage defense)2025, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Coverage defense)2016, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Coverage defense)2015, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (6 Coverage defense)2014, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Coverage defense)2013, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Coverage defense)2005, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Precludable: denial lacking)2021, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Coverage defense)2019, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Coverage defense)2015, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Precludable: denial lacking)2014, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Coverage defense, 2 Precludable: denial timely)2013, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Coverage defense)2024, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Precludable: denial timely)2005, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Precludable: denial timely)2023, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Coverage defense)This decision
20052010201520202025
Coverage defensePrecludable: denial lackingPrecludable: denial timelyThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 36 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 29 (this one included) are in the same category. 4 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.

Proof of mailing

Open the full map

Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?

This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)

Held the insurer established that it timely and properly mailed the EUO notices to the insured, whose receipt of the first letter was also shown.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 20
  • Appellate TermApp Term 94
  • Trial courtsTrial 36
2015, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2023, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2022, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2019, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer failed to prove)2018, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2016, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2015, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing)2014, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2013, Appellate Division: 4 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2024, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2017, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing)2016, Appellate Term: 12 decisions (12 Insurer proved mailing)2015, Appellate Term: 18 decisions (14 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove)2014, Appellate Term: 14 decisions (11 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2013, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2012, Appellate Term: 15 decisions (11 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider failed to prove)2011, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (7 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2010, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2008, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing)2007, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Provider failed to prove)2006, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove)2004, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2025, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2026, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2005, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2020, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer failed to prove)2022, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2021, Trial courts: 6 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2020, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider failed to prove)2019, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2018, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2013, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2009, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2008, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2007, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2024, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2025, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing)2026, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove)2005, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Mixed rulings)2006, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2023, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)This decision
20052010201520202025
Insurer proved mailingInsurer failed to proveProvider proved mailingProvider failed to proveTriable issue on mailingMixed rulingsThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 151 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 104 (this one included) are in the same category. 4 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24527) FollowedA proven failure to attend a reasonably requested preclaim IME, timely raised in a denial, does not alone warrant dismissal.
  • Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604) FollowedAn insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
  • Life Tree Acupuncture P.C. v Republic W. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50023(U))An insurer may request IMEs before receiving a provider's claim forms under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
  • Alfa Med. Supplies, Inc. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51847(U))An insurer may request IMEs before receiving claim forms and deny claims retroactively when the assignor fails to appear.
  • Inwood Hill Med., P.C. v General Assur. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25437) FollowedAn injured person's failure to attend reasonably requested IMEs breaches a condition precedent to no-fault coverage.
  • Arco Med. NY, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 52178(U))The insurer's proof of timely EUO notices, nonappearance, and denial defeated the provider's summary judgment cross motion.
  • Unitrin Advantage Ins. Co. v Bayshore Physical Therapy, PLLC (2011 NY Slip Op 01948)An assignor's failure to attend required IMEs permits retroactive denial of no-fault claims regardless of denial timeliness.
  • Easy Care Acupuncture P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51524(U))An insurer may request IMEs before a provider submits claim forms under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
  • Hertz Corp. v Active Care Med. Supply Corp. (2015 NY Slip Op 00212) FollowedA provider's failure to attend EUOs violates a condition precedent to no-fault coverage and vitiates the policy.
  • Allstate Ins. Co. v Pierre (2014 NY Slip Op 08921) FollowedFailure to attend requested EUOs breaches a no-fault coverage condition, regardless of denial timeliness or willfulness.
  • American Tr. Ins. Co. v Lucas (2013 NY Slip Op 07273) FollowedFailure to attend duly scheduled IMEs voids the policy ab initio and permits retroactive denial of claims regardless of denial timeliness.
  • New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 07149)A timely proof of claim does not satisfy the 30-day accident-notice requirement when submitted after that period expires.
  • National Liab. & Fire Ins. Co. v Tam Med. Supply Corp. (2015 NY Slip Op 06763)The insurer failed to establish that it requested the assignor's EUO within the regulatory time frame.

Cited by (30)

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. v Jamaica Wellness Med., P.C. (2018 NY Slip Op 07850) Declined to followAn EUO nonappearance defense is subject to preclusion when the insurer fails to issue a timely denial.
  • Hertz Vehicles, LLC v Best Touch PT, P.C. (2018 NY Slip Op 04854) DistinguishedThe insurer failed to prove timely EUO requests for default relief against providers but established one claimant's failure to sign an EUO. The motion omitted receipt dates for the providers' verification forms and another claimant's application, preventing assessment of the 15-business-day deadline under 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (a) and (b).
  • Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v Carranza (2021 NY Slip Op 50284(U)) Contrasted (cf., but see)The insurers failed to establish timely EUO or IME requests and were denied a default judgment declaring no coverage.
  • Kemper Independence Ins. Co. v Adelaida Physical Therapy, P.C. (2017 NY Slip Op 00916) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish whether its EUO notices were subject to regulatory deadlines or complied with applicable deadlines.
  • Kemper Independence Ins. Co. v Cornerstone Chiropractic, P.C. (2020 NY Slip Op 03876) FollowedClaimants' failure to sign and return EUO transcripts violates a coverage condition precedent and warrants denial of benefits.
  • Hereford Ins. Co. v Lida’s Med. Supply, Inc. (2018 NY Slip Op 03226) FollowedThe insurer's scheduling letters, service affidavits, and medical professionals' affidavits established the claimants' IME nonappearances.
  • State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Surgicore of Jersey City, LLC (2021 NY Slip Op 03536) FollowedThe insurer established entitlement to a default declaration of noncoverage based on a founded belief that the collision was staged.
  • Hertz Vehicles, LLC v Alluri (2019 NY Slip Op 02480) FollowedFailure to attend a properly noticed EUO breaches a condition precedent and vitiates no-fault coverage retroactive to the date of loss.
  • Unitrin Advantage Ins. Co. v Dowd (2020 NY Slip Op 50594(U)) FollowedAn insurer may deny claims for EUO nonappearance only where its EUO request was timely as to those claims.
  • Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v Brutus (2022 NY Slip Op 50799(U)) FollowedAn insurer's material-misrepresentation defense is subject to the 30-day no-fault deadline for paying or denying claims.
Show all 30 citing decisions
  • Town RX Inc. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 51853(U)) Followed
  • American Tr. Ins. Co. v Romero-Richiez (2020 NY Slip Op 51181(U)) Followed
  • MSB Physical Therapy, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. (2021 NY Slip Op 50750(U)) Followed
  • RVA Leasing Corp. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2026 NY Slip Op 51528(U)) Followed
  • RVA Leasing Corp. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2026 NY Slip Op 51527(U)) Followed
  • Quazi R. Med. Servs., PC v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 51784(U)) Followed
  • One RX Chemist, Inc. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 51848(U)) Followed
  • Fyzio PT, PLLC v Ocean Harbor Cas. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 50103(U)) Followed
  • Williams v Kemper Independence Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 50101(U)) Followed
  • State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Equinox Physical Therapy, P.C. (2024 NY Slip Op 05193) Followed
  • Parisien v Travelers Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50396(U)) Followed
  • Alsaad Med., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op50532(U)) Followed
  • American Tr. Ins. Co. v Ferguson (2022 NY Slip Op 50757(U)) Followed
  • Unitrin Advantage Ins. Co. v All of NY, Inc. (2018 NY Slip Op 00810)
  • State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Sweetwater Chiropractic, P.C. (2018 NY Slip Op 51177(U))
  • State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. v Blackburn (2023 NY Slip Op 50745(U))
  • Park Ave. Chiropractic & Health Care PC v Maya Assur. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50804(U))
  • Nationwide Gen. Ins. Co. v Gaines (2025 NY Slip Op 01896)
  • Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. v Otero (2018 NY Slip Op 51025(U))
  • American Tr. Ins. Co. v Lopez (2022 NY Slip Op 50218(U))

Similar decisions

  • Back to Back Chiropractor, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51088(U))The provider's failure to object to improper verification demands left the payment period tolled and its claim premature.
  • Lender Med. Supply, Inc. v Hartford Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50903(U))An insurer's consent to adjourn an EUO prevents it from counting nonappearance on that date as a no-show.
  • New York Craniofacial Care v Lumbermen’s Mut. Cas. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24025)The assignor had no duty to attend an EUO under the no-fault regulations governing this claim before the revised EUO provisions took effect.
  • State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. v Atlantic Diagnostic, L.L.C. (2024 NY Slip Op 50436(U))An assignor who appears for an EUO must sign the transcript on request even if the insurer has not proved its EUO request timely.
  • Prime Psychological Servs., P.C. v Nationwide Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29100)An insurer's preclaim EUO requests are not subject to the verification rule requiring notice to the assignor's attorney.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.