• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
June 3, 2021

State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Surgicore of Jersey City, LLC (2021 NY Slip Op 03536)

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/state-farm-mut-auto-ins-co-v-surgicore-of-jersey-city-llc-2021-ny-slip-op03536/

Court
Appellate Division, First Department
Decided
June 3, 2021
Citation
2021 NY Slip Op 03536 · 195 AD3d 454
Posture
Default or vacatur
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Later treatment
Followed in 5 later decisions (see Cited by)
Issues
Staged accidents, lack of coverage EUO no-show Timeliness and preclusion
Legal questions
No covered accident (founded belief) · No-show defense: insurer's proof (see the maps)
Cite as
State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Surgicore of Jersey City, LLC, 195 AD3d 454 (1st Dept 2021)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The insurer established entitlement to a default declaration of noncoverage based on a founded belief that the collision was staged. The Appellate Division, First Department, reversed the orders insofar as appealed from, granted the insurer's default motion in its entirety and declared noncoverage. Proof of proper service, defaults and a claims representative's affidavit satisfied CPLR 3215 (f); EUO testimony and an arbitration award also supported the insurer's belief. The defaults admitted the complaint's allegations of an intentional, staged collision. One claimant's repeated EUO nonappearances independently vitiated coverage. Because those EUO requests preceded receipt of a claim form, the insurer did not have to establish compliance with the verification timing requirements of 11 NYCRR 65-3.5.

Reported in New York Official Reports at State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Surgicore of Jersey City, LLC (2021 NY Slip Op 03536)

State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Surgicore of Jersey City, LLC
2021 NY Slip Op 03536 [195 AD3d 454]
June 3, 2021
Appellate Division, First Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, August 4, 2021

[*1]

 State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, Appellant,
v
Surgicore of Jersey City, LLC, et al., Defendants, and Wellmart RX, Inc., Respondent.

Rivkin Radler LLP, Uniondale (Stuart M. Bodoff of counsel), for appellant.

Orders, Supreme Court, New York County (Barbara Jaffe, J.), entered December 18, 2019 and May 12, 2020, which, to the extent appealed from as limited by the briefs, denied plaintiff’s motion for a default judgment on its claims seeking a declaration of noncoverage against all defaulting defendants other than Keith Dumont and Steven Rob, unanimously reversed, on the law, with costs, the motion granted in its entirety and it is so declared.

In support of its motion for entry of a default judgment plaintiff submitted evidence of defendants’ defaults after proper service, as well as an affidavit of its no-faults claims representative sufficiently setting forth the basis for plaintiff’s claims seeking a declaration of noncoverage (see CPLR 3215 [f]; Woodson v Mendon Leasing Corp., 100 NY2d 62, 70-71 [2003]). The claim representative’s affidavit set forth the factual basis for plaintiff’s belief that the accident was not a covered event because the loss was intentionally caused and the injuries purportedly sustained by the claimants in connection with the June 1, 2018 accident therefore did not arise from an insured event. By failing to answer, the defaulting defendants are “deemed to have admitted” the allegations in the complaint, including that the accident was intentional and staged (Al Fayed v Barak, 39 AD3d 371, 372 [1st Dept 2007] [internal quotation marks and brackets omitted]). The claims representative’s affidavit, as well as red flags raised by defendant Walton’s testimony at her EUO, support plaintiff’s belief. In addition, on reargument, plaintiff submitted an arbitration award in which the Arbitrator found that plaintiff had demonstrated by a preponderance of the evidence that it had a founded belief that the subject accident was not a covered event, because it was a deliberate event in furtherance of an insurance fraud scheme. As a result, plaintiff is entitled to a declaration that it is not obligated to defend or indemnify Jhoie Bradford, the owner of the insured vehicle, or Walton, the driver, or to provide no-fault coverage to any of the claimants in connection with the June 1, 2018 accident.

As to claimant Ronald Marcellus, plaintiff additionally provided sufficient proof that he failed to appear for an examination under oath (EUO) despite receiving proper notice, which vitiates the policy (see Hertz Corp. v Active Care Med. Supply Corp., 124 AD3d 411 [1st Dept 2015]). Generally, an insurer must provide proof that the EUO requests were timely mailed, within 15 business days of receipt of the prescribed verification forms, in compliance with 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 in order to obtain a default declaratory judgment (see e.g. Hertz Vehicles, LLC v Best Touch PT, P.C., 162 AD3d 617, 617-618 [1st Dept 2018]). However, that requirement does not apply where, as here, the EUOs are scheduled prior to the insurance company’s receipt of a claim form (see Mapfre Ins. Co. of N.Y. v Manoo, 140 AD3d 468, 469 [1st Dept 2016]; see also [*2]Hereford Ins. Co. v Lida’s Med. Supply, Inc., 161 AD3d 442, 443 [1st Dept 2018]). Since Marcellus failed to appear on two or more occasions and the EUO requests were sent prior to plaintiff’s receipt of a claim form, plaintiff did not need to demonstrate compliance for the verification requests under 11 NYCRR 65-3.5. Concur—Manzanet-Daniels, J.P., Kapnick, Mazzarelli, Oing, JJ.

Legal questions (2)

Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

No covered accident (founded belief)

Open the full map

Did the insurer show the claimed injuries did not arise from a covered accident (staged, intentional, or unrelated)?

This decision: Insurer proved the injuries did not arise from a covered accident

Granted a default declaration of noncoverage because the claims representative's affidavit and EUO red flags set out the factual basis for the founded belief that the accident was intentional and staged.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 9
  • Appellate TermApp Term 8
  • Trial courtsTrial 11
2011, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2022, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (3 Defense established)2021, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2024, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2025, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Defense established)2023, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2017, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Triable issue)2013, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2009, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2007, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Triable issue, 2 Defense not shown)2005, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2022, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2020, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer's motion fails)2018, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Triable issue)2009, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2008, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Triable issue)2004, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2024, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2025, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Triable issue)This decision
20052010201520202025
Defense establishedTriable issueInsurer's motion failsDefense not shownThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 29 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 14 (this one included) are in the same category.

No-show defense: insurer's proof

Open the full map

Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?

This decision: Insurer proved mailed, compliant requests and the nonappearance; claimant's answers rejected (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)

Held the insurer sufficiently proved one claimant missed two EUOs despite proper notice, and need not show 65-3.5 compliance because the EUOs were scheduled before any claim form was received.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 52
  • Appellate TermApp Term 71
  • Trial courtsTrial 40
2023, Appellate Division: 4 decisions (3 Defense proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2022, Appellate Division: 8 decisions (3 Defense proved, 5 Requests not compliant)2021, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Defense proved)2020, Appellate Division: 4 decisions (3 Defense proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2019, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (1 Defense proved, 1 Mailing not proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2018, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (2 Defense proved, 1 Mailing not proved, 2 Requests not compliant)2017, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Defense proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2016, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (3 Defense proved, 1 Nonappearance not proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2015, Appellate Division: 7 decisions (2 Defense proved, 5 Requests not compliant)2014, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Defense proved)2013, Appellate Division: 4 decisions (3 Defense proved, 1 Mailing not proved)2011, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense proved)2024, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Defense proved)2025, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Defense proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2019, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Mailing not proved, 1 Nonappearance not proved, 1 Triable issue)2018, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense proved)2017, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Nonappearance not proved)2016, Appellate Term: 14 decisions (5 Defense proved, 6 Nonappearance not proved, 1 Requests not compliant, 2 Triable issue)2015, Appellate Term: 12 decisions (11 Defense proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2014, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (6 Defense proved)2013, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (4 Defense proved, 1 Mailing not proved)2012, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (6 Defense proved, 2 Mailing not proved)2011, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (6 Defense proved, 1 Mailing not proved)2010, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Defense proved)2007, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Requests not compliant)2006, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Requests not compliant, 1 Triable issue)2005, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Defense proved, 2 Requests not compliant)2025, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Defense proved)2026, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Defense proved)2020, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Mailing not proved)2022, Trial courts: 8 decisions (2 Defense proved, 1 Mailing not proved, 1 Nonappearance not proved, 4 Requests not compliant)2021, Trial courts: 6 decisions (3 Defense proved, 2 Requests not compliant, 1 No-show excused)2020, Trial courts: 7 decisions (1 Mailing not proved, 6 Requests not compliant)2019, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense proved)2018, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Defense proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2015, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense proved)2014, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Defense proved, 1 Nonappearance not proved)2013, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Defense proved, 2 Nonappearance not proved)2009, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense proved)2007, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Requests not compliant)2024, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Requests not compliant)2025, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Mailing not proved, 1 Nonappearance not proved)2026, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Mailing not proved)2005, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense proved)2023, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense proved)This decision
20052010201520202025
Defense provedMailing not provedNonappearance not provedRequests not compliantTriable issueNo-show excusedThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 163 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 92 (this one included) are in the same category. 2 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Hertz Corp. v Active Care Med. Supply Corp. (2015 NY Slip Op 00212) FollowedA provider's failure to attend EUOs violates a condition precedent to no-fault coverage and vitiates the policy.
  • Hertz Vehicles, LLC v Best Touch PT, P.C. (2018 NY Slip Op 04854)The insurer failed to prove timely EUO requests for default relief against providers but established one claimant's failure to sign an EUO. The motion omitted receipt dates for the providers' verification forms and another claimant's application, preventing assessment of the 15-business-day deadline under 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (a) and (b).
  • Mapfre Ins. Co. of N.Y. v Manoo (2016 NY Slip Op 04446) FollowedEUO requests made before receipt of a claim form are not subject to the verification notice requirements of 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 and 65-3.6.
  • Hereford Ins. Co. v Lida’s Med. Supply, Inc. (2018 NY Slip Op 03226)The insurer's scheduling letters, service affidavits, and medical professionals' affidavits established the claimants' IME nonappearances.

Cited by

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. v AA Acupuncture Serv., P.C. (2023 NY Slip Op 03562) FollowedThe insurer established viable default claims for noncoverage based on an intentional or staged collision and a claimant's EUO nonappearance.
  • Unitrin Safeguard Ins. Co. v Manuel (2025 NY Slip Op 01727) FollowedThe insurer established a founded belief that the claimants' injuries did not arise from the reported accident.
  • State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. v Axial Chiropractic, P.C. (2022 NY Slip Op 03487) FollowedThe insurer established grounds for a default declaration of noncoverage based on an intentional or staged collision and EUO nonappearances.
  • State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Equinox Physical Therapy, P.C. (2024 NY Slip Op 05193) FollowedEUO notices mailed before receipt of the providers' no-fault verification forms are not subject to the 15-day period in 11 NYCRR 65-3.5.
  • State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v All City Family Healthcare Ctr., Inc. (2022 NY Slip Op 04142) FollowedThe 15-business-day period for requesting EUOs runs from receipt of verification forms, rather than the NF-2 application.
  • MSB Physical Therapy, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. (2022 NY Slip Op 50564(U))An insurer need not prove that its first EUO scheduling letter was sent within 15 days of receiving an NF-2 or another provider's claim.
  • Columbus Imaging Ctr., LLC v Erie Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2022 NY Slip Op 50569(U))An insurer need not prove that its first IME scheduling letter was sent within 15 days of receiving an NF-2 or another provider's claim.

Similar decisions

  • State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v AK Global Supply Corp. (2022 NY Slip Op 01890)The insurer established EUO nonappearance and a founded belief of noncovered injuries, but defective service limited default relief.
  • Progressive Advanced Ins. Co. v McAdam (2016 NY Slip Op 03484)The insurer failed to establish staged collisions or proper mailing of EUO requests through admissible proof.
  • State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. v Soliman (2023 NY Slip Op 01949)The 15-business-day period for requesting EUOs begins upon receipt of the prescribed NF-3 verification forms, rather than the NF-2 application.
  • Hertz Vehs., LLC v Ace Med Supplies Inc. (2025 NY Slip Op 51959(U))A staged-accident coverage defense is not precluded by untimely denial.
  • Nationwide Gen. Ins. Co. v South (2024 NY Slip Op 00028)The insurers established a founded belief that the collision was not covered and, independently, the claimants' EUO nonappearance.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.