December 8, 2004
Ocean Diagnostic Imaging, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24501)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/ocean-diagnostic-imaging-p-c-v-lancer-ins-co-2004-ny-slip-op-24501/
- Decided
- December 8, 2004
- Citation
- 2004 NY Slip Op 24501 · 6 Misc 3d 62
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Contrasted (cf., but see) in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Ocean Diagnostic Imaging, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24501)
| Ocean Diagnostic Imaging, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. |
| 2004 NY Slip Op 24501 [6 Misc 3d 62] |
| Accepted for Miscellaneous Reports Publication |
| AT2 |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| As corrected through Wednesday, April 20, 2005 |
[*1]
| Ocean Diagnostic Imaging, P.C., as Assignee of Yelena Yegorova, Respondent, v Lancer Insurance Company, Appellant. |
Supreme Court, Appellate Term, Second Department, December 8, 2004
APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL
June D. Reiter, Garden City, for appellant. Amos Weinberg, Great Neck, for respondent.
{**6 Misc 3d at 63} OPINION OF THE COURT
Memorandum.
Order affirmed without costs.
Plaintiff health care provider made out a prima facie showing of entitlement to recover no-fault benefits for services rendered to its assignor by the submission of proof that the statutory claim forms had been mailed and received, and that defendant did not pay or deny the claims within the prescribed 30-day period (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 8 AD3d 640 [2004]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]; Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 128[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51701[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2003]). In opposition to plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, defendant has failed to raise a triable issue of fact.
Defendant’s denial of benefits form indicates that defendant received plaintiff’s claim on October 5, 2001, and that it did not deny the claim until December 19, 2001, which was beyond [*2]the statutorily prescribed 30-day period (see 11 NYCRR 65.15 [g] [3]; Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 278 [1997]). Although the 30-day statutory period may be extended by a verification request (11 NYCRR 65.15 [d] [1], [2]), there was no proof submitted in admissible form that the alleged verification requests were mailed (see Residential Holding Corp. v Scottsdale Ins. Co., 286 AD2d 679 [2001]; Amaze Med. Supply v Colonial Penn Ins. Co., 3 Misc 3d 135[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50471[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]).
Despite the untimely denial of plaintiff’s claim, defendant is not precluded from asserting the defense that the alleged injuries were not causally related to the accident, which was the sole ground for defendant’s denial of no-fault benefits (see Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195, 199 [1997]; Mount Sinai Hosp. v Triboro Coach, 263 AD2d 11, 18-19 [1999]). The affidavit of defendant’s claims representative, however, was insufficient to demonstrate that defendant’s denial was based upon a “founded belief that the alleged injur[ies] do[ ] not arise out of an insured incident” (Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d at 199). Moreover, the unsworn “Automotive Engineering Report,” attached thereto, did not constitute competent proof in admissible form (see Dotzel v Allstate Ins. Co., 2003 NY Slip Op 50853[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists 2003]), and defendant failed to proffer {**6 Misc 3d at 64}an acceptable excuse for failure to tender such proof in admissible form (see Friends of Animals v Associated Fur Mfrs., 46 NY2d 1065, 1068 [1979]; Allstate Ins. Co. v Keil, 268 AD2d 545 [2000]). Accordingly, since defendant failed to raise any triable issue of fact, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment was properly granted.
Golia, J., dissents and votes to reverse the order and deny plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment in the following memorandum: Plaintiff (health care provider) moved for summary judgment and made out a prima facie showing of entitlement thereto upon alleging that it filed a claim for payment of no-fault benefits which was received by the carrier on October 5, 2001, and that a denial was not issued until December 19, 2001. Since the denial was well past the 30 days, the plaintiff asserts that any denial is ineffective pursuant to 11 NYCRR 65.15 (g) (3) (see also Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274 [1997]). Plaintiff further asserted that although the 30-day period may be extended by a request for verification pursuant to 11 NYCRR 65.15 (d) (1) and (2), no such requests were made in the case at bar.
Although I am not in full agreement with those assertions, my dissent is grounded firmly in the findings of the Court of Appeals in the matter of Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos. (90 NY2d 195 [1997]) and followed by Mount Sinai Hosp. v Triboro Coach (263 AD2d 11 [1999]).
The Court of Appeals clearly and unequivocally stated that if the alleged injuries were not causally related to the accident, the strict 30-day time limit (11 NYCRR 65.15 [g] [3]) for filing a denial would not apply. That Court wisely reasoned that the no-fault regulations could not be used to mandate that an automobile insurance policy be used to pay for alleged injuries that did not arise from the automobile accident claimed.
It is evident to me that the defendant’s denial of the claim sufficiently raised that issue. Furthermore, contrary to the holding of the majority, I find that the papers submitted in opposition to the plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment were also sufficient to raise that issue of fact.
The instant case involves a minor accident between a large chartered bus in which the respondent was a passenger and a 1999 Ford Taurus, a mid-sized passenger automobile. Indeed the only damage to the bus was a one-inch crack in the front bumper which did not even warrant any repair. The passenger car suffered a shattered rear windshield and a buckled rear tailgate. {**6 Misc 3d at 65}There has been no reported injuries of any kind from the occupants of the passenger car. The tour guide on the bus stated that all the occupants of the bus fully participated in the recreational events of the day. Indeed the police report did not note any injuries by any occupants of either the bus or the passenger car. The insurance carrier engaged the services of an automotive engineering expert who investigated the accident and determined that the plaintiff could not have suffered the injuries complained of.
Under all the facts and circumstances, it is abundantly clear that there is an issue of fact as to whether the injuries alleged resulted from the accident claimed.
In support of their opinion the majority relies solely on the fact that the “Automotive Engineering Report” was unsworn and therefore did not constitute competent proof in admissible form. The majority argues that the failure to submit a sworn affidavit or a valid reason for failing to do so is fatal to this position.
However, I find that such unsworn report is sufficient for the purpose of raising a triable issue of fact. There is a long line of cases from the Court of Appeals and lower courts that [*3]support the proposition, that for the purpose of defending a summary judgment motion, statements that may be subject to objections should not be precluded from consideration by the court if they are otherwise relevant and competent (see Phillips v Kantor & Co., 31 NY2d 307 [1972]; Narvaez v NYRAC, 290 AD2d 400 [2002]; Kwi Bong Yi v JNJ Supply Corp., 274 AD2d 453 [2000]; Eitner v 119 W. 71st St. Owners Corp., 253 AD2d 641 [1998]; Guzman v Strab Constr. Corp., 228 AD2d 645 [1996]).
This is especially true, as it is here, where the witness who prepared the unsworn “Automotive Engineering Report” is presumably available to testify (Levbarg v City of New York, 282 AD2d 239, 241 [2001]).
Accordingly, I would reverse the holding of the lower court and would deny the plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment.
Pesce, P.J., and Rios, J., concur; Golia, J., dissents in a separate memorandum.
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer show the claimed injuries did not arise from a covered accident (staged, intentional, or unrelated)?
This decision: Insurer's proof did not raise an issue or failed at trial; provider prevails on it
Held the insurer's claims representative affidavit did not show a founded belief that the injuries were unrelated to the accident, and its unsworn engineering report was not competent proof, so the provider's summary judgment stood.
Of the 234 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 80 (this one included) are in the same category.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the provider made its prima facie showing by proof that the claim forms were mailed and received and that the insurer did not pay or deny within 30 days.
Of the 1,065 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 513 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's proof did not establish mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer submitted no proof in admissible form that its alleged verification requests were mailed, so they did not extend its 30-day period to deny.
Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 260 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 05626)The insurer failed to establish mailing of assignment-verification requests and could not defeat the hospitals' summary judgment motion.
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
- Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51701(U))A provider's completed claim forms establish its prima facie case without additional medical proof when the insurer is precluded.
- Amaze Med. Supply v Colonial Penn Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50471(U)) FollowedA factual affidavit is not rendered defective merely because a nonattorney affiant includes two case citations in a footnote.
Cited by (14)
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51347(U)) Contrasted (cf., but see)The insurer's low-impact study and supporting affidavit raised a triable issue whether the claimed injuries arose from the accident.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25456)The providers obtained partial summary judgment because defective EUO requests and incomplete IME follow-up failed to toll denial time.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v GEICO Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26133)A timely medical-necessity denial must state a sufficiently particular factual basis and medical rationale to avoid preclusion.
- Complete Orthopedic Supplies, Inc. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 27192)A fee schedule dispute remained triable because the insurer established neither a proper scheduled fee nor a comparable fee for the goods.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50785(U))The insurer's attorney affirmation and unsworn reports failed to raise a triable staged-collision issue without an excuse for inadmissibility.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51033(U))The insurer's EUO evidence did not establish a founded belief that the claimed injuries arose from a noncovered event.
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging, P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51745(U))The insurer's untimely examination requests failed to toll its denial deadline, and its staged-accident defense lacked admissible proof.
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging, P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 51747(U))The insurer's untimely EUO request did not toll its denial deadline, and its staged-accident defense lacked admissible proof.
- LMS Med. Care, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51072(U))The insurer failed to raise a triable coverage issue because its accident reports and other documents lacked admissible support.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v GMAC Ins. (2005 NYSlipOp 50602(U))Transportation benefits claimed under the revised no-fault regulations are reimbursable but cannot be assigned to a transportation provider.
Show all 14 citing decisions
Similar decisions
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50474(U))The insurer failed to establish an EUO-authorizing endorsement or admissible support for its fraud defense.
- Dan Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26483)The provider failed to establish its prima facie case because its corporate officer did not lay a business-records foundation for the claim documents.
- Star Med. Servs. P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50129(U))The insurer's EUO and staged-collision defenses lacked sufficient proof to defeat the provider's summary judgment motion.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Prudential Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25032)An insurer may assert a lack-of-coverage defense despite an untimely denial of no-fault claims.
- A.M Med. v New York Cent. Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50298(U))The insurer's unsworn low-impact report failed to establish a coverage defense or raise a triable issue concerning injury causation.