February 1, 2006
Star Med. Servs. P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50129(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/star-med-servs-p-c-v-allstate-ins-co-2006-ny-slip-op-50129u/
- Decided
- February 1, 2006
- Citation
- 2006 NY Slip Op 50129(U) · 10 Misc 3d 144(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Star Med. Servs. P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50129(U))
| Star Med. Servs. P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. |
| 2006 NY Slip Op 50129(U) [10 Misc 3d 144(A)] |
| Decided on February 1, 2006 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : GOLIA, J.P., RIOS and BELEN, JJ
2005-156 K C.
against
Allstate Insurance Company, Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Eileen Nadelson, J.), entered October 29, 2004. The order granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment.
Order affirmed without costs.
In this action to recover first-party no-fault benefits for medical services rendered to its assignor, plaintiff health care provider established a prima facie entitlement to summary judgment by proof that it submitted a claim, setting forth the fact and the amount of the loss sustained, and that payment of no-fault benefits was overdue (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]; Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 128[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51701[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). We find no merit to defendant’s contention that the failure of one of plaintiff’s assignors, Claire, to appear for an examination under oath (EUO) precludes summary judgment with respect to the claims submitted for treatment rendered to said assignor. The submissions of defendant’s claims representative and counsel failed to establish that they had personal knowledge that the letters requesting the EUO were mailed to Claire. Nor did said submissions create a presumption of mailing by setting forth the standard office practice or procedures used to ensure that such letters are properly addressed and mailed (see Amaze Med. Supply Inc. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 8 Misc 3d 139[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 51315[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). Moreover, defendant failed to introduce evidence in admissible form establishing that the insurance policy it issued to its insured actually contained an endorsement entitling it to EUOs (see Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v Travelers Home & Mar. Ins. Co., 7 Misc 3d 133[A], [*2]2005 NY Slip Op 50648[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]).
Although defendant issued an untimely denial of the claim relating to plaintiff’s other assignor, Charmant, defendant is not precluded from asserting the defense that the collision was in furtherance of an insurance fraud scheme (see Matter of Metro Med. Diagnostics v Eagle Ins. Co., 293 AD2d 751 [2002]). However, defendant failed to establish that it possessed a “founded belief that [Charmant’s] alleged injur[ies] do[] not arise out of an insured incident” (Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195, 199 [1997]). Indeed, although defendant annexed Charmant’s EUO testimony, defendant may not rely upon its bare representation as to what another passenger in the car, Phillipe, stated during said passenger’s EUO, in an attempt to demonstrate the existence of an issue of fact (see Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co., 6 Misc 3d 134[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50189[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists]; Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 4 Misc 3d 92 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]).
In light of the foregoing, the order should be affirmed because plaintiff was entitled to summary judgment upon both claims.
Rios and Belen, JJ., concur.
Golia, J.P., dissents in a separate memorandum.
Golia, J.P., dissents and votes to reverse the order and deny plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment in the following memorandum.
I am in agreement with the majority that an untimely denial does not preclude a defendant from asserting the defense that the claimed collision was in furtherance of a scheme to defraud.
However, I disagree with the majority when they insist that the holding of the Court of Appeals in Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos. (90 NY2d 195 [1997]) requires that in order for a defendant to have a “founded belief that the alleged injur[ies] do[] not arise out of an insured incident” (id. at 199), the defendant must submit sworn statements establishing those findings. I submit that the Court of Appeals only requires that the defendant provide a sworn affidavit (affirmation) which establishes that the affiant has a belief which is “founded” upon information obtained by a reasonable investigation. The actual source materials uncovered by that investigation such as interviews, documents, examination under oath transcripts, etc., need not be submitted and certainly not in a form that would constitute sworn testimony. That, in my opinion, is what is going to be required at trial.
Accordingly, I dissent and vote to reverse and deny plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment.
Decision Date: February 01, 2006
Legal questions (4)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's proof did not establish mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Held the insurer did not prove mailing of the EUO request letters because its claims representative and counsel showed no personal knowledge of the mailing and described no standard office practice ensuring proper addressing and mailing.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 257 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer failed to prove the scheduling letters were mailed or properly addressed
Rejected the EUO no-show defense for one assignor because the insurer did not prove the EUO letters were mailed, and also did not show in admissible form that its policy contained an EUO endorsement.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 114 (this one included) are in the same category.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the provider made its prima facie case by proof that it submitted claims stating the fact and amount of loss and that payment was overdue; the affirmance rested mainly on rejecting the insurer's defenses.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer show the claimed injuries did not arise from a covered accident (staged, intentional, or unrelated)?
This decision: Insurer's proof did not raise an issue or failed at trial; provider prevails on it (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer did not show a founded belief that the second assignor's injuries arose from a staged collision, because it relied on its bare representation of another passenger's EUO statements; summary judgment for the provider was affirmed.
Of the 233 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 80 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
- Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51701(U))A provider's completed claim forms establish its prima facie case without additional medical proof when the insurer is precluded.
- Amaze Med. Supply Inc. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51315(U)) FollowedThe insurer's IME nonappearance defense failed because it did not establish mailing of the scheduling requests to the assignor.
- Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v Travelers Home & Mar. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50648(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish verification tolling because requests were untimely or unproved and its policy's EUO endorsement was not shown.
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50189(U)) FollowedThe insurer's conclusory submissions failed to raise a triable issue of staged-accident fraud.
- Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24221) FollowedEUO requests do not toll the claim determination period when the governing no-fault regulations do not authorize EUO verification.
Similar decisions
- Star Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NYSlipOp 50344(U))The insurer's misaddressed EUO demand did not toll its denial deadline, and EUO transcripts failed to support its coverage defense.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50474(U))The insurer failed to establish an EUO-authorizing endorsement or admissible support for its fraud defense.
- Star Med. Servs. P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50505(U))The insurer failed to establish an EUO-authorizing endorsement or submit admissible evidence of a staged-accident defense.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50785(U))The insurer's attorney affirmation and unsworn reports failed to raise a triable staged-collision issue without an excuse for inadmissibility.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51033(U))The insurer's EUO evidence did not establish a founded belief that the claimed injuries arose from a noncovered event.