• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
    • No-Fault Collections
    • Billing and Collections
    • Provider Defense
  • How We Work
  • About
    • All Research & Data
    • Search Case Law & Regulations
    • New Decisions
    • Decisions by Court
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Claim Process & Deadlines
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Arbitration Results by Provider
    • Ask No-Fault AI
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
    • No-Fault Collections
    • Billing and Collections
    • Provider Defense
  • How We Work
  • About
    • All Research & Data
    • Search Case Law & Regulations
    • New Decisions
    • Decisions by Court
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Claim Process & Deadlines
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Arbitration Results by Provider
    • Ask No-Fault AI
  • Contact
June 23, 2009

Crossbridge Diagnostic Radiology v Encompass Ins. (2009 NY Slip Op 51415(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/crossbridge-diagnostic-radiology-v-encompass-ins-2009-ny-slip-op51415u/

Court
Appellate Term, Second Department
Decided
June 23, 2009
Citation
2009 NY Slip Op 51415(U) · 24 Misc 3d 134(A)
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Provider prevailed
Issues
Policy issues Timeliness and preclusion
Legal questions
Exhaustion of policy limits (see the maps)
Cite as
Crossbridge Diagnostic Radiology v Encompass Ins., 24 Misc 3d 134(A), 2009 NY Slip Op 51415(U) (App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The insurer failed to prove exhausted coverage because its out-of-state affidavit did not comply with CPLR 2309 (c). The Appellate Term, Second Department, affirmed the judgment granting the provider summary judgment for assigned no-fault benefits. Although an untimely denial does not preclude a policy-limit exhaustion defense, the provider had objected to the claims representative's Massachusetts affidavit as inadmissible. The insurer's attorney lacked personal knowledge of exhaustion, so the attorney's affirmation also had no probative value. The insurer's remaining contention was unpreserved and lacked merit. One justice dissented, concluding that the affidavit, attorney's affirmation, and accompanying coverage and payment documents sufficed to defeat the provider's motion.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Crossbridge Diagnostic Radiology v Encompass Ins. (2009 NY Slip Op 51415(U))

[*1]
Crossbridge Diagnostic Radiology v Encompass Ins.
2009 NY Slip Op 51415(U) [24 Misc 3d 134(A)]
Decided on June 23, 2009
Appellate Term, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.
Decided on June 23, 2009

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

APPELLATE TERM: 2nd, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS


PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., GOLIA and RIOS, JJ
2008-399 K C.
Crossbridge Diagnostic Radiology as assignee of MOHAMED ALI LMIMOUNI, Respondent,

against

Encompass Insurance, Appellant.

Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Kathy J. King, J.), entered May 18, 2007, deemed from a judgment of the same court entered September 12, 2007 (see CPLR 5512 [a]; Neuman v Otto, 114 AD2d 791 [1985]). The judgment, entered pursuant to the May 18, 2007 order granting plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, awarded plaintiff the principal sum of $911.99.

Judgment affirmed without costs.

In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved for summary judgment. Defendant opposed the motion, arguing that it denied plaintiff’s claim on the ground that no coverage existed since the policy benefits had been exhausted. In response, plaintiff argued that defendant failed to timely deny plaintiff’s claim and, in any event, defendant did not present admissible evidence establishing that the policy benefits were exhausted because the affidavit by defendant’s claims representative was executed before a Massachusetts notary public and there was nothing showing that it complied with CPLR 2309 (c). The Civil Court granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, holding that defendant failed to proffer evidence establishing a triable issue of fact. The instant appeal by defendant ensued. A judgment was subsequently entered.

A “defendant’s failure to issue a denial of the claim within 30 days d[oes] not preclude a defense that the coverage limits of the subject policy have been exhausted” (New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 12 AD3d 579, 580 [2005] [internal quotations omitted]; see also Presbyterian Hosp. in City of NY v General Acc. Ins. Co. of Am., 229 AD2d 479, 480 [1996]). However, the affidavit proffered by defendant, in which defendant’s claims representative asserted that the available coverage had been exhausted, was not in admissible [*2]form. Defendant’s affidavit was not in conformity with CPLR 2309 (c), which fact was duly objected to by plaintiff in the Civil Court (see Impulse Chiropractic, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 19 Misc 3d 127[A], 2008 NY Slip Op 50498[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2008]; Dan Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Ins. Co., 17 Misc 3d 130[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 51981[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]). Moreover, defendant’s attorney’s affirmation was of no probative value since she did not establish that she had personal knowledge that the coverage limits of the policy had been exhausted. Consequently, defendant’s assertion of the exhaustion of available coverage was without any probative value.

Defendant’s remaining contention is unpreserved for appellate review and, in any event, lacks merit (see East Acupuncture, P.C. v Electric Ins. Co., 16 Misc 3d 128[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 51281[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]; Oleg Barshay, D.C., P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co., 14 Misc 3d 74 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]).
Accordingly, the judgment is affirmed.

Pesce, P.J., and Rios, J., concur.

Golia, J., dissents in a separate memorandum.

Golia, J., dissents and votes to reverse the judgment, vacate the order entered May 18, 2007 and deny plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, in the following memorandum:

The majority decision here places form over substance and does not comport with the entire body of law as rendered by the Court of Appeals.

One of the pre-eminent cases in no-fault law is the Court of Appeals’ decision in Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos. (90 NY2d 195 [1997]). The commonly held belief among many who are involved in no-fault law and litigation is that Chubb provides that a defendant will not be precluded from raising the defense of a “staged” accident despite having failed to deny the claim within 30 days. In actuality, however, there was no claim of a “staged” accident in Chubb. The defendant simply asserted that the assignor’s injuries were the result of a work-related accident and were therefore not covered by the automobile insurance policy in question. The Court of Appeals specifically held that despite the fact that the assignor was a covered person who was involved in an otherwise “covered” accident, there was a founded belief that her injuries were due to some other cause and were therefore not covered by the policy of insurance.

Indeed, Chubb relied heavily upon the prior Court of Appeals’ decision of Zappone v Home Ins. Co. (55 NY2d 131 [1982]). There, Mr. Zappone sent notice to the defendant Home Insurance Company that he had been in an automobile accident and was being sued by those injured in that accident. That notice sought coverage by the carrier in excess of the benefits being provided by the primary carrier. Home Insurance failed to disclaim coverage until some 15 months later, which unquestionably exceeded the mandates of subdivision 8 of section 167 of the Insurance Law.

The Court of Appeals was then confronted with applying a statute whose clear effect would result in directing an insurance carrier to provide coverage and reimbursement for which the carrier did not contract. The Court declined to do so and stated that,

“Literal interpretation of the words used will not be [*3]accorded when to do so will occasion great inconvenience, or produce inequality, injustice or absurdity. It is, moreover, always presumed that no unjust or unreasonable result was intended and the statute must be construed consonant with that presumption” (id. at 137 [citations omitted]).

Nevertheless, here the majority gives no weight to defendant’s attorney’s affirmation that effectively placed into issue whether, in accordance with the terms of the insurance contract, the assignor’s benefits had “maxed out”. Indeed, her affirmation refers to and incorporates certain documents pertaining to the fact that this claim is beyond the $8,000 monetary limit for no-fault benefits under the insurance contract at issue.

More specifically, that affirmation states that :
“The bill was denied because the policy benefits of $8,000.00 provided under the Massachusetts policy have been exhausted . . . [A]nnexed hereto as Exhibit B . . . [are] copies of the following:
Application for PIP Benefits indicating accident occurred in Massachusetts; printouts from carrier containing coverage information and portion of insurance policy providing for PIP coverage in the amount of $8,000.00; Payment History showing payout of benefits in the amount of $8,000.00″
These documents, coupled with the uncertified “affidavit” by Ms. Teixera, which was sworn to before a notary of our sister state of Massachusetts, in addition to the affirmation of the moving attorney, should certainly constitute a “founded belief” that this claim is not covered by the policy of insurance (see Weiss v Garfield, 21 AD2d 156 [1964] and the dissent in Ocean Diagnostic Imaging, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co, 6 Misc 3d 62 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]). Indeed, even if it does not reach that level, then the lessons taught by Chubb and Zappone should still have mandated that plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment be denied.
Decision Date: June 23, 2009

Legal questions

A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Exhaustion of policy limits

Open the full map

Did the insurer prove the policy’s no-fault limits were properly exhausted before it became obligated to pay the claim?

This decision: Insurer's proof did not establish exhaustion (or compliance with 65-3.15); defense fails on this record

Held that, although an untimely denial did not preclude the exhaustion defense, the insurer's claims representative affidavit sworn out of state lacked a CPLR 2309 (c) certificate and counsel's affirmation lacked personal knowledge, so exhaustion was not shown.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 17
  • Appellate TermApp Term 42
  • Trial courtsTrial 9
2021, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Exhaustion not proved)2011, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (1 Triable issue / hearing, 2 Defense not heard)2010, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Limits exhausted, 1 Coverage left when due)2006, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Limits exhausted, 1 Triable issue / hearing)2005, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (1 Limits exhausted, 2 Triable issue / hearing)2004, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Limits exhausted, 1 Triable issue / hearing)2025, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Limits exhausted)2018, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Limits exhausted)2022, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Exhaustion not proved)2020, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Limits exhausted, 1 Coverage left when due, 1 Exhaustion not proved)2019, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Exhaustion not proved)2018, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (1 Limits exhausted, 1 Coverage left when due, 3 Exhaustion not proved)2017, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (2 Limits exhausted, 1 Coverage left when due, 3 Exhaustion not proved)2016, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Limits exhausted, 1 Triable issue / hearing)2013, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Limits exhausted)2009, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Exhaustion not proved)2006, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Triable issue / hearing)2023, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Exhaustion not proved)2024, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (7 Exhaustion not proved)2025, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Coverage left when due, 1 Exhaustion not proved)2026, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (5 Exhaustion not proved, 2 Triable issue / hearing)2012, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Exhaustion not proved)2021, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Exhaustion not proved)2019, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Limits exhausted, 1 Exhaustion not proved)2017, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense not heard)2007, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Limits exhausted)2023, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Exhaustion not proved)2024, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Exhaustion not proved)2026, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Exhaustion not proved)2016, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Limits exhausted)2018, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Exhaustion not proved)This decision
20052010201520202025
Limits exhaustedCoverage left when dueExhaustion not provedTriable issue / hearingDefense not heardThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 68 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 34 (this one included) are in the same category.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 08669) FollowedAn untimely denial does not preclude an exhaustion defense or establish entitlement to judgment on a previously denied duplicate claim.
  • Impulse Chiropractic, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50498(U)) FollowedThe insurer's Maryland affidavit lacked a certificate of conformity, and the provider preserved its admissibility objection.
  • Dan Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51981(U)) FollowedThe insurer's accident-reconstruction affidavit was inadmissible because it did not comply with CPLR 2309 (c).
  • East Acupuncture, P.C. v Electric Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51281(U))The insurer's late denials did not bar its coverage defense, and its evidence raised a triable issue of a staged incident.
  • Oleg Barshay, D.C., P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26496)A provider's deficient proof of claim submission may be cured by an insurer's denial form submitted in opposition to summary judgment.
  • Ocean Diagnostic Imaging, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24501)The insurer's submissions failed to raise a factual issue whether the claimed injuries arose from the accident.

Cited by

  • Flushing Traditional Acupuncture, P.C. v Infinity Group (2012 NY Slip Op 22345)The insurer failed to establish that its Pennsylvania policy limit governed the claims or that timely verification requests tolled denial time.

Similar decisions

  • A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51033(U))The insurer's EUO evidence did not establish a founded belief that the claimed injuries arose from a noncovered event.
  • A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50474(U))The insurer failed to establish an EUO-authorizing endorsement or admissible support for its fraud defense.
  • Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51424(U))The insurer's investigator established a founded belief of fraud sufficient to raise a triable issue of coverage despite a late denial.
  • A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Prudential Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25032)An insurer may assert a lack-of-coverage defense despite an untimely denial of no-fault claims.
  • Advanced Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51023(U))The insurer supported a founded belief that the injuries did not arise from an insured incident despite failing to prove timely denials.
Beynenson Law

No-fault collections for healthcare providers across New York State, with billing available together with collections.

Request a free claims review
About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Services

  • No-Fault Collections
  • Billing and Collections
  • Provider Defense

Research & Data

  • All Research & Data
  • Search Case Law & Regulations
  • New Decisions
  • Decisions by Court
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations
  • Claim Process & Deadlines
  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Arbitration Results by Provider
  • Ask No-Fault AI

©2026 The Beynenson Law Group, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.