March 27, 2006
A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50474(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/a-b-med-servs-pllc-v-allstate-ins-co-2006-ny-slip-op-50474u/
- Decided
- March 27, 2006
- Citation
- 2006 NY Slip Op 50474(U) · 11 Misc 3d 135(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50474(U))
| A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Allstate Ins. Co. |
| 2006 NY Slip Op 50474(U) [11 Misc 3d 135(A)] |
| Decided on March 27, 2006 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., GOLIA and RIOS, JJ
2005-389 K C.
against
Allstate Insurance Company, Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Ellen M. Spodek, J.), entered January 3, 2005. The order, insofar as appealed from as limited by plaintiffs’ brief, denied plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment.
Order, insofar as appealed from, reversed without costs, plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment granted and matter remanded to the court below for the calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees.
In this action to recover first-party no-fault benefits for medical services rendered to their assignor, plaintiff health care providers established a prima facie entitlement to summary judgment by proof that they submitted the statutory claim forms, setting forth the fact and the amounts of the losses sustained, and that payment of no-fault benefits was overdue (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]; Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 128[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51701[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). Consequently, the burden shifted to defendant to raise a triable issue of fact. [*2]
Defendant argued that it properly denied the claims based on the failure of plaintiffs’ assignor to appear for examinations under oath (EUOs). The revised insurance regulations, effective on April 5, 2002, which are applicable herein, include EUOs in the Mandatory Personal Injury Protection Endorsement, providing that an eligible injured person submit to EUOs “as may reasonably be required” (11 NYCRR 65-1.1 [d]). However, in order to assert the defense of failure to appear for scheduled EUOs, the “insurer must include the revised prescribed endorsement with new or renewal policies issued on or after April 5, 2002, and the claim rules are to be governed by the policy endorsement in effect” (S & M Supply v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 4 Misc 3d 130[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50693[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists]; see also Capio Med., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 7 Misc 3d 129[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50526[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]; Star Med. Servs. P.C. v Eagle Ins. Co., 6 Misc 3d 56 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]). In the instant case, defendant’s submissions failed to establish in the first instance that the insurance policy contained an endorsement authorizing EUOs. Therefore, the failure of plaintiffs’ assignor to appear for EUOs cannot constitute grounds for denial of no-fault benefits (see Star Med. Servs. P.C. v Eagle Ins. Co., 6 Misc 3d 56, supra; S&M Supply Inc. v Lancer Ins. Co., 4 Misc 3d 131[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50695[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists]). An insurer’s defense that the collision was in furtherance of an insurance fraud scheme is not subject to the 30-day preclusion rule (see Matter of Metro Med. Diagnostics v Eagle Ins. Co., 293 AD2d 751 [2002]), and is non-waivable. In support of its defense of fraud, defendant submitted the affirmation of its attorney who alleged that the matter was referred to the Special Investigative Unit because plaintiffs’ assignor was purportedly not in the insured vehicle at the time of the accident and was seen by the adverse driver arriving at the scene following the accident. However, the
defendant’s attorney lacked personal knowledge of the investigation and the circumstances giving rise to the investigation (see Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 4 Misc 3d 92 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]). Moreover, the unsworn letter by the adverse driver, attached to the attorney’s affirmation, did not constitute competent proof in admissible form (Ultra Diagnostics Imaging v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 9 Misc 3d 97 [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists 2005]; S & M Supply v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 4 Misc 3d 130[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50693[U], supra), and defendant failed to proffer an acceptable excuse for failure to tender such proof in admissible form (see Friends of Animals v Associated Fur Mfrs., 46 NY2d 1065, 1068 [1979]; Allstate Ins. Co. v Keil, 268 AD2d 545 [2000]). The affidavit of defendant’s claims representative merely set forth conclusory allegations of fraud. Thus, defendant’s submissions are insufficient to raise triable issues of fact pertaining to its defense of fraud.
[*3]
Accordingly, plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment is granted and the matter is remanded to the court below for the calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees pursuant to Insurance Law § 5106 (a) and the regulations promulgated thereunder.
Pesce, P.J., and Rios, J., concur.
Golia, J., dissents in a separate memorandum.
Golia, J., dissents and votes to affirm the order denying plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment.
I agree that the defendant failed to submit sufficient proof to establish that the demands for an examination under oath (EUO) of the assignor were properly mailed. However, I strongly disagree with the majority in requiring the defendant to produce a copy of the underlying contract to establish the existence of the endorsement requiring the “assignor” to submit to an EUO.
The regulations do not require such production and neither the plaintiff nor the assignor raised the issue by denying the existence of such endorsement. I do not believe this Court should create an additional burden for the defendant that is not required by the statute or the regulation and I would therefore adhere to my earlier dissent in A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Allstate Ins. Co. (No. 2004-830 K C [App Term 2d & 11th Jud Dists, July 7, 2005]).
My dissent in this case is, however, much more direct.
It is abundantly clear to me that defendant has presented a “founded belief that the alleged injur[ies] do[] not arise out of an insured incident” (Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195, 199 [1997]). The belief is founded upon a detailed statement taken of the driver of the “offending” vehicle who stated that although he was involved in the accident and remained at the scene for 2 hours, he “did not observe any passengers inside the vehicle.”
Inasmuch as the underlying eligibility for this claim is predicated upon the assignor being a passenger in the insured vehicle, the statement by the other driver, if true, would establish that the alleged injuries do not arise out of this incident.
The only real issue concerning the sufficiency of this statement is the fact that it is unsworn and which my colleagues hold inadmissable as evidence. However, there is a long line of cases that stand for the proposition that even though a statement may be inadmissable and subject to objection, it may be used for the purpose of defeating a summary judgment motion (see Phillips v Kantor & Co., 31 NY2d 307 [1972]; Narvaez v NYRAC, 290 AD2d 400 [2003]).
This is especially true when the witness in question is presumably available to testify (Levbarg v City of New York, 282 AD2d 239 [2001]).
Decision Date: March 27, 2006
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer show the claimed injuries did not arise from a covered accident (staged, intentional, or unrelated)?
This decision: Insurer's proof did not raise an issue or failed at trial; provider prevails on it
Held the insurer's proof that the assignor was not in the insured vehicle insufficient to raise a triable issue because counsel lacked personal knowledge, the adverse driver's letter was unsworn, and the claims representative's allegations were conclusory.
Of the 233 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 80 (this one included) are in the same category.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the providers made their prima facie case by proof that they submitted the statutory claim forms setting forth the fact and amount of the loss and that payment was overdue.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer did not show its requests met the regulatory timing, follow-up or justification requirements (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the EUO no-show could not support denial because the insurer failed to establish that the policy contained the revised endorsement authorizing EUOs.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 101 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
- Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51701(U))A provider's completed claim forms establish its prima facie case without additional medical proof when the insurer is precluded.
- S & M Supply Inc. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50693(U)) FollowedThe insurer's EUO defense was precluded by untimely denials, and its accident-fraud evidence was inadmissible.
- Capio Med., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50526(U))The insurer's EUO requests did not toll the denial period because it failed to prove an authorizing endorsement or timely requests.
- Star Med. Servs. P.C. v Eagle Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24482) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish that the policy contained an endorsement authorizing EUOs. The Appellate Term, Second Department, reversed the order denying the provider's summary judgment motion, granted the motion, and remanded for statutory interest and attorney's fees under Insurance Law § 5106 (a).
- S&m Supply Inc. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50695(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish an EUO policy endorsement or timely mailing of verification requests, so the 30-day claim period was not tolled.
- Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24221) FollowedEUO requests do not toll the claim determination period when the governing no-fault regulations do not authorize EUO verification.
- Ultra Diagnostics Imaging v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25402) FollowedThe insurer's wage-verification fraud allegations failed to establish a lack-of-coverage defense exempt from untimely-denial preclusion.
Similar decisions
- Star Med. Servs. P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50129(U))The insurer's EUO and staged-collision defenses lacked sufficient proof to defeat the provider's summary judgment motion.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50785(U))The insurer's attorney affirmation and unsworn reports failed to raise a triable staged-collision issue without an excuse for inadmissibility.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v GMAC Ins. (2005 NYSlipOp 50602(U))Transportation benefits claimed under the revised no-fault regulations are reimbursable but cannot be assigned to a transportation provider.
- A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51425(U))The insurer's EUO transcripts supported a founded belief of fraud, raising a coverage issue that defeated both summary judgment motions.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51033(U))The insurer's EUO evidence did not establish a founded belief that the claimed injuries arose from a noncovered event.