October 21, 2005
Ocean Diagnostic Imaging, P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 51747(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/ocean-diagnostic-imaging-p-c-v-utica-mut-ins-co-2005-ny-slip-op-51747u/
- Decided
- October 21, 2005
- Citation
- 2005 NY Slip Op 51747(U) · 9 Misc 3d 138(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Contrasted (cf., but see) in 1 and followed in 1 later decisions (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Ocean Diagnostic Imaging, P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 51747(U))
| Ocean Diagnostic Imaging, P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. |
| 2005 NY Slip Op 51747(U) [9 Misc 3d 138(A)] |
| Decided on October 21, 2005 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: October 21, 2005 SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK APPELLATE TERM : 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS PRESENT : PESCE, P.J., PATTERSON and GOLIA, JJ.
2004-961 K C NO. 2004-961 K C
against
Utica Mutual Insurance Company, Appellant.
Appeal by defendant from an order of the Civil Court, Kings County (M. Mendez, J.), entered May 5, 2004, which denied defendant’s motion to preclude, or in the alternative, to compel compliance with discovery demands and granted plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.
Order affirmed without costs.
In this action to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff health care provider established its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment by proof that it submitted a statutory claim form, setting forth the fact and amount of the losses
sustained, and that payment of no-fault benefits was overdue (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]; Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 128[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51701[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). The burden then shifted to defendant to create a triable issue of fact (Alvarez v Prospect Hosp., 68 NY2d 320, 324 [1986]).
Absent tolling of the statutory time (Hospital for Joint Diseases v ELRAC, Inc., 11 AD3d 432, 434 [2004]; New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 568, 570 [2004]), defendant’s conceded failure to deny the claim, received September 25, 2002, until March 28, 2003, violated the 30-day claim determination period and precluded it from interposing its defenses aside from the claim that the incident was staged to defraud. All post-claim requests for examinations under oath (EUO) pursuant to the verification regulations must [*2]be made within prescribed time frames (11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [a], [d]; 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 [b]; New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 295 AD2d 583, 584-585 [2002]). “Any attempt by the insurer to deny the claim prior to exhausting the verification protocols is premature and of no effect” (King’s Med. Supply Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co., 7 Misc 3d 128[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50451[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists]; see also New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 5 AD3d at 570; King’s Med. Supply v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 5 Misc 3d 136[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 51550[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). Here, defendant’s initial EUO request, its letter dated December 10, 2002, was itself untimely and did not schedule the EUO within the prescribed time. The assignor was therefore under no duty to appear for the first scheduled EUO and it is irrelevant that defendant may have duly rescheduled the EUO upon assignor’s initial non-appearance.
As to the fraud claim, which survives the preclusion sanction (Matter of Metro Med. Diagnostics v Eagle Ins. Co., 293 AD2d 751 [2002]), defendant’s proof thereof was not submitted in admissible form. None of the investigators’ reports or operators’ statements were sworn, and neither the affirmation of counsel, which alleged no basis to support an inference that any of the facts asserted in his statements were based on personal knowledge, nor the affidavit of defendant’s employee, which asserted merely the conclusory statement that “material misrepresentations [were] made in the presentation of the claim,” sufficed to allege the necessary facts. Thus, defendant failed to establish a triable issue of fraud and summary judgment was properly granted (see e.g. Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co., 6 Misc 3d 134[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50189[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists] [claims examiner’s conclusory assertions as to fraud insufficient]; Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co., 6 Misc 3d 62 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004] [unsworn investigation reports inadmissible in opposition to summary judgment motion]; Melbourne Med. P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 4 Misc 3d 92 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004] [attorney’s factual allegations, without personal knowledge of the investigation, mere unsubstantiated hearsay]; Dotzel v Allstate Ins. Co., 2003 NY Slip Op 50853[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists] [unsworn investigation reports inadmissible in opposition to summary judgment motion]).
In light of the foregoing, we need not address defendant’s remaining claims of error.
Pesce, P.J., and Patterson, J., concur.
Golia, J., dissents in part in a separate memorandum.
[*3]
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM : 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT : PESCE, P.J., PATTERSON and GOLIA, JJ.
OCEAN DIAGNOSTIC IMAGING, P.C.
a/a/o ALICIA PRINCE,
Respondent,
-against-
UTICA MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY,
Appellant.
Golia, J., dissents in part and votes to modify the order and deny plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment in the following memorandum:
Contrary to the holding of the majority, I find that the papers submitted by the defendant in opposition to the plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment were sufficient to raise an issue of fact as to whether the defense of fraud was based upon a “founded belief that the alleged injur[ies] do[] not arise out of an insured incident” (Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195, 199 [1997]).
For the reasons stated in my dissent in Ocean Diagnostic Imaging, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (6 Misc 3d 62 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]), I find that the unsworn reports when submitted in opposition to a motion for summary judgment and accompanied by an affidavit which makes reference to such reports, are sufficient for the purpose of raising a triable issue of fact. This Court must, when deciding a motion for summary judgment, interpret the evidence in the light most favorable to the non-movant (see Weiss v Garfield, 21 AD2d 156 [1964]). This is especially true where there is an allegation of fraud.
Accordingly, I would modify the order of the lower court and would deny the plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment.
Decision Date: October 21, 2005
Legal questions (4)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?
This decision: No-show defense is subject to preclusion and fails for want of a timely, proper denial
Held the insurer precluded from its EUO no-show defense because its untimely initial EUO request did not toll the 30 days and the denial issued six months after receipt of the claim.
Of the 500 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 162 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer did not show its requests met the regulatory timing, follow-up or justification requirements
Held the assignor had no duty to appear because the initial EUO request was untimely and did not schedule the EUO within the prescribed time, making later rescheduling irrelevant.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 101 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer show the claimed injuries did not arise from a covered accident (staged, intentional, or unrelated)?
This decision: Insurer's proof did not raise an issue or failed at trial; provider prevails on it
Held the insurer's staged-accident fraud defense raised no triable issue because the investigators' reports and statements were unsworn and counsel's affirmation and the employee's affidavit were conclusory and not based on personal knowledge.
Of the 233 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 80 (this one included) are in the same category.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the provider made its prima facie case by proof that it submitted a statutory claim form setting forth the fact and amount of the loss and that payment was overdue.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
- Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51701(U))A provider's completed claim forms establish its prima facie case without additional medical proof when the insurer is precluded.
- Hospital for Joint Diseases v ELRAC, Inc. (2004 NY Slip Op 07140)An unanswered verification demand tolls the 30-day payment-or-denial period under 11 NYCRR 65.15 (g) (1) (i).
- New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 01750)The insurer proved policy exhaustion on one hospital claim and absence of coverage on another, requiring dismissal of both.
- King’s Med. Supply Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50451(U)) FollowedThe insurer's failure to send a timely follow-up verification request ended the toll and precluded its verification defense.
- King’s Med. Supply Inc. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 51550(U))An assignor's failure to attend a single IME does not support denial when the insurer has not exhausted follow-up verification procedures.
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50189(U))The insurer's conclusory submissions failed to raise a triable issue of staged-accident fraud.
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24501)The insurer's submissions failed to raise a factual issue whether the claimed injuries arose from the accident.
- Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24221)EUO requests do not toll the claim determination period when the governing no-fault regulations do not authorize EUO verification.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Umed Med., P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50892(U)) Contrasted (cf., but see)The insurer's sworn investigator affidavit raised a triable staged-accident coverage issue despite containing hearsay allegations.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51334(U)) FollowedThe insurer's incomplete denial and inadmissible fraud proof failed to defeat the health care providers' summary judgment motion.
Similar decisions
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51080(U))The insurer's affidavit raised a coverage issue based on a founded belief of insurance fraud despite its untimely denial.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50785(U))The insurer's attorney affirmation and unsworn reports failed to raise a triable staged-collision issue without an excuse for inadmissibility.
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging, Inc. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50081(U))The insurer's claims-specialist affidavit raised a triable coverage issue based on a founded belief that the collision involved fraud.
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Travelers Prop. Cas. Corp. (2005 NY Slip Op 50790(U))The insurer's affidavits raised a factual issue whether the claimed injuries arose from an insured incident.
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50140(U))The insurer's EUO request did not toll one claim, and its opposition failed to rebut medical necessity on the other.