November 7, 2013
American Tr. Ins. Co. v Lucas (2013 NY Slip Op 07273)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/american-tr-ins-co-v-lucas-2013-ny-slip-op-07273/
- Decided
- November 7, 2013
- Citation
- 2013 NY Slip Op 07273 · 111 AD3d 423
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Later treatment
- Distinguished in 1 and followed in 33 later decisions (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at American Tr. Ins. Co. v Lucas (2013 NY Slip Op 07273)
| American Tr. Ins. Co. v Lucas |
| 2013 NY Slip Op 07273 [111 AD3d 423] |
| November 7, 2013 |
| Appellate Division, First Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| American Transit Insurance Company,
Appellant, v Keyana Lucas et al., Defendants, and Sky Acupuncture, P.C., Respondent. American Transit Insurance Company, Appellant, v Tashuana Lucas et al., Defendants, and Sky Acupuncture, P.C., Respondent. |
—[*1] The Law Office of Jason Tenenbaum, P.C., Garden City (Jason Tenenbaum of counsel), for appellant.
Law Offices of Melissa Betancourt, P.C., Brooklyn (Sam Lewis of counsel), for respondent.
Orders, Supreme Court, New York County (Ellen M. Coin, J.), entered on or about February 26 and 28, 2013, which, to the extent appealed from as limited by the briefs, in the respective actions regarding the injured claimants Keyana Lucas and Tashuana Lucas, denied plaintiff’s motions for summary judgment seeking declarations of noncoverage for no-fault benefits as against defendant-respondent Sky Acupuncture, P.C., unanimously reversed, on the law, without costs, the motions granted, and it is declared that plaintiff owes no coverage obligation to Sky Acupuncture, P.C. for no-fault benefits for the injured claimants.
The failure to attend duly scheduled medical exams voids the policy ab initio (see Unitrin Advantage Ins. Co. v Bayshore Physical Therapy, PLLC, 82 AD3d 559, 560 [1st Dept 2011], lv denied 17 NY3d 705 [2011]). Accordingly, when defendants’ assignors failed to appear for the requested medical exams, plaintiff had the right to deny all claims retroactively to the date of loss, regardless of whether the denials were timely issued (see Insurance Department Regulations [11 NYCRR] § 65-3.8 [c]; Unitrin, 82 AD3d at 560). [*2]
” ‘[A] properly executed affidavit of service raises a presumption that a proper mailing occurred, and a mere denial of receipt is not enough to rebut this presumption’ ” (Matter of Ariel Servs., Inc. v New York City Envtl. Control Bd., 89 AD3d 415, 415 [1st Dept 2011]). “The presumption may be created by either proof of actual mailing or proof of a standard office practice or procedure designed to ensure that items are properly addressed and mailed” (Residential Holding Corp. v Scottsdale Ins. Co., 286 AD2d 679, 680 [2d Dept 2001]).
Plaintiff submitted competent evidence that the notices scheduling the claimant’s medical examinations were mailed, as well as the failure to appear, based on the sworn affidavits of the scheduled examining physician and his employee (see American Tr. Ins. Co. v Solorzano, 108 AD3d 449, 449 [1st Dept 2013]). Contrary to defendants’ contention, the affidavits were not conclusory, as they established personal knowledge, the employee’s role in the physician’s no-fault department, and the physician’s personal knowledge of the office procedures when a claimant failed to appear for a medical exam (cf. First Help Acupuncture, P.C. v Lumbermens Mut. Ins. Co., 9 Misc 3d 1127[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 51815[U] [Civ Ct, Kings County 2005], affd 14 Misc 3d 142[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 50365[U] [App Term, 2d Dept 2007]).
There is no requirement to demonstrate that the claims were timely disclaimed since the failure to attend medical exams was an absolute coverage defense (see New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 17 NY3d 586, 593 [2011]; Unitrin Advantage Ins. Co., 82 AD3d at 560). Concur—Mazzarelli, J.P., Acosta, Saxe, Richter and Feinman, JJ.
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?
This decision: No-show voids coverage; insurer need not show a timely denial
Held the failure to attend duly scheduled exams voids the policy ab initio, so the insurer could deny all claims retroactively regardless of whether denials were timely and need not show timely disclaimer.
Of the 36 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 29 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Held the non-conclusory affidavits of the examining physician and his employee, showing personal knowledge of office procedures, were competent evidence that the IME scheduling notices were mailed.
Of the 151 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 104 (this one included) are in the same category. 2 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer proved mailed, compliant requests and the nonappearance; claimant's answers rejected
Held the physician's and employee's affidavits, based on personal knowledge and office procedures, established mailing of the exam notices and the claimants' nonappearance, and were not conclusory.
Of the 163 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 92 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Unitrin Advantage Ins. Co. v Bayshore Physical Therapy, PLLC (2011 NY Slip Op 01948) FollowedAn assignor's failure to attend required IMEs permits retroactive denial of no-fault claims regardless of denial timeliness.
- First Help Acupuncture, P.C. v Lumbermens Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 51815(U)) Contrasted (cf., but see)The provider failed to establish its prima facie case because its employee's affidavit did not lay a business-record foundation.
- First Help Acupuncture, P.C. v Lumbermens Mut. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50365(U)) Contrasted (cf., but see)The provider failed to establish a prima facie case because its employee's affidavit did not lay a business-records foundation.
- New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 07149)A timely proof of claim does not satisfy the 30-day accident-notice requirement when submitted after that period expires.
Cited by (36)
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- American Tr. Ins. Co. v Longevity Med. Supply, Inc. (2015 NY Slip Op 06761) DistinguishedAn insurer seeking summary judgment on an IME no-show must prove compliance with the 30-day period in 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (d).
- Mapfre Ins. Co. of N.Y. v Manoo (2016 NY Slip Op 04446) FollowedEUO requests made before receipt of a claim form are not subject to the verification notice requirements of 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 and 65-3.6.
- Hereford Ins. Co. v Lida’s Med. Supply, Inc. (2018 NY Slip Op 03226) FollowedThe insurer's scheduling letters, service affidavits, and medical professionals' affidavits established the claimants' IME nonappearances.
- Hertz Vehs. LLC v Significant Care, PT, P.C. (2018 NY Slip Op 00456) FollowedThe insurer established timely EUO requests and mailing, entitling it to a declaration of no coverage for the provider's services.
- Easy Care Acupuncture P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51524(U)) FollowedAn insurer may request IMEs before a provider submits claim forms under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
- Matter of Global Liberty Ins. Co. v Professional Chiropractic Care, P.C. (2016 NY Slip Op 04156) FollowedA master arbitrator's award was irrational because it ignored the coverage effect of the assignor's failure to attend duly scheduled IMEs. The insurer presented authority establishing that the IME nonappearances rendered the no-fault policy void ab initio.
- Harmonic Physical Therapy v Encompass Home & Auto Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50733(U)) FollowedThe insurer proved the assignor's IME nonappearance through sworn statements based on personal knowledge of office practices and policies.
- Alfa Med. Supplies, Inc. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51847(U)) FollowedAn insurer may request IMEs before receiving claim forms and deny claims retroactively when the assignor fails to appear.
- Life Tree Acupuncture P.C. v Republic W. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50023(U)) FollowedAn insurer may request IMEs before receiving a provider's claim forms under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
- Matter of Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. v Top Q. Inc. (2019 NY Slip Op 06445) FollowedThe master arbitrator's award was arbitrary because it ignored controlling law on the assignor's failure to attend duly scheduled IMEs. Following Hereford Ins. Co. v Lida's Med. Supply, Inc., the policy was void ab initio because of that nonappearance.
Show all 36 citing decisions
- American Tr. Ins. Co. v Leon (2013 NY Slip Op 08124) Followed
- Park Ave. Chiropractic & Health Care PC v Maya Assur. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50804(U)) Followed
- Acupuncture Solutions, P.C. v Lumbermans Mut. Cas. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50346(U)) Followed
- Alpha Acupuncture, P.C. v Hertz Claim Mgt. Corp. (2014 NY Slip Op 51515(U)) Followed
- Nationwide Gen. Ins. Co. v Gaines (2025 NY Slip Op 01896) Followed
- Fyzio PT, PLLC v Ocean Harbor Cas. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 50103(U)) Followed
- Stracar Med. Servs. v New York Cent. Mut. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50263(U)) Followed
- Healthy Way Acupuncture, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50841(U)) Followed
- MDJ Med., P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50895(U)) Followed
- Sunrise Acupuncture, P.C. v Encompass Auto & Home Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 51082(U)) Followed
- SMB Med., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 51853(U)) Followed
- River Acupuncture, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50271(U)) Followed
- 21st Century Acupuncture, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50445(U)) Followed
- Priority Med. Diagnostics, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire, Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50538(U)) Followed
- S.A. Med., P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50953(U)) Followed
- MRJA Radiology, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51381(U)) Followed
- Acupuncture Pain Mgt., P.C. v Kemper Cas. Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51522(U)) Followed
- EMA Acupuncture, P.C. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50173(U)) Followed
- Vladenn Med. Supply, Corp. v American Commerce Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50775(U)) Followed
- Metro 8 Med. Equip., Inc. v Esurance Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50904(U)) Followed
- Urban Well Acupuncture, P.C. v Nationwide Gen. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50906(U)) Followed
- Karina K. Acupuncture, P.C. v Hartford Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51382(U)) Followed
- Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. v Otero (2018 NY Slip Op 51025(U)) Followed
- Tian Shan Acupuncture PC v Global Liberty Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50728(U)) Followed
- Barakat P.T., P.C. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50342(U))
- Parisien v Travelers Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50396(U))
Similar decisions
- American Tr. Ins. Co. v Acosta (2022 NY Slip Op 01097)The insurer failed to establish compliance with IME scheduling deadlines, defeating summary judgment based on nonappearance.
- Shoreline Healing Acupuncture Group, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51531(U))The insurer established timely IME notices and denials and both assignors' nonappearance, defeating a condition precedent to coverage.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Prudential Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25032)An insurer may assert a lack-of-coverage defense despite an untimely denial of no-fault claims.
- American Tr. Ins. Co. v Clark (2015 NY Slip Op 06759)The insurer failed to establish that the assignor's IMEs were scheduled within the 30-day period required by 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (d).