Legal Questions

Did the insurer prove that the amount billed exceeded the applicable workers’ compensation fee schedule?

A decision decides this question when it rules on the merits of an insurer's defense (or an insurer's own claim, e.g. in a de novo action or declaratory action) that a provider's charges exceed what the fee schedules allow (Insurance Law § 5108; 11 NYCRR Part 68), and says whether the insurer's proof established that excess. That includes disputes over the calculation itself (codes, relative values, conversion factors, ground rules, bundling, unit limits) and over which schedule or rate governs (licensed acupuncturists at the chiropractor or physician rate, the New Jersey schedule for out-of-state services under 11 NYCRR 68.6, the DME 150%-of-cost rule, OBS facility fees). Typical rulings: a coder's or examiner's affidavit explaining the calculation was or was not enough; the insurer failed to establish the defense as a matter of law; after trial the insurer did or did not prove its calculation.

Settled at the Appellate Division, no conflicting department. No Court of Appeals decision states what proof the insurer needs; Government Empls. Ins. Co. v Avanguard (2016) decides only that OBS facility fees are not payable under the schedules. The working rule comes from the Appellate Terms and is applied without disagreement by the Second and First Departments: the insurer bears the burden; a timely denial alone, or a conclusory statement that the claim underwent a 'fee schedule review', is not enough; an affidavit of a certified coder or trained claims examiner explaining the codes, relative values, conversion factor and ground rules, with the schedule annexed or judicially noticed, establishes the defense prima facie; a provider's opposition by counsel's affirmation alone does not raise an issue. Courts differ only at the edges: the rate for licensed acupuncturists (Appellate Term, Second Department treats the chiropractor schedule as correct as a matter of law; the First Department in Global Liberty v Acupuncture Now (2019) held that this does not foreclose the physician schedule in every case) and whether a non-certified examiner suffices.

Leading authorities · Authority map · Decisions by court · Plain-text version (Markdown)

Leading authorities

  • Allstate Ins. Co. v Buffalo Neurosurgery Group (2019 NY Slip Op 03749) Appellate Division, Second Department, 2019Second Department: insurer's fee schedule showing established excess, unrebuttedIn the insurer's de novo action under Insurance Law § 5106 (c), the insurer established prima facie that the amount the provider sought was not in accordance with the workers' compensation fee schedule, and the provider failed to raise a triable issue; summary judgment on that branch should have been granted.
    the plaintiff established its prima facie entitlement to judgment as a matter of law on that branch of its motion which was for summary judgment on so much of the complaint, as, in effect, sought a determination that the amount of the benefits sought by the defendant was not in accordance with the workers’ compensation fee schedule
  • Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. v Acupuncture Now, P.C. (2019 NY Slip Op 08942) Appellate Division, First Department, 2019First Department: chiropractor rate not mandatory for every licensed acupuncturistInsurers seeking a declaration that licensed acupuncturists may be paid only under the chiropractor schedule did not show that as a matter of law or that the claims exceeded the schedule, and the providers raised an issue of fact whether the physician schedule applies; Great Wall-type holdings do not foreclose the physician schedule in all cases.
    In any event, defendants raised an issue of fact as to whether the physician fee schedule should apply.
  • Rogy Med., P.C. v Mercury Cas. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50732(U)) Appellate Term, Second Department, 2009Insurer must prove the excess; a timely denial is not enoughThe insurer showed it timely denied the claims on the fee schedule ground but did not submit sufficient evidence that the amounts charged exceeded the fee schedule, so the denial of its summary judgment motion was affirmed.
    However, defendant did not proffer sufficient evidence to establish as a matter of law that the amounts charged in said claims were in excess of the amounts permitted by the fee schedule
  • Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29467) Appellate Term, Second Department, 2009Licensed acupuncturists may be paid at the chiropractor acupuncture rateAfter a nonjury trial on stipulated facts, the court held as a matter of law that an insurer may use the workers' compensation fee schedule for acupuncture by chiropractors to pay a licensed acupuncturist; since the insurer had paid at that rate, no further reimbursement was due.
    we hold, as a matter of law, that an insurer may use the workers’ compensation fee schedule for acupuncture services performed by chiropractors to determine the amount which a licensed acupuncturist is entitled to receive for such acupuncture services
  • Oleg's Acupuncture, P.C. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50095(U)) Appellate Term, Second Department, 2018Certified coder's affidavit suffices; counsel's affirmation cannot rebut itA certified medical coder's affidavit established prima facie that the insurer had fully paid the claims under the fee schedule; the provider's attorney affirmation raised no triable issue, and for services after April 1, 2013 no timely denial was needed, so the complaint was dismissed.
    Defendant supported its cross motion with an affidavit by its certified medical coder and biller, which affidavit was sufficient to establish, prima facie, that defendant had fully paid the claims in accordance with the fee schedule.
  • MIA Acupuncture, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 21480) Appellate Term, Second Department, 2011Conclusory 'fee schedule review' statement does not prove the excessA claims examiner's statement that the claims underwent a 'fee schedule review' resulting in a reduction did not establish that the charges exceeded the workers' compensation fee schedule, so the insurer was not entitled to summary judgment on those claims.
    This allegation alone was insufficient to establish defendant’s contention that the amounts charged by plaintiff for these acupuncture services exceeded the relevant rates set forth in the workers’ compensation fee schedule
  • Kingsbrook Jewish Med. Ctr. v Allstate Ins. Co. 61 AD3d 13Cited by 23 candidates: the workers' compensation fee schedule may be judicially noticed (used to decide whether the schedule must be annexed), and Rogy cites it for the insurer's burden; it also held that a fee schedule defense is precluded if not timely raised (pre-2013 precludability, outside this topic).Not in our database.

Authority map

Each circle is a decision on this question, placed by court and date; its colour is the position it took. Lines are citations between them. Select a circle (or find a decision by name) to see its links and summary. The same decisions are listed by court below the map.

Insurer proved the billed amount exceeded the applicable fee scheduleInsurer's proof did not establish the excess as a matter of law; question left for trialCourt finally rejected the fee schedule defense; provider recovers the disputed amountExcess shown for some charges, not for othersRing: rules on the question, but another ground decided the caseContrasted, distinguished or limitedDeclined to follow, questioned, overruled or reversedCited
Layout

The map loads when you scroll to it.

How the rule was applied, by court

Decisions (330)

Every decision in our database that rules on this question: highest court first, then by department, newest first. 281 turn on it; the others rule on it alongside a different main ground (marked "also decides"). The one-sentence summaries describe what each court said on this question.

How this page is made: the decisions are those in our case-law database that cite this question's leading cases or were tagged with its subject. A language model read each one in full and recorded whether it rules on the question, the position it took and a one-sentence summary; a second, independent reading checked every entry. Court, department, date and the citation links come from the database. Read the decision before relying on it.