• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
    • No-Fault Collections
    • Billing and Collections
    • Provider Defense
  • How We Work
  • About
    • All Research & Data
    • Search Case Law & Regulations
    • New Decisions
    • Decisions by Court
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Claim Process & Deadlines
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Arbitration Results by Provider
    • Ask No-Fault AI
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
    • No-Fault Collections
    • Billing and Collections
    • Provider Defense
  • How We Work
  • About
    • All Research & Data
    • Search Case Law & Regulations
    • New Decisions
    • Decisions by Court
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Claim Process & Deadlines
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Arbitration Results by Provider
    • Ask No-Fault AI
  • Contact
December 29, 2011

MIA Acupuncture, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 21480)

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/mia-acupuncture-p-c-v-praetorian-ins-co-2011-ny-slip-op-21480/

Court
Appellate Term, Second Department
Decided
December 29, 2011
Citation
2011 NY Slip Op 21480 · 35 Misc 3d 69
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Split result
Later treatment
Followed in 3 later decisions (see Cited by)
Issues
Medical necessity Timeliness and preclusion Fee schedule
Legal questions
Proof of mailing · Lack of medical necessity · Proving a fee schedule defense (see the maps)
Cite as
MIA Acupuncture, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co., 35 Misc 3d 69 (App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The insurer proved lack of medical necessity for certain acupuncture services but failed to establish late submission or excessive fees. The Appellate Term, Second Department, modified the order, insofar as appealed from, to grant summary judgment dismissing the September 10 claim's portion for services from August 29 through September 6, 2007. The sworn IME report established that further treatment was unnecessary, and the treating acupuncturist's affidavit did not rebut it. Denial of summary judgment on the other challenged claims was affirmed: conflicting mailing evidence raised a factual issue under the 45-day submission requirement of 11 NYCRR 65-1.1, and merely alleging a fee-schedule review did not establish overcharges. A partial dissent favored remittal on fee-schedule judicial notice under CPLR 4511 (a).

Reported in New York Official Reports at MIA Acupuncture, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 21480)

MIA Acupuncture, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co.
2011 NY Slip Op 21480 [35 Misc 3d 69]
Accepted for Miscellaneous Reports Publication
AT2
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, July 19, 2012

[*1]

MIA Acupuncture, P.C., as Assignee of Fidel Williams, Respondent,
v
Praetorian Ins. Co., Appellant.

Supreme Court, Appellate Term, Second Department, 2d, 11th and 13th Judicial Districts, December 29, 2011

APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL

Law Offices of Moira Doherty, P.C., Bethpage (Kevin R. Glynn of counsel), for appellant.

{**35 Misc 3d at 70} OPINION OF THE COURT

Memorandum.

Ordered that the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by providing that the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as seeks to recover the portion of plaintiff’s September 10, 2007 claim that was for services rendered from August 29, 2007 through September 6, 2007 is granted; as so modified, the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed, without costs.

In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved for summary judgment and defendant cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. Defendant appeals from so much of the order as denied its cross motion.

A provider is required to submit proof of claim to the insurer “in no event later than 45 days after the date services are rendered” unless the insurer has been provided with “clear and reasonable justification for the failure to comply with such time limitation” (Insurance Department Regulations [11 {**35 Misc 3d at 71}NYCRR] § 65-1.1). Plaintiff’s billing manager alleged that he had [*2]personally mailed a claim form (which billed for acupuncture services rendered from May 23, 2007 through May 31, 2007) on June 21, 2007. Defendant denied payment for the portion of this claim which billed for treatment on May 23, 2007 and May 24, 2007, based on plaintiff’s submission of the claim form beyond the 45-day period. Defendant’s claims examiner averred that the claim form had not been received by defendant until July 13, 2007 and annexed the envelope, bearing a July 10, 2007 postmark, which purportedly contained the claim form in question. As there is an issue of fact regarding the date that this claim form was mailed, defendant was not entitled to summary judgment dismissing the portion of the claim which billed for treatment on May 23, 2007 and May 24, 2007.

With respect to the claims for acupuncture services rendered from May 31, 2007 through August 27, 2007, the affidavit of defendant’s claims examiner stated that these claims underwent a “fee schedule review” resulting in a reduction of the amount due therefor. This allegation alone was insufficient to establish defendant’s contention that the amounts charged by plaintiff for these acupuncture services exceeded the relevant rates set forth in the workers’ compensation fee schedule (see Megacure Acupuncture, P.C. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co., 33 Misc 3d 141[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 52199[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]) and, thus, defendant was not entitled to summary judgment with respect to these claims.

Defendant denied the portion of plaintiff’s September 10, 2007 claim that was for dates of service from August 29, 2007 through September 6, 2007 based on an independent medical examination (IME) performed on August 13, 2007 by an acupuncturist who concluded that further acupuncture treatment was no longer necessary. In support of its cross motion, defendant submitted the sworn report of the acupuncturist, which established, prima facie, a lack of medical necessity for the services performed from August 29, 2007 through September 6, 2007. In opposition, plaintiff submitted the affidavit of its treating acupuncturist which did not rebut the conclusions set forth in the IME report (see Olga Bard Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co., 29 Misc 3d 132[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 51898[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2010]; Pan Chiropractic, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 136[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 51495[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]). Accordingly, so much of defendant’s cross motion as seeks to dismiss this portion of plaintiff’s claim should have been granted.{**35 Misc 3d at 72}

In light of the foregoing, the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by providing that the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as seeks to recover the portion of plaintiff’s September 10, 2007 claim that was for dates of service from August 29, 2007 through September 6, 2007 is granted.

Golia, J. (dissenting in part and concurring in part and voting to modify the order, insofar as appealed from, by providing that the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as seeks to recover the portion of plaintiff’s September 10, 2007 claim that was for services rendered from August 29, 2007 through September 6, 2007 is granted and by providing that so much of the order as denied the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as seeks to recover for services rendered from May 31, 2007 through August 27, 2007 is vacated, [*3]and the matter is remitted to the Civil Court for a new determination of this branch of defendant’s cross motion, in the following memorandum). I must dissent from my colleagues in the majority as to their implicit finding that a court is under no obligation to take notice of the rates set forth in the workers’ compensation fee schedule. Indeed, the question here is one of judicial notice and the obligations of the court with respect thereto. While the majority does not specifically cite to the term, judicial notice is the issue. I previously filed a concurrence addressing the very same issue in Stanley Liebowitz, M.D. P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (14 Misc 3d 142[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 50372[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]). While my concurrence in Stanley Liebowitz, M.D. P.C. specifically addressed the Civil Court’s grant of summary judgment to the medical provider, as opposed to the denial of summary judgment to the insurance provider, the issue of judicial notice of the no-fault fee schedule was similarly the underlying basis of that matter.

CPLR 4511 (a) states that “[e]very court shall take judicial notice without request . . . of the official compilation of codes, rules and regulations of the state except those that relate solely to the organization or internal management of an agency of the state” (emphasis added). As the fee schedule by which the rates of no-fault medical providers is determined is codified in the Official Compilation of Codes, Rules and Regulations of the State of New York, it falls under the purview of this mandate, and is consequently an obligation of this court.{**35 Misc 3d at 73}

The fee schedule utilized in New York State’s no-fault insurance scheme is the same schedule that was originally devised to set fees for medical services provided in conjunction with workers’ compensation claims. The workers’ compensation fee schedule was “incorporated by reference into the Insurance Department Regulations (see 11 NYCRR 68.1 [a])” (LVOV Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co., 32 Misc 3d 144[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 51721[U], *1 [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]). Hence, the fee schedule, as it pertains to no-fault claims, is codified as part of the Official Compilation of Codes, Rules and Regulations of the State of New York as a component of Insurance Department Regulations (11 NYCRR) § 68.1 (a).

The New York Court of Appeals has specifically addressed judicial notice as it pertains to New York State regulations. In Matter of New York Assn. of Convenience Stores v Urbach (92 NY2d 204, 214 [1998]), the Court of Appeals found that the repeal of certain regulations by the New York State Tax Department was a development of which the Court “must take judicial notice.”

Both the Third and First Departments have held much the same. In Cruise v New York State Thruway Auth. (28 AD2d 1029, 1030 [1967]), the Appellate Division, Third Department, found that “the [trial] court was required [by CPLR 4511 (a)] to take judicial notice of” certain regulations of the New York State Thruway Authority. In Chanler v Manocherian (151 AD2d 432, 433 [1989]), the Appellate Division, First Department, held that, under CPLR 4511 (a), “[t]he refusal to take judicial notice of pertinent laws and regulations constitutes reversible error” (citing Howard Stores Corp. v Pope, 1 NY2d 110 [1956]).

The essential principle underlying these decisions is that a court has an inherent obligation to know the laws which it is charged with applying, much the same as a judge would charge a jury on the law at the close of evidence. Indeed, in discussing the role of judicial notice in the application of laws, the American Jurisprudence Proof of Facts states that “[t]he exercise of [*4]such power is so much taken for granted, that the specific term ‘judicial notice’ is not generally associated with it, though technically it could well be applied,” as “[a] court has inherent power to know the domestic law of its own jurisdiction, both statutory and case law” (60 Am Jur Proof of Facts 3d 175, § 3).

This long-entrenched reluctance of courts to take judicial notice of codified laws and regulations is illustrated in some aged opinions of appellate courts in our sister states: “[i]nferior {**35 Misc 3d at 74}courts are required to know the local regulations, municipal ordinances and town by-laws which it is their duty to administer” (Strain v Isaacs, 59 Ohio App 495, 514, 18 NE2d 816, 825 [1938]); “[t]he court is bound to take notice of the law” (Randall v Commonwealth of Virginia, 183 Va 182, 186, 31 SE2d 571, 572 [1944]). Both cases remain good law in their respective jurisdictions and continue to inform as to the proper role of judicial notice.

More recently, in Getty Petroleum Mktg., Inc. v Capital Term. Co. (391 F3d 312, 322 [2004]), Judge Lipez of the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit wrote in a concurring opinion:

“Judicial notice of law is the name given to the commonsense doctrine that the rules of evidence governing admissibility and proof of documents generally do not make sense to apply to statutes or judicial opinions—which are technically documents—because they are presented to the court as law, not to the jury as evidence.”

In light of the above-discussed precedent and the tangential connection between the formal practice of judicial notice and the recognition of codified laws and regulations, I can see no reason why this court should not take notice, judicial or otherwise, of the fee schedule. The fee schedule has been made part of the law of New York (see LVOV Acupuncture, P.C., 2011 NY Slip Op 51721[U]).

An advocate before any court need not supply it with physical copies of the laws upon which an argument is based to ensure that those particular laws are taken under consideration by this court. An advocate need only recite an argument involving a certain law; an attorney need only bring the relevant law to the attention of a court. Indeed, here it is enough that defendant alleged that the fee charged by plaintiff exceeded the relevant rates set forth in the fee schedule as prescribed by law. As such, I would remit this specific issue back to the lower court for a determination of the motion as to whether the proper fees were charged under the workers’ compensation fee schedule for the services rendered from May 31, 2007 through August 27, 2007, and whether appropriate payment was made thereon. I would also advise the motion court that it is obligated to take notice of the workers’ compensation fee schedule and all New York laws and regulations pertaining thereto.{**35 Misc 3d at 75}

Pesce, P.J., and Steinhardt, J., concur; Golia, J., dissents in part and concurs in part in a separate memorandum.

Legal questions (3)

Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Proof of mailing

Open the full map

Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?

This decision: The mailing proof (of either party) left only a triable issue of fact on whether or when the item was mailed or received

Held a triable issue existed on when the provider mailed its claim form, given the billing manager's averment of personal mailing against the insurer's later-postmarked envelope, so the 45-day denial could not be resolved on summary judgment.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 37
  • Appellate TermApp Term 1,214
  • Trial courtsTrial 148
2015, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2023, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2016, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove)2015, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove)2014, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2013, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2012, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2011, Appellate Division: 6 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2010, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2008, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2007, Appellate Division: 7 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2006, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2005, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove)2004, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer failed to prove)2023, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2022, Appellate Term: 44 decisions (32 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing)2021, Appellate Term: 21 decisions (13 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2020, Appellate Term: 31 decisions (24 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing)2019, Appellate Term: 81 decisions (59 Insurer proved mailing, 5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 12 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2018, Appellate Term: 74 decisions (46 Insurer proved mailing, 16 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove, 10 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2017, Appellate Term: 115 decisions (60 Insurer proved mailing, 26 Insurer failed to prove, 4 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 21 Triable issue on mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2016, Appellate Term: 103 decisions (44 Insurer proved mailing, 30 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 21 Triable issue on mailing, 3 Mixed rulings)2015, Appellate Term: 97 decisions (66 Insurer proved mailing, 10 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 9 Triable issue on mailing, 8 Mixed rulings)2014, Appellate Term: 68 decisions (55 Insurer proved mailing, 4 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 3 Triable issue on mailing, 4 Mixed rulings)2013, Appellate Term: 73 decisions (62 Insurer proved mailing, 6 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 3 Mixed rulings)2012, Appellate Term: 110 decisions (87 Insurer proved mailing, 14 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 4 Mixed rulings)2011, Appellate Term: 69 decisions (56 Insurer proved mailing, 8 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2010, Appellate Term: 78 decisions (67 Insurer proved mailing, 4 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2009, Appellate Term: 53 decisions (29 Insurer proved mailing, 11 Insurer failed to prove, 6 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 4 Mixed rulings)2008, Appellate Term: 28 decisions (13 Insurer proved mailing, 11 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2007, Appellate Term: 30 decisions (9 Insurer proved mailing, 16 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2006, Appellate Term: 75 decisions (6 Insurer proved mailing, 19 Insurer failed to prove, 21 Provider proved mailing, 21 Provider failed to prove, 8 Mixed rulings)2005, Appellate Term: 27 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 14 Insurer failed to prove, 7 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2004, Appellate Term: 12 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 4 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2003, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Provider proved mailing)2024, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2025, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2026, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Triable issue on mailing)2023, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Provider proved mailing)2022, Trial courts: 5 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2021, Trial courts: 18 decisions (12 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 2 Mixed rulings)2020, Trial courts: 5 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2019, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2018, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2017, Trial courts: 7 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove)2016, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2015, Trial courts: 3 decisions (3 Provider proved mailing)2013, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2012, Trial courts: 10 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2011, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2010, Trial courts: 6 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2009, Trial courts: 9 decisions (4 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing)2008, Trial courts: 13 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 7 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2007, Trial courts: 8 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2006, Trial courts: 7 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 6 Insurer failed to prove)2005, Trial courts: 15 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 8 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 4 Provider failed to prove)2004, Trial courts: 10 decisions (5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove)2024, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2025, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2026, Trial courts: 7 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)This decision
20052010201520202025
Insurer proved mailingInsurer failed to proveProvider proved mailingProvider failed to proveTriable issue on mailingMixed rulingsThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 103 (this one included) are in the same category.

Lack of medical necessity

Open the full map

Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?

This decision: Insurer's proof established lack of medical necessity and the provider failed to rebut it

Held the acupuncturist's sworn IME report established lack of medical necessity for post-IME services and the treating acupuncturist's affidavit did not rebut it, so the insurer was granted summary judgment on that portion.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 9
  • Appellate TermApp Term 521
  • Trial courtsTrial 87
2022, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer's proof insufficient)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient)2019, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2016, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2008, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2007, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer raised triable issue)2023, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient)2022, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)2021, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (4 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)2020, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 2 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 1 Trial error, new trial)2019, Appellate Term: 15 decisions (8 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 4 Insurer's proof insufficient, 3 Trial error, new trial)2018, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (7 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 2 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 4 Trial error, new trial)2017, Appellate Term: 20 decisions (5 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 7 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 7 Trial error, new trial)2016, Appellate Term: 28 decisions (16 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 7 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 3 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient)2015, Appellate Term: 22 decisions (9 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 9 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2014, Appellate Term: 40 decisions (16 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 22 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2013, Appellate Term: 57 decisions (40 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 12 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient, 2 Trial error, new trial)2012, Appellate Term: 76 decisions (54 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 10 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 2 Insurer raised triable issue, 5 Insurer's proof insufficient, 5 Trial error, new trial)2011, Appellate Term: 56 decisions (42 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 6 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 2 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient, 4 Trial error, new trial)2010, Appellate Term: 66 decisions (50 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 5 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 9 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient)2009, Appellate Term: 32 decisions (17 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 2 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 9 Insurer raised triable issue, 4 Insurer's proof insufficient)2008, Appellate Term: 29 decisions (14 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 9 Insurer raised triable issue, 6 Insurer's proof insufficient)2007, Appellate Term: 9 decisions (3 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 3 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2006, Appellate Term: 20 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 11 Insurer raised triable issue, 8 Insurer's proof insufficient)2005, Appellate Term: 16 decisions (6 Insurer raised triable issue, 10 Insurer's proof insufficient)2004, Appellate Term: 10 decisions (1 Insurer raised triable issue, 9 Insurer's proof insufficient)2003, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer raised triable issue)2022, Trial courts: 6 decisions (4 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2021, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient)2017, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2015, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)2014, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2013, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Trial error, new trial)2012, Trial courts: 7 decisions (4 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 3 Insurer's proof insufficient)2011, Trial courts: 4 decisions (4 Insurer's proof insufficient)2010, Trial courts: 10 decisions (2 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 7 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2009, Trial courts: 5 decisions (2 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 2 Insurer raised triable issue, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2008, Trial courts: 11 decisions (6 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 5 Insurer's proof insufficient)2007, Trial courts: 5 decisions (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 4 Insurer's proof insufficient)2006, Trial courts: 9 decisions (2 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 6 Insurer's proof insufficient)2005, Trial courts: 9 decisions (2 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 6 Insurer's proof insufficient)2004, Trial courts: 8 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 5 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2003, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2026, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient)2025, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)This decision
20052010201520202025
Unrebutted, insurer prevailsProvider's rebuttal sufficientInsurer raised triable issueInsurer's proof insufficientTrial error, new trialThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 315 (this one included) are in the same category.

Proving a fee schedule defense

Open the full map

Did the insurer prove that the amount billed exceeded the applicable workers’ compensation fee schedule?

This decision: Insurer's proof did not establish the excess as a matter of law; question left for trial

Held the claims examiner's bare statement that the claims underwent a fee schedule review resulting in a reduction insufficient to establish that the charges exceeded the workers' compensation fee schedule rates.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 6
  • Appellate TermApp Term 239
  • Trial courtsTrial 39
2016, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Excess shown)2022, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Excess shown)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Not established; open)2019, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Excess shown, 1 Defense rejected)2015, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Excess shown)2008, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Excess shown)2022, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (4 Excess shown, 2 Not established; open, 1 Defense rejected, 1 Split by charge)2021, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (1 Excess shown, 1 Not established; open, 3 Defense rejected)2020, Appellate Term: 10 decisions (6 Excess shown, 3 Not established; open, 1 Split by charge)2019, Appellate Term: 16 decisions (13 Excess shown, 2 Not established; open, 1 Split by charge)2018, Appellate Term: 10 decisions (9 Excess shown, 1 Split by charge)2017, Appellate Term: 47 decisions (27 Excess shown, 15 Not established; open, 5 Split by charge)2016, Appellate Term: 21 decisions (11 Excess shown, 7 Not established; open, 1 Defense rejected, 2 Split by charge)2015, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (10 Excess shown, 3 Not established; open)2014, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (7 Excess shown, 5 Not established; open, 1 Split by charge)2013, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (3 Excess shown, 8 Not established; open, 2 Split by charge)2012, Appellate Term: 20 decisions (15 Excess shown, 3 Not established; open, 1 Defense rejected, 1 Split by charge)2011, Appellate Term: 18 decisions (8 Excess shown, 5 Not established; open, 5 Split by charge)2010, Appellate Term: 15 decisions (7 Excess shown, 3 Not established; open, 3 Defense rejected, 2 Split by charge)2009, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (4 Excess shown, 2 Not established; open)2008, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Excess shown, 1 Not established; open)2007, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (3 Excess shown, 2 Not established; open)2006, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Not established; open, 1 Defense rejected)2005, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (1 Not established; open, 4 Defense rejected)2004, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Not established; open, 2 Defense rejected)2003, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Defense rejected)2023, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Excess shown)2025, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Not established; open)2026, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Excess shown, 1 Not established; open)2022, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Excess shown, 2 Not established; open)2021, Trial courts: 4 decisions (1 Excess shown, 3 Not established; open)2017, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Excess shown)2016, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Excess shown, 1 Not established; open)2015, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Not established; open)2013, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Not established; open, 1 Defense rejected)2012, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Not established; open, 1 Defense rejected)2011, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Excess shown)2010, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Defense rejected, 1 Split by charge)2009, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Excess shown, 1 Defense rejected)2008, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Not established; open)2007, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Not established; open)2006, Trial courts: 3 decisions (3 Defense rejected)2005, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Excess shown, 1 Not established; open)2004, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Defense rejected)2024, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense rejected)2026, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Not established; open, 1 Split by charge)2018, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Not established; open)This decision
20052010201520202025
Excess shownNot established; openDefense rejectedSplit by chargeThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 285 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 85 (this one included) are in the same category. 3 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Megacure Acupuncture, P.C. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52199(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to prove that the acupuncture charges exceeded the fee schedule, and the provider failed to establish entitlement to judgment.
  • Olga Bard Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51898(U)) FollowedThe insurer established fee schedule and medical necessity defenses but failed to justify dismissal of the initial acupuncture visit claim.
  • Pan Chiropractic, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51495(U)) FollowedThe provider's conclusory disagreement with the insurer's supported peer review failed to raise a medical-necessity issue of fact.
  • Stanley Liebowitz, M.D. P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50372(U))The insurer's appeal was dismissed because summary judgment for the provider was entered on the insurer's default.
  • LVOV Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51721(U))The insurer established full fee-schedule payment for acupuncture codes 97810 and 97811 but offered no basis to dismiss the initial-visit claim.

Cited by

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • Devonshire Surgical Facility, LLC v Allstate Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 52351(U)) FollowedThe provider's cross motion failed because factual issues remained over billing rates applicable to its apparent surgical facility status.
  • Lotus Acupuncture PC v Hereford Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50057(U)) FollowedThe insurer's summary judgment motion on its fee-schedule defense was denied because its proof did not establish excessive charges.
  • Village Chiropractic v Geico Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51189(U)) FollowedThe insurer established lack of medical necessity after its IME cutoff, but failed to substantiate reductions of five claims under the fee schedule.
  • Healthy Way Acupuncture, P.C. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 50345(U))The insurer failed to establish that the provider's charges exceeded the workers' compensation fee schedule, despite proving a timely denial.
  • Parisien v ZipCar c/o Corp. Serv. Co. (2026 NY Slip Op 26130)A default declaratory order expressly determining no-fault coverage can preclude a provider's claims even without entry of a final judgment.

Similar decisions

  • Great Wall Acupuncture v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 27164)The insurer properly reimbursed the licensed acupuncturist at chiropractor rates because similar services and licensing requirements supported them.
  • Acupuncture Approach P.C. v MVAIC (2013 NY Slip Op 50720(U))MVAIC's fee-schedule defense succeeded because publication was waived for the fees applied, each of which was below $100.
  • Forrest Chen Acupuncture Servs., P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50874(U))The insurer's use of physical-therapy rates for acupuncture claims was upheld because the provider did not dispute similarity of the procedures.
  • Points of Health Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51843(U))The workers' compensation fee schedule may be judicially noticed in determining reimbursement for acupuncture services.
  • East Coast Acupuncture, P.C. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 26042)A fee schedule defense for services rendered after April 1, 2013 is not precluded by a denial issued beyond 30 days.
Beynenson Law

No-fault collections for healthcare providers across New York State, with billing available together with collections.

Request a free claims review
About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Services

  • No-Fault Collections
  • Billing and Collections
  • Provider Defense

Research & Data

  • All Research & Data
  • Search Case Law & Regulations
  • New Decisions
  • Decisions by Court
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations
  • Claim Process & Deadlines
  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Arbitration Results by Provider
  • Ask No-Fault AI

©2026 The Beynenson Law Group, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.