January 23, 2026
Acupuncture Now, P.C. v MVAIC (2026 NY Slip Op 50197(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/acupuncture-now-p-c-v-mvaic-2026-ny-slip-op-50197u/
- Court
- Appellate Term, Second Department
- Decided
- January 23, 2026
- Citation
- 2026 NY Slip Op 50197(U) · 88 Misc 3d 129(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
- Issues
- Fee schedule Policy issues
- Legal questions
- Proving a fee schedule defense (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Acupuncture Now, P.C. v MVAIC (2026 NY Slip Op 50197(U))
[*1]| Acupuncture Now, P.C. v MVAIC |
| 2026 NY Slip Op 50197(U) [88 Misc 3d 129(A)] |
| Decided on January 23, 2026 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on January 23, 2026
PRESENT: : JOANNE D. QUIÑONES, J.P., MARINA CORA MUNDY, LISA S. OTTLEY, JJ
2025-49 K C
against
MVAIC, Appellant.
Marshall & Marshall, PLLC (Angelique Evangelista and Frank D’Esposito of counsel), for appellant.
The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Oleg Rybak, of counsel), for respondent (no brief filed).
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Odessa Kennedy, J.), dated October 9, 2024. The order, insofar as appealed from, in effect, denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint or, in the alternative, dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover sums that were in excess of $1,580.80.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by granting the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover sums that were in excess of $1,580.80; as so modified, the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits in the total amount of $2,373.20 for services rendered from March 2018 to April 2018, defendant Motor Vehicle Accident Indemnification Corporation (sued herein as MVAIC) moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground of exhaustion of available coverage or, in the alternative, dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover sums that were in excess of $1,580.80, the allowable amount permitted under the workers’ compensation fee schedule. Plaintiff cross-moved for summary judgment or, in the alternative, for an order pursuant to CPLR 3212 (g) deeming certain facts established for all purposes in this action. By order dated October 9, 2024, the Civil Court (Odessa Kennedy, J.), in effect, denied the motion and cross-motion, but found, in effect pursuant to CPLR 3212 (g), “that plaintiff establishe[d] its prima facie case of timely and properly submitting the bills in question and defendant issued timely denials” and that [*2]triable issues of fact remained as to MVAIC’s exhaustion of coverage and fee schedule defenses.
To obtain summary judgment on its asserted defense that the limits of any available coverage had already been exhausted, MVAIC had to prove that its payments exhausted the available coverage in accordance with 11 NYCRR 65-3.15 (see Nyack Hosp. v General Motors Acceptance Corp., 8 NY3d 294 [2007]; Alleviation Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co., 191 AD3d 934 [2021]). Here, the affidavit of MVAIC’s claims representative was sufficient to lay a foundation for MVAIC’s payment log to be admitted as a business record (see CPLR 4518 [a]). However, as the payment log does not set forth the dates on which MVAIC had received the various claims and the dates on which such claims became fully verified, MVAIC failed to demonstrate, as a matter of law, that the limits of the available coverage had been exhausted in accordance with 11 NYCRR 65-3.15. Consequently, the branch of MVAIC’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the complaint on this ground was properly denied (see JFL Med. Care, P.C. v MVAIC, 81 Misc 3d 145[A], 2024 NY Slip Op 50202[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2024]).
However, the Civil Court erred in denying the branch of MVAIC’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover sums that were in excess of $1,580.80, the amount permitted by the workers’ compensation fee schedule. This court has repeatedly held that the workers’ compensation fee schedule for acupuncture services performed by chiropractors before October 1, 2020 is the appropriate fee schedule for insurers to use to determine the amount which a licensed acupuncturist is entitled to receive for acupuncture services (see e.g. Mind & Body Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 75 Misc 3d 141[A], 2022 NY Slip Op 50603[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2022]; Flushing Traditional Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co., 69 Misc 3d 140[A], 2020 NY Slip Op 51337[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2020]; Jing Luo Acupuncture, P.C. v NY City Tr. Auth., 60 Misc 3d 136[A], 2018 NY Slip Op 51083[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2018]; GBI Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 58 Misc 3d 137[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 51832[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2017]; Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co., 26 Misc 3d 23 [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]; New Wave Oriental Acupuncture, P.C. v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 25 Misc 3d 133[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 52211[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]). Here, MVAIC conclusively established its defense that, for claims bearing the code 97139, the fees charged for services rendered from March 2018 to April 2018 exceeded the amounts set forth in the workers’ compensation fee schedule for acupuncture services performed by chiropractors for a total of $792.40.
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by granting the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover sums that were in excess of $1,580.80.
QUIÑONES, J.P., MUNDY and OTTLEY, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Jennifer Chan
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: January 23, 2026
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer prove that the amount billed exceeded the applicable workers’ compensation fee schedule?
This decision: Insurer proved the billed amount exceeded the applicable fee schedule
Held the insurer conclusively established that the code 97139 charges exceeded the chiropractor acupuncture fee schedule applicable to licensed acupuncturists by $792.40, and dismissed the claim to that extent.
Of the 284 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 147 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Alleviation Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 08159) FollowedThe insurer failed to support its policy-exhaustion defense with admissible evidence concerning the provider's claim.
- JFL Med. Care, P.C. v MVAIC (2024 NY Slip Op 50202(U)) FollowedMVAIC failed to establish coverage exhaustion because it omitted the dates claims were received and fully verified.
- Mind & Body Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50603(U))The insurer established full payment for the disputed acupuncture services under the workers' compensation fee schedule applicable to chiropractors.
- Flushing Traditional Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51337(U))The insurer established full payment of acupuncture claims under the workers' compensation fee schedule for services performed by chiropractors.
- Jing Luo Acupuncture, P.C. v NY City Tr. Auth. (2018 NY Slip Op 51083(U))A fee schedule defense is not precluded by an untimely denial for services governed by 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 (g).
- GBI Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51832(U))The insurer failed to prove tolling for four facially late denials but prevailed on fee-schedule reductions for four other claims.
- Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29467)An insurer may use the chiropractic acupuncture fee schedule to reimburse acupuncture services performed by a licensed acupuncturist.
- New Wave Oriental Acupuncture, P.C. v Government Employees Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 52211(U))The insurer's timely denials and reliance on the chiropractic acupuncture fee schedule raised a triable issue concerning reimbursement.
Similar decisions
- 20th Ave Acupuncture, P.C. v MVAIC (2013 NY Slip Op 51741(U))MVAIC obtained dismissal of claims paid under the fee schedule, but failed to establish timely denial of one claim.
- MIA Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51731(U))The insurer proved full payment of fee schedule claims and raised a medical necessity issue on the remaining acupuncture claims.
- Acupuncture Approach P.C. v MVAIC (2013 NY Slip Op 50720(U))MVAIC's fee-schedule defense succeeded because publication was waived for the fees applied, each of which was below $100.
- Healthway Med. Care, P.C. v MVAIC (2026 NY Slip Op 50200(U))MVAIC failed to establish exhaustion or proper fee schedule payment, and claim-submission timeliness remained disputed.
- LVOV Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO (2011 NY Slip Op 51844(U))The workers' compensation fee schedule may be judicially noticed when determining reimbursement for acupuncture services.