• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
December 8, 2006

Oleg Barshay, D.C., P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26496)

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/oleg-barshay-d-c-p-c-v-state-farm-ins-co-2006-ny-slip-op-26496/

Court
Appellate Term, Second Department
Decided
December 8, 2006
Citation
2006 NY Slip Op 26496 · 14 Misc 3d 74
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Provider prevailed
Later treatment
Followed in 22 later decisions (see Cited by)
Issues
Provider's prima facie case Timeliness and preclusion Staged accidents, lack of coverage
Legal questions
Claimant's prima facie case on motions · Proof of mailing · No covered accident (founded belief) (see the maps)
Cite as
Oleg Barshay, D.C., P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co., 14 Misc 3d 74 (App Term, 2d Dept 2006)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

A provider's deficient proof of claim submission may be cured by an insurer's denial form submitted in opposition to summary judgment. Exercising its discretion under CPLR 3212 (b), the Appellate Term, Second Department, searched the record and affirmed the order, insofar as appealed from, granting the provider summary judgment. The insurer's denial established receipt of the claim. The denial was untimely under Insurance Law § 5106 (a) and former 11 NYCRR 65.15 (g) (3); an EUO request under the regulations predating April 5, 2002 did not toll the determination period. The staged-collision defense remained available, but unsupported documents and affidavits lacking personal knowledge failed to raise a triable issue of fraud. A dissent opposed using the opposition papers to cure the provider's deficient showing.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Oleg Barshay, D.C., P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26496)

Oleg Barshay, D.C., P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co.
2006 NY Slip Op 26496 [14 Misc 3d 74]
Accepted for Miscellaneous Reports Publication
AT2
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, March 21, 2007

[*1]

Oleg Barshay, D.C., P.C., as Assignee of Maxene Louis, Respondent,
v
State Farm Ins. Company, Appellant.

Supreme Court, Appellate Term, Second Department, December 8, 2006

APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL

Rivkin Radler LLP, Uniondale (Evan H. Krinick, Cheryl F. Korman, Stuart M. Bodoff and Melissa M. Murphy of counsel), for appellant. Alden Banniettis, Brooklyn (Jeff Henle of counsel), for respondent.

{**14 Misc 3d at 75} OPINION OF THE COURT

Memorandum.

Order, insofar as appealed from, affirmed without costs.

In an action to recover first-party no-fault benefits for health care services provided to an assignor, a plaintiff establishes a prima facie entitlement to summary judgment by proof that it submitted a claim, setting forth the fact and amount of the loss sustained and that payment of no-fault benefits is overdue (Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]; Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 128[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51701[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2003]). While in its motion papers, plaintiff proved that it prepared a claim setting forth the fact and amount of the loss, plaintiff’s proof that it submitted the claim to defendant was inadequate. We have held that a no-fault benefits applicant may cure deficiencies in its proof of mailing by annexing to its motion papers an insurer’s denial of claim form wherein the insurer acknowledges the claim’s receipt (e.g. Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v ELRAC Inc., 12 Misc 3d 119 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]). Where, as here, plaintiff failed to annex the defendant’s denial of claim form to its motion papers, and the defendant annexes the denial of claim form to its opposing papers, the deficiency is similarly cured.

We are aware of the well-established principle that the failure of a proponent of a motion for summary judgment to make a prima facie showing of entitlement to judgment as a matter of [*2]law requires denial of the motion regardless of the sufficiency of the opposing papers (Winegrad v New York Univ. Med. Ctr., 64 NY2d 851, 853 [1985]). Moreover, it has been said that where a movant fails to demonstrate its entitlement to judgment as a matter of law, it is unnecessary for the court to even consider{**14 Misc 3d at 76} the sufficiency of the opposition papers (see New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 29 AD3d 547 [2006]). While opposition papers should not be reviewed for the sufficiency of the opposition, i.e., in order to determine whether a triable issue of fact has been raised, since in such cases the burden of proof will not have shifted to the party opposing the motion (see Alvarez v Prospect Hosp., 68 NY2d 320 [1986]), this is not to say that where a movant fails to establish a prima facie case, the court may never review the opposition papers. Where the missing elements of a movant’s prima facie showing of entitlement to judgment as a matter of law (such as here, plaintiff’s submission of the claim forms) are supplied in the opposition papers, it is our opinion that the court may, in its discretion and pursuant to its power to search the record (CPLR 3212 [b]), find that a prima facie case exists, thereby shifting the burden of proof, notwithstanding the evidentiary deficiencies in the moving papers. Indeed, CPLR 3212 (b) authorizes the court to grant a motion for summary judgment, if upon “all the papers and proof submitted, the cause of action or defense shall be established sufficiently to warrant the court as a matter of law in directing judgment in favor of any party” (emphasis added). The discretion of the court to review the opposition papers may be viewed as akin to the court’s discretionary power to grant reverse summary judgment in an appropriate case. This discretion exists both in the motion court and, in the first instance, in an intermediate appellate court (see e.g. Merritt Hill Vineyards v Windy Hgts. Vineyard, 61 NY2d 106, 112 [1984]). Thus, the opposition papers may, in the court’s discretion, be perused to determine whether the record as a whole establishes the movant’s prima facie entitlement to judgment. Were we to interpret the law otherwise, a court could not, for example, grant summary judgment to a plaintiff whose moving papers are insufficient, even where there has been a concession of liability in defendant’s opposition papers.

Accordingly, where a movant has not made out a prima facie entitlement to summary judgment, while a motion court need not consider the opposition papers, it is not necessarily an improvident exercise of discretion for it to do so in order to determine whether the record as a whole will establish a party’s prima facie case. In the instant case, we exercise our discretion to search the record, as we have done in prior cases (see e.g. Dilon Med. Supply Corp. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co., 12 Misc 3d 140[A], 2006 NY Slip Op 51344[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud{**14 Misc 3d at 77} Dists 2006]; M.G.M. Psychiatry Care P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 12 Misc 3d 137[A], 2006 NY Slip Op 51286[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]; Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co., 12 Misc 3d 134[A], 2006 NY Slip Op 51189[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]; Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co., 12 Misc 3d 130[A], 2006 NY Slip Op 51047[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]; First Help Acupuncture P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co., 12 Misc 3d 130[A], 2006 NY Slip Op 51043[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]; Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v State-Wide Ins. Co., 11 Misc 3d 29 [2005]; PDG Psychological P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 11 Misc 3d 128[A], 2006 NY Slip Op 50246[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]), and find that plaintiff’s prima facie entitlement to summary judgment was established, thereby shifting the burden to defendant to raise a triable issue of fact (Alvarez v Prospect Hosp., [*3]68 NY2d 320, 324 [1986]).

Defendant’s denial was untimely (Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; 11 NYCRR 65.15 [g] [3], now 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [c]), and defendant failed to establish a tolling of the statutory 30-day claim determination period (New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 31 AD3d 512 [2006]) by proof that it issued a proper and timely verification request (11 NYCRR 65.15 [d] [1], now 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [a]). Defendant alleged that it requested that assignor submit to an examination under oath (EUO) in December 2001. However, “the insurance regulations in effect prior to April 5, 2002 did not provide for EUOs as a form of verification” (A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 12 Misc 3d 143[A], 2006 NY Slip Op 51425[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]; see also King’s Med. Supply v Kemper Auto & Home Ins. Co., 3 Misc 3d 131[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50401[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]), and the absence of an EUO provision in the former verification scheme “may [not] be remedied by reference to policy provisions requiring that an insured cooperate with the insurer’s investigation of a claim, even if a clause therein explicitly provides for cooperation in that form” (Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 4 Misc 3d 92, 93 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]).

While the untimely denial did not preclude defendant from interposing the defense that the assignor’s injuries did not arise from a covered incident, i.e., an incident alleged to have been staged to defraud defendant (Matter of Metro Med. Diagnostics v Eagle Ins. Co., 293 AD2d 751, 752 [2002]; see also State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Laguerre, 305 AD2d 490, 491 [2003]), it{**14 Misc 3d at 78} remained defendant’s burden to demonstrate “a founded belief” that the injuries did not result from an insured event (Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195, 199 [1997]), and we agree with the court below that defendant failed to establish a triable issue of material fact as to fraud. The facts set forth in the affirmation of defendant’s counsel were without probative value as she had no personal knowledge of those facts (e.g. Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 4 Misc 3d 92, 94 [2004], supra), and none of the attached documents are sworn or supported by an affidavit by someone alleging personal knowledge of their preparation (A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 10 Misc 3d 50, 52 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2005]; see Rue v Stokes, 191 AD2d 245, 246 [1993]). In his affidavit, defendant’s claims representative likewise asserted no personal knowledge of defendant’s investigation into the incident and even if this case presented the “certain circumstances” meriting consideration of proof that would be inadmissible at trial (Kwi Bong Yi v JNJ Supply Corp., 274 AD2d 453 [2000]), the facts established little more than “unsubstantiated hypotheses and suppositions” (Penny v Pembrook Mgt., 280 AD2d 590, 591 [2001]), a “legally insufficient [basis] to support [a] defendant’s fraud allegation” (Amstel Chiropractic v Omni Indem. Co., 2 Misc 3d 129[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50088[U], *1-2 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]).

Golia, J. (dissenting and voting to reverse the order, insofar as appealed from, and denying plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment). Initially, I note with dismay the finding of the motion court. That determination is patently incorrect. The determination, which granted plaintiff summary judgment, stated that “plaintiff proved that it submitted a timely and proper notice of claim pursuant to the No-Fault [*4]statute.” With regard to that fact, the Appellate Term unanimously disagrees and finds that plaintiff failed to prove that it submitted the claim at all.

I further note, although not addressed by the majority, that the notice of claim which plaintiff provided was not a “proper notice of claim pursuant to the No-Fault statute.” The majority responds that due only to defendant’s failure to request a timely verification or raise a defense as to the propriety of the claim form, the defendant was precluded from raising those issues. I submit that a defendant’s failure to contest improper forms is not the same as a finding that the forms were proper.

My dissent, however, is predicated primarily upon the inappropriate expansion of the majority’s willingness to assist the plaintiff to establish its prima facie case in this no-fault matter.{**14 Misc 3d at 79}

The plaintiff here did not even meet the relaxed standard of making out a prima facie case that was first enunciated by the Appellate Term in a previous no-fault proceeding (see Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 128[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51701[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2003]) and its progeny. That case held that a health care provider need only prove that it submitted a properly completed claim form to establish its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment. It need not establish any medical necessity for providing the medical supplies or services performed. Indeed, in the event the defendant is precluded from raising a defense as to the propriety of the claim form in whole or in part, the plaintiff is then not even required to affirmatively establish that the claim form was “properly completed.”

In supporting its claim that the Appellate Term has the authority to search the record in order to find missing elements to establish a prima facie case in plaintiff’s motion, the majority cites to CPLR 3212 (b); specifically, that the motion can be granted upon “all the papers and proof submitted” (emphasis added). They did not include the first two sentences of that section which read:

“A motion for summary judgment shall be supported by affidavit[s], by a copy of the pleadings and by other available proof, such as depositions and written admissions. The affidavit shall be by a person having knowledge of the facts . . . and it shall show that there is no defense to the cause of action or that the cause of action or defense has no merit.”

When read together, one should conclude that this section imposes upon the movant a minimum requirement in order to establish a prima facie case. I emphasize that a motion for summary judgment must be supported within the four corners of the motion itself. To lessen this burden, as the majority now does in this no-fault proceeding, I submit, is unsupported in the law.

There is an Appellate Division, First Department case, Bowery Sav. Bank v 130 E. 72nd St. Realty Corp. (173 AD2d 364 [1991]), which “appears” to support the majority’s contention that a court may grant summary judgment upon information in the record that was not provided by the moving party. However, a careful reading of that case and the record on appeal reveals that this issue was never briefed. More importantly, it was not{**14 Misc 3d at 80} even considered by the trial court. [*5]In fact the unpublished decision from the Supreme Court cites to Alvarez v Prospect Hosp. (68 NY2d 320 [1986]) for the proposition that the initial burden lies upon the movant. That court then goes on to indicate that the defendant does not dispute certain issues but fails to raise sufficient allegations to raise a triable issue of fact.

At no point does the Supreme Court or the Appellate Division assert that it has the right to search the record in order to bolster the movant’s applications. There is clearly a distinction between discounting a technical failure that is not at issue and, on the other hand, combing through the record in order to search for missing elements of plaintiff’s prima facie case.

Until now, a plaintiff did, at least, have the initial burden to prove that the claim form was actually sent to the defendant. The Appellate Term has long held that such proof could be established by annexing the defendant’s denial form thereby proving that the claim was received. My colleagues now no longer require that plaintiff establish a prima facie case within the four corners of its motion as long as the majority can find the proof upon a complete search of the record.

Although the majority acknowledges the “well-established principle that the failure of a proponent of a motion for summary judgment to make a prima facie showing of entitlement to judgment as a matter of law requires denial of the motion regardless of the sufficiency of the opposing papers (Winegrad v New York Univ. Med. Ctr., 64 NY2d 851, 853 [1985])” (at 75), it nevertheless decided to search this record here and find that a prima facie case exists.

The majority then cites to the Court of Appeals case of Alvarez v Prospect Hosp. (68 NY2d 320 [1986]) which cites Winegrad, and which substantially stands for the same proposition. Nevertheless, the majority asserts that “this is not to say that where a movant fails to establish a prima facie case, the court may never review the opposition papers” (at 76). What they fail to explain is how they reached that conclusion given the following language in Alvarez: “As we have stated frequently, the proponent of a summary judgment motion must make a prima facie showing of entitlement to judgment as a matter of law . . . Failure to make such prima facie showing requires a denial of the motion, regardless of the sufficiency of the opposing papers” (Alvarez, 68 NY2d at 324 [emphasis added]).{**14 Misc 3d at 81}

For the majority now to say that Alvarez does not preclude them here from reviewing the opposition papers and finding a prima facie case for the movant upon the entire record is, in my opinion, misrepresenting the clear language enunciated by the Court of Appeals. That Court unequivocally stated that such failure mandates a denial of the motion despite the sufficiency of the opposing papers, a ruling which this court is duty bound to follow.

Finally, I submit, the majority engages in an argument of pure sophistry. It asserts that the Appellate Term has the authority to search the record and grant reverse summary judgment even in the absence of a cross motion or an appeal seeking such relief. I agree. It goes on to conclude that the Appellate Term must therefore have the authority to search this record in order to grant summary judgment even in the absence of the movant making out its prima facie case. I [*6]do not agree.

There is no question that this court has the authority to search the record and grant reverse summary judgment (see Merritt Hill Vineyards v Windy Hgts. Vineyard, 61 NY2d 106 [1984]). That does not mean, however, that the Appellate Term can use that authority to correct this no-fault movant’s failure to establish its prima facie entitlement to judgment. In my view, the majority’s decision would permit a trial court to exercise its discretion in an open and relaxed manner and would, consequently, result in varied and conflicting decisions based upon the same or similar facts. The result can only lead to confusion and increased appellate litigation. Clearly, in no-fault matters, where the Appellate Term has provided the plaintiff with the simplest of requirements to establish a prima facie case as a matter of law, it now holds that even less is required.

Pesce, P.J., and Rios, J., concur; Golia, J., dissents in a separate memorandum.

Legal questions (3)

Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Claimant's prima facie case on motions

Open the full map

On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?

This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case

Held that, although the provider's moving papers did not prove submission of the claim, the court could search the record and the insurer's own denial form annexed to its opposition supplied that element, establishing the prima facie case.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 2
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 80
  • Appellate TermApp Term 843
  • Trial courtsTrial 138
2015, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2007, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2022, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2019, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2014, Appellate Division: 10 decisions (9 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2013, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Proof sufficient)2012, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Proof sufficient)2011, Appellate Division: 11 decisions (11 Proof sufficient)2010, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2009, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Other element missing)2008, Appellate Division: 8 decisions (6 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Appellate Division: 15 decisions (12 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown)2006, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Other element missing)2005, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (5 Proof sufficient)2004, Appellate Division: 11 decisions (10 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2003, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2022, Appellate Term: 14 decisions (2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 12 Overdue not shown)2021, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 4 Overdue not shown)2020, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (13 Overdue not shown)2019, Appellate Term: 23 decisions (22 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2018, Appellate Term: 26 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 22 Overdue not shown)2017, Appellate Term: 38 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 34 Overdue not shown)2016, Appellate Term: 41 decisions (7 Proof sufficient, 34 Overdue not shown)2015, Appellate Term: 44 decisions (12 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 30 Overdue not shown, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2014, Appellate Term: 22 decisions (10 Proof sufficient, 12 Overdue not shown)2013, Appellate Term: 34 decisions (17 Proof sufficient, 11 Overdue not shown, 6 Business-record foundation lacking)2012, Appellate Term: 32 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 11 Overdue not shown, 16 Business-record foundation lacking)2011, Appellate Term: 29 decisions (6 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 13 Overdue not shown, 9 Business-record foundation lacking)2010, Appellate Term: 36 decisions (22 Proof sufficient, 3 Mailing/receipt not shown, 10 Business-record foundation lacking, 1 Other element missing)2009, Appellate Term: 52 decisions (28 Proof sufficient, 3 Mailing/receipt not shown, 21 Business-record foundation lacking)2008, Appellate Term: 49 decisions (16 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 32 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Appellate Term: 104 decisions (8 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 94 Business-record foundation lacking)2006, Appellate Term: 112 decisions (76 Proof sufficient, 26 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown, 6 Business-record foundation lacking, 3 Other element missing)2005, Appellate Term: 90 decisions (84 Proof sufficient, 5 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown)2004, Appellate Term: 57 decisions (43 Proof sufficient, 10 Mailing/receipt not shown, 4 Other element missing)2003, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (7 Proof sufficient)2023, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Overdue not shown)2024, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 6 Overdue not shown)2025, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown)2026, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Mailing/receipt not shown)2023, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Proof sufficient)2022, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 2 Overdue not shown)2021, Trial courts: 11 decisions (6 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 2 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2020, Trial courts: 5 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2019, Trial courts: 6 decisions (5 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown)2018, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Overdue not shown)2017, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2016, Trial courts: 4 decisions (4 Proof sufficient)2013, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2012, Trial courts: 5 decisions (4 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2011, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2010, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2009, Trial courts: 7 decisions (7 Proof sufficient)2008, Trial courts: 14 decisions (8 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown, 4 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Trial courts: 7 decisions (5 Proof sufficient, 2 Business-record foundation lacking)2006, Trial courts: 16 decisions (13 Proof sufficient, 2 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2005, Trial courts: 22 decisions (14 Proof sufficient, 5 Mailing/receipt not shown, 3 Business-record foundation lacking)2004, Trial courts: 14 decisions (8 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 4 Other element missing)2025, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown)2026, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown)2014, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2015, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2024, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)This decision
20052010201520202025
Proof sufficientMailing/receipt not shownOverdue not shownBusiness-record foundation lackingOther element missingThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category. 2 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.

Proof of mailing

Open the full map

Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?

This decision: The provider's or claimant's proof established mailing of its claim form, NF-2 or verification response

Held the provider's inadequate proof that it submitted the claim was cured by the insurer's denial of claim form, annexed to the insurer's opposition, acknowledging receipt of the claim.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 37
  • Appellate TermApp Term 1,203
  • Trial courtsTrial 143
2015, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2023, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2016, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove)2015, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove)2014, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2013, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2012, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2011, Appellate Division: 6 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2010, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2008, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2007, Appellate Division: 7 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2006, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2005, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove)2004, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer failed to prove)2023, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing)2022, Appellate Term: 44 decisions (32 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing)2021, Appellate Term: 21 decisions (13 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2020, Appellate Term: 31 decisions (24 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing)2019, Appellate Term: 80 decisions (59 Insurer proved mailing, 5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 12 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2018, Appellate Term: 73 decisions (46 Insurer proved mailing, 16 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove, 9 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2017, Appellate Term: 115 decisions (60 Insurer proved mailing, 26 Insurer failed to prove, 4 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 21 Triable issue on mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2016, Appellate Term: 102 decisions (44 Insurer proved mailing, 30 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 20 Triable issue on mailing, 3 Mixed rulings)2015, Appellate Term: 97 decisions (66 Insurer proved mailing, 10 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 9 Triable issue on mailing, 8 Mixed rulings)2014, Appellate Term: 67 decisions (55 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 3 Triable issue on mailing, 4 Mixed rulings)2013, Appellate Term: 73 decisions (62 Insurer proved mailing, 6 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 3 Mixed rulings)2012, Appellate Term: 109 decisions (87 Insurer proved mailing, 13 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 4 Mixed rulings)2011, Appellate Term: 69 decisions (56 Insurer proved mailing, 8 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2010, Appellate Term: 77 decisions (67 Insurer proved mailing, 4 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 2 Mixed rulings)2009, Appellate Term: 53 decisions (29 Insurer proved mailing, 11 Insurer failed to prove, 6 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 4 Mixed rulings)2008, Appellate Term: 27 decisions (12 Insurer proved mailing, 11 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2007, Appellate Term: 30 decisions (9 Insurer proved mailing, 16 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2006, Appellate Term: 74 decisions (6 Insurer proved mailing, 18 Insurer failed to prove, 21 Provider proved mailing, 21 Provider failed to prove, 8 Mixed rulings)2005, Appellate Term: 27 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 14 Insurer failed to prove, 7 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2004, Appellate Term: 12 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 4 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2003, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Provider proved mailing)2024, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2025, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing)2026, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Triable issue on mailing)2023, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Provider proved mailing)2022, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2021, Trial courts: 17 decisions (12 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 2 Mixed rulings)2020, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2019, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2018, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2017, Trial courts: 7 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove)2016, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2015, Trial courts: 3 decisions (3 Provider proved mailing)2013, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2012, Trial courts: 10 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2011, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2010, Trial courts: 6 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2009, Trial courts: 9 decisions (4 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing)2008, Trial courts: 13 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 7 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2007, Trial courts: 8 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2006, Trial courts: 7 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 6 Insurer failed to prove)2005, Trial courts: 14 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 8 Insurer failed to prove, 4 Provider failed to prove)2004, Trial courts: 10 decisions (5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove)2024, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2025, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2026, Trial courts: 6 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)This decision
20052010201520202025
Insurer proved mailingInsurer failed to proveProvider proved mailingProvider failed to proveTriable issue on mailingMixed rulingsThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 103 (this one included) are in the same category. 2 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.

No covered accident (founded belief)

Open the full map

Did the insurer show the claimed injuries did not arise from a covered accident (staged, intentional, or unrelated)?

This decision: Insurer's proof did not raise an issue or failed at trial; provider prevails on it

Held the insurer raised no triable issue of a staged accident because counsel's affirmation lacked personal knowledge, the attached documents were unsworn, and the claims representative's affidavit offered only unsubstantiated suppositions.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 16
  • Appellate TermApp Term 170
  • Trial courtsTrial 46
2011, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2023, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2022, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2016, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2015, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2009, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2008, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2007, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Triable issue, 1 Defense not shown)2006, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2005, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Defense not shown)2004, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (3 Defense not shown)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2021, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2019, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (2 Defense established, 1 Triable issue, 1 Insurer's motion fails)2018, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (4 Defense established, 1 Triable issue)2017, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (2 Defense established, 2 Triable issue, 3 Insurer's motion fails, 1 Defense not shown)2016, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2015, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2014, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2012, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Defense established, 1 Defense not shown)2011, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (2 Triable issue, 2 Insurer's motion fails)2010, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Triable issue)2009, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (5 Defense established, 5 Triable issue, 3 Defense not shown)2008, Appellate Term: 9 decisions (3 Triable issue, 6 Defense not shown)2007, Appellate Term: 23 decisions (13 Triable issue, 2 Insurer's motion fails, 8 Defense not shown)2006, Appellate Term: 30 decisions (21 Triable issue, 9 Defense not shown)2005, Appellate Term: 37 decisions (1 Defense established, 24 Triable issue, 12 Defense not shown)2004, Appellate Term: 22 decisions (16 Triable issue, 6 Defense not shown)2003, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2024, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2025, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Insurer's motion fails)2013, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2023, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Triable issue)2023, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer's motion fails)2020, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2019, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Triable issue, 1 Defense not shown)2016, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2013, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Triable issue)2011, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Defense not shown)2010, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Triable issue, 1 Defense not shown)2008, Trial courts: 5 decisions (1 Defense established, 2 Triable issue, 2 Defense not shown)2007, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Defense established, 2 Triable issue)2006, Trial courts: 7 decisions (2 Defense established, 5 Defense not shown)2005, Trial courts: 7 decisions (1 Defense established, 6 Defense not shown)2004, Trial courts: 5 decisions (5 Defense not shown)2026, Trial courts: 6 decisions (2 Defense established, 3 Triable issue, 1 Insurer's motion fails)2014, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)This decision
20052010201520202025
Defense establishedTriable issueInsurer's motion failsDefense not shownThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 233 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 80 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.

Cited in this decision (17)

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
  • Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51701(U))A provider's completed claim forms establish its prima facie case without additional medical proof when the insurer is precluded.
  • Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v ELRAC Inc. (2006 NY Slip Op 26269) FollowedAn improper self-referral defense survives a late denial when a health care provider seeks benefits through an entity in which it has an interest.
  • New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 03558)The providers failed to establish mailing and receipt of the hospital bill asserted in their second cause of action.
  • Dilon Med. Supply Corp. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51344(U))An insurer's fraud defense based on excessive billing or lack of medical necessity is subject to the 30-day denial preclusion rule.
  • M.G.M. Psychiatry Care P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51286(U))The insurer failed to prove mailing of its EUO transcript request, leaving its denials untimely and fraudulent-claim defenses precluded.
  • Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51189(U))The insurer's denials dated more than 30 days after final verification precluded its medical necessity defense.
  • Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51047(U))An explanation of benefits form cannot substitute for the prescribed no-fault denial form under 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 (c) (1).
  • First Help Acupuncture P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51043(U))Fraudulent licensing under 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (12) is a nonwaivable defense outside the 30-day preclusion rule.
  • Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25545)The insurer's completed denial form established receipt of the provider's claims and showed that the denial was untimely.
  • PDG Psychological P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50246(U))A provider may rely on denial forms annexed to an insurer's motion to establish the insurer's receipt of the claims.
  • New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 05602) FollowedThe insurer proved a timely denial but failed to establish that the provider's treatment was unrelated to the accident.
  • A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51425(U)) FollowedThe insurer's EUO transcripts supported a founded belief of fraud, raising a coverage issue that defeated both summary judgment motions.
  • King’S Med. Supply v Kemper Auto & Home Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50401(U))An insurer cannot deny a claim for EUO nonappearance under the former regulation by invoking a policy's cooperation clause.
  • Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24221) FollowedEUO requests do not toll the claim determination period when the governing no-fault regulations do not authorize EUO verification.
Show all 17 cited decisions
  • A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25456) Followed
  • Amstel Chiropractic v Omni Indem. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50088(U)) Followed

Cited by (41)

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • EMC Health Prods., Inc. v Geico Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50786(U)) FollowedThe insurer's denials admitted receipt of the bills, and the provider did not need a CPLR 4518 foundation for them.
  • Bob Acupuncture, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51434(U)) FollowedThe provider established submission of its claim forms through the insurer's denials admitting receipt.
  • Crossbridge Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51761(U)) FollowedThe insurer proved two claims medically unnecessary but failed to establish the assignor's EUO nonappearance on the remaining claim.
  • South Nassau Orthopedic Surgery and Sports Medicine, P.C. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51300(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish timely denial mailing because its affidavit did not prove mailing practices during the relevant period.
  • LOF Med. Supply, Inc. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50595(U)) FollowedThe provider established its claims through admissible billing records and an order precluding evidence of the medical-necessity defense.
  • Vincent Med. Servs., P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52153(U)) FollowedThe insurer established lack of medical necessity for six claims but failed to substantiate fee-schedule reductions or timely denial of another claim.
  • Eagle Surgical Supply, Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50343(U)) FollowedA provider may use an insurer's denial as an admission that the insurer received the claim referenced in it.
  • Cautious Care Med., P.C. v Omni Indem. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51384(U)) FollowedA first-party no-fault cause of action accrues 30 days after the insurer receives the claim and carries a six-year limitations period.
  • Eagle Surgical Supply, Inc. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51775(U)) FollowedThe provider's action was premature because it failed to supply all requested additional verification.
  • Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v New York Central Mutual Insurance Company (2009 NY Slip Op 50224(U)) FollowedThe insurer's untimely EUO request failed to toll its time to pay or deny, precluding its defense based on the provider owner's nonappearance.
Show all 41 citing decisions
  • D.S. Chiropractic, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51584(U)) Followed
  • Med-Tech Prods., Inc. v Geico Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 52111(U)) Followed
  • First Aid Occupational Therapy, PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50149(U)) Followed
  • First Aid Occupational Therapy, PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50594(U)) Followed
  • New York Diagnostic Med. Care, P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 23360) Followed
  • AR Med. Rehabilitation v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 25287) Followed
  • MSB Physical Therapy, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. (2021 NY Slip Op 50750(U)) Followed
  • Med-Tech Prod., Inc. v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51469(U)) Followed
  • D.S. Chiropractic, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51579(U)) Followed
  • Staten Is. Advanced Surgical Supply v GEICO Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 52633(U)) Followed
  • Barakat P.T., P.C. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50342(U)) Followed
  • Sabodash v Hereford Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 51099(U)) Followed
  • East Acupuncture, P.C. v Electric Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51281(U))
  • Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50294(U))
  • All-Boro Med. Supplies, Inc. v Progressive Northeastern Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 27458)
  • St. Vincent Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29508)
  • Crossbridge Diagnostic Radiology v Encompass Ins. (2009 NY Slip Op 51415(U))
  • Optimal Well-Being Chiropractic, P.C. v Chubb Indem. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 51807(U))
  • Longevity Med. Supply, Inc. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 20137)
  • Apazidis, M.D., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50498(U))
  • Mid Atl. Med. P.C. v GEICO (2007 NY Slip Op 50014(U))
  • Avenue N Med., P.C. v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 52174(U))
  • Daras v GEICO Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50438(U))
  • Ocean Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50565(U))
  • St. Vincent Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50444(U))
  • Right Aid Diagnostic Medicine, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50445(U))
  • New Chiropractic Care, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2020 NY Slip Op 50652(U))
  • Parisien v Travelers Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50396(U))
  • Jiang Acupuncture, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50945(U))
  • Life Equip., Inc v Mid-Century Ins Co (2022 NY Slip Op 50877(U))
  • Jiang Acupuncture PC v State Farm Ins. Co. (2023 NY Slip Op 50961(U))

Similar decisions

  • Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 08430)A provider need not prove a claim's merits for summary judgment where the insurer failed to timely and properly deny the claim.
  • Uptodate Med. Servs., P.C. v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51502(U))The insurer failed to prove timely mailing of verification requests and denials, precluding its medical-necessity defense.
  • Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24527)A proven failure to attend a reasonably requested preclaim IME, timely raised in a denial, does not alone warrant dismissal.
  • Magic Recovery Med. & Surgical Supply Inc. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 20130)The provider was not collaterally estopped by default declaratory judgments in actions where it was neither a party nor in privity.
  • A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51426(U))The insurer's conclusory medical-necessity denials were ineffective, but policy-limit exhaustion remained a factual issue.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.