• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
December 7, 2010

Devonshire Surgical Facility, L.L.C. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52297(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/devonshire-surgical-facility-l-l-c-v-hereford-ins-co-2010-ny-slip-op52297u/

Court
Appellate Term, First Department
Decided
December 7, 2010
Citation
2010 NY Slip Op 52297(U) · 30 Misc 3d 129(A)
Posture
Summary judgment
Later treatment
Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
Issues
Priority, other coverage Timeliness and preclusion
Legal questions
Workers' comp or other insurer primary · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Cite as
Devonshire Surgical Facility, L.L.C. v Hereford Ins. Co., 30 Misc 3d 129(A), 2010 NY Slip Op 52297(U) (App Term, 1st Dept 2010)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The Workers' Compensation Board must first resolve the factual question whether the assignor's loss falls under the Workers' Compensation Law. The insurer alleged that the loss occurred during employment, and its submissions raised a factual issue concerning workers' compensation coverage. The Appellate Term, First Department, reversed and vacated the order granting the insurer's cross motion and denying the providers' summary judgment motion. It remanded for a new determination after the providers applied to the Board, which has primary jurisdiction over applicability of the Workers' Compensation Law. Both motions should have been held in abeyance. The court also upheld the finding of timely denials under 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 (a) (1) and 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 (c).

Reported in New York Official Reports at Devonshire Surgical Facility, L.L.C. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52297(U))

[*1]
Devonshire Surgical Facility, L.L.C. v Hereford Ins. Co.
2010 NY Slip Op 52297(U) [30 Misc 3d 129(A)]
Decided on December 7, 2010
Appellate Term, First Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.
Decided on December 7, 2010

APPELLATE TERM OF THE SUPREME COURT, FIRST DEPARTMENT


PRESENT: Hunter, Jr., J.P., McKeon, Shulman, JJ
570658/10.
Devonshire Surgical Facility, L.L.C. and Carnegie Hill Orthopedic Services, P.C., a/a/o Junel Georges, Plaintiffs-Appellants,

against

Hereford Insurance Company, Defendant-Respondent.

Plaintiffs appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, New York County (Arlene P. Bluth, J.), entered August 4, 2009, which granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and denied plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment.

Per Curiam.

Order (Arlene P. Bluth, J.), entered August 4, 2009, reversed, without costs, the order vacated and the matter remanded to Civil Court for a new determination of the parties’ respective motions for summary judgment following an application by plaintiffs to the Workers’ Compensation Board to determine their rights under the Workers’ Compensation Law.

In this action to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant’s submissions in support of its cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint presented an issue of fact as to the applicability of the Workers’ Compensation Law to the subject loss, which defendant alleged occurred during the course of the assignor’s employment (see Dunn v American Tr. Ins. Co., 71 AD3d 629 [2010]; Arvatz v Empire Mut. Ins. Co., 171 AD2d 262 [1991]; cf. Westchester Med. Ctr. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 60 AD3d 848 [2009]). “Primary jurisdiction with respect to determinations as to the applicability of the Workers’ Compensation Law has been vested in the Workers’ Compensation Board” (Botwinick v Ogden, 59 NY2d 909, 911 [1983]). Therefore, resolution of the factual question presented on this record “is best suited for determination by the [Workers’ Compensation] Board, given its expertise in the area” (Arvatz, 171 AD2d at 269), and the parties’ respective summary judgment motions should have been held in abeyance pending a determination by the Workers’ Compensation Board as to the applicability of the Workers’ Compensation Law to plaintiffs’ claim (see Botwinick, supra; Dunn, supra; LMK [*2]Psychological Serv., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 64 AD3d 752 [2009]).

We note that, contrary to plaintiffs’ contention, Civil Court properly determined that defendant established that its denials were timely mailed within the prescribed 30-day period (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.8[a][1], [c]); cf. Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co., 60 AD3d 1045 [2009], lv denied 13 NY3d 714 [2009]).

THIS CONSTITUTES THE DECISION AND ORDER OF THE COURT.
I concur
Decision Date: December 07, 2010

Legal questions (2)

Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Workers' comp or other insurer primary

Open the full map

Can a no-fault insurer deny or delay payment because workers’ compensation or another insurer is primary?

This decision: Workers' compensation may apply: the Board decides first and the no-fault claim waits

Held the insurer's submissions raised a factual issue whether the loss occurred in the course of employment, within the Board's primary jurisdiction, so the summary judgment motions should have been held in abeyance pending a Board determination.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 2
  • Appellate TermApp Term 5
  • Trial courtsTrial 2
2019, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 WC defense not shown)2011, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 First insurer must pay)2018, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 WC defense precluded)2012, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 First insurer must pay)2010, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2009, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 First insurer must pay)2017, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2021, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 No coverage, not priority)2008, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)This decision
2008201020122014201620182020
Referred to WC BoardWC defense not shownWC defense precludedFirst insurer must payNo coverage, not priorityThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 9 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 3 (this one included) are in the same category. 5 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.

Proof of mailing

Open the full map

Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?

This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)

Held the lower court properly found the insurer established that its denials were timely mailed within the 30-day period, contrary to the providers' contention.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 25
  • Appellate TermApp Term 98
  • Trial courtsTrial 36
2015, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2023, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2022, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2019, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer failed to prove)2018, Appellate Division: 4 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2016, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2015, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing)2014, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2013, Appellate Division: 4 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2024, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2025, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2017, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing)2016, Appellate Term: 12 decisions (12 Insurer proved mailing)2015, Appellate Term: 18 decisions (14 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove)2014, Appellate Term: 15 decisions (11 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Triable issue on mailing)2013, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2012, Appellate Term: 16 decisions (11 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2011, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (7 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2010, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2008, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing)2007, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Provider failed to prove)2006, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2004, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2025, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2026, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2005, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2020, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer failed to prove)2022, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2021, Trial courts: 6 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2020, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider failed to prove)2019, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2018, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2013, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2009, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2008, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2007, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2024, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2025, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing)2026, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove)2005, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Mixed rulings)2006, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2023, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)This decision
20052010201520202025
Insurer proved mailingInsurer failed to proveProvider proved mailingProvider failed to proveTriable issue on mailingMixed rulingsThis decision

Of the 160 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 109 (this one included) are in the same category.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Dunn v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 01757)The Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction to resolve disputed employment status bearing on entitlement to workers' compensation benefits.
  • Westchester Med. Ctr. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 01979) Contrasted (cf., but see)The insurer's timely verification request and ensuing timely denial defeated the provider's motion for summary judgment.
  • LMK Psychological Serv., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 06004)The Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction to determine factual issues concerning workers' compensation coverage.
  • Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 02589) Contrasted (cf., but see)The insurer's investigation letters did not toll the 30-day period to pay or deny the provider's claim.

Cited by

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • AEE Med. Diagnostic, P.C. v Travelers Prop. Cas. Co. of Am. (2017 NY Slip Op 51209(U)) FollowedThe Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction over factual questions concerning coverage under the Workers' Compensation Law. The insurer's submissions, including the assignor's statement, raised triable issues whether the assignor was acting in the course of employment and whether workers' compensation benefits might be available.
  • American Tr. Ins. Co. v North Shore Family Chiropractic PC (2023 NY Slip Op 50208(U))The insurer's police report did not require referral of its course-of-employment defense to the Workers' Compensation Board.

Similar decisions

  • D.A.V. Chiropractic, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51738(U))The Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction to resolve factual questions about workers' compensation coverage.
  • AR Med. Rehabilitation, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50708(U))The insurer's evidence required the Workers' Compensation Board to resolve the assignor's alleged eligibility for workers' compensation benefits.
  • Devonshire Surgical Facility v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 50513(U))The insurer's conclusory peer review report failed to raise a triable issue concerning medical necessity.
  • Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50340(U))The insurer raised a triable issue of workers' compensation eligibility requiring initial resolution by the Workers' Compensation Board.
  • Devonshire Surgical Facility v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 52015(U))The insurer's appeal was untimely because its notice of appeal was not filed within 30 days after service of the order with notice of entry.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.