February 28, 2014
Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50340(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/great-health-care-chiropractic-p-c-v-lancer-ins-co-2014-ny-slip-op50340u/
- Decided
- February 28, 2014
- Citation
- 2014 NY Slip Op 50340(U) · 42 Misc 3d 145(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 2 later decisions (see Cited by)
- Issues
- Priority, other coverage
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50340(U))
| Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. |
| 2014 NY Slip Op 50340(U) [42 Misc 3d 145(A)] |
| Decided on February 28, 2014 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ
2012-889 K C.
against
Lancer Insurance Co., Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Robin Kelly Sheares, J.), entered December 20, 2011. The order held in abeyance plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint, pending an application to the Workers’ Compensation Board to determine the parties’ rights under the Workers’ Compensation Law.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved for summary judgment, and defendant moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint based upon plaintiff’s assignor’s alleged eligibility for workers’ compensation benefits. The Civil Court held both motions in abeyance pending an application to the Workers’ Compensation Board to determine the parties’ rights under the Workers’ Compensation Law. Plaintiff appeals.
We agree with the Civil Court that defendant proffered sufficient evidence to support its contention that there was a triable issue as to whether plaintiff’s assignor had been acting in the course of his employment at the time of the accident and that, therefore, workers’ compensation benefits might be available (see e.g. Arce Med. & Diagnostic Svce v American Tr. Ins. Co., 39 Misc 3d 134[A], 2013 NY Slip Op 50531[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2013] Jamaica Med. Supply, Inc. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 34 Misc 3d 133[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 52371[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011] D.A.V. Chiropractic, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 29 Misc 3d 128[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 51738[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2010] cf. Westchester Med. Ctr. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 60 AD3d 848 [2009]). This issue must be resolved in the first instance by the Workers’ Compensation Board (see O’Rourke v Long, 41 NY2d 219, 225 [1976] see also Dunn v American Tr. Ins. Co., 71 AD3d 629 [2010] Jamaica Med. Supply, Inc. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 34 Misc 3d 133[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 52371[U] D.A.V. Chiropractic, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 29 Misc 3d 128[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 51738[U]). We find that, in the circumstances, defendant’s failure to submit certificates of conformity was not a fatal error (see e.g. Gonzalez v Perkan Concrete Corp., 110 AD3d 955, 960 [2013] Mack-Cali Realty, L.P. v Everfoam Insulation Sys., Inc., 110 AD3d 680, 682 [2013] Matos v Salem Truck Leasing, 105 AD3d 916 [2013] Fredette v Town of Southampton, 95 AD3d 940, 942 [2012] Francis v Allain, 21 Misc 3d 142[A], 2008 NY Slip Op 52386[U] [App [*2]Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2008]).
Accordingly, the order is affirmed.
Pesce, P.J., Aliotta and Solomon, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: February 28, 2014
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Arce Med. & Diagnostic Svce v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50531(U))The insurer obtained a stay because admissible evidence raised an issue whether the assignor was eligible for workers' compensation benefits.
- Jamaica Med. Supply, Inc. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52371(U)) FollowedThe insurer raised a triable workers' compensation eligibility issue requiring initial resolution by the Workers' Compensation Board.
- D.A.V. Chiropractic, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51738(U)) FollowedThe Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction to resolve factual questions about workers' compensation coverage.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 01979)The insurer's timely verification request and ensuing timely denial defeated the provider's motion for summary judgment.
- Dunn v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 01757)The Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction to resolve disputed employment status bearing on entitlement to workers' compensation benefits.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- AEE Med. Diagnostic, P.C. v Travelers Prop. Cas. Co. of Am. (2017 NY Slip Op 51209(U)) FollowedThe Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction over factual questions concerning coverage under the Workers' Compensation Law. The insurer's submissions, including the assignor's statement, raised triable issues whether the assignor was acting in the course of employment and whether workers' compensation benefits might be available.
- Ultimate Massage Therapy, P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51613(U)) FollowedThe Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction to determine whether the Workers' Compensation Law applies.
Similar decisions
- Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Maya Assur. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 51803(U))The insurer failed to prove mailing of IME scheduling letters, and the provider failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment.
- AR Med. Rehabilitation, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50708(U))The insurer's evidence required the Workers' Compensation Board to resolve the assignor's alleged eligibility for workers' compensation benefits.
- Compas Med., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51192(U))The insurer's evidence raised an issue of workers' compensation eligibility requiring initial resolution by the Workers' Compensation Board.
- Active Care Med. Supply Corp. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50419(U))The Workers' Compensation Board must first resolve eligibility when evidence raises an issue whether the assignor was injured in the course of employment.
- Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Unitrin Direct Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50373(U))The insurer failed to prove a timely denial, and the provider failed to establish its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment.