July 28, 2009
LMK Psychological Serv., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 06004)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/lmk-psychological-serv-p-c-v-american-tr-ins-co-2009-ny-slip-op06004/
- Decided
- July 28, 2009
- Citation
- 2009 NY Slip Op 06004 · 64 AD3d 752
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
- Later treatment
- Followed in 8 later decisions (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at LMK Psychological Serv., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 06004)
| LMK Psychological Serv., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. |
| 2009 NY Slip Op 06004 [64 AD3d 752] |
| July 28, 2009 |
| Appellate Division, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| LMK Psychological Service, P.C., et al.,
Appellants, v American Transit Insurance Co., Respondent. |
—[*1] Craig Meyerson, Latham, N.Y., for appellants.
Stern & Montana, LLP, New York, N.Y. (Richard Montana of counsel), for respondent.
In an action to recover no-fault medical payments under certain contracts of insurance, the plaintiffs appeal, as limited by their brief, (1) from so much of an order of the Supreme Court, Westchester County (Bellantoni, J.), entered January 16, 2008, as denied their motion for summary judgment on the complaint and granted those branches of the defendant’s cross motion which were for summary judgment dismissing the first, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, eighth, ninth, tenth, eleventh, twelfth, fourteenth, fifteenth, and sixteenth causes of action, and (2) from so much of an order of the same court entered July 2, 2008, as, upon reargument, adhered to the original determination in the order entered January 16, 2008.
Ordered that appeal from the order entered January 16, 2008, is dismissed, as that order was superseded by the order entered July 2, 2008, made upon reargument; and it is further,
Ordered that the order entered July 2, 2008, is modified, on the law, by deleting the provisions thereof, upon reargument, adhering to the original determination in the order entered January 16, 2008, granting those branches of the defendant’s cross motion which were for summary judgment dismissing the first, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, eighth, ninth, tenth, eleventh, twelfth, fourteenth, fifteenth, and sixteenth causes of action, and substituting therefor a provision, upon reargument, vacating so much of the order entered January 16, 2008, as granted those branches of the cross motion; as so modified, the order entered July 2, 2008, is affirmed insofar as appealed from, without costs or disbursements, and the matter is remitted to the Supreme Court, Westchester County, for a new determination of those branches of the cross motion following a prompt application to the Workers’ Compensation Board to determine the parties’ rights under the Workers’ Compensation Law.
The plaintiffs, as assignees of no-fault benefits (see Insurance Law § 5101 et seq.), brought this action to recover for health services rendered to the beneficiaries of the defendant’s no-fault insurance contracts. Each assignor received medical treatment from the plaintiffs following separate automobile accidents. The complaint contained 17 causes of action. The plaintiffs moved for summary judgment on the complaint and the defendant cross-moved, inter alia, for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. The Supreme Court, inter alia, denied the plaintiffs’ motion, and granted those branches of the defendant’s cross motion which were to dismiss the first, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, eighth, ninth, tenth, eleventh, twelfth, fourteenth, fifteenth, and sixteenth causes [*2]of action. The court concluded that, because the assignors in the aforementioned causes of action were injured during the course of their respective employment, the plaintiffs were barred from recovery pursuant to Workers’ Compensation Law § 11. The plaintiffs moved, and the defendant cross-moved, for leave to reargue. Upon reargument, the court adhered to its original determination. We modify.
There has been no determination by the Workers’ Compensation Board as to whether the assignors are entitled to Workers’ Compensation benefits for their injuries (see Nunes v Window Network, LLC, 54 AD3d 834, 835 [2008]; cf. Thompson v Grumman Aerospace Corp., 78 NY2d 553 [1991]). The Workers’ Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction to determine factual issues concerning coverage under the Workers’ Compensation Law (see Botwinick v Ogden, 59 NY2d 909, 911 [1983]; Bastidas v Epic Realty, LLC, 58 AD3d 776 [2009]; Santigate v Linsalata, 304 AD2d 639, 640 [2003]). Where “a plaintiff fails to litigate that issue before the Board, ‘the court should not express an opinion as to the availability of compensation but remit the matter to the Board’ ” (O’Hurley-Pitts v Diocese of Rockville Ctr., 57 AD3d 633, 634 [2008], quoting Liss v Trans Auto Sys., 68 NY2d 15, 21 [1986]). Accordingly, in considering the defendant’s cross motion, the Supreme Court should not have entertained the defendant’s contention that the plaintiffs were barred from recovery pursuant to Workers’ Compensation Law § 11. Those claims must be referred to the Workers’ Compensation Board for a determination as to whether the plaintiffs have a valid cause of action to recover no-fault benefits, or whether they are relegated to benefits under the Workers’ Compensation Law (cf. O’Hurley-Pitts v Diocese of Rockville Ctr., 57 AD3d at 634; Nunes v Window Network, LLC, 54 AD3d at 835).
The Supreme Court properly denied the plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment on the complaint, as the plaintiffs failed to demonstrate, prima facie, their entitlement to judgment as a matter of law.
The plaintiffs’ remaining contentions either are without merit or have been rendered academic in light of our determination. Skelos, J.P., Santucci, Balkin and Leventhal, JJ., concur.
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Insufficient for another reason (eligibility, timely submission, own papers defeat the claim)
Held the providers' summary judgment motion was properly denied because they failed to demonstrate prima facie entitlement to judgment, without stating which element was lacking.
Of the 1,065 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 19 (this one included) are in the same category.
Can a no-fault insurer deny or delay payment because workers’ compensation or another insurer is primary?
This decision: Workers' compensation may apply: the Board decides first and the no-fault claim waits
Held the trial court erred in dismissing claims as barred by Workers' Compensation Law § 11 absent a Board determination, because the Board has primary jurisdiction, and remitted for a new determination following a prompt Board application.
Of the 69 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 33 (this one included) are in the same category. 3 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.
Cited by (16)
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Jamaica Med. Supply, Inc. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52371(U)) FollowedThe insurer raised a triable workers' compensation eligibility issue requiring initial resolution by the Workers' Compensation Board.
- Arce Med. & Diagnostic Svce v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50531(U)) FollowedThe insurer obtained a stay because admissible evidence raised an issue whether the assignor was eligible for workers' compensation benefits.
- AR Med. Rehabilitation, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50708(U)) FollowedThe insurer's evidence required the Workers' Compensation Board to resolve the assignor's alleged eligibility for workers' compensation benefits.
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50076(U)) FollowedThe providers' renewal submissions failed to show a proper workers' compensation application or its rejection by the Board.
- AEE Med. Diagnostic, P.C. v Travelers Prop. Cas. Co. of Am. (2017 NY Slip Op 51209(U)) FollowedThe Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction over factual questions concerning coverage under the Workers' Compensation Law. The insurer's submissions, including the assignor's statement, raised triable issues whether the assignor was acting in the course of employment and whether workers' compensation benefits might be available.
- W.H.O. Acupuncture, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50532(U)) FollowedThe insurer's evidence raised a workers' compensation eligibility issue requiring initial resolution by the Workers' Compensation Board.
- Sama Physical Therapy, P.C. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50737(U)) FollowedThe provider failed to show compliance with an order requiring an application to the Workers' Compensation Board within 90 days.
- Compas Med., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52053(U)) FollowedThe provider's complaint was dismissed because it failed to show compliance with an order requiring a Workers' Compensation Board application.
- D.A.V. Chiropractic, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51738(U))The Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction to resolve factual questions about workers' compensation coverage.
- Devonshire Surgical Facility, L.L.C. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52297(U))The Workers' Compensation Board must first resolve the factual question whether the assignor's loss falls under the Workers' Compensation Law. The insurer alleged that the loss occurred during employment, and its submissions raised a factual issue concerning workers' compensation coverage.
Show all 16 citing decisions
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50764(U))
- American Tr. Ins. Co. v North Shore Family Chiropractic PC (2023 NY Slip Op 50208(U))
- American Tr. Ins. Co. v PDA NY Chiropractic, P.C. (2023 NY Slip Op 50938(U))
- Quick v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2024 NY Slip Op 06268)
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50502(U))
- Ultimate Massage Therapy, P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51613(U))
Similar decisions
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50959(U))The insurer failed to show potential merit in its workers' compensation defense sufficient to warrant Workers' Compensation Board review.
- B.Y., M.D., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51902(U))The insurer's proof raised a factual question about employment at the time of the accident for the Workers' Compensation Board to resolve first.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 08747)The insurer's timely denial defeated summary judgment on the provider's first cause of action alleging failure to pay or deny.
- Inwood Hill Med., P.C. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51264(U))The insurer was precluded from asserting a workers' compensation defense because it failed to establish timely mailing of its denial.
- LMK Psychological Servs., P.C. v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 04486)The providers proved claim mailing, and the insurer waived assignment objections by failing to seek verification within 10 days.