• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
March 2, 2010

Dunn v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 01757)

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/dunn-v-american-tr-ins-co-2010-ny-slip-op-01757/

Court
Appellate Division, Second Department
Decided
March 2, 2010
Citation
2010 NY Slip Op 01757 · 71 AD3d 629
Posture
Motion to dismiss (CPLR 3211)
Later treatment
Followed in 7 later decisions (see Cited by)
Issues
Priority, other coverage
Legal questions
Workers' comp or other insurer primary (see the maps)
Cite as
Dunn v American Tr. Ins. Co., 71 AD3d 629 (2d Dept 2010)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction to resolve disputed employment status bearing on entitlement to workers' compensation benefits. The claimant sought first-party no-fault benefits, asserting independent-contractor status, while the insurer claimed that the claimant was an employee of a car service dispatch base. The insurer moved under CPLR 3211 (a) (2) to dismiss for lack of subject-matter jurisdiction or, alternatively, for summary judgment. The Appellate Division, Second Department, reversed denial of the motion because the factual employment questions should first have been referred to the Board for determination under the Workers' Compensation Law. It remitted for a new determination of the motion following the claimant's prompt application to the Board, leaving entitlement to benefits unresolved.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Dunn v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 01757)

Dunn v American Tr. Ins. Co.
2010 NY Slip Op 01757 [71 AD3d 629]
March 2, 2010
Appellate Division, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, April 28, 2010
Joseph F. Dunn, Respondent,
v
American Transit Insurance Co., Appellant.

—[*1] Peter C. Merani, New York, N.Y. (Mark J. Fenelon of counsel), for appellant.

Robert B. Taylor, New Rochelle, N.Y., for respondent.

In an action to recover first-party no-fault benefits pursuant to a policy of insurance, the defendant appeals from an order of the Supreme Court, Queens County (Kelly, J.), dated February 27, 2009, which denied its motion to dismiss the complaint pursuant to CPLR 3211 (a) (2) for lack of subject matter jurisdiction or, in the alternative, for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.

Ordered that the order is reversed, on the law, without costs or disbursements, and the matter is remitted to the Supreme Court, Queens County, for a new determination of the motion following a prompt application by the plaintiff to the Workers’ Compensation Board to determine his rights under the Workers’ Compensation Law.

“[P]rimary jurisdiction with respect to determinations as to the applicability of the Workers’ Compensation Law has been vested in the Workers’ Compensation Board and . . . it is therefore inappropriate for the courts to express views with respect thereto pending determination by the board” (Botwinick v Ogden, 59 NY2d 909, 911 [1983]; see O’Rourke v Long, 41 NY2d 219 [1976]; Catapane v Half Hollow Hills Cent. School Dist., 45 AD3d 517 [2007]). In this case, the defendant’s motion presented factual questions as to the plaintiff’s “status as either an independent contractor, as he claims he is, or as an employee of” a car service dispatch base, as the defendant claims (Arvatz v Empire Mut. Ins. Co., 171 AD2d 262, 269 [1991]). Resolution of these questions “is best suited for determination by the [Workers’ Compensation] Board, given its expertise in the area” (id. at 269). Accordingly, prior to rendering a determination on the motion, the Supreme Court should have referred the matter to the Workers’ Compensation Board for a hearing and determination as to whether the plaintiff is relegated to benefits under the Workers’ Compensation Law (see Catapane v Half Hollow Hills Cent. School Dist., 45 AD3d at 518-519; Arvatz v Empire Mut. Ins. Co., 171 AD2d at 269). Covello, J.P., Miller, Dickerson and Belen, JJ., concur.

Legal questions

A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Workers' comp or other insurer primary

Open the full map

Can a no-fault insurer deny or delay payment because workers’ compensation or another insurer is primary?

This decision: Workers' compensation may apply: the Board decides first and the no-fault claim waits

Held the insurer's motion raised factual questions whether the claimant was an independent contractor or a car service base's employee, which the Board has primary jurisdiction to decide, so the matter had to be referred to the Board before deciding the motion.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 8
  • Appellate TermApp Term 42
  • Trial courtsTrial 19
2014, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 First insurer must pay)2010, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2009, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (1 Referred to WC Board, 1 WC defense not shown, 1 WC defense precluded)2007, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Referred to WC Board, 1 WC defense not shown)2024, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2021, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2020, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2019, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (4 Referred to WC Board, 1 WC primary: claim fails, 1 WC defense precluded)2018, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (1 Referred to WC Board, 3 WC primary: claim fails)2017, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (3 Referred to WC Board, 1 WC primary: claim fails)2016, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 WC defense precluded)2015, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2014, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Referred to WC Board, 1 WC primary: claim fails)2013, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (3 Referred to WC Board, 1 WC defense not shown)2012, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (1 Referred to WC Board, 3 WC primary: claim fails)2011, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2010, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Referred to WC Board)2009, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (3 Referred to WC Board, 1 WC defense not shown, 2 WC defense precluded)2007, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2005, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 WC defense not shown, 1 First insurer must pay)2008, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2023, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 WC primary: claim fails, 2 WC defense not shown)2022, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 No coverage, not priority)2021, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Referred to WC Board, 1 WC defense not shown)2019, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 No coverage, not priority)2018, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2016, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2009, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 WC defense not shown, 2 WC defense precluded)2008, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 WC defense not shown, 1 WC defense precluded)2007, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 First insurer must pay)2005, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2026, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 WC defense precluded, 1 First insurer must pay)This decision
20052010201520202025
Referred to WC BoardWC primary: claim failsWC defense not shownWC defense precludedFirst insurer must payNo coverage, not priorityThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 69 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 33 (this one included) are in the same category. 2 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.

Cited by (18)

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • Jamaica Med. Supply, Inc. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52371(U)) FollowedThe insurer raised a triable workers' compensation eligibility issue requiring initial resolution by the Workers' Compensation Board.
  • Arce Med. & Diagnostic Svce v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50531(U)) FollowedThe insurer obtained a stay because admissible evidence raised an issue whether the assignor was eligible for workers' compensation benefits.
  • Compas Med., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51675(U)) FollowedThe assignor's sworn no-fault application raised a workers' compensation issue requiring a stay pending a Workers' Compensation Board determination.
  • Clear Water Psychological Servs. PC v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 26420) FollowedThe insurer obtained a 90-day stay for a Workers' Compensation Board determination despite an inadmissible police accident report.
  • New Millennium Radiology, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50940(U)) FollowedThe insurer's evidence raised an employment-related coverage issue requiring an initial Workers' Compensation Board determination.
  • AEE Med. Diagnostic, P.C. v Travelers Prop. Cas. Co. of Am. (2017 NY Slip Op 51209(U)) FollowedThe Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction over factual questions concerning coverage under the Workers' Compensation Law. The insurer's submissions, including the assignor's statement, raised triable issues whether the assignor was acting in the course of employment and whether workers' compensation benefits might be available.
  • W.H.O. Acupuncture, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50532(U)) FollowedThe insurer's evidence raised a workers' compensation eligibility issue requiring initial resolution by the Workers' Compensation Board.
  • D.A.V. Chiropractic, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51738(U))The Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction to resolve factual questions about workers' compensation coverage.
  • Devonshire Surgical Facility, L.L.C. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52297(U))The Workers' Compensation Board must first resolve the factual question whether the assignor's loss falls under the Workers' Compensation Law. The insurer alleged that the loss occurred during employment, and its submissions raised a factual issue concerning workers' compensation coverage.
  • Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50340(U))The insurer raised a triable issue of workers' compensation eligibility requiring initial resolution by the Workers' Compensation Board.
Show all 18 citing decisions
  • Quality Health Prod., Inc. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51950(U))
  • Madison Prods. of USA, Inc. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 50749(U))
  • American Tr. Ins. Co. v North Shore Family Chiropractic PC (2023 NY Slip Op 50208(U))
  • American Tr. Ins. Co. v PDA NY Chiropractic, P.C. (2023 NY Slip Op 50938(U))
  • Metro Psychological Servs., P.C. v Travelers Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51804(U))
  • Active Care Med. Supply Corp. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50419(U))
  • Metro Psychological Servs., P.C. v Travelers Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51150(U))
  • Ultimate Massage Therapy, P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51613(U))

Similar decisions

  • AR Med. Rehabilitation, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50708(U))The insurer's evidence required the Workers' Compensation Board to resolve the assignor's alleged eligibility for workers' compensation benefits.
  • Quick v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2024 NY Slip Op 06268)Workers' compensation remains primary to no-fault benefits even when the employer lacks workers' compensation insurance.
  • A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29271)The insurer's proof raised a factual question about the assignor's employment status that required Workers' Compensation Board resolution.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.