December 22, 2021
Arcadia Acupuncture, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 51258(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/arcadia-acupuncture-p-c-v-nationwide-ins-co-2021-ny-slip-op51258u/
- Decided
- December 22, 2021
- Citation
- 2021 NY Slip Op 51258(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Arcadia Acupuncture, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 51258(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
Nationwide Ins. Co., Appellant.
Hollander Legal Group, P.C. (Allan S. Hollander of counsel), for appellant. Zara Javakov, P.C. (Victoria Tarasova of counsel), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Matthew P. Blum, J.), entered February 18, 2020. The order, insofar as appealed from, denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and, in effect, granted plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment to the extent of (1) dismissing defendant’s affirmative defense that plaintiff had failed to appear for duly scheduled examinations under oath and (2) awarding plaintiff partial summary judgment on liability.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by vacating so much of the order as granted the branches of plaintiff’s cross motion seeking (1) summary judgment dismissing defendant’s affirmative defense that plaintiff had failed to appear for duly scheduled examinations under oath with respect to the claims received between May 11, 2018 and June 22, 2018 and (2) partial summary judgment on liability with respect to the claims received between May 11, 2018 and June 22, 2018, and by providing that those branches of plaintiff’s cross motion are denied; as so modified, the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that plaintiff had failed to appear for duly scheduled examinations under oath (EUOs). Plaintiff cross-moved for summary judgment. In an order entered February 18, 2020, the Civil Court denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment, stating that “Defendant [had] failed to issue the denials within 30 days of the second missed EUO,” and granted plaintiff’s cross motion to the extent of dismissing the affirmative defense that plaintiff failed to appear for duly scheduled EUOs and awarding plaintiff partial summary judgment on liability.
With respect to the claims received by defendant between May 11, 2018 through June 22, 2018, the record demonstrates, prima facie, that the EUO scheduling letters were timely mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]) to plaintiff, that plaintiff failed to appear for those EUOs, and that defendant timely denied those claims on the ground that plaintiff had failed to appear. However, as we find that a triable issue of fact exists as to whether those EUOs were scheduled to be held at a place that was “reasonably convenient” to plaintiff (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [e]; Parisien v Metlife Auto & Home, 68 Misc 3d 126[A], 2020 NY Slip Op 50845[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2020]), defendant failed to establish that it is entitled to summary judgment dismissing so much the complaint as sought to recover upon the claims received between May 11, 2018 through June 22, 2018. Consequently, neither party is entitled to summary judgment upon those claims.
While defendant further contends that the branch of its motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon the claims it received between March 22, 2018 and April 27, 2018 should have been granted and that the Civil Court erred in granting the branch of plaintiff’s cross motion seeking partial summary judgment on liability upon those claims, defendant’s argument lacks merit. The record establishes that defendant failed to timely deny those claims (see Island Life Chiropractic Pain Care, LLC v 21st Century Ins. Co., — Misc 3d &mdash, 2021 NY Slip Op 21340 [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2021]; Quality Health Supply Corp. v Nationwide Ins., 69 Misc 3d 133[A], 2020 NY Slip Op 51226[A] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2020]). Furthermore, here there is no basis to disturb so much of the order as granted plaintiff partial summary judgment as to liability upon these claims.
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by vacating so much of the order as granted the branches of plaintiff’s cross motion seeking (1) summary judgment dismissing defendant’s affirmative defense that plaintiff had failed to appear for duly scheduled examinations under oath, with respect to the claims received between May 11, 2018 and June 22, 2018 and (2) partial summary judgment on liability with respect to the claims received between May 11, 2018 and June 22, 2018, and by providing that those branches of plaintiff’s cross motion are denied.
ALIOTTA, P.J., ELLIOT and GOLIA, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: December 22, 2021
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?
This decision: No-show defense is subject to preclusion and fails for want of a timely, proper denial
Held the insurer failed to timely deny the claims received in March and April 2018 after the EUO no-shows, so it could not defeat liability on them, while claims received later were timely denied.
Of the 508 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 166 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Proof on the no-show raises a question of fact; neither side wins the point as a matter of law
Held that although mailing and nonappearance were shown for the later claims, a triable issue existed as to whether the EUOs were scheduled at a place reasonably convenient to the provider.
Of the 858 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 24 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the record showed prima facie that the EUO scheduling letters were timely mailed to the provider for the later claims.
Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 809 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Island Life Chiropractic Pain Care, PLLC v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 21340) FollowedAn untimely EUO no-show denial of one claim does not waive the defense against later claims that are individually timely denied.
- Quality Health Supply Corp. v Nationwide Ins. (2020 NY Slip Op 51226(U)) FollowedThe 30-day pay-or-deny period for EUO nonappearance begins with the second missed EUO when no other verification is outstanding.
Similar decisions
- NGM Acupuncture, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 51271(U))The insurer timely denied three claims based on the provider's EUO nonappearances, with tolling preserving the deadline for one claim.
- Chi P & L Acupuncture, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51292(U))An insurer need not set forth objective reasons for requesting EUOs to establish prima facie entitlement to summary judgment.
- Allstate Chiropractic, P.C. v Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. (2023 NY Slip Op 50299(U))The insurer failed to establish timely denials because scheduling another EUO did not extend the deadline after the second nonappearance.
- Dr. Orenbakh Psychologist, P.C. v Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. (2022 NY Slip Op 50566(U))The insurer proved EUO nonappearance for later claims, but its first EUO request was a nullity for a claim received more than 30 days earlier.
- Wellness Plaza Acupuncture, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. (2022 NY Slip Op 50934(U))The insurer established timely mailing of EUO notices and denials, and the provider raised no factual issue concerning mailing timeliness.