December 10, 2021
Island Life Chiropractic Pain Care, PLLC v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 21340)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/island-life-chiropractic-pain-care-pllc-v-21st-century-ins-co-2021-ny-slip-op-21340/
- Decided
- December 10, 2021
- Citation
- 2021 NY Slip Op 21340 · 74 Misc 3d 17
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
- Later treatment
- Followed in 7 later decisions (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- No-show: coverage defense or precludable? (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Island Life Chiropractic Pain Care, PLLC v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 21340)
| Island Life Chiropractic Pain Care, PLLC v 21st Century Ins. Co. |
| 2021 NY Slip Op 21340 [74 Misc 3d 17] |
| Accepted for Miscellaneous Reports Publication |
| Supreme Court, Appellate Term, Second Department, 2d, 11th and 13th Judicial Districts |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| As corrected through Wednesday, February 9, 2022 |
[*1]
| Island Life Chiropractic Pain Care, PLLC, as Assignee of Omari Barnes, Appellant, v 21st Century Insurance Company, Respondent. |
Supreme Court, Appellate Term, Second Department, 2d, 11th and 13th Judicial Districts, December 10, 2021
APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL
The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell and Karina Barska of counsel) for appellant.
Law Offices of Buratti, Rothenberg & Burns (Konstantinos Tsirkas of counsel) for respondent.
{**74 Misc 3d at 18} OPINION OF THE COURT
Ordered that the order is modified by providing that the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon the claim in the sum of $1,314 submitted on November 26, 2014, is denied; as so modified, the order is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that defendant had timely denied the claims based upon plaintiff’s assignor’s failure to appear for duly scheduled examinations under oath (EUOs). Plaintiff opposed the motion and cross-moved for summary judgment. By order entered September 18, 2019, the Civil Court granted defendant’s motion and, in effect, denied plaintiff’s cross motion as untimely pursuant to the parties’ adjournment stipulation, which had been executed by both parties’ attorneys.
At issue are three claims, for $1,314, $620.07 and $620.07. Plaintiff alleges in its complaint that the claim for $1,314 was mailed to defendant on November 26, 2014, and that the two claims for $620.07 were each mailed on February 13, 2015. It{**74 Misc 3d at 19} is undisputed on this appeal that defendant scheduled EUOs of plaintiff’s assignor to be held on December 12, 2014, January 22, 2015, and February 17, 2015; that plaintiff’s assignor did not appear for any of these [*2]scheduled EUOs; that the November 26, 2014 claim was denied on February 24, 2015; and that the February 13, 2015 claims were denied on March 2, 2015. On appeal, plaintiff argues that defendant was required to deny all three claims within 30 days of plaintiff’s assignor’s failure to appear for the second scheduled EUO, on January 22, 2015, and therefore that defendant is precluded from raising this defense.
Plaintiff correctly argues that defendant, by claiming that it had mailed the denial of the November 26, 2014 claim on February 24, 2015, failed to establish, under the circumstances presented, that it had timely denied that claim. A no-fault claim must be paid or denied “within 30 calendar days after the insurer receives proof of claim” (11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [a] [1]; see e.g. New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 31 AD3d 512 [2006]). While it is not disputed on this appeal that defendant tolled its time to pay or deny the November 26, 2014 claim by timely scheduling an EUO of plaintiff’s assignor (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [a] [1]; see also e.g. Sound Shore Med. Ctr. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 106 AD3d 157 [2013]; Longevity Med. Supply, Inc. v IDS Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co., 44 Misc 3d 137[A], 2014 NY Slip Op 51244[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2014]), the toll ended when plaintiff’s assignor failed to appear at the second EUO on January 22, 2015 (Quality Health Supply Corp. v Nationwide Ins., 69 Misc 3d 133[A], 2020 NY Slip Op 51226[U], *1-2 [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2020]). As defendant did not demonstrate that it denied the November 26, 2014 claim within 30 days of the end of the toll, it has not demonstrated that it is not precluded from raising its proffered EUO no-show defense (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co., 60 AD3d 1045 [2009]; see also Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. v Jamaica Wellness Med., P.C., 167 AD3d 192 [2018]) as to that claim, and the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the November 26, 2014 claim should have been denied.
However, there is no merit to plaintiff’s argument that the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the February 13, 2015 claims should have been denied because defendant was similarly required to deny those{**74 Misc 3d at 20} claims within 30 days of plaintiff’s assignor’s failure to appear on January 22, 2015. Rather, defendant demonstrated that those claims were properly denied on March 2, 2015, within 30 days of their receipt, based upon the prior nonappearance (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [a]; ARCO Med. N.Y., P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co., 34 Misc 3d 134[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 52382[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]).
It has been long held that “[t]he failure to comply with the provision of an insurance policy requiring the insured to submit to an examination under oath . . . is a material breach of the [no-fault] policy, precluding recovery of the policy proceeds” (Interboro Ins. Co. v Clennon, 113 AD3d 596, 597 [2014] [internal quotation marks omitted]; see Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. v Jamaica Wellness Med., P.C., 167 AD3d 192 [2018]). While this failure has been termed “a breach of a condition precedent to coverage under the no-fault policy” (Unitrin Advantage Ins. Co. v Bayshore Physical Therapy, PLLC, 82 AD3d 559, 560 [2011]; see Quality Health Supply Corp. v Nationwide Ins., 2020 NY Slip Op 51226[U]), it is more appropriately characterized as a “breach of an existing policy condition” (Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. v Jamaica Wellness Med., P.C., 167 AD3d at 197). It would be contrary to 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 (a) (1), and, in effect, render that paragraph a nullity, if, as plaintiff suggests, a no-show defense were to expire 30 days after the second nonappearance—in this instance, defendant’s time to pay [*3]or deny the February 13, 2015 claims would have expired well before the 30 days permitted by the regulations. Indeed, under plaintiff’s interpretation, an eligible injured person and his or her assignees could simply wait 30 days after failing to appear to submit any new claims, and the insurer would then be prohibited from denying those claims based upon the nonappearance.
To the extent that plaintiff argues that a failure to timely deny any one claim based upon a nonappearance at an EUO or independent medical examination (IME) once that defense has accrued constitutes a waiver of the right to thereafter assert that defense as to any and all subsequent claims submitted upon the same covered event, that argument is without merit. In other words, defendant’s failure to timely deny the November 26, 2014 claim based on the January 22, 2015 nonappearance was not a waiver of defendant’s right to timely deny, as it did, the February 13, 2015 claims based upon the same prior nonappearance (see ARCO Med. N.Y., P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co., 2011{**74 Misc 3d at 21} NY Slip Op 52382[U]). Each such claim is treated on an individual basis (cf. Shtarkman v Allstate Ins. Co., 8 Misc 3d 129[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 51028[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2005] [a “blanket” or “general” denial purporting to deny all future claims does not constitute a valid denial of any subsequent claim]; A&S Med. v Allstate Ins. Co., 196 Misc 2d 322 [App Term, 1st Dept 2003], affd 15 AD3d 170 [2005]). We note that, in this respect, EUO and IME nonappearances are treated differently from the failure to provide requested written verification, which is only a proper basis for the denial of claims for which the written verification was specifically requested and cannot, based on the regulations and the case law, be asserted as a basis for a denial of any subsequently submitted claim (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [b] [3]; see generally Shtarkman v Allstate Ins. Co., 2005 NY Slip Op 51028[U]; A&S Med. v Allstate Ins. Co., 196 Misc 2d 322 [2003]).
Accordingly, the order is modified by providing that the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon the claim in the sum of $1,314 submitted on November 26, 2014, is denied.
Aliotta, P.J., Weston and Toussaint, JJ., concur.
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?
This decision: No-show defense is subject to preclusion and fails for want of a timely, proper denial
Held the EUO toll ended at the second nonappearance, so the insurer did not show it was not precluded on the claim denied more than 30 days later, but later-received claims were properly denied within 30 days of receipt.
Of the 500 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 162 (this one included) are in the same category. 2 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 05602)The insurer proved a timely denial but failed to establish that the provider's treatment was unrelated to the accident.
- Sound Shore Med. Ctr. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 02390)The hospital's UB-04 form was not the functional equivalent of an NF-5 and did not support tolling before receipt of the NF-5.
- Longevity Med. Supply, Inc. v IDS Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 51244(U))The insurer's EUO requests were late, but its denials remained timely after the corresponding reductions in its time to pay or deny.
- Quality Health Supply Corp. v Nationwide Ins. (2020 NY Slip Op 51226(U)) CriticizedThe 30-day pay-or-deny period for EUO nonappearance begins with the second missed EUO when no other verification is outstanding.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 02589) FollowedThe insurer's investigation letters did not toll the 30-day period to pay or deny the provider's claim.
- Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. v Jamaica Wellness Med., P.C. (2018 NY Slip Op 07850) FollowedAn EUO nonappearance defense is subject to preclusion when the insurer fails to issue a timely denial.
- ARCO Med. N.Y., P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52382(U)) FollowedA follow-up EUO request is not premature when sent within 10 days after failure to appear for the initial scheduled examination.
- Interboro Ins. Co. v Clennon (2014 NY Slip Op 00092)The assignor's two EUO nonappearances supported a declaration that the providers were not entitled to no-fault benefits.
- Unitrin Advantage Ins. Co. v Bayshore Physical Therapy, PLLC (2011 NY Slip Op 01948) CriticizedAn assignor's failure to attend required IMEs permits retroactive denial of no-fault claims regardless of denial timeliness.
- Shtarkman v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51028(U)) Contrasted (cf., but see)An insurer's blanket denial issued before receipt of a provider's claim does not constitute a valid denial of that claim.
- A & S Med. P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 00505) Contrasted (cf., but see)An insurer must timely respond to a provider's first assigned claim despite an earlier blanket denial sent to the insured.
Cited by (11)
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- NGM Acupuncture, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 51271(U)) FollowedThe insurer timely denied three claims based on the provider's EUO nonappearances, with tolling preserving the deadline for one claim.
- Arcadia Acupuncture, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 51258(U)) FollowedThe provider obtained partial judgment for untimely denials, but disputed EUO convenience barred judgment on later claims.
- Psychology After Acc., P.C. v Nationwide Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2022 NY Slip Op 50366(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to prove timely denials after two missed EUOs, while the provider also failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment.
- EA Chiropractic Diagnostics, P.C. v GEICO Ins. (2022 NY Slip Op 50557(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish timely denials after the provider missed an initial and a follow-up EUO. The insurer appealed only the denial of summary judgment on claims for services rendered to three of the six assignors.
- Chi P&L Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50768(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish timely denials after the provider missed both the initial and follow-up EUOs. The Appellate Term, Second Department, affirmed the order, insofar as appealed from, denying the insurer summary judgment dismissing the assigned no-fault claims.
- Hands On Physical Therapy Care v Nationwide Ins. (2022 NY Slip Op 50797(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish timely EUO nonappearance denials for the provider's first three causes of action.
- Sloan v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50997(U)) FollowedThe insurer's EUO defense failed because its initial request and its denial following the second nonappearance were untimely.
- FJL Med. Servs., P.C. v Nationwide Ins. (2022 NY Slip Op 51213(U))An insurer cannot extend the claim determination toll after a second EUO nonappearance by unilaterally scheduling further EUOs. The insurer recorded four provider nonappearances and denied the claim more than 30 days after the second.
- Ezra Supply, Inc. v Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. (2022 NY Slip Op 22383)An insurer's 30-day period to pay or deny resumes at the second EUO nonappearance when no other verification request is outstanding.
- MSB Physical Therapy, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. (2022 NY Slip Op 51378(U))The insurer failed to establish timely denial after the provider's second EUO nonappearance or raise a triable issue on that defense.
Show all 11 citing decisions
Similar decisions
- Allstate Chiropractic, P.C. v Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. (2023 NY Slip Op 50299(U))The insurer failed to establish timely denials because scheduling another EUO did not extend the deadline after the second nonappearance.
- Burke Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2024 NY Slip Op 24111)An EUO request tolls the time to pay or deny a claim, not the deadline to request new verification.
- Z.M.S. & Y. Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Gen. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 27189)The insurer's one-day delay in sending a follow-up EUO request did not excuse the provider's four nonappearances on this record.
- MLG Med. P.C. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2023 NY Slip Op 23199)The insurer's denial after the assignor's fourth EUO nonappearance was timely despite issuance more than 30 days after the second.
- Boai Zhong Yi Acupuncture Servs. PC v General Assur. Ins Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50329(U))The provider obtained summary judgment because two denials were late and the third relied on an unavailable IME nonappearance defense.