December 15, 2005
Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25545)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/careplus-med-supply-inc-v-state-wide-ins-co-2005-ny-slip-op-25545/
- Decided
- December 15, 2005
- Citation
- 2005 NY Slip Op 25545 · 11 Misc 3d 29
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Distinguished in 1 and followed in 13 later decisions (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- Claimant's prima facie case on motions · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25545)
| Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v State-Wide Ins. Co. |
| 2005 NY Slip Op 25545 [11 Misc 3d 29] |
| Accepted for Miscellaneous Reports Publication |
| AT2 |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| As corrected through Wednesday, April 05, 2006 |
[*1]
| Careplus Medical Supply Inc., as Assignee of William Rivera, Appellant, v State-Wide Insurance Company, Respondent. |
Supreme Court, Appellate Term, Second Department, December 15, 2005
APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL
Amos Weinberg, Great Neck, for appellant. Ronald I. Lemberger, Hempstead (Wesley R. Mead of counsel), for respondent.
{**11 Misc 3d at 30} OPINION OF THE COURT
Memorandum.
Order unanimously reversed without costs, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment granted and matter remanded to the court below for a calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees.
In this action to recover first-party no-fault benefits for medical supplies furnished to its assignor, plaintiff established a prima facie entitlement to summary judgment by proof that it submitted the claims, setting forth the fact and the amounts of the losses sustained, and that payment of no-fault benefits was overdue (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]; A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co., 4 Misc 3d 86 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]; Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 128[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51701[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2003]; Damadian MRI in Elmhurst v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 128[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51700[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists 2003]). The record discloses that the defendant submitted a properly completed denial of claim form dated September 25, 2003 covering all the claims involved in the lawsuit. Contrary to the determination of the court below, said September 25, 2003 denial of claim form, which was attached to plaintiff’s moving papers, and is identical to the denial of claim form dated September 25, 2003, included by defendant as part of its papers in opposition to [*2]plaintiff’s motion, adequately established that plaintiff sent, and that defendant received, the claims (see Capio Med., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 7 Misc 3d 129[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50526[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2005]; A.B. Med. Servs. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 3 Misc 3d 136[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50507[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]; cf. SZ Med. P.C. v State-Wide Ins. Co., 6 Misc 3d 132[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50103[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2005]).
Defendant’s reliance on SZ Med. P.C. v State-Wide Ins. Co. (6 Misc 3d 132[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50103[U] [2005], supra) is misplaced. In SZ Med. P.C., plaintiffs’ billing manager stated that she submitted the 15 annexed claim forms without specifying when they were sent, and relied on defendant’s letter which acknowledged receipt of claims but did not specify which of the claims were received. On those facts, this court held:
“In the absence of any evidence as to when plaintiffs{**11 Misc 3d at 31} submitted their claim forms to defendant, and in the absence of any specification in defendant’s letters of February 13, 2002 as to which claims it had received prior thereto, plaintiffs were unable to establish whether payments as to all, or even any, of the claims being sued upon were overdue” (2005 NY Slip Op 50103[U], at *2).
In the instant case, unlike in SZ Med. P.C., defendant submitted the exact same denial of claim form dated September 25, 2003 relied upon by plaintiff, without stating any objection thereto, or denying receipt of said bills, thereby effectively conceding receipt of the same.
Defendant’s September 25, 2003 denial of claim form indicates that defendant’s denial of plaintiff’s claims was not timely made within the 30-day statutory period within which it was required to pay or deny the claims (11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [c]). We note that the record also contains denial of claim forms dated January 27, 2003 and January 28, 2003. However, they are fatally defective and of no import since these forms omitted numerous items of requested information, and were thus incomplete (Nyack Hosp. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co., 16 AD3d 564 [2005]; Nyack Hosp. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 11 AD3d 664 [2004]). Furthermore, defendant’s documentary submissions are insufficient to establish proper mailing either of said denial of claim forms or the independent medical examination notices upon which the denials were based (see Hospital for Joint Diseases v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 284 AD2d 374 [2001]; Contemp. Med. Diag. & Treatment, P.C. v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 6 Misc 3d 137[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50254[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2005]). Accordingly, defendant is precluded from raising most defenses (see Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 282 [1997]), including its defense of excessive or unnecessary treatment (see Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195, 199 [1997]; Mount Sinai Hosp. v Triboro Coach, 263 AD2d 11 [1999]). Defendant has failed to submit proof in admissible form in support of its defense of fraud and/or misrepresentation (see A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v State-Wide Ins. Co., 7 Misc 3d 136[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50785[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2005]). In any event, the unsworn investigative reports indicate that defendant’s claim of fraud is, in essence, premised on fraudulent billing or excessive medical treatment, forms of “provider fraud” which are defenses subject to the 30-day preclusion remedy (Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co., 9 Misc 3d 76 [App{**11 Misc 3d at 32} Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2005]; see Central Gen. Hosp., 90 NY2d at 199; Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d at 285; Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 4 [*3]Misc 3d 92 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]; cf. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Mallela, 4 NY3d 313 [2005]).
Accordingly, summary judgment is granted in favor of plaintiff and the matter remanded to the court below for the calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees pursuant to Insurance Law § 5106 (a) and the regulations promulgated thereunder.
Pesce, P.J., Weston Patterson and Belen, JJ., concur.
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case
Held the provider made its prima facie case because the insurer's own denial form, submitted by both sides without objection, established that the claims were sent and received and showed the denial was untimely.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The provider's or claimant's proof established mailing of its claim form, NF-2 or verification response
Held the insurer's identical denial form, submitted without objection or denial of receipt, established that the provider sent and the insurer received the claims, effectively conceding receipt.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 103 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24194)An insurer's timely medical-necessity denial does not replace admissible proof opposing a provider's summary judgment motion.
- Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51701(U))A provider's completed claim forms establish its prima facie case without additional medical proof when the insurer is precluded.
- Damadian Mri In Elmhurst v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51700(U))A provider need not submit additional medical-necessity evidence to obtain summary judgment when the insurer is precluded from that defense.
- Capio Med., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50526(U))The insurer's EUO requests did not toll the denial period because it failed to prove an authorizing endorsement or timely requests.
- A.B. Med. Servs. v N. Y. Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50507(U))An insurer opposing summary judgment on medical necessity must submit admissible proof even if unaffirmed reports supported a timely denial.
- SZ Med. P.C. v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50103(U)) DistinguishedThe providers failed to establish overdue payment because their proof did not identify when the claims sued upon were submitted.
- Nyack Hosp. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 02235)The insurer failed to prove mailing of its denial, and the denial was incomplete even if timely.
- Nyack Hosp. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 07663)A timely but fatally defective denial cannot be cured by supplying omitted information after the 30-day denial period expires.
- Contemp. Med. Diag. & Treatment, P.C. v Government Employees Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50254(U))The insurer's conclusory office-practice affidavit failed to prove timely mailing of verification requests.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50785(U)) FollowedThe insurer's attorney affirmation and unsworn reports failed to raise a triable staged-collision issue without an excuse for inadmissibility.
- Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25343) FollowedAn insurer's untimely denial precludes a defense that the provider billed for medical supplies never furnished after a covered accident.
- State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Mallela (2005 NY Slip Op 02416) Contrasted (cf., but see)Fraudulently incorporated medical providers are ineligible for no-fault reimbursement under 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (12).
Cited by (23)
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Magnezit Med. Care, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50473(U)) DistinguishedThe claimants failed to establish submission of their claims through mailing proof or the insurer's discrepant denial forms.
- First Help Acupuncture P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51043(U)) FollowedFraudulent licensing under 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (12) is a nonwaivable defense outside the 30-day preclusion rule.
- M.G.M. Psychiatry Care P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51286(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to prove mailing of its EUO transcript request, leaving its denials untimely and fraudulent-claim defenses precluded.
- Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51047(U)) FollowedAn explanation of benefits form cannot substitute for the prescribed no-fault denial form under 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 (c) (1).
- Accessible & Advance Med. P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51599(U)) FollowedThe insurer's timely denials lacked a factual basis, and it failed to prove timely sending of the referenced peer review.
- Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51189(U)) FollowedThe insurer's denials dated more than 30 days after final verification precluded its medical necessity defense.
- Dilon Med. Supply Corp. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51344(U)) FollowedAn insurer's fraud defense based on excessive billing or lack of medical necessity is subject to the 30-day denial preclusion rule.
- A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Ins. (2006 NY Slip Op 51662(U)) FollowedThe insurer proved mailing of one medical necessity denial but failed to prove verification mailing for four other claims.
- Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50163(U)) FollowedThe insurer raised a coverage issue through a founded belief of insurance fraud despite failing to prove timely denials.
- Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v ELRAC Inc. (2006 NY Slip Op 51417(U)) FollowedThe provider lacked submission proof for one claim, while the defendants' founded belief of noncovered injuries defeated judgment on the other.
Show all 23 citing decisions
- Bell Air Med. Supply LLC v State Farm Ins. Claim Off. (2006 NY Slip Op 52218(U)) Followed
- New Century Chiropractic, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 52236(U)) Followed
- SZ Med., P.C. v Trumbull Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50499(U)) Followed
- VA Acutherapy Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51217(U)) Followed
- Oleg Barshay, D.C., P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26496)
- SZ Med. P.C. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51428(U))
- A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51426(U))
- Dilon Med. Supply Corp. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 52266(U))
- Carnegie Hill Orthopedic Servs. P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50639(U))
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51877(U))
- Lenox Hill Radiology & MIA, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2009 NY Slip Op 51620(U))
- AT Med. P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50739(U))
- Devonshire Surgical Facility v AIU Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51034(U))
Similar decisions
- Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51526(U))The former medical-equipment fee schedule caps reimbursement at 150 percent of cost and does not use local prevailing rates.
- Careplus Med. Supply, Inc v Allstate Indem. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 51527(U))The insurer improperly reduced equipment claims to local prevailing rates under a fee schedule allowing 150 percent of cost.
- Ultra Diagnostics Imaging v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25402)The insurer's wage-verification fraud allegations failed to establish a lack-of-coverage defense exempt from untimely-denial preclusion.
- Bath Med. Supply, Inc. v Allstate Indem. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 20059)The insurer failed to justify discovery or preserve fraudulent-billing and EUO nonappearance defenses through proof of timely denials.
- SZ Med. P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26194)An insurer waives the 45-day submission defense by omitting notice that reasonable justification can excuse a late claim.