• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
July 6, 2009

Lenox Hill Radiology & MIA, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2009 NY Slip Op 51620(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/lenox-hill-radiology-mia-p-c-v-global-liberty-ins-co-of-n-y-2009-ny-slipop-51620u/

Court
Civil Court of the City of New York, Richmond County
Judge
Levine, J.
Decided
July 6, 2009
Citation
2009 NY Slip Op 51620(U) · 24 Misc 3d 1225(A)
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Split result
Issues
Priority, other coverage Timeliness and preclusion Medical necessity
Legal questions
Proof of mailing · Lack of medical necessity (see the maps)
Cite as
Lenox Hill Radiology & MIA, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y., 24 Misc 3d 1225(A), 2009 NY Slip Op 51620(U) (Civ Ct, Richmond County 2009)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

A workers' compensation priority defense is subject to the 30-day denial requirement and does not constitute lack of coverage. The Civil Court, Richmond County, denied the insurer's summary judgment motion and granted the provider's cross motion solely as to that defense. Following Westchester Medical Center v Lincoln General Ins. Co. and Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co., the court held that possible workers' compensation benefits presented an offset, not an absence of coverage in the first instance. The insurer's asserted policy misrepresentation did not avoid preclusion. Because the insurer timely denied the claim for lack of medical necessity and submitted a sufficient peer review report, that issue remained for trial.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Lenox Hill Radiology & MIA, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2009 NY Slip Op 51620(U))

[*1]
Lenox Hill Radiology & MIA, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y.
2009 NY Slip Op 51620(U) [24 Misc 3d 1225(A)]
Decided on July 6, 2009
Civil Court Of The City Of New York, Richmond County
Levine, J.
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.
Decided on July 6, 2009

Civil Court of the City of New York, Richmond County



Lenox Hill Radiology and MIA, P.C. A/A/O ZULFIQAR AHMAD, Plaintiff,

against

Global Liberty Insurance Co. of New York, Defendant.

08R000954

Katherine A. Levine, J.

Upon the foregoing cited papers, the Decision/Order on this Motion is as follows:

Defendant’s motion for summary judgment raises anew whether the recent Court of Appeals decision in Fair Price Medical Supply Corp. V. Travelers Indemnity Co., 10 NY3d 556 (2008) requires an insurer to deny a claim on the grounds that the assignor was involved in an accident while on the job and that workers compensation is hence primary within 30 days, or whether that defense is not subject to the preclusion rule.

Plaintiff Lenox Hill Radiology and MIA, P.C. A/A/O (“Lenox Radiology”

or “plaintiff”), a medical service provider, brought this action seeking reimbursement in the amount of $878.67 for medical services it provided to its assignor Zulfiqar Ahmad (“assignor or “Ahmad”) stemming from a motor vehicle accident that occurred on September 19, 2007. Plaintiff timely submitted its bill to defendant Global Liberty Insurance Co. (“defendant” or “Global”) which is a “licensed insurance carrier for vehicles for hire” (affidavit of Dwight Geddes -“Geddes affidavit” ). Global received the claim on November 2, 2007, and denied and mailed the claim on November 28, 2007 on the grounds of lack of medical necessity based upon a performed peer review report. [FN1] The denial did not list as a grounds lack of coverage based upon workers compensation being primary. [*2]

Defendant moved for summary of judgment on the grounds that there is no coverage since it “has reason to believe” that the assignor was in the course of his employment at the time of the accident and that therefore, workers compensation is primary and the assignor is not entitled to no -fault benefits. It further contends that the Workers Compensation Board (“Board”) is vested with the responsibility of resolving questions of fact or mixed questions of law and fact and that the Board hence has”primary and exclusive jurisdiction” to resolve questions of coverage. Thus, a no -fault insurer is only obligated to pay no-fault benefits if the workers compensation carrier denies liability for benefits. From these propositions, defendant argues that “there is no coverage” from an insurance company for no – fault benefits until the Board makes a determination that there is no workers compensation coverage and that hence, defendant’s time in which to issue a denial does not even commence until the Board makes its determination.

Plaintiff cross moved for summary judgment on the ground that the defense that a “claimant is eligible for workers compensation” is not a coverage defense but rather a “statutory offset” which must be contained in a timely denial. Plaintiff contends that there are only four “coverage defenses” that are not subject to preclusion even if not raised in a timely denial and that the instant defense is not included in this group. Since defendant did not preserve this defense by issuing a timely denial, plaintiff contends it is entitled to partial summary judgment.

In response, defendant contends that if in fact the Board were to determine that the assignor was not working at the time of the accident but rather was using the vehicle for personal reasons, this would be in violation of his policy of insurance or “contract” with Global and would constitute a “material misrepresentation” by the insured so as to warrant a forfeiture of his rights under the policy. Defendant further contends that “misrepresentation by an insured and a material breach of the contract of insurance result in the vitiation of coverage.”

To grant summary judgment, “it must clearly appear that no material and triable issue of fact is presented” Forrest v. Jewish Guild for the Blind, 3 NY3d 295 (2004); Zuckerman v, City of New York, 49 NY2d 557 (1980). A plaintiff establishes a prima facie entitlement to judgment as a matter of law “by submitting evidentiary proof that the prescribed statutory billing form has been mailed and received, and that payment of no -fault benefits was overdue.” Mary Immaculate Hosp. v. Allstate Ins.,, 5 AD3d 742, 743 (2d Dept. 2004); Second Medical v. Auto

One Ins., 20 Misc 3d 291, 293 (Civil Ct., Kings Co. 2008).

The burden then shifts to the defendant in a no fault case to show a triable issue of fact. Alvarez v Prospect Hosp., 68 NY2d 320, 324 (1986). To defeat an award of summary judgment to plaintiff, defendant must provide proof, in evidentiary form, that it either paid or denied the claim within 30 days of receipt or that it asserts a non- precludable defense. Carle Place Chiropractic v. NY Central Mutual Fire Ins. Co., 2008 NY Slip Op 51065U; 19 Misc 3d 1139A (Dist. Ct. Nass. Co. 2008). District supra at 8. See Central General Hospital v. Chubb Insurance Co, 90 NY2d 195 (1997); Presbyterian Hosp. City of NY v. Maryland Casualty Co., 90 NY2d 274 (1997). [*3]

In Fair Price Medical v. Travelers Ins., 10 NY3d 556 (2008), the Court of Appeals clarified when an insurance company would not be precluded from offering a defense to its refusal to pay no – fault benefits even though it denied the claims beyond the 30 day period. There, Travelers issued its denial nearly two years after receiving the claim, based upon the assignor’s statement that he had never received medical supplies from the plaintiff. The Civil Court denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, finding that defendant was not precluded by the 30 day rule since it had asserted fraud as a defense. The Appellate Division affirmed the Appellate Term’s reversal of the lower court’s order denying plaintiff summary judgment on the grounds that :

in this case, unlike a staged accident case, there was an actual automobile accident, which

caused Nivelo to sustain actual injuries, for which he was treated by actual health care providers, who issued actual prescriptions for medical supplies to treat his injuries. Nivelo’s undisputably real accident had resulting injuries triggered with the coverage provided for in his insurance policy with the defendant” Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. V. Travelers Indem. Co. 42 AD3d 277, 284 (2d Dept. 2007) affg 9 Misc 3d 76 (App. Term 2d and 11th Jud. Dist 2005).

In sum, the Appellate Division concluded that while Travelers could contest the assignor’s claim as fraudulent, it must do so within the tight deadlines imposed by the no -fault system. 42 AD3d at 286.

The Court of Appeals affirmed . It first cited to its recent review of the legal framework behind the No – Fault Law in Hospital for Joint Diseases v. Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins., 9 NY3d 312, 317 (2007); namely that the no fault insurance system was designed to ensure “prompt compensation for losses incurred by accident victims without regard to fault or negligence,” to reduce the burden on the courts, and to provide substantial premium savings to New York motorists. ” Citing to its prior decision in Central General Hospital, supra, the Court cautioned that there was only one “narrow” exception to the preclusion rule for those situations where an insurance company raises the defense of lack of coverage. 9 NY3d at 318 . The Court explained that in such cases “an insurer who fails to issue a timely disclaimer is not prohibited from later raising the defense because the insurance policy does not contemplate coverage in the

first instance, and requiring payment of a claim upon failure to timely disclaim would create coverage where it never existed. Fair Price, 10 NY3d at at 563 citing Joint Diseases, 9 NY3d at 318. See, e.g. Tahir v. Progressive Casualty Ins. Co., 12 Misc 3d 657, 662 (Civil Ct., NY Co., 2006) (“staged accident fraud” actually posed an issue of non coverage as opposed to fraud because under no -fault concepts, insurance coverage is limited to an “accident”).

Thus, the “key issue” in every case is whether the “facts fit within the narrow no-coverage exception to the preclusion rule” 10 NY3d at 564. A court, in determining whether a specific defense is precluded under the 30 day rule or falls within the exception entails a judgment as to whether the defense is more like a “normal exception ” from coverage such as a policy exclusion or a lack of coverage in the first instance, i.e. a defense “implicating a coverage matter.” 10 NY3d at 565. [*4]

In Westchester Medical Center v. Lincoln General Ins. Co., 60 AD3d 1045 (2d Dept. 2009), the Second Department found that the defendant failed to raise a triable issue of fact solely based on the hearsay statement of its investigator, as to whether the accident was covered by Workers Compensation benefits. The court then added that “defendant’s possible entitlement to offset any no-fault benefits it pays by any recovery pursuant to a workers compensation claim does not constitute a defense of lack of coverage, which is not subject to the requirement that there be a timely service of the disclaimer” Id at 1046 citing Fair Price supra.,

The Second Department decision in Westchester, supra, despite its brevity, controls the instant matter. Furthermore, as set forth above, the Second Department has previously enunciated its position on the preclusion rule in Fair Price, supra wherein it declared that as long as there was an actual automobile accident, which caused the assignor to sustain actual injuries for which he was treated by an actual health care provider, the case would not fall within the narrow exception to the preclusion rule. Defendant does not contend otherwise but merely argues that workers compensation is “primary” and that there is no coverage for no fault benefits until and unless a workers compensation board makes a determination that the assignor is not covered by workers compensation at which point the no – fault insurer is obligated to pay first party benefits.

Defendant cannot escape this rule by now claiming that there was “fraud ” or “misrepresentation” by as the assignor in obtaining the policy. Defendant fails to allege the type of fraud which will warrant the suspension of the preclusion. This distinction was aptly drawn in

Carnegie Hill Orthopedic Servs. P.C. v. GEICO Ins. Co., 2008 NY Slip Op 50639U, 19 Misc 3d 1111A, 862 N.Y.S.2d 813 (NY Sup. Ct. 2008) wherein the court stated that “(t)he defense of fraud based upon “staged accidents” or intentional collisions are considered defenses premised on lack of coverage, and have been found not subject to the rigorous 30-day rule because there was, in fact, no “accident.” See, Mtr. of Allstate Ins. Co v Massre, 14 AD3d 610 (2nd Dept. 2005); State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co. v Laguerre, 305 AD2d 490 (2nd Dept. 2003); Metro Medical Diagnostics, P.C. v Eagle Ins. Co., 293 AD2d 751 (2nd Dept. 2002). On the other hand, cases involving fraudulent billing or excessive treatment are considered claims of “provider fraud” and can be precluded by the 30-day rule. Carnegie Hill, supra at 4 . See, Careplus Medical Supply Inc v State-Wide Ins. Co., 11 Misc 3d 29 (App Term, 2nd & 11th Jud Dists 2005); MGM Psychiatry Care PC v Utica Mutual Ins. Co., 12 Misc 3d 137(A), 824 N.Y.S.2d 763,(App Term, 2nd & 11th Jud Dists 2006).

The Carnegie court noted that the ” key distinction is that in the first circumstance the insurance carrier demonstrated that an issue existed as to whether there was any coverage at all, whereas in the second the courts were presented with an exclusion under the policy, which does not mean that there was no contractual obligation in the first instance. In the latter, the 30-day rule still applies”. Id at 4 citing Fair Price Supply Corp., supra at 42 AD3d 277.

In fact, in Fair Price, supra, the Second Department specifically stated that the exception [*5]to the preclusion rule was carved out specifically where an insurer failed to timely pay or deny fraudulent claims that arise out of staged automobile accidents. 42 AD3d at 283. The rationale for such a holding was that “a deliberate collision that is caused in furtherance of an insurance fraud scheme is simply not an “accident” covered by the subject insurance policy.” Id. To that end, no matter how “egregious” the alleged fraud was in the case before it ( medical supply company’s claim was fraudulent as medical supplies were never delivered), it was not related to the existence of coverage in the first instance. Id. at 284.

Nor does the fraudulent misrepresentation raised by defendant herein fall into the category of fraudulent incorporation A defendant is not precluded from raising its defense that plaintiff may be fraudulently incorporated since it is ” possibly” owned by both a physician and non physician, the latter of which is prohibited by both the Business Incorporation Law, the No – fault regulations and the seminal case of State Farm Mutual Auto Ins. V. Mallela, 4 NY3d 313 (2005).[FN2]

In Eastern Medical P.C. v. Allstate Ins. Co., 19 Misc 3d 775 (Dist. Ct. Nassau Co. 2008), the court rejected Allstate’s contention that Fair Price had reshaped the analysis of fraud based defenses so as to make a Mallela fraudulent incorporation defense untimely if not made within the 30 day denial period. See, Manhattan Medical Imaging, P,C, v, State Farm Auto Ins,., 2008 NY Slip Op. 51844 (U), 20 Misc 3d 1144 (A) (Civil Ct., Richmond Co. 2008). The court found that the Mallela defense was not predicated upon a policy exclusion or the extent of coverage provided by a contract of insurance but rather upon a statutory defense arising from a claimant’s failure to comply with applicable sections of the Business Corporation, Limited Liability and Education Laws. Id at 779-780. Hence, the challenged regulation in Mallela did not create a new category of exclusion but rather was “a condition precedent with which all claimants must comply in order to receive benefits.” Id at 780 citing 4 NY3d at 321 n.3. Therefore, Fair Price did not

alter, much less address prior precedent that a fraudulent incorporation defense “is a non- waivable defense .and is therefore not subject to the 30-day preclusion rule” ( Midwood Acupuncture P.C. v. State Farm Mutual Auto, 14 Misc 3d 131A, 2007 N.Y Slip Op 50052 U

( App. Term, 2d Dept. 2007). Id at 781. Nor was such a defense waived by the failure to assert it in a denial of claim form. Multiquest v. Allstate Ins. Co., 17 Misc 3d 37, 39 ( App. Term, 2d Dept. 2007).

Since the instant defendant’s claim of fraud does not fall into the category of fraud in pursuance of a staged accident or fraudulent incorporation, it does not fall within the exception to [*6]the preclusion. Having failed to raise the defense that claimant is eligible for workers compensation or that workers compensation is primary in a timely denial, plaintiff is entitled to partial summary judgment. However, since defendant timely mailed its denial based on lack of medical necessity and annexes a sufficient peer review report in support of its denial, this matter will proceed to trial on the issue of medical necessity.

In sum, defendant’s motion for summary judgment is denied and plaintiff’s cross-motion for summary judgment is granted solely with respect to the defense of workers compensation.

DATED: July 6, 2009

KATHERINE A. LEVINE

JUDGE, CIVIL COURT

ASNbyon

Footnotes

Footnote 1:The court finds that the defendant established that it generated and then mailed out a timely denial based on lack of medical necessity on November 28, 2007 in accordance with its well established procedures and through the personal knowledge of the mail clerk at Global.

Footnote 2:This defense is typically referred to as the “Malella defense” or “fraudulent incorporation” defense.

Legal questions (2)

Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Proof of mailing

Open the full map

Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?

This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)

Found the insurer established that it generated and mailed a timely medical-necessity denial under its established procedures and through the mail clerk's personal knowledge.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 37
  • Appellate TermApp Term 1,203
  • Trial courtsTrial 143
2015, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2023, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2016, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove)2015, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove)2014, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2013, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2012, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2011, Appellate Division: 6 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2010, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2008, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2007, Appellate Division: 7 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2006, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2005, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove)2004, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer failed to prove)2023, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing)2022, Appellate Term: 44 decisions (32 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing)2021, Appellate Term: 21 decisions (13 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2020, Appellate Term: 31 decisions (24 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing)2019, Appellate Term: 80 decisions (59 Insurer proved mailing, 5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 12 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2018, Appellate Term: 73 decisions (46 Insurer proved mailing, 16 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove, 9 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2017, Appellate Term: 115 decisions (60 Insurer proved mailing, 26 Insurer failed to prove, 4 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 21 Triable issue on mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2016, Appellate Term: 102 decisions (44 Insurer proved mailing, 30 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 20 Triable issue on mailing, 3 Mixed rulings)2015, Appellate Term: 97 decisions (66 Insurer proved mailing, 10 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 9 Triable issue on mailing, 8 Mixed rulings)2014, Appellate Term: 67 decisions (55 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 3 Triable issue on mailing, 4 Mixed rulings)2013, Appellate Term: 73 decisions (62 Insurer proved mailing, 6 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 3 Mixed rulings)2012, Appellate Term: 109 decisions (87 Insurer proved mailing, 13 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 4 Mixed rulings)2011, Appellate Term: 69 decisions (56 Insurer proved mailing, 8 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2010, Appellate Term: 77 decisions (67 Insurer proved mailing, 4 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 2 Mixed rulings)2009, Appellate Term: 53 decisions (29 Insurer proved mailing, 11 Insurer failed to prove, 6 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 4 Mixed rulings)2008, Appellate Term: 27 decisions (12 Insurer proved mailing, 11 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2007, Appellate Term: 30 decisions (9 Insurer proved mailing, 16 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2006, Appellate Term: 74 decisions (6 Insurer proved mailing, 18 Insurer failed to prove, 21 Provider proved mailing, 21 Provider failed to prove, 8 Mixed rulings)2005, Appellate Term: 27 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 14 Insurer failed to prove, 7 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2004, Appellate Term: 12 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 4 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2003, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Provider proved mailing)2024, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2025, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing)2026, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Triable issue on mailing)2023, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Provider proved mailing)2022, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2021, Trial courts: 17 decisions (12 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 2 Mixed rulings)2020, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2019, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2018, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2017, Trial courts: 7 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove)2016, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2015, Trial courts: 3 decisions (3 Provider proved mailing)2013, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2012, Trial courts: 10 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2011, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2010, Trial courts: 6 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2009, Trial courts: 9 decisions (4 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing)2008, Trial courts: 13 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 7 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2007, Trial courts: 8 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2006, Trial courts: 7 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 6 Insurer failed to prove)2005, Trial courts: 14 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 8 Insurer failed to prove, 4 Provider failed to prove)2004, Trial courts: 10 decisions (5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove)2024, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2025, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2026, Trial courts: 6 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)This decision
20052010201520202025
Insurer proved mailingInsurer failed to proveProvider proved mailingProvider failed to proveTriable issue on mailingMixed rulingsThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.

Lack of medical necessity

Open the full map

Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?

This decision: Insurer's proof was enough to defeat the provider's motion but not to win (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)

Held that the insurer's timely denial, supported by a sufficient peer review report, left medical necessity for trial.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 9
  • Appellate TermApp Term 521
  • Trial courtsTrial 87
2022, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer's proof insufficient)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient)2019, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2016, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2008, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2007, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer raised triable issue)2023, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient)2022, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)2021, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (4 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)2020, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 2 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 1 Trial error, new trial)2019, Appellate Term: 15 decisions (8 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 4 Insurer's proof insufficient, 3 Trial error, new trial)2018, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (7 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 2 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 4 Trial error, new trial)2017, Appellate Term: 20 decisions (5 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 7 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 7 Trial error, new trial)2016, Appellate Term: 28 decisions (16 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 7 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 3 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient)2015, Appellate Term: 22 decisions (9 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 9 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2014, Appellate Term: 40 decisions (16 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 22 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2013, Appellate Term: 57 decisions (40 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 12 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient, 2 Trial error, new trial)2012, Appellate Term: 76 decisions (54 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 10 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 2 Insurer raised triable issue, 5 Insurer's proof insufficient, 5 Trial error, new trial)2011, Appellate Term: 56 decisions (42 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 6 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 2 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient, 4 Trial error, new trial)2010, Appellate Term: 66 decisions (50 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 5 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 9 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient)2009, Appellate Term: 32 decisions (17 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 2 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 9 Insurer raised triable issue, 4 Insurer's proof insufficient)2008, Appellate Term: 29 decisions (14 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 9 Insurer raised triable issue, 6 Insurer's proof insufficient)2007, Appellate Term: 9 decisions (3 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 3 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2006, Appellate Term: 20 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 11 Insurer raised triable issue, 8 Insurer's proof insufficient)2005, Appellate Term: 16 decisions (6 Insurer raised triable issue, 10 Insurer's proof insufficient)2004, Appellate Term: 10 decisions (1 Insurer raised triable issue, 9 Insurer's proof insufficient)2003, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer raised triable issue)2022, Trial courts: 6 decisions (4 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2021, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient)2017, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2015, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)2014, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2013, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Trial error, new trial)2012, Trial courts: 7 decisions (4 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 3 Insurer's proof insufficient)2011, Trial courts: 4 decisions (4 Insurer's proof insufficient)2010, Trial courts: 10 decisions (2 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 7 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2009, Trial courts: 5 decisions (2 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 2 Insurer raised triable issue, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2008, Trial courts: 11 decisions (6 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 5 Insurer's proof insufficient)2007, Trial courts: 5 decisions (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 4 Insurer's proof insufficient)2006, Trial courts: 9 decisions (2 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 6 Insurer's proof insufficient)2005, Trial courts: 9 decisions (2 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 6 Insurer's proof insufficient)2004, Trial courts: 8 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 5 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2003, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2026, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient)2025, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)This decision
20052010201520202025
Unrebutted, insurer prevailsProvider's rebuttal sufficientInsurer raised triable issueInsurer's proof insufficientTrial error, new trialThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 67 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04946) FollowedAn insurer's defense that billed supplies were never delivered is subject to preclusion for an untimely denial.
  • Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
  • Second Med., P.C. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28169)A billing company's incorporation of a provider's records into a claim form does not cure hearsay in the underlying records.
  • Carle Place Chiropractic v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51065(U))The insurer failed to prove timely denial mailing and was precluded from asserting lack of medical necessity.
  • Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 05220) FollowedAn insurer's untimely denial precludes a defense that billed medical supplies were never delivered when the defense does not concern coverage.
  • Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25343)An insurer's untimely denial precludes a defense that the provider billed for medical supplies never furnished after a covered accident.
  • Hospital for Joint Diseases v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 09067)An insurer that fails to timely seek verification of an assignment cannot later contest its validity when the underlying claim is covered.
  • Tahir v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26149)Medicare noncompensability alone does not justify denial of a no-fault claim for sensory nerve conduction threshold testing.
  • Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 02589) FollowedThe insurer's investigation letters did not toll the 30-day period to pay or deny the provider's claim.
  • Carnegie Hill Orthopedic Servs. P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50639(U)) FollowedAn insurer's provider-fraud defense is precluded by an untimely denial, but fraud and unjust-enrichment counterclaims may proceed.
  • Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25545)The insurer's completed denial form established receipt of the provider's claims and showed that the denial was untimely.
  • State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Mallela (2005 NY Slip Op 02416) FollowedFraudulently incorporated medical providers are ineligible for no-fault reimbursement under 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (12).
  • Eastern Med., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28109)An insurer's fraudulent incorporation defense is not precluded by an untimely denial because provider eligibility is a statutory prerequisite.
  • Multiquest, P.L.L.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 27366)A professional service limited liability company is ineligible for no-fault reimbursement if it violates licensing requirements.

Cited by

  • Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co. v Alev Med. Supply Inc. (2009 NY Slip Op 29389)An insurer may not recover paid no-fault benefits for undelivered supplies when it failed to timely deny the claim for billing fraud.

Similar decisions

  • Manhattan Med. Imaging, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51844(U))Staged accident and fraudulent incorporation defenses remain available despite an insurer's late denial.
  • Montgomery Med., P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51003(U))The insurer's evidence raised a triable issue of fraudulent incorporation but did not establish its entitlement to summary judgment.
  • Advantage Radiology, P.C. v ACE Am. Ins. Co. (2026 NY Slip Op 50245(U))An insurer's defense that an assignor is eligible for workers' compensation benefits is subject to preclusion for an untimely denial.
  • Corona Comprehensive Med. Care, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2009 NY Slip Op 51432(U))A workers' compensation defense is a statutory offset subject to preclusion unless timely raised in a denial.
  • Jing Huo Lac v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51177(U))The insurer failed to show potential merit in its workers' compensation defense sufficient to require referral to the Board.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.