• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • The No-Fault Claim, Step by Step
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • The No-Fault Claim, Step by Step
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
December 31, 2008

Yklik Med. Supply, Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28532)

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/yklik-med-supply-inc-v-allstate-ins-co-2008-ny-slip-op-28532/

Court
Civil Court of the City of New York, Richmond County
Judge
Levine, J.
Decided
December 31, 2008
Citation
2008 NY Slip Op 28532 · 23 Misc 3d 240
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Provider prevailed
Issues
Fee schedule Timeliness and preclusion Provider's prima facie case
Legal questions
Claimant's prima facie case on motions · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Cite as
Yklik Med. Supply, Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co., 23 Misc 3d 240 (Civ Ct, Richmond County 2008)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

An insurer must issue a timely denial to preserve a fee-schedule defense, including a defense of partial payment under the schedule. The provider established its prima facie case through a billing manager's detailed affidavit describing recordkeeping and mailing procedures and personal mailing of the bill. The insurer denied the claim approximately 56 days after receipt. Applying Insurance Law § 5106 (a), 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 and Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co., the Civil Court, Richmond County, held that fee-schedule noncompliance did not implicate lack of coverage in the first instance. The untimely denial precluded the insurer's fee-schedule and related partial-payment defenses, and the court granted the provider summary judgment.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Yklik Med. Supply, Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28532)

Yklik Med. Supply, Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co.
2008 NY Slip Op 28532 [23 Misc 3d 240]
December 31, 2008
Levine, J.
Civil Court Of The City Of New York, Richmond County
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, April 22, 2009

[*1]

Yklik Medical Supply, Inc., as Assignee of Tammy Agosto, Plaintiff,
v
Allstate Insurance Company, Defendant.

Civil Court of the City of New York, Richmond County, December 31, 2008

APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL

Emilia I. Rutigliano, Brooklyn, for plaintiff. James F. Sullivan, New York City, for defendant.

{**23 Misc 3d at 240} OPINION OF THE COURT

Katherine A. Levine, J.

{**23 Misc 3d at 241}Plaintiff, Yklik Medical Supply, Inc., a medical supply provider, brings this action pursuant to Insurance Law § 5106 (a) to recover $317 in unpaid bills for medical equipment it provided to its assignor Tammy Agosto, with statutory interest and attorney fees. Yklik moves for summary judgment based upon a claimed prima facie showing that its bills were properly submitted and that the defendant Allstate Insurance Company failed to pay or deny the claim within 30 days. Plaintiff also asserts that defendant’s denial was untimely.

Defendant Allstate Insurance Company opposes the motion, asserting that plaintiff has failed to establish a prima facie case since the affidavit of plaintiff’s billing manager is not based on his personal knowledge of the plaintiff’s office practices and billing procedures. Of greater import, Allstate contends that since plaintiff’s claims were in excess of the fee schedule contained in the Workers’ Compensation Law, and since defendant made a partial payment to plaintiff, a triable issue of fact exists as to whether defendant paid the appropriate amount for medical services, hence mandating a denial of summary judgment.

A medical provider must limit its charges to those permitted by approved fee schedules (Insurance Law § 5108 [a]; 11 NYCRR 68.0 [f]) “which protects a patient from erosion of available benefits by inflated charges.” (Complete Orthopedic Supplies, Inc. v State Farm Ins. Co., 16 Misc 3d 996, 1005 n 13 [Civ Ct, Queens County 2007], citing Ops Gen Counsel NY Ins Dept No. 04-06-11 [June 2004].) The fees for services and procedures are governed by the workers’ compensation fee schedule (11 NYCRR 68.1) and durable medical goods fees are governed by the New York Medicaid fee schedule (11 NYCRR Appendix 17-C part F) (collectively referred to as fee schedule).

Ordinarily, a fee schedule dispute raises a triable issue of fact, hence defeating a plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment. (Complete Orthopedic Supplies at 1005.) However, plaintiff contends that defendant is barred from even raising the defense that the bills exceeded the fee schedule or partial payment of the claim because defendant failed to submit a timely denial. In its papers in opposition, defendant summarily asserts that it issued a timely denial. However, during oral argument, defendant asserted that since it paid the bills in accordance with the fee schedule, and since plaintiff is not entitled to be compensated in excess of the fee schedule, that it need not file a timely denial or any denial.

It is clear that plaintiff has established its prima facie case. The affidavit of plaintiff’s billing manager exhaustively details{**23 Misc 3d at 242} the record keeping procedures of the business, and clearly sets forth the procedures for the creation and retention of bills, of which he has personal knowledge. (See Manhattan Med. Imaging, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 20 Misc 3d 1144[A], 2008 NY Slip Op 51844[U], *1 [Civ Ct, Richmond County 2008], citing Second Med., P.C. v Auto One Ins. Co., 20 Misc 3d 291, 294-295 [Civ Ct, Kings County 2008].) The affidavit further details that the bills at issue were made and kept in the ordinary course of business at the time the services were rendered and sets forth the precise mailing procedure that was followed. Moreover, the billing manager personally packaged, sealed, applied postage to and mailed the bill and supplies.

The burden then shifts to the defendant in a no-fault case to show a triable issue of fact. (Alvarez v Prospect Hosp., 68 NY2d 320, 324 [1986].) To defeat an award of summary judgment to plaintiff, defendant must provide proof, in evidentiary form, that it either paid or denied the claim within 30 days of receipt or that it asserts a nonprecludable defense. (Carle Place Chiropractic v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 19 Misc 3d 1139[A], 2008 NY Slip Op 51065[U] [Nassau Dist Ct 2008]; see Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195 [1997]; Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274 [1997].)

Pursuant to Insurance Law § 5106 (a) and 11 NYCRR 65-3.5, an insurer is required to either pay or deny a claim for no-fault automobile insurance benefits within 30 days from the date an applicant supplies proof of claim or it will be precluded from offering any defenses at trial (preclusion rule). (Park Slope Med. & Surgical Supply, Inc. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 19 Misc 3d 1138[A], 2008 NY Slip Op 51063[U], *2 [Civ Ct, Richmond County 2008], citing Mount Sinai Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 43 AD3d 889, 889-890 [2d Dept 2007]; Presbyterian Hosp., 90 NY2d at 278.)

As recently summarized by this court in Manhattan Med. (supra), the Court of Appeals has reaffirmed that there is only one narrow exception to the preclusion rule—where an insurance company raises the defense of lack of coverage. (See Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co., 10 NY3d 556, 563-564 [2008]; Hospital for Joint Diseases v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co., 9 NY3d 312, 317-318 [2007].) In those cases the insurer who fails to issue a timely denial is not precluded from later raising this defense because “the insurance policy does not contemplate coverage in the first instance, and requiring payment{**23 Misc 3d at 243} of a claim upon failure to timely disclaim would create coverage where it never existed.” (Hospital for Joint Diseases at 318.)

Thus, the “key issue” in every case is whether the “facts fit within the narrow no-coverage exception to the preclusion rule” (10 NY3d at 564). A court, in determining whether a specific defense is precluded under the 30-day rule or falls within the exception, must assess whether the defense is more like a “normal exception” from coverage such as a policy exclusion or a lack of coverage in the first instance, i.e., a defense “implicat[ing] a coverage matter.” (10 NY3d at 565.)

The typical defenses that fall within the rubric of lack of coverage are that of a staged automobile accident (Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co., 42 AD3d 277, 284 [2d Dept 2007]; Matter of Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v Goddard, 29 AD3d 698, 699 [2d Dept 2006]; Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 4 Misc 3d 92, 94 [App Term, 2d Dept 2004]); where the claimant’s injuries arose out of a prior work-related accident rather than a car accident (Chubb, 90 NY2d 195 [1997]); or where the insurance company has articulated a founded belief that the plaintiff is fraudulently incorporated (Bay Plaza Chiropractic, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 21 Misc 3d 1102[A], 2008 NY Slip Op 51925[U] [Civ Ct, Richmond County 2008]; Matter of Andrew Carothers, M.D., P.C. v Insurance Cos. Represented by Bruno, Gerbino & Soriano LLP, 13 Misc 3d 970 [Civ Ct, Richmond County 2006]).

A medical provider must limit its charges to those permitted by approved fee schedules (Insurance Law § 5108 [a]; 11 NYCRR 68.0 [f]) “which protects a patient from erosion of available benefits by inflated charges.” (Complete Orthopedic Supplies, Inc. v State Farm Ins. Co., 16 Misc 3d 996, 1005 [2007], citing Ops Gen Counsel NY Ins Dept No. 04-06-11 [June 2004].) The fees for services and procedures are governed by the workers’ compensation fee schedule (11 NYCRR 68.1) and durable medical goods fees are governed by the New York Medicaid fee schedule (11 NYCRR Appendix 17-C part F). An insurer who raises this defense will prevail if it demonstrates that it was correct in its reading of the fee schedules unless the plaintiff shows that “an unusual procedure or unique circumstance justifies the necessity” for a charge above the schedules’ fee (11 NYCRR 68.4; Complete Orthopedic Supplies, 16 Misc 3d at 1005). However, before this defense can be invoked an insurer must prove a timely denial.{**23 Misc 3d at 244}

In Fair Price (10 NY3d 556 [2008]), the Court distinguished the defense that the assignor never received the medical supplies from the plaintiff from the defense raised by the insurance company in Chubb (supra)—that the claimant’s injuries arose out of a prior related accident rather than a car accident. Only the latter—”a lack of coverage” defense—fell outside the preclusion rule since if in fact the injuries were unrelated to the accident, the treatment would not have been covered by the automobile liability policy in the first instance. (10 NY3d at 564, quoting Chubb at 199.) The defense that the billed-for services were never rendered, on the other hand, was more akin to a normal exception from coverage, like the defense of billing for unnecessary procedures found by the Chubb court to fall within the preclusion rule. (10 NY3d at 564, citing Chubb, 90 NY2d at 199 [overbilling does not ordinarily implicate a coverage matter].) This is so because in both situations there was [*2]an actual accident and an actual injury, where “coverage legitimately came into existence.” (Id. at 565, quoting Fair Price, 42 AD3d at 285.)

The same reasoning applies to the defense that the claims were in excess of a fee schedule. The parties do not dispute that the assignor is entitled to no-fault insurance benefits. There was an actual accident where the assignor sustained real injuries; the assignor was covered by defendant under an actual insurance policy; and the assignor was prescribed medical equipment which Yklik provided and for which the insurer was billed. Thus, an insurer can only preserve a fee schedule defense by first complying with the 30-day rule and issuing a timely denial. (Complete Orthopedic Supplies at 1005; Jamil M. Abraham M.D. P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 3 Misc 3d 130[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50388[U], *2 [App Term, 2d Dept 2004] [“by virtue of a timely claims denial an insurer is entitled” to raise a fee schedule defense and establish that charges exceeded those permitted by law]; see Forrest Chen Acupuncture Servs., P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co., 54 AD3d 996 [2d Dept 2008].)

In light of these opinions, it is clear that the defenses of fee schedule noncompliance and partial payment made in accordance with the fee schedule are precluded if defendant fails to disclaim coverage in timely a manner pursuant to the no-fault regulations. Here, the denial annexed to plaintiff’s papers as exhibit 3 reveals that defendant received the claims on July 10, 2007 and mailed the denial on September 4, 2007, waiting approximately{**23 Misc 3d at 245} 56 days to send out its denial. By failing to timely submit its denial, defendant is precluded from raising the defense of noncompliance with the fee schedule and summary judgment is granted to plaintiff.

Legal questions (2)

Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Claimant's prima facie case on motions

Open the full map

On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?

This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)

Rejected the insurer's personal-knowledge challenge, holding the billing manager's detailed affidavit on record keeping and mailing procedure, and his personal mailing of the bill, established the provider's prima facie case.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 2
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 81
  • Appellate TermApp Term 843
  • Trial courtsTrial 139
2015, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2007, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2022, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2019, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2014, Appellate Division: 10 decisions (9 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2013, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Proof sufficient)2012, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Proof sufficient)2011, Appellate Division: 11 decisions (11 Proof sufficient)2010, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2009, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Other element missing)2008, Appellate Division: 8 decisions (6 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Appellate Division: 16 decisions (13 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown)2006, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Other element missing)2005, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (5 Proof sufficient)2004, Appellate Division: 11 decisions (10 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2003, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2022, Appellate Term: 14 decisions (2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 12 Overdue not shown)2021, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 4 Overdue not shown)2020, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (13 Overdue not shown)2019, Appellate Term: 23 decisions (22 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2018, Appellate Term: 26 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 22 Overdue not shown)2017, Appellate Term: 38 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 34 Overdue not shown)2016, Appellate Term: 41 decisions (7 Proof sufficient, 34 Overdue not shown)2015, Appellate Term: 44 decisions (12 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 30 Overdue not shown, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2014, Appellate Term: 22 decisions (10 Proof sufficient, 12 Overdue not shown)2013, Appellate Term: 34 decisions (17 Proof sufficient, 11 Overdue not shown, 6 Business-record foundation lacking)2012, Appellate Term: 32 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 11 Overdue not shown, 16 Business-record foundation lacking)2011, Appellate Term: 29 decisions (6 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 13 Overdue not shown, 9 Business-record foundation lacking)2010, Appellate Term: 36 decisions (22 Proof sufficient, 3 Mailing/receipt not shown, 10 Business-record foundation lacking, 1 Other element missing)2009, Appellate Term: 52 decisions (28 Proof sufficient, 3 Mailing/receipt not shown, 21 Business-record foundation lacking)2008, Appellate Term: 49 decisions (16 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 32 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Appellate Term: 104 decisions (8 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 94 Business-record foundation lacking)2006, Appellate Term: 112 decisions (76 Proof sufficient, 26 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown, 6 Business-record foundation lacking, 3 Other element missing)2005, Appellate Term: 90 decisions (84 Proof sufficient, 5 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown)2004, Appellate Term: 57 decisions (43 Proof sufficient, 10 Mailing/receipt not shown, 4 Other element missing)2003, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (7 Proof sufficient)2023, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Overdue not shown)2024, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 6 Overdue not shown)2025, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown)2026, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Mailing/receipt not shown)2023, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Proof sufficient)2022, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 2 Overdue not shown)2021, Trial courts: 11 decisions (6 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 2 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2020, Trial courts: 5 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2019, Trial courts: 6 decisions (5 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown)2018, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Overdue not shown)2017, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2016, Trial courts: 4 decisions (4 Proof sufficient)2013, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2012, Trial courts: 5 decisions (4 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2011, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2010, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2009, Trial courts: 7 decisions (7 Proof sufficient)2008, Trial courts: 14 decisions (8 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown, 4 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Trial courts: 7 decisions (5 Proof sufficient, 2 Business-record foundation lacking)2006, Trial courts: 16 decisions (13 Proof sufficient, 2 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2005, Trial courts: 22 decisions (14 Proof sufficient, 5 Mailing/receipt not shown, 3 Business-record foundation lacking)2004, Trial courts: 15 decisions (9 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 4 Other element missing)2025, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown)2026, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown)2014, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2015, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2024, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)This decision
20052010201520202025
Proof sufficientMailing/receipt not shownOverdue not shownBusiness-record foundation lackingOther element missingThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 1,065 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 513 (this one included) are in the same category.

Proof of mailing

Open the full map

Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?

This decision: The provider's or claimant's proof established mailing of its claim form, NF-2 or verification response (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)

Held the provider proved mailing because its billing manager described the precise mailing procedure followed and personally packaged, stamped and mailed the bill.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 37
  • Appellate TermApp Term 1,214
  • Trial courtsTrial 148
2015, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2023, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2016, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove)2015, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove)2014, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2013, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2012, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2011, Appellate Division: 6 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2010, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2008, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2007, Appellate Division: 7 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2006, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2005, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove)2004, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer failed to prove)2023, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2022, Appellate Term: 44 decisions (32 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing)2021, Appellate Term: 21 decisions (13 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2020, Appellate Term: 31 decisions (24 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing)2019, Appellate Term: 81 decisions (59 Insurer proved mailing, 5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 12 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2018, Appellate Term: 74 decisions (46 Insurer proved mailing, 16 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove, 10 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2017, Appellate Term: 115 decisions (60 Insurer proved mailing, 26 Insurer failed to prove, 4 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 21 Triable issue on mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2016, Appellate Term: 103 decisions (44 Insurer proved mailing, 30 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 21 Triable issue on mailing, 3 Mixed rulings)2015, Appellate Term: 97 decisions (66 Insurer proved mailing, 10 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 9 Triable issue on mailing, 8 Mixed rulings)2014, Appellate Term: 68 decisions (55 Insurer proved mailing, 4 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 3 Triable issue on mailing, 4 Mixed rulings)2013, Appellate Term: 73 decisions (62 Insurer proved mailing, 6 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 3 Mixed rulings)2012, Appellate Term: 110 decisions (87 Insurer proved mailing, 14 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 4 Mixed rulings)2011, Appellate Term: 69 decisions (56 Insurer proved mailing, 8 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2010, Appellate Term: 78 decisions (67 Insurer proved mailing, 4 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2009, Appellate Term: 53 decisions (29 Insurer proved mailing, 11 Insurer failed to prove, 6 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 4 Mixed rulings)2008, Appellate Term: 28 decisions (13 Insurer proved mailing, 11 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2007, Appellate Term: 30 decisions (9 Insurer proved mailing, 16 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2006, Appellate Term: 75 decisions (6 Insurer proved mailing, 19 Insurer failed to prove, 21 Provider proved mailing, 21 Provider failed to prove, 8 Mixed rulings)2005, Appellate Term: 27 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 14 Insurer failed to prove, 7 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2004, Appellate Term: 12 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 4 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2003, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Provider proved mailing)2024, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2025, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2026, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Triable issue on mailing)2023, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Provider proved mailing)2022, Trial courts: 5 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2021, Trial courts: 18 decisions (12 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 2 Mixed rulings)2020, Trial courts: 5 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2019, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2018, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2017, Trial courts: 7 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove)2016, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2015, Trial courts: 3 decisions (3 Provider proved mailing)2013, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2012, Trial courts: 10 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2011, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2010, Trial courts: 6 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2009, Trial courts: 9 decisions (4 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing)2008, Trial courts: 13 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 7 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2007, Trial courts: 8 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2006, Trial courts: 7 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 6 Insurer failed to prove)2005, Trial courts: 15 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 8 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 4 Provider failed to prove)2004, Trial courts: 10 decisions (5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove)2024, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2025, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2026, Trial courts: 7 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)This decision
20052010201520202025
Insurer proved mailingInsurer failed to proveProvider proved mailingProvider failed to proveTriable issue on mailingMixed rulingsThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 106 (this one included) are in the same category.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Complete Orthopedic Supplies, Inc. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 27192)A fee schedule dispute remained triable because the insurer established neither a proper scheduled fee nor a comparable fee for the goods.
  • Manhattan Med. Imaging, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51844(U)) FollowedStaged accident and fraudulent incorporation defenses remain available despite an insurer's late denial.
  • Second Med., P.C. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28169)A billing company's incorporation of a provider's records into a claim form does not cure hearsay in the underlying records.
  • Carle Place Chiropractic v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51065(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to prove timely denial mailing and was precluded from asserting lack of medical necessity.
  • Park Slope Med. & Surgical Supply, Inc. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51063(U)) FollowedAn insurer's follow-up verification request sent on the 30th day after its initial request is timely under 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 (b).
  • Mount Sinai Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos. (2007 NY Slip Op 06650)The hospital's action was premature because it sued approximately two months before the insurer's time to pay or deny expired.
  • Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04946) FollowedAn insurer's defense that billed supplies were never delivered is subject to preclusion for an untimely denial.
  • Hospital for Joint Diseases v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 09067) FollowedAn insurer that fails to timely seek verification of an assignment cannot later contest its validity when the underlying claim is covered.
  • Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 05220)An insurer's untimely denial precludes a defense that billed medical supplies were never delivered when the defense does not concern coverage.
  • Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24221)EUO requests do not toll the claim determination period when the governing no-fault regulations do not authorize EUO verification.
  • Bay Plaza Chiropractic, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51925(U))Discovery into alleged fraudulent incorporation under CPLR article 31 does not require the good-cause showing applicable to claim verification.
  • Matter of Andrew Carothers, M.D., P.C. v Insurance Cos. Represented by Bruno, Gerbino & Soriano LLP (2006 NY Slip Op 26372)An insurer need not show conduct tantamount to fraud before obtaining litigation discovery on a provider's alleged fraudulent incorporation.
  • Abraham v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50388(U)) FollowedThe insurer's unsworn nurses' reviews failed to raise a triable issue of medical necessity because the reviewers' qualifications were not shown.
  • Forrest Chen Acupuncture Servs., P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 07211)The insurer established that acupuncture reimbursement was properly limited to charges for similar procedures under existing fee schedules.

Similar decisions

  • Inwood Hill Med. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50565(U))The insurer's EUO evidence failed to raise a triable issue that the injuries did not arise from an insured incident.
  • A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Farm Family Cas. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24346)A denial's timeliness is measured by its mailing date, not the date printed on the denial form.
  • Boai Zhong Yi Acupuncture Servs. PC v General Assur. Ins Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50329(U))The provider obtained summary judgment because two denials were late and the third relied on an unavailable IME nonappearance defense.
  • Montgomery Med., P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51003(U))The insurer's evidence raised a triable issue of fraudulent incorporation but did not establish its entitlement to summary judgment.
  • MUA Chiropractic Healthcare, PLLC v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 29375)The insurer's fee schedule defense was precluded because it neither denied the claim nor sought verification within 30 days.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Research

  • Search
  • The No-Fault Claim, Step by Step
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.