September 11, 2007
Mount Sinai Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos. (2007 NY Slip Op 06650)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/mount-sinai-hosp-v-chubb-group-of-ins-cos-2007-ny-slip-op-06650/
- Decided
- September 11, 2007
- Citation
- 2007 NY Slip Op 06650 · 43 AD3d 889
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 2 later decisions (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- Outstanding verification and premature actions (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Mount Sinai Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos. (2007 NY Slip Op 06650)
| Mount Sinai Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos. |
| 2007 NY Slip Op 06650 [43 AD3d 889] |
| September 11, 2007 |
| Appellate Division, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| Mount Sinai Hospital, as Assignee of Sidney Weingarten,
Respondent, et al., Plaintiffs, v Chubb Group of Insurance Companies, Also Known as Chubb & Son, Inc., Appellant. |
—[*1] McDonnell & Adels, P.C., Garden City, N.Y. (Zara G. Friedman of counsel), for appellant.
Joseph Henig, P.C., Bellmore, N.Y., for respondent.
In an action to recover no-fault medical payments, the defendant appeals from so much of an order of the Supreme Court, Nassau County (Feinman, J.), dated January 27, 2006, as granted the motion of the plaintiff Mount Sinai Hospital, as assignee of Sidney Weingarten, denominated as one for leave to renew and reargue, but which was, in actuality, one for leave to reargue, and, upon reargument, vacated so much of a prior order of the same court dated July 8, 2005, as denied that plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment on the first cause of action and granted that plaintiff’s motion.
Ordered that the order dated January 27, 2006 is reversed insofar as appealed from, on the law, with costs, the motion, denominated as one for leave to renew and reargue, but which was, in actuality, one for leave to reargue, is denied, so much of the order dated July 8, 2005, as denied the motion of the plaintiff Mount Sinai Hospital, as assignee of Sidney Weingarten, for summary judgment on the first cause of action is reinstated and, upon searching the record (see CPLR 3212 [b]), that branch of the defendant’s cross motion which was for summary judgment dismissing the first cause of action is granted. [*2]
Pursuant to Insurance Law § 5106 (a) and 11 NYCRR 65-3.5, an insurer is required to either pay or deny a claim for no-fault automobile insurance benefits within 30 days from the date an applicant supplies proof of claim (see Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 278 [1997]). Failure to pay benefits within the 30-day requirement renders the benefits overdue (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [a] [1]). The 30-day period may be extended if within 10 days from receipt of a completed application, an insurer demands additional verification of a claim (see 11 NYCRR former 65.15 [d] [1]; [e]; New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 30 AD3d 492, 493 [2006]; New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 568,569 [2004]). If the requested verification has not been supplied to the insurer within 30 days from the insurer’s original request, the insurer shall issue a follow-up request within 10 days of the insured’s failure to respond (see 11 NYCRR former 65.15 [e] [2]; New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 295 AD2d 583, 584 [2002]). “A claim need not be paid or denied until all demanded verification is provided” (New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., supra at 570, see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [c], 65-3.8 [a] [1]; New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 295 AD2d 583, 584 [2002]; Westchester County Med. Ctr. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 262 AD2d 553, 554 [1999]). “When a hospital fails to respond to a verification request, the 30-day period in which to pay or deny the claim does not begin to run, and any claim for payment by the hospital is premature” (New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., supra at 570).
Here, it is undisputed that the defendant made timely requests for additional information. The plaintiff Mount Sinai Hospital, as assignee of Sidney Weingarten (hereinafter the plaintiff), claims that it sent the requested material on December 21, 2004, by certified mail, and that the material was received by the defendant the next day. Assuming that sufficient evidence exists that the requested material was mailed (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 40 AD3d 981 [2007]), the 30-day period within which the defendant was required to either pay or deny the claim did not begin to run until December 22, 2004, the date the verification material was allegedly received (see New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., supra at 570), and did not expire until January 21, 2005. Since the plaintiff commenced its lawsuit by the filing of a summons with notice and verified complaint on November 19, 2004, approximately two months before the defendant was required to pay or deny the claim, the plaintiff’s action was brought prematurely and the defendant was entitled to summary judgment dismissing the plaintiff’s first cause of action (see Central Suffolk Hosp. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 24 AD3d 492, 493 [2005]). This Court may award this relief even though the defendant did not appeal from the original order denying that branch of its cross motion which was for summary judgment dismissing the first cause of action (see Merritt Hill Vineyards v Windy Hgts. Vineyard, 61 NY2d 106, 110 [1984]; Wolf v Atai, 139 AD2d 729,731 [1988]).
The defendant’s remaining argument, regarding a protective order, has been rendered academic. Crane, J.P., Goldstein, Dillon and Carni, JJ., concur.
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did unanswered verification requests make the provider’s claim premature, or justify denying it for nonresponse?
This decision: Timely requests went unanswered; the claim is not overdue and the action is premature
Held the action premature because the insurer timely requested verification and, even assuming the material was mailed, it was received after suit was filed, so the 30-day period had not expired when the action began.
Of the 385 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 153 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- New York & Presbyterian Hospital v Allstate Insurance Company (2006 NY Slip Op 04815)An insurer liable for overdue no-fault benefits must pay 2% monthly interest from 30 days after claim presentation until payment.
- New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 01750) FollowedThe insurer proved policy exhaustion on one hospital claim and absence of coverage on another, requiring dismissal of both.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 04483)The hospital's mailing evidence established receipt of requested verification, defeating the insurer's claim that verification remained outstanding.
- Central Suffolk Hosp. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 09484) FollowedAn insurer need not pay or deny a no-fault claim until it receives all relevant verification requested.
Cited by (19)
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Mount Sinai Hosp. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2014 NYSlipOp 06954) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish prematurity because the hospital responded to verification and the requests' propriety remained disputed.
- Diagnostic Chiropractic Specialities, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 52114(U)) FollowedThe provider's action was premature because it commenced less than 30 days after service of the claim at issue.
- Hospital for Joint Diseases v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 08038)The hospital's claim was premature because unrebutted proof showed that it ignored timely verification and follow-up requests.
- Sound Shore Med. Ctr. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 02390)The hospital's UB-04 form was not the functional equivalent of an NF-5 and did not support tolling before receipt of the NF-5.
- Manhattan Med. Imaging, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51844(U))Staged accident and fraudulent incorporation defenses remain available despite an insurer's late denial.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 08747)The insurer's timely denial defeated summary judgment on the provider's first cause of action alleging failure to pay or deny.
- A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28528)A provider cannot correct during litigation claim forms identifying the treating professionals as independent contractors.
- Prime Psychological Servs., P.C. v Nationwide Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29100)An insurer's preclaim EUO requests are not subject to the verification rule requiring notice to the assignor's attorney.
- Victory Med. Diagnostics, P.C. v Nationwide Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 22149)A provider's reasoned objection to a verification request preserves its propriety for determination by the trier of fact.
- Clear Water Psychological Servs., P.C. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 50847(U))The insurer's letters merely reported missing documents and did not establish proper verification requests warranting dismissal.
Show all 19 citing decisions
- Pine Hollow Med., P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2009 NY Slip Op 29264)
- Cambridge Med., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 20272)
- Lenox Hill Radiology v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28275)
- Park Slope Med. & Surgical Supply, Inc. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51063(U))
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Mercury Cas. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28287)
- Lenox Hill Radiology MIA, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28053)
- Yklik Med. Supply, Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28532)
- Jesa Med. Supply, Inc. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 20231)
- Meridian Psychological Servs., PC v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 24177)
Similar decisions
- Mount Sinai Hosp. v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 05680)The insurer raised factual issues about policy exhaustion during a verification toll and payment with overdue interest before suit.
- New York Univ. Hosp.-Tisch Inst. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 03812)The insurer raised a factual issue as to whether verification requests tolled the deadline and its denial was timely.
- Infinity Health Prods., Ltd. v Eveready Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 08585)A provider that ignored two verification requests was estopped from invoking preclusion based on a follow-up sent three days early.
- Mount Sinai Hosp. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 05779)The insurer's denial of a defective UB-04 submission did not excuse its failure to respond to the hospital's later NF-5 claim.
- NYU Hosp. for Joint Diseases v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 04219)The insurer's denial was fatally defective because it omitted required information and named the assignor as the benefits applicant.