May 28, 2014
New York Univ. Hosp.-Tisch Inst. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 03812)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/new-york-univ-hosp-tisch-inst-v-government-empls-ins-co-2014-nyslip-op-03812/
- Decided
- May 28, 2014
- Citation
- 2014 NY Slip Op 03812 · 117 AD3d 1012
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- Claimant's prima facie case on motions (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at New York Univ. Hosp.-Tisch Inst. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 03812)
| New York Univ. Hosp.-Tisch Inst. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. |
| 2014 NY Slip Op 03812 [117 AD3d 1012] |
| May 28, 2014 |
| Appellate Division, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
[*1]
| New York University Hospital-Tisch Institute, as
Assignee of Chetanaben Patel, et al., Respondents, v Government Employees Insurance Company, Appellant. |
Teresa M. Spina, Woodbury, N.Y. (P. Stephanie Estevez and Jeanne M. Ortega of counsel), for appellant.
Joseph Henig, P.C., Bellmore, N.Y., for respondent.
In an action to recover no-fault benefits under two insurance contracts, the defendant appeals, as limited by its brief, from so much of an order of the Supreme Court, Nassau County (Sher, J.), entered September 21, 2011, as, upon reargument, in effect, vacated the determination in a prior order of the same court entered June 21, 2011, denying that branch of the plaintiffs’ motion which was for summary judgment on the first cause of action and thereupon granted that branch of the plaintiffs’ motion.
Ordered that the order entered September 21, 2011, is reversed insofar as appealed from, on the law, with costs, and, upon reargument, the determination in the order entered June 21, 2011, denying that branch of the plaintiffs’ motion which was for summary judgment on the first cause of action is adhered to.
The plaintiffs commenced this action to recover, inter alia, the amounts billed to the defendant for medical services rendered to nonparty Chetanaben Patel, who assigned her no-fault insurance benefits to the plaintiff New York University Hospital-Tisch Institute. Only the first cause of action, related to the Patel claim, is at issue here. The plaintiffs moved for summary judgment on the complaint and, in an order entered June 21, 2011, the Supreme Court denied that branch of the motion which was for summary judgment on the first cause of action. The plaintiffs moved for leave to reargue. The Supreme Court granted the plaintiffs’ motion for leave to reargue, and, upon reargument, granted that branch of their prior motion which was for summary judgment on the first cause of action. The court concluded, upon reargument, that the defendant’s peer review report was “fatally defective” because it failed to satisfy the affirmation requirements of CPLR 2106, and that, in the absence of the peer review report or any other medical evidence, the defendant failed to raise a triable issue of fact in opposition to the plaintiffs’ motion. The defendant appeals.
The plaintiffs established their prima facie entitlement to judgment as a matter of law by submitting proof demonstrating that the prescribed billing forms were mailed to and received by [*2]the defendant insurer, and that the insurer failed to either pay or deny the claim within the requisite 30-day period (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [a] [1]; Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 114 AD3d 33 [2013]; Westchester Med. Ctr. v Hereford Ins. Co., 95 AD3d 1306, 1306-1307 [2012]; NYU-Hosp. for Joint Diseases v American Intl. Group, Inc., 89 AD3d 702, 703 [2011]; Mount Sinai Hosp. v Country Wide Ins. Co., 85 AD3d 1136, 1137 [2011]).
In opposition to the plaintiffs’ prima facie showing, however, the defendant insurer raised a triable issue of fact. A defendant-insurer is required either to pay or deny a claim for no-fault benefits within 30 days of “proof of claim, which shall include verification of all of the relevant information requested” (11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [a] [1]; see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 278 [1997]; Hospital for Joint Diseases v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 44 AD3d 903, 903-904 [2007]; New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 30 AD3d 492, 493 [2006]; Nyack Hosp. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 11 AD3d 664, 665 [2004]). “When a no-fault claim has been assigned to a hospital or medical provider and the hospital or medical provider sends an N-F 5 form to the no-fault insurer, the no-fault insurer’s receipt of an N-F 5 form triggers the running of the 30-day period within which the insurer has a duty to pay or to deny the claim, or to seek verification of it” (Sound Shore Med. Ctr. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 106 AD3d 157, 163 [2013]; see Hospital for Joint Diseases v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co., 9 NY3d 312, 317 [2007]). “Subsequent to the receipt of the N-F 5 form, if the insurer requires any additional information to evaluate the proof of claim, such request for verification must be made within 15 business days of the receipt of the N-F 5 form in order to toll the 30-day period” (Sound Shore Med. Ctr. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 106 AD3d at 163; see 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [b]; Hospital for Joint Diseases v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co., 9 NY3d at 317). A proper request for verification will serve to toll the 30-day statutory time period for payment of the claim (see Hospital for Joint Diseases v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co., 9 NY3d at 317; New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 30 AD3d at 493; Hospital for Joint Diseases v ELRAC, Inc., 11 AD3d 432, 434 [2004]). Here, the evidence submitted by the defendant demonstrated that it received the last of the responses to its requests for additional verification on December 21, 2010, at which time the 30-day period within which it was required to pay or deny the claim began to run. The defendant issued a denial of claim dated January 19, 2011, 29 days later. Thus, in opposition to the plaintiffs’ prima facie showing, the defendant raised a triable issue of fact as to whether it denied the plaintiffs’ claim within the requisite 30-day period, as tolled by its requests for additional verification (see generally Hospital for Joint Diseases v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co., 9 NY3d at 317; Sound Shore Med. Ctr. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 106 AD3d at 163; see also 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [b]). Contrary to the Supreme Court’s determination, the defendant was not required to set forth a medical rationale in its denial of claim form or, in the absence of a written request, to furnish a copy of the peer review report, in admissible form or otherwise (see New York Univ. Hosp. Rusk Inst. v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 39 AD3d 832, 832-833 [2007]; see also A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 39 AD3d 779, 780-781 [2007]; A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v GEICO Cas. Ins. Co., 39 AD3d 778, 779 [2007]; 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [b] [4]).
Accordingly, the Supreme Court, upon reargument, should have adhered to its prior determination denying that branch of the plaintiffs’ prior motion which was for summary judgment on the first cause of action. Skelos, J.P., Balkin, Dickerson and Hinds-Radix, JJ., concur.
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the hospitals made their prima facie case by proof that the billing forms were mailed and received and that the claim was not paid or denied within 30 days; the motion still failed on the insurer's opposition.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 08430)A provider need not prove a claim's merits for summary judgment where the insurer failed to timely and properly deny the claim.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 04156)The provider proved mailing and receipt of its bill and the insurer's failure to pay or deny within 30 days; the insurer failed to raise a triable issue.
- Mount Sinai Hosp. v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 05680)The insurer raised factual issues about policy exhaustion during a verification toll and payment with overdue interest before suit.
- Hospital for Joint Diseases v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 08038)The hospital's claim was premature because unrebutted proof showed that it ignored timely verification and follow-up requests.
- New York & Presbyterian Hospital v Allstate Insurance Company (2006 NY Slip Op 04815)An insurer liable for overdue no-fault benefits must pay 2% monthly interest from 30 days after claim presentation until payment.
- Nyack Hosp. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 07663)A timely but fatally defective denial cannot be cured by supplying omitted information after the 30-day denial period expires.
- Sound Shore Med. Ctr. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 02390) FollowedThe hospital's UB-04 form was not the functional equivalent of an NF-5 and did not support tolling before receipt of the NF-5.
- Hospital for Joint Diseases v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 09067)An insurer that fails to timely seek verification of an assignment cannot later contest its validity when the underlying claim is covered.
- Hospital for Joint Diseases v ELRAC, Inc. (2004 NY Slip Op 07140)An unanswered verification demand tolls the 30-day payment-or-denial period under 11 NYCRR 65.15 (g) (1) (i).
- New York Univ. Hosp. Rusk Inst. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 03671)An insurer need not set forth a medical rationale in a denial form when the denial rests on a medical examination or peer review report.
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 03636)An insurer denying no-fault benefits for lack of medical justification need not include a medical rationale in the prescribed denial form.
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v GEICO Cas. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 03635)An insurer need not include a medical rationale in a denial form based on a medical examination or peer review report.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- JYW Med., P.C. v IDS Prop. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51800(U)) FollowedAn EUO nonappearance denial need not state the dates of the missed EUOs. Two providers sought assigned no-fault benefits, and the insurer cross-moved for dismissal based on their failure to appear for EUOs. For one provider, the insurer established timely scheduling letters and denials and nonappearance; that provider raised no triable issue.
- MSB Physical Therapy, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. (2021 NY Slip Op 50750(U))EUO requests sent before receipt of a claim do not toll the insurer's 30-day period to pay or deny it.
- Pedro Torres-Jimenez, MD PC v Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. (2026 NY Slip Op 50073(U))A timely verification request's toll does not give an insurer further opportunities to make otherwise untimely verification requests.
- Burke 2 Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. PIP/BI Claims (2021 NY Slip Op 50523(U))The provider failed to prove compliance with verification requests or a timely written justification for noncompliance.
Similar decisions
- Wyckoff Hgts. Med. Ctr. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 01166)An insurer's denial need not include a peer review report or other medical evidence when issued under 11 NYCRR 65-3.8.
- New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v QBE Ins. Corp. (2014 NY Slip Op 00639)Outstanding verification warranted dismissal of the first cause of action, but defective verification proof supported payment on the second.
- NYU Hosp. for Joint Diseases v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 04219)The insurer's denial was fatally defective because it omitted required information and named the assignor as the benefits applicant.
- New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 09376)The insurer raised a factual issue by showing a timely denial based on bills submitted more than 45 days after the last medical service.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 02589)The insurer's investigation letters did not toll the 30-day period to pay or deny the provider's claim.