April 29, 2005
Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v Travelers Home & Mar. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50648(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/careplus-med-supply-inc-v-travelers-home-mar-ins-co-2005-nyslipop-50648u/
- Decided
- April 29, 2005
- Citation
- 2005 NY Slip Op 50648(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 8 later decisions (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v Travelers Home & Mar. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50648(U))
| Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v Travelers Home & Mar. Ins. Co. |
| 2005 NYSlipOp 50648(U) |
| Decided on April 29, 2005 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: April 29, 2005 SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK APPELLATE TERM : 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS PRESENT : PESCE, P.J., RIOS and BELEN, JJ.
2004-809 K C
against
Travelers Home and Marine Insurance Company a/k/a TRAVELERS PROPERTY CASUALTY CORPORATION, Respondent.
Appeal by plaintiff from so much of an order of the Civil Court, Kings County (E. Gesmer, J.), entered April 13, 2004, as denied its motion for summary judgment.
Order insofar as appealed from unanimously reversed without costs, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment granted and matter remanded to the court below for the calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees.
In this action to recover first-party no-fault benefits for medical equipment furnished its assignors, plaintiff established a prima facie entitlement to summary judgment by proof that it submitted the functional equivalent of the statutory claim forms (11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [a], [f]), setting forth the fact and amount of the losses sustained, and that payment of no-fault benefits was overdue (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]; Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 128[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51701[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). We note that the affidavit of a plaintiff’s “officer and billing manager” is a proper vehicle in which to assert the facts of a no-fault claimant’s submission of a benefits application (e.g. A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co., [*2]2003 NY Slip Op 51392[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]; see also King’s Med. Supply, Inc. v Hereford Ins. Co., 5 Misc 3d 55, 56 [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists 2004]).
The burden thus shifted to defendant to create a triable issue of fact (Alvarez v Prospect Hosp., 68 NY2d 320, 324 [1986]). Absent a tolling of the statutory time (Hospital for Joint Diseases v ELRAC, Inc., 11 AD3d 432, 434 [2004]; New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 568, 570 [2004]), defendant’s conceded failure timely to pay or deny the claims within the prescribed 30-day claim determination period (Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [c]) precludes its defenses with exceptions not herein relevant (see Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 282 [1997]). Defendant sought to prove such tolling via alleged written requests for initial verification to plaintiff and three alleged follow-up verification requests which sought to examine each assignor under oath. (This court will not consider additional letters offered for the first time below in an attorney’s sur-reply affirmation [e.g. Kelsol Diamond Co. v Stuart Lerner, Inc., 286 AD2d 586, 587 (2001); 622 Bldg. Co. v Empire Blue Cross & Blue Shield, 283 AD2d 202 (2001)]).
The initial verification letter with respect to the Briones claim for $1,175 was untimely and did not toll the statutory claim determination period. Defendant is therefore subject to the preclusion sanction as to that claim and summary judgment should have been granted absent the assertion of a defense that survives preclusion. While the remaining initial verification requests (which do not address all the claims at issue), were nominally timely (11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [a]), as were the follow-up written examination under oath (EUO) requests, there is no documentary proof of mailing nor an admission of receipt, and defendant’s affiant, a claims examiner, asserted no personal knowledge of actual mailing or of facts creating a presumption of mailing (Residential Holding Corp. v Scottsdale Ins. Co., 286 AD2d 679 [2001]). Thus, defendant failed to create triable issues of fact as to the assignors’ alleged failure to comply with the initial and follow-up verification requests (e.g. Hospital for Joint Diseases v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 284 AD2d 374, 375 [2001] [affiant’s failure to assert personal knowledge of mailing and “his conclusory allegations regarding (the insurer’s) office practices did not establish . . . that the defendant followed office practices ‘geared so as to ensure the likelihood’ that (the communications at issue) were always properly addressed and mailed on the date issued”]; Contemp. Med. Diag. & Treatment, P.C. v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 6 Misc 3d 137[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50254[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]; see also New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 8 AD3d 640, 641 [2004]; S & M Supply, Inc. v GEICO Ins., 2003 NY Slip Op 51192[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists] [same]).
Finally, it is noted that while verification EUOs are authorized by an amendment to the Insurance Regulations effective April 5, 2002 (11 NYCRR 65-1.1 [d]), because the Insurance Department “bases the revised regulations’ applicability on the policy endorsement in effect when the claim is filed, to take advantage of the . . . [revision], an insurer must have the revised prescribed endorsement in new or renewed policies issued on or after that date” (Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., ___ Misc 3d ___, 2004 NY Slip Op 24498 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists];
S & M Supply v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 4 Misc 3d 130[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50693[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists]). While plaintiff’s claims were submitted subsequent to April 5, 2002, defendant’s submissions failed to establish that the insurance policy, in effect when the EUOs were sought, contained an endorsement authorizing such verification (see Star Med. Servs. [*3]P.C. v Eagle Ins. Co., 6 Misc 3d 56 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]; S & M Supply v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 4 Misc 3d 130[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50693[U], supra). Accordingly, defendant’s requests for EUOs cannot operate to toll the 30-day period. As the EUO requests were the only form of follow-up verification alleged, defendant failed to toll the prescribed claim determination period, rendering all denials untimely and precluding its defenses on this additional ground as well.
Accordingly, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is granted and the matter remanded to the court below for a calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees pursuant to Insurance Law § 5106 (a) and the regulations promulgated thereunder.
Decision Date: April 29, 2005
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's proof did not establish mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Held the insurer failed to raise an issue on its verification requests because there was no documentary proof of mailing or admission of receipt and its claims examiner claimed no personal knowledge of mailing or office practice.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 257 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Did unanswered verification requests make the provider’s claim premature, or justify denying it for nonresponse?
This decision: Defense rejected because the insurer's requests or proof were deficient
Rejected the tolling defense because one initial request was untimely, the other requests were not shown mailed, and the follow-up EUO requests could not toll absent proof the policy contained the revised endorsement.
Of the 374 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 78 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the supplier made its prima facie case by its officer and billing manager's affidavit showing submission of the functional equivalent of claim forms stating the fact and amount of loss and that payment was overdue.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359) FollowedThe hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
- Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51701(U)) FollowedA provider's completed claim forms establish its prima facie case without additional medical proof when the insurer is precluded.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC Royalton Chiropractic P.C. v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51392(U))An EUO request does not toll the 30-day payment-or-denial period under the no-fault regulation governing services rendered in 2001.
- King’s Med. Supply, Inc. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24343)The insurer's mailing affidavit raised a triable issue whether its denial was timely, defeating the provider's summary judgment motion.
- Hospital for Joint Diseases v ELRAC, Inc. (2004 NY Slip Op 07140) FollowedAn unanswered verification demand tolls the 30-day payment-or-denial period under 11 NYCRR 65.15 (g) (1) (i).
- New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 01750) FollowedThe insurer proved policy exhaustion on one hospital claim and absence of coverage on another, requiring dismissal of both.
- Contemp. Med. Diag. & Treatment, P.C. v Government Employees Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50254(U))The insurer's conclusory office-practice affidavit failed to prove timely mailing of verification requests.
- New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 05626)The insurer failed to establish mailing of assignment-verification requests and could not defeat the hospitals' summary judgment motion.
- S & M Supply Inc. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50693(U)) FollowedThe insurer's EUO defense was precluded by untimely denials, and its accident-fraud evidence was inadmissible.
- Star Med. Servs. P.C. v Eagle Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24482) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish that the policy contained an endorsement authorizing EUOs. The Appellate Term, Second Department, reversed the order denying the provider's summary judgment motion, granted the motion, and remanded for statutory interest and attorney's fees under Insurance Law § 5106 (a).
Cited by (13)
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25343) FollowedAn insurer's untimely denial precludes a defense that the provider billed for medical supplies never furnished after a covered accident.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Prudential Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50504(U)) FollowedThe providers obtained partial summary judgment because denials were untimely or defenses lacked evidentiary support.
- PDG Psychological P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50246(U)) FollowedA provider may rely on denial forms annexed to an insurer's motion to establish the insurer's receipt of the claims.
- Prestige Med. & Surgical Supply, Inc. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51672(U)) FollowedThe insurer's adjuster affidavits failed to establish timely mailing of denials, precluding its defenses.
- A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Ins. (2006 NY Slip Op 51662(U)) FollowedThe insurer proved mailing of one medical necessity denial but failed to prove verification mailing for four other claims.
- Star Med. Servs. P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50129(U)) FollowedThe insurer's EUO and staged-collision defenses lacked sufficient proof to defeat the provider's summary judgment motion.
- Star Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50245(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to support its EUO defense but raised a triable issue of whether other claims arose from an insured incident.
- Star Med. Servs. P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50505(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish an EUO-authorizing endorsement or submit admissible evidence of a staged-accident defense.
- Lenox Hill Radiology, P.C. v Tri-State Consumer Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 20530)The insurer's claims examiner established mailing of verification requests through firsthand knowledge of standard office practices.
- Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51525(U))The former medical-equipment fee schedule caps reimbursement at 150 percent of cost and does not use local prevailing rates.
Similar decisions
- Capio Med., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50526(U))The insurer's EUO requests did not toll the denial period because it failed to prove an authorizing endorsement or timely requests.
- Rigid Med. of Flatbush, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50582(U))The insurer failed to establish an EUO-authorizing policy endorsement or proper EUO notices, leaving its denial untimely.
- Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v General Assur. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50429(U))The insurer failed to prove mailing of preclaim IME notices to the assignors and was precluded from asserting nonattendance on one late-denied claim.
- S & M Supply, Inc. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50557(U))An EUO request does not toll the payment or denial period under the former regulation that did not require an injured person to submit to an EUO. The provider established submission of a complete proof of claim and nonpayment or denial within 30 days under Insurance Law § 5106 (a) and former 11 NYCRR 65.15.
- King’S Med. Supply v Progressive Ins. (2004 NY Slip Op 50311(U))A provider cannot invoke preclusion to avoid a defense raised by its own proof that billed equipment was not prescribed.