• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
December 13, 2007

Todaro v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 09863)

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/todaro-v-geico-gen-ins-co-2007-ny-slip-op-09863/

Court
Appellate Division, Third Department
Decided
December 13, 2007
Citation
2007 NY Slip Op 09863 · 46 AD3d 1086
Posture
Motion to dismiss (CPLR 3211)
Outcome
Provider prevailed
Later treatment
Contrasted (cf., but see) in 1 and followed in 6 later decisions (see Cited by)
Issues
Priority, other coverage Assignments and standing Timeliness and preclusion
Cite as
Todaro v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co., 46 AD3d 1086 (3d Dept 2007)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

An insured incurs medical expenses upon treatment, and payment by other sources does not extinguish the no-fault insurer's obligation. Applying Insurance Law § 5102 (a), the Appellate Division, Third Department, upheld denial of the insurer's dismissal motion in the injured claimant's benefits action. The standing objection based on an assignment was untimely under CPLR 3211 (e). Having denied benefits for IME nonappearance, the insurer could not newly assert late claim submission; its submissions also failed to establish noncoverage. The court modified the order by reversing the provisions vacating the damages inquest and directing discovery, and remitted for a damages determination. Neither party sought more discovery, and all proof necessary to determine damages was before the court.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Todaro v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 09863)

Todaro v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co.
2007 NY Slip Op 09863 [46 AD3d 1086]
December 13, 2007
Appellate Division, Third Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, February 13, 2008
Teresa R. Todaro, Appellant-Respondent, v GEICO General Insurance Company, Respondent-Appellant.

—[*1] Basch & Keegan, L.L.P., Kingston (Derek J. Spada of counsel), for appellant-respondent.

Law Office of Teresa M. Spina, Woodbury (Emilio A. Cacace of counsel), for respondent-appellant.

Cardona, P.J. Cross appeals from an order of the Supreme Court (Bradley, J.), entered October 6, 2006 in Ulster County, which, among other things, vacated an inquest and denied defendant’s motion to dismiss the complaint.

Plaintiff was injured while driving a vehicle insured by defendant. After initially paying plaintiff no-fault insurance benefits, defendant terminated any additional payments citing plaintiff’s failure to appear for independent medical examinations. Plaintiff then commenced this action to recover benefits allegedly owed to her.

Supreme Court granted plaintiff’s subsequent motion for summary judgment and directed plaintiff to submit a proposed judgment. Defendant did not object to the judgment, which was then adopted by Supreme Court. Thereafter, defendant successfully moved to vacate the judgment based upon plaintiff’s improper service and filing thereof, and Supreme Court granted its request for an inquest on the issue of damages.

At the inquest, defendant moved to dismiss the complaint. Supreme Court denied that motion, without prejudice, but vacated the inquest, determining that it was premature as the [*2]issues raised in the motion required further discovery. These cross appeals ensued, with defendant contending that its motion to dismiss should have been granted, and plaintiff arguing that Supreme Court should not have vacated the inquest.

Defendant argues four grounds in support of its motion to dismiss the complaint. First, it contends that plaintiff’s purported assignment of her right to receive benefits deprived her of standing to commence this action. As an objection to standing must be made by a preanswer motion to dismiss or asserted as a defense in the answer (see CPLR 3211 [e]; Matter of Prudco Realty Corp. v Palermo, 60 NY2d 656, 657 [1983]), defendant’s motion on this basis is untimely. Next, defendant contends that plaintiff did not timely submit certain claims for no-fault benefits. However, an insurer must ” ‘stand or fall upon the defense upon which it based its refusal to pay’ ” and cannot later create new defenses by requiring an insured’s compliance with the policy provisions (King v State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co., 218 AD2d 863, 865 [1995], quoting Beckley v Otsego County Farmers Coop. Fire Ins. Co., 3 AD2d 190, 194 [1957]; see Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195, 198-200 [1997]). Having initially denied plaintiff’s claims based on her failure to attend independent medical examinations, defendant cannot now base a motion to dismiss on this new ground.

As the third ground for dismissal, defendant claims that because plaintiff has not suffered out-of-pocket damages for which it would be obligated to pay, plaintiff has not stated a cause of action. However, no-fault benefits are intended to reimburse persons for, among other things, medical expenses “incurred” as a result of a motor vehicle accident (Insurance Law § 5102 [a]). Plaintiff incurred such expenses at the time that she received treatment for her injuries (see e.g. Rubin v Empire Mut. Ins. Co., 25 NY2d 426 [1969]; see also 11 Couch on Insurance 3d § 158:12) and the fact that the bills may have already been paid by other sources, including her private health insurer, does not extinguish defendant’s obligation. Finally, while defendant correctly contends that it is not precluded from challenging plaintiff’s bills on the basis of noncoverage (see e.g. Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d at 199-202; Mount Sinai Hosp. v Triboro Coach, 263 AD2d 11, 18-19 [1999]; King v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 218 AD2d at 865), we find that defendant’s motion submissions were not sufficient to establish its entitlement to dismissal on this basis.

In light of the foregoing, we conclude that Supreme Court properly denied defendant’s motion to dismiss. However, we discern no basis to vacate the inquest and order more discovery on the above issues. Neither party requested additional discovery before Supreme Court or argues for it on appeal and, absent any clear need for further discovery, we conclude that “all proof necessary to determine the appropriate damage award was before the court” (Domino Media v Kranis, 215 AD2d 278 [1995]). Accordingly, the matter is remitted to Supreme Court to make a determination of damages (see id.).

Mugglin, Rose, Lahtinen and Kane, JJ., concur. Ordered that the order is modified, on the law, without costs, by reversing so much thereof as vacated the inquest and ordered additional discovery; matter remitted to the Supreme Court for further proceedings not inconsistent with this Court’s decision; and, as so modified, affirmed.

Cited by

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • Allstate Ins. Co. v Kapeleris (2025 NY Slip Op 00839) Contrasted (cf., but see)The injured claimant's no-fault recovery was limited to the amount paid to settle medical bills, rather than the original billed amount.
  • Lopes v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51279(U)) FollowedA payment authorization showing no intent to transfer no-fault rights does not deprive an injured claimant of standing.
  • P.L.P. Acupuncture, P.C. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50484(U)) FollowedThe insurers' admission of receipt defeated their challenge to the provider's proof that its no-fault claims were mailed and received.
  • Marc Habif, D.C./Complete Care Chiropractic v Kemper Auto & Home Ins. (2010 NY Slip Op 20219) FollowedThe provider's judgment was reversed because the agreed facts omitted whether treatment expenses were incurred within one year of the accident.
  • American Tr. Ins. Co. v Ortho City Servs. Inc. (2023 NY Slip Op 50527(U)) FollowedAn insurer cannot obtain vacatur of a no-fault award on medical necessity grounds omitted from its denials.
  • Kruger v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 09456) FollowedThe insurer waived its assignment-based standing defense by failing to raise it in a pre-answer motion or its answer.
  • American Tr. Ins. Co. v Nexray Med. Imaging PC (2023 NY Slip Op50538(U)) FollowedA Workers' Compensation Board rejection does not restart the insurer's 30-day period to deny a claim for lack of medical necessity.
  • Westchester Med. Ctr. v One Beacon Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 52580(U))The insurer's intoxication evidence raised factual questions but did not establish that intoxication caused the accident.
  • Dennis v Allstate Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50654(U))The injured claimant's motion to vacate the dismissal, restore the action, and extend the time to file a note of issue was denied.

Similar decisions

  • NL Quality Med., P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51340(U))The insurer proved EUO nonappearance and a policy deductible on four causes of action, but its fee-schedule proof failed on the second.
  • Advanced Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51023(U))The insurer supported a founded belief that the injuries did not arise from an insured incident despite failing to prove timely denials.
  • LMK Psychological Serv., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 06004)The Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction to determine factual issues concerning workers' compensation coverage.
  • Audobon Physical Med & Rehab, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50456(U))The provider won summary judgment on its first cause of action because the insurer failed to prove mailing of IME requests or nonappearance.
  • AT Med. P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50739(U))An untimely denial does not preclude a defense that the collision furthered an insurance fraud scheme.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.