Appellate Division, Third Department

34 no-fault decisions in our database, 2003–2024, each with a short summary. Most recent: December 12, 2024.

Decisions per year
  1. 1
  2. 3
  3. 3
  4. 7
  5. 2
  6. 2
  7. 2
  8. 3
  9. 2
  10. 1
  11. 1
  12. 2
  13. 1
  14. 1
  15. 1
  16. 1
  17. 1

Latest decisions

Appellate Division, Third Department Dec 12, 2024 2024 NY Slip Op 06268 Insurer prevailed

Quick v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co.

Workers' compensation remains primary to no-fault benefits even when the employer lacks workers' compensation insurance. The Appellate Division, Third Department, affirmed summary judgment dismissing the injured claimant's complaint and denial of the claimant's cross motion. The claimant had not sought workers' compensation before pursuing no-fault benefits for basic economic loss. Under Insurance Law § 5102 (b) (2) and 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (9), workers' compensation benefits recovered or recoverable reduce no-fault payments. Lack of employer coverage changes the potential payment source, with the Uninsured Employers' Fund acting as surety under Workers' Compensation Law § 26-a, rather than permitting an election contrary to Workers' Compensation Law § 11. Eligibility must first be determined by the Workers' Compensation Board.

Appellate Division, Third Department Jun 15, 2023 2023 NY Slip Op 03274 Split result

Sackett v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co.

The injured claimant's summary judgment motion was premature because it was made before issue was joined. After settling with two liability insurers, the claimant sought a declaration requiring further additional personal injury protection benefits and barring a lien on benefits already paid. The trial court treated an order to show cause filed two days after commencement as a summary judgment motion, denied relief on the merits, and dismissed the complaint. The insurer's answer before the return date did not cure prematurity. The Appellate Division, Third Department, modified the order to reinstate the complaint and otherwise affirmed, remitting for further proceedings and leaving subrogation, allocation of the settlement to pain and suffering, and whether the claimant had been made whole unresolved.

Appellate Division, Third Department May 14, 2020 2020 NY Slip Op 02845 Provider prevailed

Preferred Mut. Ins. Co. v DiLorenzo

The claimant's one-week answer delay was excused because the default was not willful, no prejudice appeared, and a meritorious defense was offered. The insurer sought declaratory relief and investigation costs after denying benefits. Service under CPLR 308 (2) was valid, and default notice complied with CPLR 3215 (g). Renewal was improperly subjected to the 30-day reargument limit in CPLR 2221 (d) (3). Newly obtained medical records justified renewal under CPLR 2221 (e); nonconsensual e-filing did not warrant rejecting hard-copy opposition under 22 NYCRR 202.5-b (b) (2) (i). The Appellate Division, Third Department, reversed, denied the insurer's default motion, granted renewal/vacatur, stayed the preliminary injunction, and remitted for consideration of the claimant's opposition.

Appellate Division, Third Department May 30, 2019 2019 NY Slip Op 04242 Insurer prevailed

Ross v GEICO Indem. Co.

The insurer properly denied continuing lost wage benefits because the claimant was terminated for reasons unrelated to the injuries. Insurance Law § 5102 (a) (2) covers earnings from work the claimant would have performed absent injury; 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (b) (6) continues benefits when discharge occurs solely because injury prevents work. Employer documentation showed termination for failure to comply with leave requirements, including failure to extend leave or provide status updates. The insurer could rely on that documentation, and no record evidence showed deliberate circumvention of its benefit obligation. Deferring to the nonjury trial findings, the Appellate Division, Third Department, affirmed the order and judgment dismissing the complaint. Any wrongful termination claim against the employer or leave administrator remained separate.

Appellate Division, Third Department Feb 1, 2018 2018 NY Slip Op 00584 Provider prevailed

Freligh v Government Empls. Ins. Co.

An insurer must accept proof of claim on a nonprescribed form containing substantially the same information as the prescribed form. The Appellate Division, Third Department, affirmed denial of the insurer's summary judgment motion on the remaining verification issue after remittal from the Court of Appeals. The injured claimant sought wages from an offered job not yet started. Although the insurer lacked a completed NF-6 employer's report, counsel had supplied the employment application and signed offer detailing the work. The insurer also contacted the intended employer for an interview that could have supplied remaining information. Under 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (f), 65-3.8 (a) (1), and 65-3.8 (b) (3), triable questions remained whether the wage claim was properly verified.

Appellate Division, Third Department Dec 14, 2017 2017 NY Slip Op 08774 Split result

Brown v Government Empls. Ins. Co.

An insurer's alleged consumer-oriented practice of pressuring IME physicians to justify denials stated a General Business Law § 349 claim. The Appellate Division, Third Department, modified the order to reinstate that claim at the pleading stage, finding alleged consumer-oriented deception and resulting injury. Emotional distress and punitive damages remained dismissed: no duty separate from the contract or independent tort was alleged. Bi-Economy and Panasia did not abrogate existing limits on contract damages; emotional distress foreseeability was not reached. Challenges to dismissal of the General Business Law § 350 and intentional infliction of emotional distress claims were abandoned. Other consequential damages survived, and a partial concurrence and dissent would have allowed contractual emotional distress damages.

Most-cited decisions

By the number of decisions in our database that cite them.

  1. LMK Psychological Servs., P.C. v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2006) · cited by 12

    The providers proved claim mailing, and the insurer waived assignment objections by failing to seek verification within 10 days.

  2. LMK Psychological Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2007) · cited by 9

    Attorney fees for no-fault claims are calculated per claim rather than per assignor under Insurance Law § 5106 (a).

  3. Todaro v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2007) · cited by 9

    An insured incurs medical expenses upon treatment, and payment by other sources does not extinguish the no-fault insurer's obligation.

  4. Valley Psychological, P.C. v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2006) · cited by 5

    An insurer's untimely denial precludes a fraud defense based on a psychologist's alleged failure to supervise treatment.

  5. Matter of Progressive Northeastern Ins. Co. (New York State Ins. Fund) (2008) · cited by 3

    Loss-transfer recovery based on use for hire requires proof that a vehicle was principally used for that purpose.

  6. Matter of Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (Mackey) (2006) · cited by 2

    The SUM insurer failed to show prejudice from a late proof-of-claim form after prompt accident notice and a no-fault claim.

  7. Progressive N. Ins. Co. v Rafferty (2005) · cited by 2

    An intentional-act exclusion applies regardless of subjective intent when injury is inherent in the wrongful act.

  8. Sharpe v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005) · cited by 2

    The claimant's projected State Police earnings were too speculative to support a no-fault lost-wage claim.

  9. Wolf v Holyoke Mut. Ins. Co. (2004) · cited by 2

    The claimant proved continuing disability after the IME cutoff, but wage benefits required recalculation using the substitute-services figure.

  10. Trentini v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2003) · cited by 2

    The disabled automobile remained in use or operation while its driver sought assistance to retrieve it.

Later reversed, vacated, modified or overruled 1

Labels assigned by a language model reading the later decision and checked by a second reader.

Issues decided most often

Priority, other coverage 7 Timeliness and preclusion 7 Discovery and procedure 5 Policy issues 4 CPLR article 75 (arbitration awards) 4 SUM / uninsured motorist 4 Defaults and vacatur 3 Interest and attorney fees 3 Assignments and standing 3 Medical necessity 2 Jurisdiction and service 1 Verification requests 1

Our classification of each decision, from its summary.

Legal questions

Questions on which decisions of this court rule, with the authority map of each.

All decisions by year

2024 1 decision
2023 1 decision
2020 1 decision
2019 1 decision
2018 1 decision
2017 2 decisions
2016 1 decision
2015 1 decision
2013 2 decisions
2010 3 decisions
2009 2 decisions
2008 2 decisions
2007 2 decisions
2006 7 decisions
2005 3 decisions
2004 3 decisions
2003 1 decision

Headnotes, outcome labels and monthly summaries are our own summaries, not the courts’ words; the decision itself is the authority. Months follow the date a decision was handed down; new decisions are added monthly, so a recent month can still grow.