• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
July 8, 2004

Matter of Taylor v Continental Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 05832)

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/matter-of-taylor-v-continental-ins-co-2004-ny-slip-op-05832/

Court
Appellate Division, Third Department
Decided
July 8, 2004
Citation
2004 NY Slip Op 05832 · 9 AD3d 657
Posture
Other motion
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Issues
Priority, other coverage
Cite as
Matter of Taylor v Continental Ins. Co., 9 AD3d 657 (3d Dept 2004)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The injured claimant's unexcused nine-year delay barred retroactive judicial approval of a third-party settlement. The Appellate Division, Third Department, reversed and denied the application under Workers' Compensation Law § 29 (5). The claimant settled a work-related automobile action without the workers' compensation carrier's written consent and did not seek judicial approval within three months. Late approval required a delay free from the claimant's fault or neglect, a reasonable settlement, and no carrier prejudice. Despite notice of the consent requirement, benefit suspension, and refusal of retroactive consent, the claimant waited nine years. Even assuming reasonableness and no significant prejudice, the court found the asserted excuse unpersuasive.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Matter of Taylor v Continental Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 05832)

Matter of Taylor v Continental Ins. Co.
2004 NY Slip Op 05832 [9 AD3d 657]
July 8, 2004
Appellate Division, Third Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, September 22, 2004
In the Matter of Georgia Taylor, Respondent, v Continental Insurance Company, Also Known as CNA Insurance Company, Appellant.

—[*1]

Mugglin, J. Appeal from an order of the Supreme Court (Kavanagh, J.), entered April 21, 2003 in Ulster County, which granted petitioner’s application pursuant to Workers’ Compensation Law § 29 (5) for judicial approval, nunc pro tunc, of a personal injury settlement.

After sustaining injuries in a May 1990 work-related automobile accident, petitioner applied for and was awarded workers’ compensation benefits. In November 1992, respondent, who had commenced payment of workers’ compensation benefits shortly after petitioner’s accident, notified petitioner that it was reserving its claim to a continuing lien on any recovery for injuries or damages arising out of the May 1990 accident not constituting payments in lieu of first party no-fault benefits (see Workers’ Compensation Law § 29 [1-a]; Insurance Law § 5104 [a]). Respondent further informed petitioner of its obligation to obtain respondent’s written consent for any settlement or compromise of a lawsuit brought in connection with the automobile accident (see Workers’ Compensation Law § 29 [5]). Petitioner had, in fact, commenced a third-party action and ultimately settled the matter for $60,000 pursuant to the terms of a July 1993 agreement. It is undisputed that no attempt was made by petitioner to obtain respondent’s consent prior to executing that agreement. Citing petitioner’s failure in that regard, respondent suspended the payment of benefits in January 1994 and, thereafter, refused petitioner’s July 1994 [*2]request for retroactive consent of the settlement agreement. After affording petitioner the opportunity to provide evidence that consent was obtained, the Workers’ Compensation Board approved the termination of further benefit awards and closed the case in May 1995. In November 2002, some nine years after the execution of the July 1993 settlement agreement, petitioner sought judicial approval of the settlement nunc pro tunc. Supreme Court granted petitioner’s application, prompting this appeal by respondent.

Workers Compensation Law § 29 (5) is clear “[that] an employee must obtain the written approval of the employer or its workers’ compensation carrier prior to any settlement of a third-party action” (Matter of Bernthon v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 279 AD2d 728, 728 [2001]; see Matter of Johnson v Buffalo & Erie County Private Indus. Council, 84 NY2d 13, 19 [1994]). However, an employee also has the option of seeking judicial approval of the settlement from the court in which the third-party action is pending within three months after the case has been settled (see Matter of Stiffen v CNA Ins. Cos., 282 AD2d 991, 992 [2001], lv denied 97 NY2d 612 [2002]). Where, as here, a petitioner has failed to do either, such petitioner is barred from receiving future workers’ compensation benefits unless he or she can demonstrate that (1) the delay in submitting the application was not the result of the petitioner’s fault or neglect, (2) the settlement is reasonable and (3) the carrier was not prejudiced by the delay (see id. at 992; Matter of Wilbur v Utica Mut. Co., 228 AD2d 928, 929 [1996]). A reviewing court should also consider the length of the delay as an additional relevant factor (see Matter of Rifenburgh v James, 297 AD2d 901, 902 [2002]; Dennison v Pinke, 211 AD2d 853, 854 [1995]).

Here, the nine-year delay between the execution of the settlement agreement and petitioner’s application for judicial approval thereof was inordinate. There is no dispute that, as early as November 1992, petitioner was fully aware of respondent’s intention to assert its right to impose a workers’ compensation lien and require written consent of any third-party settlement agreement. Respondent’s intention to avail itself of this statutory remedy was further emphasized by the 1994-1995 proceedings before the Workers’ Compensation Board and in respondent’s January 1995 correspondence denying petitioner’s request for retroactive consent. Unfortunately, even in light of these circumstances, petitioner did not seek judicial approval of the settlement agreement until 2002.

Even assuming that the settlement was reasonable and respondent’s claim of prejudice not significant, in light of the above uncontroverted facts, we find unpersuasive petitioner’s attempts to characterize the delay as excusable. Under the circumstances, we must conclude that Supreme Court’s grant of petitioner’s application constituted an improvident exercise of discretion and reversal is required (see Scannell v Karlin, 252 AD2d 552 [1998], lv denied 93 NY2d 805 [1999]).

Cardona, P.J., Crew III, Peters and Rose, JJ., concur. Ordered that the order is reversed, on the law, without costs, and application denied.

Similar decisions

  • Matter of Snyder v CNA Ins. Cos. (2006 NYSlipOp 00431)The claimant obtained belated settlement approval based on serious-injury proof difficulties and no prejudice to the compensation carrier.
  • Matter of Buck v Graphic Arts Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 05484)The motor-vehicle-servicing exclusion did not bar no-fault benefits for a technician struck by a vehicle the technician was not servicing.
  • GLM Med., P.C. v Geico Gen. Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 25405)An eCourts notation that a case was settled does not satisfy CPLR 2104's open-court requirement.
  • Biotech Surgical Supply, Inc. v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2024 NY Slip Op 50118(U))Statutory no-fault interest was improperly tolled because the insurer did not show that the provider prevented settlement payment.
  • Metro Med. Diagnostics, P.C. v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2024 NY Slip Op 50119(U))Statutory no-fault interest was improperly tolled through judgment because the insurer did not show that the provider prevented payment.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.