June 25, 2007
East Acupuncture, P.C. v Electric Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51281(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/east-acupuncture-p-c-v-electric-ins-co-2007-ny-slip-op-51281u/
- Decided
- June 25, 2007
- Citation
- 2007 NY Slip Op 51281(U) · 16 Misc 3d 128(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
- Later treatment
- Followed in 18 later decisions (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at East Acupuncture, P.C. v Electric Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51281(U))
| East Acupuncture, P.C. v Electric Ins. Co. |
| 2007 NY Slip Op 51281(U) [16 Misc 3d 128(A)] |
| Decided on June 25, 2007 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., GOLIA and RIOS, JJ
2005-1956 K C. NO. 2005-1956 K C
against
Electric Insurance Co., Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Alice Fisher Rubin, J.), dated August 10, 2005. The order denied defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment and granted plaintiff’s motions for summary judgment.
Order modified by providing that plaintiff’s motions for summary judgment are denied; as so modified, affirmed without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved for summary judgment, in one motion, to recover upon its claims for treatment allegedly provided assignor Yekaterina Panina, and in a second motion, for summary judgment upon its claims for treatment provided assignors Iraida Fundator,
Nikita Vesensky, Arshavir Amatunyan, and Ruslan Babskiy. Defendant cross-moved for summary judgment. The court granted plaintiff’s motions and denied defendant’s cross motion. Defendant appeals.
Plaintiff’s proof of mailing of the claim forms concerning the services allegedly provided Panina, which defendant denied receiving, was insufficient (see New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 29 AD3d 547 [2006]). As a result, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment upon those claims should have been denied. [*2]
As to the remaining claims, set forth in plaintiff’s second motion, defendant’s NF-10 claim denial forms and the affidavit of its claims examiner conceded receipt of the claims of assignors Fundator, Vesensky, Amatunyan and Babskiy, in the amounts, respectively, of $6,504.86, $964.50, $2,025.42, and $2,379.06, thereby curing the deficiencies in plaintiff’s proof of mailing with respect thereto (see Prestige Med. & Surgical Supply, Inc. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co., 13 Misc 3d 127[A], 2006 NY Slip Op 51672[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]; see also Oleg Barshay, DC., P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co., 14 Misc 3d 74 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]). As there was no proof of the mailing of the remaining claims for which plaintiff sought summary judgment, and defendant did not admit the claims’ receipt, summary judgment in favor of plaintiff as to those sums should also have been denied.
With respect to the claims for which defendant conceded receipt, its denials were untimely since its requests for examinations under oath did not toll the 30-day claim determination period inasmuch as the insurance regulations applicable at the time lacked a provision entitling an insurer to an examination under oath (see Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 7 Misc 3d 133[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50611[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]; Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 4 Misc 3d 92 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]), thereby precluding most defenses, including “fraudulent claims” (Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 285 [1997]). However, defendant is not precluded from asserting the defense that the alleged injuries do not arise out of a covered accident (see Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195, 199 [1997]). Defendant’s documentation included transcripts of the examinations under oath of several persons involved in the incident, which contain numerous statements that are implausible on their face with respect to matters material to the determination of whether the incident was staged to defraud defendant. Defendant also established that plaintiff’s billing agency and a medical provider sharing plaintiff’s professional address have entered guilty pleas to grand larceny and scheme to defraud in the first degree, which charges were based on the submission of false no-fault benefits claims. As a condition of the pleas, the billing agency and provider were required, respectively, to withdraw pending claims and to refrain from filing further claims for treatment alleged to have been provided in the period in which the instant treatment, and the claims based thereon, occurred. We note that some of plaintiff’s assignors had contact with the aforementioned provider for injuries alleged to have been caused by the incident underlying all of plaintiff’s claims. On the facts herein, we find that defendant established that its denials were based upon a “founded belief that the alleged injur[ies] d[id] not arise out of an insured incident” (Central Gen. Hosp., 90 NY2d at 199) to the extent of warranting a trial as to coverage (see id.; Zuckerman v City of New York, 49 NY2d 557 [1980]; A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 12 Misc 3d 129[A], 2006 NY Slip Op 51033[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]).
Pesce, P.J., and Rios, J., concur.
Golia, J., concurs in a separate memorandum.
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
[*3]
APPELLATE TERM : 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT : PESCE, P.J., GOLIA and RIOS, JJ.
EAST ACUPUNCTURE, P.C.
a/a/o IRAIDA FUNDATOR, NIKITA VESENSKY,
YEKATERINA PANINA, ARSHAVIR AMATUNYAN
and RUSLAN BABSKIY,
Respondent,
-against-
ELECTRIC INSURANCE CO.,
Appellant.
Golia, J.P., concurs in the following memorandum:
While I agree with the ultimate disposition in the decision reached by the majority, I wish to emphasize that I am constrained to agree with certain propositions of law set forth in cases cited therein which are inconsistent with my prior expressed positions and generally contrary to my views.
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Insufficient: claimant did not prove the claim was submitted (mailed to and received by the insurer)
Held the provider's proof of mailing insufficient for one assignor's claims and for unacknowledged claims, while the insurer's denial forms conceding receipt cured the deficiency for four assignors' claims.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 78 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: Different mailing results for different documents or claims in one decision
Held the provider's proof of mailing insufficient for one assignor's claims and unadmitted sums, but found the insurer's denial forms and claims examiner's affidavit conceding receipt cured the defect for four assignors' claims.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 55 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Did the insurer show the claimed injuries did not arise from a covered accident (staged, intentional, or unrelated)?
This decision: Founded belief shown; the question must be tried (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer's EUO transcripts with implausible statements and evidence of guilty pleas by the provider's billing agency and an associated provider showed a founded belief the incident was staged, warranting a trial on coverage.
Of the 233 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 102 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 03558) FollowedThe providers failed to establish mailing and receipt of the hospital bill asserted in their second cause of action.
- Prestige Med. & Surgical Supply, Inc. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51672(U)) FollowedThe insurer's adjuster affidavits failed to establish timely mailing of denials, precluding its defenses.
- Oleg Barshay, D.C., P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26496)A provider's deficient proof of claim submission may be cured by an insurer's denial form submitted in opposition to summary judgment.
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50611(U)) FollowedThe insurer raised a factual issue as to whether the collision furthered an insurance fraud scheme despite its late denial.
- Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24221) FollowedEUO requests do not toll the claim determination period when the governing no-fault regulations do not authorize EUO verification.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51033(U))The insurer's EUO evidence did not establish a founded belief that the claimed injuries arose from a noncovered event.
Cited by (27)
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- EMC Health Prods., Inc. v Geico Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50786(U)) FollowedThe insurer's denials admitted receipt of the bills, and the provider did not need a CPLR 4518 foundation for them.
- Bob Acupuncture, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51434(U)) FollowedThe provider established submission of its claim forms through the insurer's denials admitting receipt.
- Crossbridge Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51761(U)) FollowedThe insurer proved two claims medically unnecessary but failed to establish the assignor's EUO nonappearance on the remaining claim.
- Innovative Chiropractic, P.C. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50148(U)) FollowedThe insurer established a policy deductible but failed to support its duplicative-billing defense to a separate bill.
- South Nassau Orthopedic Surgery and Sports Medicine, P.C. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51300(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish timely denial mailing because its affidavit did not prove mailing practices during the relevant period.
- LOF Med. Supply, Inc. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50595(U)) FollowedThe provider established its claims through admissible billing records and an order precluding evidence of the medical-necessity defense.
- Vincent Med. Servs., P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52153(U)) FollowedThe insurer established lack of medical necessity for six claims but failed to substantiate fee-schedule reductions or timely denial of another claim.
- Eagle Surgical Supply, Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50343(U)) FollowedA provider may use an insurer's denial as an admission that the insurer received the claim referenced in it.
- Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v New York Central Mutual Insurance Company (2009 NY Slip Op 50224(U)) FollowedThe insurer's untimely EUO request failed to toll its time to pay or deny, precluding its defense based on the provider owner's nonappearance.
- D.S. Chiropractic, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51584(U)) FollowedThe insurer's verification follow-ups mailed on the 30th calendar day were premature and did not toll its time to pay or deny.
Show all 27 citing decisions
- First Aid Occupational Therapy, PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50149(U)) Followed
- First Aid Occupational Therapy, PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50594(U)) Followed
- New York Diagnostic Med. Care, P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 23360) Followed
- AR Med. Rehabilitation, P.C. v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50631(U)) Followed
- Metropolitan Med. Supplies, LLC v Eveready Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50586(U)) Followed
- Crossbay Acupuncture, P.C. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51496(U)) Followed
- D.S. Chiropractic, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51579(U)) Followed
- Staten Is. Advanced Surgical Supply v GEICO Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 52633(U)) Followed
- Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50294(U))
- St. Vincent Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29508)
- Crossbridge Diagnostic Radiology v Encompass Ins. (2009 NY Slip Op 51415(U))
- Optimal Well-Being Chiropractic, P.C. v Chubb Indem. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 51807(U))
- Avenue N Med., P.C. v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 52174(U))
- Daras v GEICO Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50438(U))
- St. Vincent Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50444(U))
- Right Aid Diagnostic Medicine, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50445(U))
- Sabodash v Hereford Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 51099(U))
Similar decisions
- East Coast Acupuncture, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Ins. (2008 NY Slip Op 50344(U))A billing provider cannot recover direct payment of assigned no-fault benefits for services rendered by an independent contractor.
- First Help Acupuncture, P.C. v Progressive Northeastern Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51167(U))The insurer raised causation and assignment issues on some claims but failed to support its IME nonappearance defense.
- VA Acutherapy Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51217(U))The insurer raised factual issues concerning a staged collision and the provider's eligibility based on alleged fraudulent incorporation.
- NYC East-West Acupuncture, P.c. v Maryland Cas. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51762(U))The insurer's unrebutted IME evidence established lack of medical necessity, while the provider failed to authenticate its claim records.
- Essential Acupuncture Servs., P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51623(U))The insurer established lack of medical necessity for three claims, but failed to conclusively prove its defenses to three others.