April 3, 2009
Metropolitan Med. Supplies, LLC v Eveready Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50586(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/metropolitan-med-supplies-llc-v-eveready-ins-co-2009-ny-slip-op50586u/
- Decided
- April 3, 2009
- Citation
- 2009 NY Slip Op 50586(U) · 23 Misc 3d 128(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Legal questions
- Proof of mailing · Lack of medical necessity · Claimant's prima facie case on motions (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Metropolitan Med. Supplies, LLC v Eveready Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50586(U))
| Metropolitan Med. Supplies, LLC v Eveready Ins. Co. |
| 2009 NY Slip Op 50586(U) [23 Misc 3d 128(A)] |
| Decided on April 3, 2009 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., RIOS and STEINHARDT, JJ
2008-827 Q C.
against
Eveready Ins. Co., Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Diane A. Lebedeff, J.), entered February 26, 2008, deemed from a judgment of the same court entered April 11, 2008 (see CPLR 5501 [c]). The judgment, entered pursuant to the February 26, 2008 order granting plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, awarded plaintiff the principal sum of $223.50.
Judgment reversed without costs, order granting plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment vacated and plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment denied.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved for summary judgment. In opposition, defendant argued that there was an issue of fact as to the medical necessity of the supplies. The Civil Court granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, finding that defendant had failed to demonstrate the timely mailing of its requests for verification and its denial of the claim. The instant appeal by defendant ensued. A judgment was subsequently entered (see CPLR 5501 [c]).
Plaintiff established its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment by proof that it submitted the claim form, setting forth the fact and the amount of the loss sustained, and that payment of no-fault benefits was overdue (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]). We note that the affidavit submitted by plaintiff’s billing manager demonstrated that the annexed claim form constituted evidence in admissible form (see CPLR 4518; Dan Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 14 Misc 3d 44 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]). Any deficiency in plaintiff’s moving papers regarding proof of mailing of the claim form was cured by defendant’s claim denial form and the affidavit of defendant’s no-fault supervisor in which receipt of the claim in question was conceded (see [*2]Crossbridge Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Progressive Ins. Co., 20 Misc 3d 143[A], 2008 NY Slip Op 51761[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2008]; East Acupuncture, P.C. v Electric Ins. Co., 16 Misc 3d 128[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 51281[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]). In addition, contrary to defendant’s contention, a “provider is not required to prove its costs to establish its prima facie case for the recovery of no-fault benefits” (Infinity Health Prods. Ltd. v Eveready Ins. Co., 21 Misc 3d 1 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2008]). Consequently, the burden shifted to defendant to raise a triable issue of fact (see Alvarez v Prospect Hosp., 68 NY2d 320, 324 [1986]).
Defendant, through the submission of the affidavit of its no-fault supervisor and the affirmed peer review, established that plaintiff’s claim was properly and timely denied based upon a lack of medical necessity (see A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 39 AD3d 779 [2007]; Residential Holding Corp. v Scottsdale Ins. Co., 286 AD2d 679 [2001]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P. C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]). Accordingly, the judgment is reversed, the order granting plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is vacated and plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is denied.
We reach no other issue.
Pesce, P.J., Rios and Steinhardt, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: April 03, 2009
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Reversing the lower court's finding that mailing was not shown, held the no-fault supervisor's affidavit established the claim was properly and timely denied.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Insurer's proof was enough to defeat the provider's motion but not to win
Held the insurer's affirmed peer review showed the claim was properly denied for lack of medical necessity, so the provider's summary judgment motion was denied.
Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 67 (this one included) are in the same category.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the provider made its prima facie case: CPLR 4518 foundation shown, the insurer's conceded receipt cured any mailing gap, and proof of the provider's costs was not required.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359) FollowedThe hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
- Dan Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26483) FollowedThe provider failed to establish its prima facie case because its corporate officer did not lay a business-records foundation for the claim documents.
- Crossbridge Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51761(U)) FollowedThe insurer proved two claims medically unnecessary but failed to establish the assignor's EUO nonappearance on the remaining claim.
- East Acupuncture, P.C. v Electric Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51281(U)) FollowedThe insurer's late denials did not bar its coverage defense, and its evidence raised a triable issue of a staged incident.
- Infinity Health Prods., Ltd. v Eveready Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28271) FollowedThe insurer's follow-up verification demand, mailed 27 days after its initial demand, was premature and did not toll the claim determination period.
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 03636)An insurer denying no-fault benefits for lack of medical justification need not include a medical rationale in the prescribed denial form.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345)An insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
Similar decisions
- Metropolitan Med. Supplies, LLC v GEICO Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50066(U))The insurer raised triable issues on medical necessity for the second cause of action and excessive fees for the third.
- Be Well Med. Supply, Inc. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50346(U))The insurer's late denial barred its medical-necessity defense to the first claim, but unrebutted peer review defeated the second.
- Avenue N Med., P.C. v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 52174(U))The insurer's timely denials and affirmed peer review raised a medical-necessity issue defeating the provider's summary judgment motion.
- Neomy Med., P.C. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51727(U))The insurer's timely denial and supported peer review raised a medical necessity issue defeating summary judgment on the appealed claim.
- Alev Med. Supply, Inc. v Eveready Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 52184(U))The provider's action was premature because the insurer had not received all verification requested before suit commenced.