March 5, 2010
Cambridge Med., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 20272)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/cambridge-med-p-c-v-progressive-cas-ins-co-2010-ny-slip-op-20272/
- Judge
- Levine, J.
- Decided
- March 5, 2010
- Citation
- 2010 NY Slip Op 20272 · 29 Misc 3d 186
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
- Issues
- Verification requests
- Legal questions
- Outstanding verification and premature actions (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Cambridge Med., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 20272)
| Cambridge Med., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. |
| 2010 NY Slip Op 20272 [29 Misc 3d 186] |
| March 5, 2010 |
| Levine, J. |
| Civil Court Of The City Of New York, Richmond County |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| As corrected through Wednesday, October 20, 2010 |
[*1]
| Cambridge Medical, P.C., as Assignee of Jocelyn Yale, Plaintiff, v Progressive Casualty Ins. Co., Defendant. |
Civil Court of the City of New York, Richmond County, March 5, 2010
APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL
Short & Billy, P.C., New York City, for defendant. Baker, Sanders, Barshay, Grossman, Fass, Muhlstock & Neuwirth, Mineola, for plaintiff.
{**29 Misc 3d at 187} OPINION OF THE COURT
Katherine A. Levine, J.
During oral argument, the parties stipulated that the only issue before the court was whether 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 (b) requires the insurer to notify the injured party when it sends the follow-up verification request to the plaintiff provider. This court has already determined and reiterates herein that the injured party need not be notified. (See Cambridge Med., P.C. v Nationwide Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co., Civ Ct, Richmond County, Feb. 22, 2010, index No. 4561/08.)
Pursuant to Insurance Law § 5106 (a) and 11 NYCRR 65-3.8, an insurer is required to either pay or deny a claim for no-fault automobile insurance benefits within 30 days from the date an applicant supplies proof of claim or it will be precluded from offering any defenses at trial. (Mount Sinai Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 43 AD3d 889, 889-890 [2d Dept 2007]; see Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 278 [1997].) An insurer may toll the 30-day period by properly requesting additional verification within 15 days from the receipt of the no-fault insurance claim forms (NF-3 or claim form). (Psych. & Massage Therapy Assoc., PLLC v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 5 Misc 3d 723 [Civ Ct, Queens County 2004]; 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [b].) If the
“requested verification[ ] has not been supplied to the insurer 30 calendar days after the original request, the insurer shall, within 10 calendar days, follow up with the party from whom the verification was requested, either by telephone call, properly documented in the file, or by mail. At the same time the insurer shall inform the applicant and such person’s attorney of the reason(s) why the claim is delayed by identifying in writing the missing verification and the party from whom it was requested.” (11 NYCRR 65-3.6 [b] [emphasis added]; see Pine Hollow Med., P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y., 25 Misc 3d 244 [Civ Ct, Richmond County 2009].)
If the insurer does not receive the verification request after its follow-up request is sent, its time to pay or deny the claim is tolled pending submission of the requested information. “A claim need not be paid or denied until all demanded verification is provided.” (New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 568, 570 [2d Dept 2004]; Westchester County Med.{**29 Misc 3d at 188} Ctr. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 262 AD2d 553, 554 [2d Dept 1999].) The insurer must pay or deny the claim within 30 days after it receives verification of all relevant information it requested pursuant to its original request for additional information. (11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [c]; 65-3.8 [a] [1]; Westchester County Med. Ctr., supra.)
The clear language of 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 (b) does not even mention the term “applicant” within the context of its requirement that the insurer follow up with the party from whom the verification was requested. Rather, the term “applicant” is only utilized within the context of the further obligation of the insurer to inform the applicant and such person’s attorney of the reason(s) why the claim is delayed by identifying in writing the missing verification and the party from whom it was requested.
Plaintiff interprets the term “applicant” of 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 (b) to mean that the insurer must inform the assignor and the assignor’s attorney of the reasons why the claim is delayed at the same time the defendant requests a follow-up verification from the provider, since the defendant failed to notify the assignor and the assignor’s attorney, hence negating its motion for summary judgment. The defendant counters that upon the assignment of no-fault [*2]benefits, the medical provider steps into the shoes of its assignor and assumes all of his rights and obligations, thereby becoming the applicant within the meaning of 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 (b). Moreover, defendant argues that the plaintiff provider’s attorney’s letter directing the defendant to send all correspondence, including payment and verification requests to the provider’s attorney’s office or to “face unnecessary litigation,” placed the defendant on notice that the provider’s law firm was acting as the agent for the bills at issue.
In East Acupuncture, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (61 AD3d 202 [2d Dept 2009]), the Second Department recognized that the no-fault regulations do not specifically define the term “applicant,” which generically refers to both the provider/assignee and injured persons in various no-fault sections. In Doshi Diagnostic Imaging Servs. v State Farm Ins. Co. (16 Misc 3d 42 [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists 2007]), the Appellate Term interpreted the term “applicant” as used in 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 (b), to apply to an MRI facility which was the medical services provider/assignee. Accordingly, the plain meaning of 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 (b) refers to any entity, whether an injured person or a provider/assignee, who submits a claim or applies to an insurance{**29 Misc 3d at 189} company for no-fault benefits. (East Acupuncture, P.C., 61 AD3d at 210, citing Majewski v Broadalbin-Perth Cent. School Dist., 91 NY2d 577 [1998].)
Furthermore, the objective behind the aforementioned law is the efficient and speedy processing of the no-fault claims. It therefore begs all reason to require an insurer to seek verification from a party who has divested his interest in no-fault benefits by assigning his rights to his provider. (Mia Acupuncture, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co., 26 Misc 3d 39 [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009] [assignment of no-fault benefits divests eligible injured persons of their interest in no-fault benefits and makes them nonparties to actions commenced by their assignees].) The letter mailed by the plaintiff provider’s attorney to the defendant, directing that all correspondence, including payment and verification requests, be mailed to the plaintiff provider’s attorney clearly placed the defendant on notice that the provider’s law firm was acting as the agent for receipt of all correspondence concerning the bills at issue. (See Lenox Hill Radiology & MIA P.C. v Global Liberty Ins., 20 Misc 3d 434 [Civ Ct, NY County 2008].)
The court therefore deems the provider to be the applicant in the instant matter. Since the plaintiff did not provide the verification sought by the defendant, the 30-day period in which the defendant had to either pay or deny the claim did not begin to run and the instant case is premature. (Westchester County Med. Ctr. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 262 AD2d 553 [1999].)
Accordingly, the defendant’s motion is granted.
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did unanswered verification requests make the provider’s claim premature, or justify denying it for nonresponse?
This decision: Timely requests went unanswered; the claim is not overdue and the action is premature
Held the insurer need not notify the assignor when following up with the assignee provider, which is the applicant, and because the provider never supplied the verification, the 30 days never ran and the action was premature.
Of the 385 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 153 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Mount Sinai Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos. (2007 NY Slip Op 06650)The hospital's action was premature because it sued approximately two months before the insurer's time to pay or deny expired.
- Psych. & Massage Therapy Assoc., PLLC v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24432)An insurer need not wait 30 days after its initial verification request before sending a follow-up request.
- Pine Hollow Med., P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2009 NY Slip Op 29264)An insurer's one-day delay in requesting follow-up verification does not eliminate the toll pending receipt of the requested information.
- New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 01750) FollowedThe insurer proved policy exhaustion on one hospital claim and absence of coverage on another, requiring dismissal of both.
- East Acupuncture, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 01191) FollowedThe interest toll under 11 NYCRR 65-3.9 (c) applies to provider assignees as well as injured claimants.
- Doshi Diagnostic Imaging Servs. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 27193) FollowedAn insurer may request medical-necessity verification from a prescribing physician if it properly notifies the applicant of outstanding requests.
- Mia Acupuncture, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29509) FollowedAn assignor's missed deposition does not warrant dismissal under CPLR 3126 (3) when the assignor is a nonparty outside the provider's control.
- Lenox Hill Radiology & MIA P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. (2008 NY Slip Op 28197) FollowedThe provider's action was premature because it failed to supply properly requested verification concerning its MRI claims.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Advanced Neurological Care, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 22373) FollowedThe provider's failure to respond or object to verification requests rendered its action premature despite missing notice to its attorneys.
- MB Advanced Equip., Inc. v MVAIC (2015 NY Slip Op 25199)MVAIC's requests for qualification documents are not verification requests requiring notice to the assignor under the no-fault verification regulations.
- Canon Chiropractic P.C. v MVAIC (2013 NY Slip Op 52044(U))MVAIC proved lack of coverage despite mailing qualification letters to the assignor at the incorrect address supplied on the provider's bills.
Similar decisions
- Dilon Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25113)A medical supplier must respond to a proper request for a letter of medical necessity even if it lacks clinical expertise.
- Advantage Radiology, P.C. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 27061)An insurer need not send counsel a delay letter when verification is sought directly from the provider.
- Healing Health Prods., Inc. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 24145)The provider's mail-record affidavit raised a triable issue as to whether the insurer mailed its verification requests.
- Sure Way NY, Inc. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 26413)An insurer has 15 business days to request a provider's EUO when new information from the assignor's EUO warrants it.
- Infinity Health Prods., Ltd. v Eveready Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 08585)A provider that ignored two verification requests was estopped from invoking preclusion based on a follow-up sent three days early.