• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
May 21, 2008

Lenox Hill Radiology & MIA P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. (2008 NY Slip Op 28197)

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/lenox-hill-radiology-mia-p-c-v-global-liberty-ins-2008-ny-slip-op-28197/

Court
Civil Court of the City of New York, New York County
Judge
Bluth, J.
Decided
May 21, 2008
Citation
2008 NY Slip Op 28197 · 20 Misc 3d 434
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Later treatment
Followed in 6 later decisions (see Cited by)
Issues
Verification requests Timeliness and preclusion
Legal questions
Proof of mailing · Outstanding verification and premature actions (see the maps)
Cite as
Lenox Hill Radiology & MIA P.C. v Global Liberty Ins., 20 Misc 3d 434 (Civ Ct, New York County 2008)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The provider's action was premature because it failed to supply properly requested verification concerning its MRI claims. The Civil Court, New York County, granted the insurer summary judgment and dismissed the complaint. The claims examiner's detailed affidavit established timely mailing of initial and follow-up requests; the provider's attorneys did not deny receipt. Requests for medical-necessity letters and a valid provider signature were proper. Because counsel had directed all correspondence to its office as the provider's agent, notice to counsel sufficed under 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 (b). Separate notification applied to verification sought from third parties, rather than the applicant. The unanswered requests prevented the 30-day period to pay or deny from beginning, so benefits were not overdue.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Lenox Hill Radiology & MIA P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. (2008 NY Slip Op 28197)

Lenox Hill Radiology & MIA P.C. v Global Liberty Ins.
2008 NY Slip Op 28197 [20 Misc 3d 434]
May 21, 2008
Bluth, J.
Civil Court Of The City Of New York, New York County
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, August 6, 2008

[*1]

Lenox Hill Radiology and MIA P.C., as Assignee of Nila Sokol, Plaintiff,
v
Global Liberty Insurance, Defendant.

Civil Court of the City of New York, New York County, May 21, 2008

APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL

Barry & Associates, LLC, Plainview, for defendant. Baker, Sanders, Barshy, Grossman, Fass, Muhlstock & Neuwirth, Mineola, for plaintiff.

{**20 Misc 3d at 434} OPINION OF THE COURT

Arlene P. Bluth, J.

{**20 Misc 3d at 435}Defendant’s motion for summary judgment is granted and the complaint is dismissed.

Plaintiff commenced the instant action to recover first-party no-fault benefits in the amount of $2,670.39, plus statutory interest, costs and attorneys’ fees, for three MRI studies it allegedly conducted for its assignor, Nila Sokol. Two were allegedly performed on June 7, 2007 for which plaintiff billed defendant $879.72 and $912, and a third on June 12, 2007 for $878.67.

Plaintiff’s attorneys submitted each bill to defendant with a form cover letter on the attorneys’ letterhead. In that letter, the attorneys introduce themselves and state no less than three times that defendant was to deal with the attorneys from then on. (“Accordingly, please forward all future correspondence to our attention . . . Please make this payment payable to the above-referenced provider, C/O this office . . . All correspondence including payment, EOB’s, verification requests, etc. must be mailed directly to this office. Failure to do so may result in unnecessary litigation.”) The clear import of this repetitive direction—to be followed under threat of “unnecessary litigation”—is that plaintiff’s attorneys are its agents for all purposes related to the bill, and defendant must deal directly with plaintiff’s attorneys. In addition, the end of the letter contains the representation that any enclosed bills, forms, “doctor’s reports, notes and narratives were prepared solely by the above-referenced provider.” Clearly, then, the plaintiff did not submit any documents from the referring physician; there was no MRI referral form or prescription submitted with any of the bills.

The defendant’s claims examiner, Cinnamon Houston, states that defendant received the first bill (for $879.72) on June 26, 2007 and timely sent a verification request on July 10, 2007. That request was sent directly to the plaintiff’s attorneys and requested two items: a letter of medical necessity from the referring physician and a claim form with a valid provider’s signature. There can be no dispute that plaintiff’s attorneys received this request because they responded thereto by letter dated July 17, 2007. Their response, even though titled “Verification Compliance,” completely ignored the bona fide request. Instead, it said, in essence, “whatever we gave you was good enough and this provider is not giving you anything else. If you need something from someone else, go ask them. Now pay the bill.” In addition, the attorneys state: “Any further requests to this provider are deemed unnecessary and in violation{**20 Misc 3d at 436} of 11 NYCRR 65-3.2 (c).” This section states an insurer should “not demand verification of facts unless there are good reasons to do so.” (Id.) Nevertheless, Ms. Houston sent a follow-up request to plaintiff’s attorneys on August 13, 2007.

Defendant received the second bill (for $912) with the same form cover letter on June 27, 2007, and it sent a request for verification, seeking the same information as sought for the other MRI taken the same date, to plaintiff’s attorneys on July 10, 2007. There can be no dispute that plaintiff’s attorneys received this request, because they responded thereto by letter dated July 17, 2007. Their response was the same form letter referred to above, and Ms. Houston sent a follow-up request on August 10, 2007.

When defendant received the third bill, Ms. Houston timely sent a verification request. This time, plaintiff’s attorneys did not send a response and Ms. Houston sent a follow-up request on August 10, 2007.

In order to prevail on its motion for summary judgment, the movant must make a prima facie showing of entitlement to judgment as a matter of law, through admissible evidence, eliminating all material issues of fact. (Alvarez v Prospect Hosp., 68 NY2d 320 [1986].) Once the movant demonstrates entitlement to judgment, the burden shifts to the opponent to rebut that prima facie showing. (Bethlehem Steel Corp. v Solow, 51 NY2d 870, 872 [1980].) In opposing such a motion, the party must lay bare its evidentiary proof. Conclusory allegations are insufficient to defeat the motion; the opponent must produce evidentiary proof in admissible form sufficient to require a trial of material questions of fact. (Zuckerman v City of New York, 49 NY2d 557, 562 [1980].)

In deciding the motion, the court must draw all reasonable inferences in favor of the nonmoving party and must not decide credibility issues. (Dauman Displays v Masturzo, 168 AD2d 204 [1st Dept 1990], lv dismissed 77 NY2d 939 [1991].) As summary judgment is a drastic remedy which deprives a party of being heard, it should not be granted where there is any doubt as to the existence of a triable issue of fact (Chemical Bank v West 95th St. Dev. Corp., 161 AD2d 218 [1st Dept 1990]), or where the issue is even arguable or debatable (Stone v Goodson, 8 NY2d 8 [1960]).

The court finds Ms. Houston’s affidavit explaining preparation of the verification requests and the mailing procedures with respect to all of the verification requests (the initial three{**20 Misc 3d at 437} and the follow-up requests) sufficient to prove timely and proper mailings. Ms. Houston stated that she personally prepared each mailing, put each in the envelope, checked that it was properly addressed, and put it in her outgoing mail bin. She also stated that the regular office practice is that the mail person comes by at approximately 3:45 p.m. each afternoon, collects and stamps the mail, and then delivers it to the post office that day.

Although plaintiff’s opposition correctly notes that Ms. Houston did not swear that it was her duty to ensure compliance with defendant’s mailing procedures and that she did not herself drop it in the mailbox, it is enough that “the defendant submitted admissible evidence in the form of an affidavit of an employee with knowledge of the defendant’s standard office practices or procedures designed to ensure that items were properly addressed and mailed” (St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123, 1124 [2d Dept 2008], citing New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 29 AD3d 547 [2d Dept 2006], Hospital for Joint Diseases v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 284 AD2d 374 [2d Dept 2001], Residential Holding Corp. v Scottsdale Ins. Co., 286 AD2d 679 [2d Dept 2001], and Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d Dept 2007]). Ms. Houston’s detailed affidavit fulfills this requirement.

The verification requests were sent to the plaintiff’s law firm. A letter properly mailed is presumed to have been received. (News Syndicate Co. v Gatti Paper Stock Corp., 256 NY 211 [1931].) Although an associate of that law firm submitted an affirmation in opposition to this motion, no attempt to rebut the presumption was made; conspicuously absent from that affirmation is a simple denial of receipt of the requests for verification. In opposing a motion for summary judgment, the nonmoving party must lay bare all of the facts at its disposal regarding the issues raised in the motion. (Zuckerman v City of New York, 49 NY2d 557, 562 [1980].) It is no excuse that the opponent could have submitted such evidence but did not because the opponent believed that the movant’s papers were insufficient. (Mgrditchian v Donato, 141 AD2d 513 [2d Dept 1988].) The affirmant in opposition was in the position to, but did not even attempt to, rebut the presumption that plaintiff’s law firm received the requests for verification shortly after Ms. Houston stated that they were mailed. Therefore, there is no question of fact as to proper mailing of the verification requests.

Having determined that defendant proved its timely and proper mailing of the requests for verification, the court turns{**20 Misc 3d at 438} to the other bases for plaintiff’s opposition. Plaintiff claims that defendant failed to present a “good reason” why further verification was necessary; this court disagrees. This court does not believe that it is unreasonable to ask for a letter of medical necessity before a carrier pays more than $2,500 for three MRIs conducted during the course of one week, approximately six weeks after an alleged accident. Defendant is not required to provide a blank checkbook to plaintiff. Rather, defendant is entitled to find out whether and why each MRI was prescribed; in other words, the carrier is entitled to inquire as to the medical necessity before it pays the bills.

Plaintiff also claims defendant violated 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 (b), which provides:

“(b) Verification requests. At a minimum, if any requested verification[ ] has not been supplied to the insurer 30 calendar days after the original request, the insurer shall, within 10 calendar days, follow up with the party from whom the verification was requested, either by telephone call, properly documented in the file, or by mail. At the same time the insurer shall inform the applicant and such person’s attorney of the reason(s) why the claim is delayed by identifying in writing the missing verification and the party from whom it was requested.”

Plaintiff argues that because defendant did not send the follow-up verification requests both to it and to its attorneys, the requests are defective. This argument lacks merit.

Because the attorney’s cover letter clearly put defendant on notice that the law firm was the agent for the medical provider for all purposes with respect to the bill submitted, sending the verification request to the attorneys was the same as sending the request to the principal. As recently stated in Bauer v CS-Graces, LLC (48 AD3d 922, 924 [3d Dept 2008]): “The law is well settled that, unless obtained confidentially, ‘ “knowledge acquired by an agent acting within the scope of his [or her] agency is imputed to his [or her] principal and the latter is bound by such knowledge” ‘ (Skiff-Murray v Murray, 17 AD3d 807, 809-810 [2005], quoting Center v Hampton Affiliates, 66 NY2d 782, 784 [1985]; see Farr v Newman, 14 NY2d 183, 187 [1964]).”

Accordingly, defendant’s notice to the law firm-agent was notice to the principal-provider as a matter of law. Under the circumstances{**20 Misc 3d at 439} presented here, there was no need for the insurer to send another copy to the principal.

In addition, in interpreting 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 (b), courts have found that the additional notification to the applicant and its attorney is required when the verification is requested from a third party, not when, as here, the verification is requested from the applicant. “Where verification is sought from a party other than the applicant, the applicant is entitled to be timely informed of the nature of the verification sought and from whom it is requested when, after an initial verification request remains unsatisfied, a follow-up request is necessary” (Doshi Diagnostic Imaging Servs. v State Farm Ins. Co., 16 Misc 3d 42, 44 [App Term, 2d Dept 2007]). This court notes that this very plaintiff advanced the same arguments—that the second verification request was defective because the insurer did not send an additional notification to the attorney’s client-principal—in Lenox Hill Radiology & MIA, P.C. (Dejesus) v Progressive Cas. Ins. (Civ Ct, NY County, 2008, index No. 31019/07); there, albeit after trial, Judge Jeffrey Oing also found the argument to be without merit.

Because plaintiff failed to respond to defendant’s valid and proper verification requests, the 30-day period within which defendant had to either pay or deny the claim did not begin to run. Therefore, plaintiff’s claims for no-fault benefits are not overdue, this action is premature and must be dismissed. (See Hospital for Joint Diseases v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 8 AD3d 533, 534-535 [2d Dept 2004]; St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v American Tr. Ins. Co., 299 AD2d 338, 340 [2d Dept 2002].)

For the foregoing reasons, defendant’s motion for summary judgment is granted and plaintiff’s complaint is hereby dismissed.

Legal questions (2)

Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Proof of mailing

Open the full map

Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?

This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice

Held the examiner's affidavit, describing how she prepared, addressed and placed each verification and follow-up request in the outgoing mail with daily pickup, proved timely mailing, and the provider's counsel never denied receipt.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 20
  • Appellate TermApp Term 94
  • Trial courtsTrial 36
2015, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2023, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2022, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2019, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer failed to prove)2018, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2016, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2015, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing)2014, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2013, Appellate Division: 4 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2024, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2017, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing)2016, Appellate Term: 12 decisions (12 Insurer proved mailing)2015, Appellate Term: 18 decisions (14 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove)2014, Appellate Term: 14 decisions (11 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2013, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2012, Appellate Term: 15 decisions (11 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider failed to prove)2011, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (7 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2010, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2008, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing)2007, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Provider failed to prove)2006, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove)2004, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2025, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2026, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2005, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2020, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer failed to prove)2022, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2021, Trial courts: 6 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2020, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider failed to prove)2019, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2018, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2013, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2009, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2008, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2007, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2024, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2025, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing)2026, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove)2005, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Mixed rulings)2006, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2023, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)This decision
20052010201520202025
Insurer proved mailingInsurer failed to proveProvider proved mailingProvider failed to proveTriable issue on mailingMixed rulingsThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 151 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 104 (this one included) are in the same category. 6 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.

Outstanding verification and premature actions

Open the full map

Did unanswered verification requests make the provider’s claim premature, or justify denying it for nonresponse?

This decision: Timely requests went unanswered; the claim is not overdue and the action is premature

Held the action premature because the provider's attorneys ignored timely, properly mailed requests for a letter of medical necessity and signed claim form, so the 30-day period never began to run.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 2
  • Appellate TermApp Term 30
  • Trial courtsTrial 6
2025, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Nonresponse denial upheld, 1 Insurer's showing fails)2019, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Premature: verification outstanding)2018, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Premature: verification outstanding)2017, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Premature: verification outstanding)2016, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer's showing fails)2015, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer's showing fails)2013, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Triable issue)2012, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (6 Premature: verification outstanding)2011, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (1 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Triable issue, 1 Insurer's showing fails, 1 Provider complied)2010, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (3 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Insurer's showing fails)2008, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Premature: verification outstanding)2006, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Nonresponse denial upheld, 1 Triable issue)2005, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Triable issue)2024, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Premature: verification outstanding)2023, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer's showing fails)2021, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Premature: verification outstanding)2019, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Premature: verification outstanding)2008, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Insurer's showing fails)2026, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Triable issue)This decision
20052010201520202025
Premature: verification outstandingNonresponse denial upheldTriable issueInsurer's showing failsProvider compliedThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 38 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 23 (this one included) are in the same category. 7 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
  • New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 03558)The providers failed to establish mailing and receipt of the hospital bill asserted in their second cause of action.
  • Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345)An insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
  • Doshi Diagnostic Imaging Servs. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 27193) FollowedAn insurer may request medical-necessity verification from a prescribing physician if it properly notifies the applicant of outstanding requests.
  • Hospital for Joint Diseases v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 05413) FollowedThe hospitals' first and fifth claims were dismissed because policy limits were exhausted and requested verification remained outstanding.

Cited by

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • Cambridge Med., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 20272) FollowedAn insurer need not notify an injured assignor when following up on verification requested from the provider under 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 (b).
  • Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50693(U)) FollowedThe insurer's peer reviews failed to establish lack of medical necessity, and its affidavit failed to establish timely mailing of the denials.
  • D & R Med. Supply, Inc. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50306(U)) FollowedThe provider's action was premature because requested CPT codes and medical records remained outstanding after two follow-up verification requests.
  • Advanced Neurological Care, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 22373) FollowedThe provider's failure to respond or object to verification requests rendered its action premature despite missing notice to its attorneys.
  • Baldwin Med. Servs., P.C. v Maya Assur. Co (2026 NY Slip Op 51329(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish timely, proper mailing of its initial verification request, defeating summary judgment for nonresponse.
  • Medical Supply of NY Direct Servs. Corp. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2026 NY Slip Op 50513(U)) FollowedThe insurer established mailing of unanswered verification requests through proof of uniform company mailing procedures.
  • Lenox Hill Radiology v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28275)The insurer failed to prove its MRI fee reduction, and the provider failed to establish a business-record foundation for its claim form.
  • Custom Orthotics, Ltd. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29317)The insurer's inaction on a physician-report response warranted payment, but an unresponsive invoice letter left the other claim premature.
  • Flatbush Acupuncture P.C. v Repwest Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 25032)An insurer in the Second Department need not disclose its objective justification for an EUO to obtain summary judgment for nonappearance.

Similar decisions

  • Zwanger & Pesiri Radiology Group, LLP v Mapfre Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 50981(U))The insurer failed to establish proper mailing of verification requests and its denial, or that requested verification remained outstanding.
  • Lenox Hill Radiology MIA, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28053)The insurer failed to establish timely verification requests because its affidavits omitted when it received the provider's bill.
  • Lenox Hill Radiology v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2017 NY Slip Op 50978(U))The insurer failed to prove mailing or a reasonable basis for verification demands after the provider supplied available MRI documentation.
  • Dilon Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25113)A medical supplier must respond to a proper request for a letter of medical necessity even if it lacks clinical expertise.
  • D & R Med. Supply v Progressive Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29139)A provider need not supply verification materials outside its possession, custody or control after advising the insurer that it lacks them.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.