• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
December 20, 2010

Belt Parkway Imaging, P.C. v State Wide Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52229(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/belt-parkway-imaging-p-c-v-state-wide-ins-co-2010-ny-slip-op52229u/

Court
Appellate Term, Second Department
Decided
December 20, 2010
Citation
2010 NY Slip Op 52229(U) · 30 Misc 3d 127(A)
Posture
Trial
Outcome
Provider prevailed
Later treatment
Distinguished in 1 and followed in 6 later decisions (see Cited by)
Issues
Fraudulent incorporation (Mallela) Interest and attorney fees Statute of limitations
Legal questions
Fraudulent incorporation (Mallela) · When no-fault interest is tolled (see the maps)
Cite as
Belt Parkway Imaging, P.C. v State Wide Ins. Co., 30 Misc 3d 127(A), 2010 NY Slip Op 52229(U) (App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2010)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The insurer failed to prove provider ineligibility based on unlicensed control, even under a preponderance standard. The Appellate Term, Second Department, affirmed the providers' trial judgment and dismissed the postjudgment appeal as academic. Under 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (12) and Mallela, unlawful control defeats reimbursement, but the record lacked indicia of ownership or control beyond the licensed professional; the proper burden of proof remained undecided. Because mailing of denials was unproved, interest was never tolled and accrued 30 days after submission. Compound interest under former 11 NYCRR 65.15 (h) (1) governed these claims and was consistent with Insurance Law § 5106 (a). The limitations defense was waived under CPLR 3211 (e) because it was omitted from the answer and any pre-answer dismissal motion.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Belt Parkway Imaging, P.C. v State Wide Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52229(U))

[*1]
Belt Parkway Imaging, P.C. v State Wide Ins. Co.
2010 NY Slip Op 52229(U) [30 Misc 3d 127(A)]
Decided on December 20, 2010
Appellate Term, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.
Decided on December 20, 2010

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

APPELLATE TERM: 2nd, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS


PRESENT: : STEINHARDT, J.P., PESCE and WESTON, JJ
. 2009-113 Q C 2009-1471 Q C
Belt Parkway Imaging, P.C. and Parkway MRI, P.C. as Assignees of Denise Arrindell and Steven Arrindell, Respondents, NOs.

against

State Wide Insurance Company, Appellant.

Appeals from a judgment of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Bernice Daun Siegal, J.), entered December 30, 2008, and from an order of the same court (Diane A. Lebedeff, J.), entered May 27, 2009. The judgment, after a nonjury trial, awarded plaintiffs the principal sum of $4,223.17. The order denied defendant’s motion to vacate the judgment.

ORDERED that, on the court’s own motion, the appeals are consolidated for purposes of disposition; and it is further,

ORDERED that the judgment is affirmed, without costs; and it is further,

ORDERED that the appeal from the order entered May 27, 2009 is dismissed as academic.

Plaintiffs commenced this action to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits for medical services rendered. After a nonjury trial, the Civil Court (Bernice Daun Siegal, J.) found, among other things, that defendant had failed to establish, by clear and convincing evidence, its defense that plaintiffs were ineligible for reimbursement of no-fault benefits on the ground that they were operated in violation of state licensing requirements. As a result, judgment was [*2]entered in favor of plaintiffs in the principal sum of $4,223.17. Thereafter, defendant moved to vacate the judgment on the ground that the judgment awarded no-fault statutory interest based on an improper accrual date. The Civil Court (Diane A. Lebedeff, J.) denied defendant’s motion. Defendant appeals from the judgment and the post-judgment order, which appeals we consolidate for disposition.

The appeal from the post-judgment order is dismissed as academic since the issue can be reviewed on the appeal from the judgment (see Binghamton Precast & Supply v A. Servidone, Inc./Anthony Constr. Corp., 257 AD2d 731, 732 n [1999]).

It is well settled that a provider of healthcare services is ineligible for reimbursement of assigned first-party no-fault benefits “if the provider fails to meet any applicable New York State or local licensing requirement necessary to perform such service in New York” (Insurance Department Regulations [11 NYCRR] § 65-3.16 [a] [12]; see State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Mallela, 4 NY3d 313, 321 [2005]). State law mandates that professional service corporations be owned and controlled only by licensed professionals (see Business Corporation Law § 1503 [a]; §§ 1507, 1508), and that licensed professionals render the services provided by such corporations (see Business Corporation Law § 1504 [a]). A professional corporation which is actually controlled by a management company owned by unlicensed individuals in violation of the Business Corporation Law is not entitled to be reimbursed for no-fault benefits (see One Beacon Ins. Group, LLC v Midland Med. Care, P.C., 54 AD3d 738 [2008]).

On appeal, defendant contends that the Civil Court erred in finding that defendant had to establish its defense – – that plaintiffs were operated in violation of state licensing requirements thereby making plaintiffs ineligible for reimbursement of no-fault benefits – – by clear and convincing evidence rather than merely by a preponderance of the evidence. In support of this proposition, defendant cites V.S. Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (25 Misc 3d 39 [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009] [an insurer need only establish the defense of a staged accident by a preponderance of the evidence]). We need not ultimately decide this issue here since, upon a review of the record, we find that the evidence adduced at trial was insufficient to establish, even by a preponderance of the evidence, that plaintiffs were operated in violation of state licensing requirements. To the extent that defendant sought to establish at trial that the management company hired by plaintiffs was the entity that actually “operated” (Mallela at 319) the plaintiff corporations, the record is devoid of facts establishing any of the indicia of ownership or control by one other than plaintiffs’ licensed professional.

Where, as here, a provider is found to be entitled to reimbursement of no-fault benefits, it is entitled to no-fault statutory interest from the time that the claim is overdue (see former Insurance Department Regulations [11 NYCRR] § 65.15 [h] [1], now Insurance Department Regulations [11 NYCRR] § 65-3.9 [a]). However, statutory interest is tolled if the provider fails to request arbitration or commence a lawsuit within 30 days after receiving the denial (see LMK Psychological Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 12 NY3d 217, 223 [2009]; East Acupuncture, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co., 15 Misc 3d 104 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007], affd 61 AD3d 202 [2009]). Since defendant failed to establish that it ever sent denial of claim forms to plaintiffs, the accrual of interest was never tolled and interest due on the claims commenced from 30 days after the claims were submitted to the insurer for payment (see Hempstead Gen. Hosp. v Insurance Co. of N. Am., 208 AD2d 501 [1994]). Upon a review of the [*3]record, we find that the Civil Court properly determined the date that interest began to accrue.

With regard to defendant’s contention that the interest was improperly compounded, former Insurance Department Regulations (11 NYCRR) § 65.15 (h) (1) provided for interest at the rate of “two percent per month, compounded.” While the aforementioned regulation was superseded on April 5, 2002 by Insurance Department Regulations (11 NYCRR) § 65-3.9 (a), which provides for “interest at a rate of two percent per month, calculated on a pro-rata basis using a 30-day month,” the claims involved herein are all governed by the former Insurance Department Regulations. Defendant further asserts that to the extent that the former regulation provided for the compounding of interest, it was inconsistent with the statute. However, the statute merely provides for interest to be calculated at a rate of 2% per month and does not indicate a legislative preference for either simple or compound interest. Since the regulation providing for compound interest is not inconsistent with Insurance Law § 5106 (a) and it “is neither irrational nor unreasonable, it is entitled to deference” (East Acupuncture, P.C., 61 AD3d at 209). Accordingly, defendant’s contention that the court erred in awarding compound interest lacks merit.

Finally, defendant’s defense of statute of limitations was waived since defendant never raised said defense in its answer or in a pre-answer motion to dismiss the complaint (see CPLR 3211 [e]; Ferri v Ferri, 71 AD3d 949 [2010]).

In light of the foregoing, the judgment is affirmed.

Steinhardt, J.P., Pesce and Weston, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: December 20, 2010

Legal questions (2)

Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Fraudulent incorporation (Mallela)

Open the full map

On the merits, when may a no-fault insurer withhold payment because unlicensed persons own or control the provider (Mallela)?

This decision: Insurer's proof of unlicensed ownership/control insufficient

Affirmed judgment after trial for the providers because the record was devoid of facts showing any indicia of ownership or control by anyone other than their licensed professional, even under a preponderance standard.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 3
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 8
  • Appellate TermApp Term 26
  • Trial courtsTrial 24
2019, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2005, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2025, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Not a Mallela ground)2019, Appellate Division: 4 decisions (2 Defense established, 2 Defense not established)2017, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Defense not established)2016, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Triable issue)2008, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Triable issue)2020, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Not a Mallela ground)2019, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2013, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2012, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Not a Mallela ground)2010, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (2 Defense established, 1 Triable issue, 2 Defense not established, 1 Not a Mallela ground)2009, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (2 Defense established, 1 Triable issue, 1 Not a Mallela ground)2008, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Triable issue, 2 Defense not established)2007, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (1 Defense established, 4 Triable issue)2006, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Triable issue, 1 Defense not established)2015, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense not established)2019, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Triable issue)2017, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Defense not established, 1 Not a Mallela ground)2015, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Not a Mallela ground)2013, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense not established)2010, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Not a Mallela ground)2009, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Defense established, 2 Triable issue)2008, Trial courts: 4 decisions (1 Defense established, 2 Triable issue, 1 Defense not established)2007, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Triable issue)2006, Trial courts: 3 decisions (3 Triable issue)2005, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Defense established, 1 Defense not established)2004, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Not a Mallela ground)This decision
20052010201520202025
Defense establishedTriable issueDefense not establishedNot a Mallela groundThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 61 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 13 (this one included) are in the same category.

When no-fault interest is tolled

Open the full map

When is 2% no-fault interest tolled because the claimant delayed suing, arbitrating, prosecuting or collecting?

This decision: Interest runs without suspension: the toll was not triggered or the delay was not unreasonable or not the claimant's (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)

Upheld interest accruing from 30 days after the claims were submitted, because the insurer failed to establish that it ever sent denial forms, so the toll for not suing within 30 days of a denial never applied.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 3
  • Appellate TermApp Term 46
  • Trial courtsTrial 23
2009, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Tolled: no timely suit)2009, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Tolled: no timely suit)2006, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Not tolled)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Tolled: claimant's delay)2023, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Not tolled)2022, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (3 Tolled: claimant's delay, 3 Not tolled)2020, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (5 Tolled: claimant's delay)2019, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (5 Not tolled)2018, Appellate Term: 10 decisions (5 Tolled: claimant's delay, 5 Not tolled)2017, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Not tolled)2016, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Tolled: claimant's delay)2015, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Tolled: claimant's delay)2014, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Tolled: no timely suit, 1 Tolled: claimant's delay)2013, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Tolled: no timely suit)2011, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Not tolled)2010, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Not tolled)2008, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Not tolled)2007, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Tolled: no timely suit)2024, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Not tolled)2025, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Not tolled)2026, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Not tolled)2023, Trial courts: 6 decisions (6 Tolled: no timely suit)2022, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Tolled: claimant's delay)2021, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Tolled: no timely suit, 1 Tolled: claimant's delay)2020, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Tolled: no timely suit)2013, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Tolled: claimant's delay)2012, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Tolled: no timely suit, 1 Tolled: claimant's delay)2007, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Tolled: no timely suit, 1 Not tolled)2006, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Tolled: no timely suit, 1 Not tolled)2005, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Not tolled)2024, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Tolled: no timely suit)2026, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Tolled: claimant's delay)2025, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Tolled: claimant's delay)2014, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Tolled: claimant's delay)This decision
20052010201520202025
Tolled: no timely suitTolled: claimant's delayNot tolledThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 73 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 30 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Mallela (2005 NY Slip Op 02416) FollowedFraudulently incorporated medical providers are ineligible for no-fault reimbursement under 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (12).
  • One Beacon Ins. Group, LLC v Midland Med. Care, P.C. (2008 NY Slip Op 06813) FollowedThe insurers raised a triable issue of fraudulent incorporation despite evidence of physician ownership and oversight of the provider.
  • V.S. Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29310)An insurer may prove that a collision was intentional and outside no-fault coverage by a preponderance of the evidence.
  • LMK Psychological Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 02481)No-fault attorney fees are calculated on the aggregate bills for each insured, and an untimely denial does not defeat interest tolling.
  • East Acupuncture, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 27109)A provider assignee is subject to the interest toll under 11 NYCRR 65-3.9 (c) for failing to timely pursue a denied claim.
  • East Acupuncture, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 01191) FollowedThe interest toll under 11 NYCRR 65-3.9 (c) applies to provider assignees as well as injured claimants.

Cited by (11)

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • Devonshire Surgical Facility v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 50793(U)) DistinguishedNo-fault interest is simple under 11 NYCRR 65-3.9 (a) and may be tolled for unreasonable delay in entering judgment.
  • Health Value Med., P.C. v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52036(U)) FollowedThe provider's claims submitted in March 2000 were governed by the former no-fault regulations requiring compound interest.
  • Berenblit v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 50487(U)) FollowedThe provider's delay in entering judgment on an unpaid settlement did not justify tolling statutory no-fault interest.
  • G.N.S. Med. Supplies, Inc. v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52035(U)) FollowedThe provider's claims submitted in January 2001 were governed by the former no-fault regulations requiring compound interest.
  • New Generation Wellness Chiropractic, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 22171) FollowedNo-fault interest on claims governed by former 11 NYCRR 65.15 (h) is compounded rather than calculated under CPLR 5004.
  • Biotech Surgical Supply v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50376(U)) FollowedThe provider's claims submitted in 2001 were governed by former no-fault regulations requiring compound interest.
  • Metropolitan Med., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50299(U)) FollowedThe provider established that its claims were governed by former regulations requiring no-fault interest at 2% per month compounded.
  • Aminov v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 24066)The provider's seven years of inaction justified awarding prejudgment interest only from the filing of its notice of trial.
  • Herman v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50916(U))The provider's delay of more than 20 years in seeking judgment after an inquest warranted tolling interest during that period.
  • Air Plus Surgical Supply, Inc. v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51429(U))A provider's appeal from sua sponte vacatur of its judgment was dismissed, and its request to recalculate no-fault interest was moot.
Show all 11 citing decisions
  • Pacific Med. Servs., P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51502(U))

Similar decisions

  • LMK Psychological Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 10443)Attorney fees for no-fault claims are calculated per claim rather than per assignor under Insurance Law § 5106 (a).
  • Brooklyn Chiropractic Assoc., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 27323)No-fault interest is tolled upon receipt of a denial if the claimant does not sue or seek arbitration within 30 days.
  • Bath Med. Supply, Inc. v Allstate Indem. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 20059)The insurer failed to justify discovery or preserve fraudulent-billing and EUO nonappearance defenses through proof of timely denials.
  • Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51526(U))The former medical-equipment fee schedule caps reimbursement at 150 percent of cost and does not use local prevailing rates.
  • A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50583(U))The insurer's affidavits failed to establish mailing of the IME scheduling letters, defeating its IME nonappearance defense.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.