May 18, 2018
Valdan Acupuncture, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50739(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/valdan-acupuncture-p-c-v-ny-cent-mut-fire-ins-co-2018-ny-slip-op50739u/
- Decided
- May 18, 2018
- Citation
- 2018 NY Slip Op 50739(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Valdan Acupuncture, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50739(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
NY Central Mutual Fire Ins. Co., Appellant.
Gullo & Associates, LLP (Natalie Socorro of counsel), for appellant. Gary Tsirelman, P.C. (Irena Golodkeyer of counsel), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Katherine A. Levine, J.), entered July 14, 2015. The order, insofar as appealed from, denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed, with $30 costs, the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon a claim for $883.80 is granted, and the matter is remitted to the Civil Court for a new determination of the remaining branches of defendant’s motion in accordance herewith.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on various grounds, including plaintiff’s assignor’s failure to appear for duly scheduled independent medical examinations (IMEs), material misrepresentation, and that plaintiff was seeking to recover amounts which are in excess of the amounts permitted by the workers’ compensation fee schedule. By order entered July 14, 2015, the Civil Court found, in effect pursuant to CPLR 3212 (g), that defendant had established the assignor’s failure to appear for the IMEs and, in effect, that defendant had established the timely and proper mailing of its denials, and held that the only remaining issues for trial were plaintiff’s prima facie case and whether defendant had mailed the IME scheduling letters to plaintiff’s assignor. Defendant appeals, arguing that it is entitled to summary judgment [*2]dismissing the complaint based upon plaintiff’s assignor’s failure to appear for IMEs.
Three of the claims at issue in this case, seeking the sums of $1,062.11, $1,420.16 and $1,420.16, respectively, were denied on grounds other than plaintiff’s assignor’s failure to appear for IMEs. Consequently, as plaintiff argues, defendant did not preserve its IME no-show defense as to those claims and, thus, it is not entitled to summary judgment dismissing those claims on that ground (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co., 60 AD3d 1045 [2009]). As a result, the branches of defendant’s motion seeking to dismiss those claims must be remitted to the Civil Court for a new determination based upon the remaining grounds raised in defendant’s summary judgment motion, which grounds were not addressed by the Civil Court.
However, contrary to plaintiff’s argument as to the remaining claim, for $883.80, defendant’s proof was sufficient to demonstrate that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear for the scheduled IMEs (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720 [2006]). Moreover, defendant’s proof sufficiently established that it had properly mailed the IME scheduling letters to plaintiff’s assignor (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]). As plaintiff has not challenged the Civil Court’s determination that defendant is otherwise entitled to judgment on this claim, the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing this claim should have been granted.
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed, the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon a claim for $883.80 is granted, and the matter is remitted to the Civil Court for a new determination of the remaining branches of defendant’s motion in accordance herewith.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and ELLIOT, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: May 18, 2018
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?
This decision: No-show defense is subject to preclusion and fails for want of a timely, proper denial
Held the insurer had not preserved its IME no-show defense for three claims because it had denied them on other grounds, so it could not obtain summary judgment on those claims on that ground.
Of the 500 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 162 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Held the insurer's proof sufficiently established that it properly mailed the IME scheduling letters to the assignor, the issue the lower court had left for trial.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer proved mailed, compliant requests and the nonappearance; claimant's answers rejected
For the claim denied on the no-show ground, held the insurer proved the assignor's failure to appear and the proper mailing of the IME scheduling letters, entitling it to summary judgment.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 525 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 02589) FollowedThe insurer's investigation letters did not toll the 30-day period to pay or deny the provider's claim.
- Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604) FollowedAn insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
Similar decisions
- Valdan Acupuncture, P.C. v 21st Century Advantage Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50822(U))An insurer may submit reply evidence responding to an IME-address objection first raised in opposition to summary judgment.
- Valdan Acupuncture, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of NY (2019 NY Slip Op 51705(U))The insurer established the assignor's IME nonappearances and timely mailing of the scheduling letters and denial for one claim.
- NYS Acupuncture, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51263(U))The insurer's summary judgment motion based on the assignor's IME nonappearance was granted on appeal.
- Tri-Mount Acupuncture, P.C. v N.Y. Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 50335(U))The insurer proved mailing of IME notices and timely denials and the assignor's nonappearance; the provider raised no triable issue.
- Eastern Star Acupuncture, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50059(U))The insurer proved IME nonappearance for two claims but lacked proof of nonappearance or timely denial for the other three.