May 24, 2019
Valdan Acupuncture, P.C. v 21st Century Advantage Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50822(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/valdan-acupuncture-p-c-v-21st-century-advantage-ins-co-2019-ny-slip-op50822u/
- Decided
- May 24, 2019
- Citation
- 2019 NY Slip Op 50822(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Valdan Acupuncture, P.C. v 21st Century Advantage Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50822(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
21st Century Advantage Ins. Co., Appellant.
Law Offices of Buratti, Rothenberg & Burns (Leslie A. Emya, Jr. of counsel), for appellant. Gary Tsirelman, P.C., for respondent (no brief filed).
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Robin S. Garson, J.), entered October 27, 2015. The order denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is reversed, with $30 costs, and defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear for scheduled independent medical examinations (IMEs). In support of the motion, defendant submitted an affidavit by an employee of the company which had been retained by defendant to schedule the IMEs, which affidavit sufficiently demonstrated that the scheduling letters had been timely mailed to plaintiff’s assignor on August 19, 2011 and September 1, 2011, at a Van Siclen Avenue address (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]). Defendant also submitted affirmations and affidavits from medical providers who were to perform the IMEs, which sufficiently established that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear for those duly scheduled IMEs (see Stephen Fogel [*2]Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720 [2006]). In addition, an affidavit executed by defendant’s claims representative demonstrated that the denial of claim forms, which denied the claims based on plaintiff’s assignor’s nonappearance at the IMEs, had been timely mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond, 50 AD3d 1123).
In opposition, plaintiff’s counsel argued that the IME scheduling letters had been mailed to the wrong address because plaintiff’s bills, which were annexed to defendant’s moving papers, and the earliest of which was dated October 18, 2011, stated that plaintiff’s assignor’s address was on Chester Street. In reply, defendant submitted a copy of the NF-2 which was sworn to on July 29, 2011, and the police report from the July 17, 2011 accident. Both the police report and the sworn NF-2 stated that the assignor’s address was on Van Siclen Avenue. The Civil Court denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint, holding that plaintiff’s claims forms which were annexed to defendant’s moving papers raised an issue of fact as to the mailing of the IME scheduling letters and that defendant could not cure the defect in reply.
While a party moving for summary judgment generally cannot meet its prima facie burden by submitting evidence for the first time in reply, there is an exception to this general rule where, as here, the evidence is submitted in response to allegations raised for the first time in the opposition papers (see Central Mtge. Co. v Jahnsen, 150 AD3d 661 [2017]; Conte v Frelen Assoc., LLC, 51 AD3d 620 [2008]). As a result, the Civil Court erred when it held that the NF-2 and police report annexed to defendant’s reply papers could not be considered in support of defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. Those documents established that, at the time the IME letters had been mailed to plaintiff’s assignor, the letters had been mailed to the assignor’s address as set forth in the sworn NF-2 and the police report, which was the only address known to defendant at that time.
Since defendant demonstrated that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to comply with a condition precedent to coverage (see 11 NYCRR 65-1.1; Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C., 35 AD3d at 722) and that defendant had timely denied (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond, 50 AD3d 1123) the claim on that ground, the Civil Court should have granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment.
Accordingly, the order is reversed and defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and ELLIOT, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: May 24, 2019
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Held the IME letters were properly mailed to the address on the sworn NF-2 and police report, the only address known then, with reply evidence answering the new opposition argument.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer proved mailed, compliant requests and the nonappearance; claimant's answers rejected
Held the insurer proved its IME no-show defense: the letters went to the only known address, which reply evidence properly showed, and the examining practitioners' affirmations proved the nonappearance.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 525 (this one included) are in the same category.
Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?
This decision: Timely denial required as part of the no-show defense, and the insurer showed it (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer showed timely mailing of the denials based on the IME nonappearance, and granted it summary judgment on that ground.
Of the 500 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 334 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604) FollowedAn insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- S.O.V. Acupuncture, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2020 NY Slip Op 51004(U)) FollowedThe insurer obtained partial summary judgment on IME nonappearance, late claim submission, and fee schedule grounds.
Similar decisions
- Valdan Acupuncture, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50739(U))The insurer preserved its IME nonappearance defense for one claim but omitted that ground from the denials of three others.
- Valdan Acupuncture, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of NY (2019 NY Slip Op 51705(U))The insurer established the assignor's IME nonappearances and timely mailing of the scheduling letters and denial for one claim.
- Valdan Acupuncture, P.C. v Nationwide Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51098(U))The provider's claim was barred by res judicata because its assignment followed commencement of the insurer's declaratory judgment action.
- NYS Acupuncture, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51263(U))The insurer's summary judgment motion based on the assignor's IME nonappearance was granted on appeal.
- Bronx Acupuncture Therapy, P.C. v A. Cent. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51870(U))The insurer established timely IME scheduling, the assignor's nonappearance and timely denials, warranting dismissal of the claims.