May 13, 2020
Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. v George (2020 NY Slip Op 02801)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/nationwide-affinity-ins-co-of-am-v-george-2020-ny-slip-op02801/
- Decided
- May 13, 2020
- Citation
- 2020 NY Slip Op 02801 · 183 AD3d 755
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 17 later decisions (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. v George (2020 NY Slip Op 02801)
| Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. v George |
| 2020 NY Slip Op 02801 [183 AD3d 755] |
| May 13, 2020 |
| Appellate Division, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
[*1]
| Nationwide Affinity Insurance Company of America,
Respondent, v Iesha George et al., Defendants, and Jamaica Wellness Medical, P.C., et al., Appellants. |
Kopelevich & Feldsherova, P.C., Brooklyn, NY (David Landfair of counsel), for appellants.
Hollander Legal Group, P.C. (Allan S. Hollander and Harris J. Zakarin, P.C., Melville, NY, of counsel), for respondent.
In an action for a judgment declaring that the plaintiff is not obligated to pay certain no-fault insurance benefits, the defendants Jamaica Wellness Medical, P.C., LVOV Acupuncture, P.C., and United Wellness Chiropractic, P.C., appeal from an order of the Supreme Court, Nassau County (James P. McCormack, J.), entered July 11, 2017. The order granted the plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, in effect, declaring that the plaintiff is not obligated to pay claims for no-fault insurance benefits submitted by the defendants Jamaica Wellness Medical, P.C., LVOV Acupuncture, P.C., and United Wellness Chiropractic, P.C., on behalf of the defendants Andy Williams, Amanda Nixon, and Shaquille Swan.
Ordered that the order is affirmed, with costs, and the matter is remitted to the Supreme Court, Nassau County, for the entry of a judgment, inter alia, declaring that the plaintiff is not obligated to pay claims for no-fault insurance benefits submitted by the defendants Jamaica Wellness Medical, P.C., LVOV Acupuncture, P.C., and United Wellness Chiropractic, P.C., on behalf of the defendants Andy Williams, Amanda Nixon, and Shaquille Swan.
The defendants Andy Williams, Amanda Nixon, and Shaquille Swan (hereinafter collectively the individual defendants) allegedly were injured in a motor vehicle accident and assigned their rights to recover for no-fault benefits under the vehicle owner’s insurance policy to the defendants Jamaica Wellness Medical, P.C., LVOV Acupuncture, P.C., and United Wellness Chiropractic, P.C. (hereinafter collectively the medical provider defendants). The plaintiff commenced this action for a judgment declaring that it is not obligated to pay claims for no-fault insurance benefits submitted by the medical provider defendants on behalf of the individual defendants on the ground that the individual defendants failed to appear for two scheduled examinations under oath (hereinafter EUOs). The plaintiff moved for summary judgment, in effect, declaring that the plaintiff is not obligated to pay claims for no-fault insurance benefits submitted by the medical provider defendants on behalf of the individual defendants. The medical provider defendants opposed the motion. In an order entered July 11, 2017, the Supreme Court granted the plaintiff’s motion. The medical provider defendants appeal.
“ ’The failure to comply with the provision of an insurance policy requiring the insured to submit to an examination under oath . . . is a material breach of the policy, precluding recovery of the policy proceeds’ ” (Interboro Ins. Co. v Clennon, 113 AD3d 596, 597 [2014], quoting Argento v Aetna Cas. & Sur. Co., 184 AD2d 487, 487-488 [1992]). An insurer may establish its prima facie entitlement to judgment as a matter of law based on the failure to submit to an EUO by establishing that the letters scheduling the EUOs were timely and properly mailed, that the insured failed to appear at two scheduled EUOs, and that the insurer issued a timely and proper denial of the claims (see IDS Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. v Stracar Med. Servs., P.C., 116 AD3d 1005, 1007 [2014]; Interboro Ins. Co. v Clennon, 113 AD3d at 597).
Here, the plaintiff established, prima facie, that the letters scheduling the EUOs were timely and properly mailed by submitting an affidavit from an individual who had personal knowledge of the standard office practice for ensuring that the letters are properly addressed and mailed (see Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. v Metro Psychological Servs., P.C., 139 AD3d 693, 694 [2016]). In opposition, the medical provider defendants failed to raise a triable issue of fact because they did not submit any evidence that the letters were not properly mailed. The medical provider defendants’ mere denial of receipt was insufficient to rebut a presumption that the letters were received (see Nassau Ins. Co. v Murray, 46 NY2d 828, 829-830 [1978]).
The plaintiff also established, prima facie, that the individual defendants failed to appear at two scheduled EUOs by submitting the affidavits of individuals with personal knowledge that the individual defendants failed to appear at the location of the EUOs on the dates they were scheduled (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720, 721 [2006]). In opposition, the medical provider defendants failed to raise a triable issue of fact. They did not submit evidence to establish that the first EUO was mutually rescheduled (see DVS Chiropractic, P.C. v Interboro Ins. Co., 36 Misc 3d 138[A], 2012 NY Slip Op 51443[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2012]).
Additionally, the plaintiff established, prima facie, that it issued a timely and proper denial of the claims by demonstrating that the denials were sent within 30 days of the second scheduled EUO, through affidavits from individuals who had personal knowledge as to the standard office practice for ensuring that denials are properly addressed and mailed (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [b]; 65-3.8 [a] [1]; Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. v Metro Psychological Servs., P.C., 139 AD3d at 694). The affidavits submitted by the medical provider defendants in opposition failed to raise a triable issue of fact because they did not directly contradict the affidavits submitted by the plaintiff with regard to its standard office practices for addressing and mailing denial letters.
Furthermore, the medical provider defendants’ contention that the plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment should have been denied because the plaintiff failed to either pay or deny four of the medical provider defendants’ bills is without merit because the bills were sent more than 45 days after service was rendered (see 11 NYCRR 65-1.1 [d]).
Accordingly, we agree with the Supreme Court’s determination to grant the plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, in effect, declaring that the plaintiff is not obligated to pay claims for no-fault insurance benefits submitted by the medical provider defendants on behalf of the individual defendants. Since this is a declaratory judgment action, we remit the matter to the Supreme Court, Nassau County, for the entry of judgment, inter alia, declaring that the plaintiff is not obligated to pay claims for no-fault insurance benefits submitted by the medical provider defendants on behalf of the individual defendants (see Lanza v Wagner, 11 NY2d 317, 334 [1962]). Chambers, J.P., Roman, Cohen and Christopher, JJ., concur.
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?
This decision: Timely denial required as part of the no-show defense, and the insurer showed it
Required a timely and proper denial as an element of the EUO no-show defense and found the denials, mailed within 30 days of the second scheduled EUO, timely; the providers' affidavits did not contradict the mailing practice.
Of the 500 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 334 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Held affidavits on standard office practice proved mailing of the EUO letters and the denials; a mere denial of receipt and affidavits not contradicting the practice did not rebut the presumption.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category. 3 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer proved mailed, compliant requests and the nonappearance; claimant's answers rejected
Held the insurer proved timely mailing of the EUO letters and, through affiants with personal knowledge, nonappearance at two EUOs; the providers showed no mutual rescheduling.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 525 (this one included) are in the same category. 3 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Interboro Ins. Co. v Clennon (2014 NY Slip Op 00092) FollowedThe assignor's two EUO nonappearances supported a declaration that the providers were not entitled to no-fault benefits.
- IDS Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. v Stracar Med. Servs., P.C. (2014 NY Slip Op 02902) FollowedThe providers' unexcused EUO nonappearances materially breached a condition precedent to indemnity and warranted summary judgment for the insurer.
- Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. v Metro Psychological Servs., P.C. (2016 NY Slip Op 03485) FollowedThe insurers failed to establish timely and proper mailing of the EUO letters through a conclusory description of office procedures.
- Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604) FollowedAn insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
- Dvs Chiropractic, P.C. v Interboro Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51443(U)) FollowedMutually rescheduling an EUO before its scheduled date does not constitute a failure to appear.
Cited by (23)
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Quality Health Supply Corp. v Nationwide Ins. (2023 NY Slip Op 02689) FollowedThe insurer established timely EUO notices and denials, proper follow-up, and the assignor's nonappearances.
- Town RX Inc. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 51853(U)) FollowedThe insurer established mailing of EUO scheduling letters and the provider's failure to appear at properly scheduled EUOs. The Appellate Term, First Department, reversed the order, denied the provider's cross-motion for summary judgment, and granted the insurer's motion dismissing the no-fault complaint.
- Brefni Chiropractic Diagnostics, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 51518(U)) FollowedThe insurer's attorney affirmation alone established the provider's EUO nonappearance; corroborating transcripts were unnecessary.
- Heavenly Points Acupuncture v Integon Natl. Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50895(U)) FollowedThe insurer established lack of medical necessity, and the provider's conclusory expert affidavit failed to raise a triable issue.
- Tyorkin v Repwest Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 51208(U)) FollowedThe assignor's conclusory denial of receiving IME notices failed to rebut the presumption of receipt arising from proper mailing.
- Hand By Hand PT, P.C. v Titan Indem. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50644(U)) FollowedThe insurer established the provider's failure to appear for two duly scheduled EUOs and timely denial of the claims on that ground.
- RVA Leasing Corp. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2026 NY Slip Op 51527(U)) FollowedThe insurer established timely mailing of the provider's EUO notices, nonappearance and an objective basis for the EUOs. The Appellate Term, First Department, reversed the order, insofar as appealed from, and granted the insurer's motion for summary judgment dismissing the no-fault complaint.
- Medical Supply of NY Direct Servs. Corp. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2026 NY Slip Op 50513(U)) FollowedThe insurer established mailing of unanswered verification requests through proof of uniform company mailing procedures.
- One RX Chemist, Inc. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 51848(U)) FollowedThe insurer established mailing of EUO scheduling letters and the provider's failure to appear at properly scheduled EUOs. The Appellate Term, First Department, reversed the order denying the insurer's unopposed summary judgment motion, granted the motion, and dismissed the provider's no-fault complaint.
- LPM Pharm., Inc. v Nationwide Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2024 NY Slip Op 51191(U)) FollowedThe no-fault regulations do not require EUO notices to be provided in writing.
Show all 23 citing decisions
- FJL Med. Servs. PC v Nationwide Ins. (2021 NY Slip Op 21214) Followed
- Sayyed DC, P.C. v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50311(U)) Followed
- Kings County Physicians Group v Nationwide Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50337(U)) Followed
- NY Wellness Med. P.C. v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50382(U)) Followed
- New York Core Chiropractic, P.C. v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50599(U)) Followed
- Citycare Chiropractic, P.C. v Repwest Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50619(U)) Followed
- Glispy v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2023 NY Slip Op 50338(U)) Followed
- Ezra Supply, Inc. v Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. (2022 NY Slip Op 22383)
- Chiropractic Exam Works, P.C. v Sentry Cas. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 51125(U))
- Advanced Recovery v Allstate Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 21148)
- Fine Needle Acupuncture P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50873(U))
- Sloan v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50997(U))
- MLG Med. P.C. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2023 NY Slip Op 23199)
Similar decisions
- Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. v Jamaica Wellness Med., P.C. (2020 NY Slip Op 00971)The insurers' successive summary judgment motion was entertained because an intervening appeal clarified the proof required for EUO nonappearance.
- American Tr. Ins. Co. v Beach Med. Rehabilitation, P.C. (2026 NY Slip Op 03771)The insurer failed to raise a triable issue on timely denials or causation in its action for de novo review of no-fault claims.
- Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. v PFJ Med. Care, P.C. (2020 NY Slip Op 00972)The insurers justified renewal with previously known denial evidence after intervening precedent made EUO nonappearance subject to preclusion.
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50583(U))The insurer's affidavits failed to establish mailing of the IME scheduling letters, defeating its IME nonappearance defense.
- Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. v Infinite Ortho Prods., Inc. (2015 NY Slip Op 03340)The insurers failed to establish timely and proper mailing of denials based on missing verification and EUO nonappearance.