February 19, 2014
Wyckoff Hgts. Med. Ctr. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 01166)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/wyckoff-hgts-med-ctr-v-government-empls-ins-co-2014-ny-slip-op01166/
- Decided
- February 19, 2014
- Citation
- 2014 NY Slip Op 01166 · 114 AD3d 855
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- Claimant's prima facie case on motions · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Wyckoff Hgts. Med. Ctr. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 01166)
| Wyckoff Hgts. Med. Ctr. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. |
| 2014 NY Slip Op 01166 [114 AD3d 855] |
| February 19, 2014 |
| Appellate Division, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| Wyckoff Heights Medical Center, as Assignee of Aida
Ruiz, et al., Respondents, v Government Employees Insurance Company, Appellant. |
—[*1] Spina, Korshin & Welden, Woodbury, N.Y. (Jeanne M. Ortega of counsel), for appellant.
Joseph Henig, P.C., Bellmore, N.Y., for respondents.
In an action to recover no-fault benefits under a policy of automobile insurance, the defendant appeals from an order of the Supreme Court, Nassau County (Brown, J.), entered December 20, 2011, which granted the motion of the plaintiff Wyckoff Heights Medical Center, as assignee of Aida Ruiz, for summary judgment on the first cause of action.
Ordered that the order is reversed, on the law, with costs, and the motion of the plaintiff Wyckoff Heights Medical Center, as assignee of Aida Ruiz, for summary judgment on its first cause of action is denied.
The plaintiff Wyckoff Heights Medical Center, as assignee of Aida Ruiz (hereinafter the plaintiff), made a prima facie showing of entitlement to judgment as a matter of law on to the first cause of action by submitting evidence that the prescribed statutory billing forms were mailed to and received by the defendant, which failed to either pay or deny the claim within the requisite 30-day period (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [c]; Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 278 [1997]; Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 114 AD3d 33 [2013]; Westchester Med. Ctr. v Hereford Ins. Co., 95 AD3d 1306, 1306-1307 [2012]; Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lancer Ins. Co., 94 AD3d 984 [2012]; NYU-Hosp. for Joint Diseases v American Intl. Group, Inc., 89 AD3d 702, 703 [2011]; Mount Sinai Hosp. v Country Wide Ins. Co., 85 AD3d 1136, 1137 [2011]).
However, in opposition, the defendant raised a triable issue of fact as to whether it timely and properly denied the subject claim (see generally Alvarez v Prospect Hosp., 68 NY2d 320, 324 [1986]). The defendant submitted evidence showing that it mailed to the plaintiff a denial of claim form NF-10 within the requisite 30-day period (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [c]). Although the denial of claim form incorrectly stated the amount of the claim and the amount in dispute, under the circumstances of this case, these minor errors did not render the denial fatally defective and a nullity (see NYU-Hospital for Joint Diseases v Esurance Ins. Co., 84 AD3d 1190, 1191-1192 [2011]; St. Barnabas Hosp. v Penrac, Inc., 79 AD3d 733, 734 [2010]).
Contrary to the plaintiff’s contention, the fact that the defendant attached to its denial [*2]of claim form an unaffirmed and unsworn peer review report, which contained a stamped facsimile of the physician’s signature and did not comply with CPLR 2106, did not render the denial of claim ineffective, since the defendant was not obligated to submit the peer review report in the first instance (see CPLR 2106; cf. Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v Travelers Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 778 [2008]). The relevant no-fault regulations do not require that a denial of claim form be supported by a peer review report or other medical evidence at the time that the denial of claim form is issued (cf. 11 NYCRR 65-3.8). Indeed, this Court has previously held that a defendant is not required to set forth a medical rationale in its denial of claim form (see New York Univ. Hosp. Rusk Inst. v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 39 AD3d 832, 832-833 [2007]; A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 39 AD3d 779, 780 [2007]; A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v GEICO Cas. Ins. Co., 39 AD3d 778, 779 [2007]).
Accordingly, the Supreme Court should have denied the plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment on the first cause of action. Rivera, J.P., Chambers, Hall and Miller, JJ., concur.
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the hospital made a prima facie showing by evidence that the statutory billing forms were mailed and received and not paid or denied within 30 days, but the insurer raised a triable issue.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer's evidence that it mailed the NF-10 denial within 30 days raised a triable issue as to timely denial, defeating the hospital's summary judgment motion.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 08430)A provider need not prove a claim's merits for summary judgment where the insurer failed to timely and properly deny the claim.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 04156)The provider proved mailing and receipt of its bill and the insurer's failure to pay or deny within 30 days; the insurer failed to raise a triable issue.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 02867)The insurer defeated the provider's summary judgment motion by proving timely verification requests and denial after verification was received.
- Mount Sinai Hosp. v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 05680)The insurer raised factual issues about policy exhaustion during a verification toll and payment with overdue interest before suit.
- NYU-Hospital for Joint Diseases v Esurance Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 04436) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues about timely denial and whether the assignor's injury resulted from driving while intoxicated.
- Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 03199) Contrasted (cf., but see)The insurer's peer review reports were inadmissible because their facsimile signatures lacked evidence of placement or authorization.
- New York Univ. Hosp. Rusk Inst. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 03671) FollowedAn insurer need not set forth a medical rationale in a denial form when the denial rests on a medical examination or peer review report.
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 03636) FollowedAn insurer denying no-fault benefits for lack of medical justification need not include a medical rationale in the prescribed denial form.
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v GEICO Cas. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 03635) FollowedAn insurer need not include a medical rationale in a denial form based on a medical examination or peer review report.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- J.C. Healing Touch Rehab, P.C. v Eveready Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50774(U)) FollowedThe insurer's cross motion for summary judgment on lack of medical necessity was denied, leaving only whether verification was outstanding for trial.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v A Cent. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 01319)The insurer raised a factual issue as to whether it mailed a proper denial 22 days after receiving requested verification.
- NYU-Hospital for Joint Diseases v Allstate Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 08613)The hospital failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment because its own papers included a timely and sufficient denial.
Similar decisions
- New York Univ. Hosp.-Tisch Inst. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 03812)The insurer raised a factual issue as to whether verification requests tolled the deadline and its denial was timely.
- NYU Hosp. for Joint Diseases v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 04219)The insurer's denial was fatally defective because it omitted required information and named the assignor as the benefits applicant.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 00500)The insurer's contention that a complete absence of coverage survived its untimely denial was improperly raised for the first time on appeal.
- Lenox Hill Hosp. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 08330)The insurer's evidence of a timely denial raised a triable issue defeating the provider's motion based solely on untimeliness.
- Nyack Hosp. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 02235)The insurer failed to prove mailing of its denial, and the denial was incomplete even if timely.