December 5, 2025
Prompt Med. Group, Inc. v Foremost Signature Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 51977(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/prompt-med-group-inc-v-foremost-signature-ins-co-2025-ny-slip-op-51977u/
- Decided
- December 5, 2025
- Citation
- 2025 NY Slip Op 51977(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Issues
- Policy issues
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Prompt Med. Group, Inc. v Foremost Signature Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 51977(U))
[*1]| Prompt Med. Group, Inc. v Foremost Signature Ins. Co. |
| 2025 NY Slip Op 51977(U) |
| Decided on December 5, 2025 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on December 5, 2025
PRESENT: : WAVNY TOUSSAINT, P.J., MARINA CORA MUNDY, JOANNE D. QUIÑONES, JJ
2024-1129 RI C
against
Foremost Signature Insurance Company, Respondent.
Kopelevich & Feldsherova, P.C. (Galina Feldsherova of counsel), for appellant. Law Offices of Rothenberg & Romanek, for respondent (no brief filed).
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Richmond County (Mary A. Kavanagh, J.), entered October 22, 2024. The order, insofar as appealed from as limited by the brief, granted the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed, with $30 costs, and the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals, as limited by the brief, from so much of an order of the Civil Court (Mary A. Kavanagh, J.) entered October 22, 2024 as granted the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that there was no insurance coverage for the vehicle allegedly involved in a November 4, 2022 accident, as the insurance policy had been cancelled on October 24, 2022.
Upon a review of the record, we find that the papers defendant submitted in support of the branch of its motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the complaint failed to demonstrate by admissible proof, as a matter of law, that defendant provided the insured with proper notice of cancellation in accordance with Vehicle and Traffic Law § 313 (1) (a) (see Island Life Chiropractic Pain Care, PLLC v Allstate Ins. Co., 60 Misc 3d 132[A], 2018 NY Slip Op 51006[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2018]). In addition, we note that defendant, in any event, has not demonstrated that the alleged cancellation of the policy was effective with respect to plaintiff’s assignor, who was not the named insured or a member of the insured’s household (see Vehicle and Traffic Law § 313 [2] [a]; [3]; Matter of Progressive Classic Ins. Co. v Kitchen, 46 AD3d 333 [2007]; Matter of Progressive Northeastern Ins. Co. v Barnes, 30 AD3d 523 [2006]; Pravel, Inc. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 67 Misc 3d 132[A], [*2]2020 NY Slip Op 50457[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2020]; Art of Healing Medicine, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co., 54 Misc 3d 46 [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2016]; Advanced Med. Care, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co., 50 Misc 3d 137[A], 2016 NY Slip Op 50130[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 9th & 10th Jud Dists 2016]; GL Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co., 48 Misc 3d 141[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 51239[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2015]). Consequently, the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the complaint should have been denied.
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed and the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied.
TOUSSAINT, P.J., MUNDY and QUIÑONES, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Jennifer Chan
Acting Chief Clerk
Decision Date: December 5, 2025
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Island Life Chiropractic Pain Care, PLLC v Allstate Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 51006(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish collateral estoppel or valid policy cancellation in support of its lack-of-coverage defense.
- Pravel, Inc. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 50457(U))The insurer failed to prove effective policy cancellation because it lacked admissible proof of timely filing with the DMV. The assignor was neither the named insured nor a member of the insured's household.
- Art of Healing Medicine, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 26387)The insurer failed to establish effective policy cancellation because its submissions did not conclusively prove timely filing with DMV. Although the insurer demonstrated mailing of a termination notice to the policyholder under Vehicle and Traffic Law § 313 (1), its affidavit and purported DMV notification record did not establish proper filing within 30 days of termination under Vehicle and Traffic Law § 313 (2) (a).
- Advanced Med. Care, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50130(U))The insurer failed to establish effective policy termination because it did not sufficiently prove timely filing of the termination notice with DMV. The insurer sought summary judgment dismissing the provider's assigned no-fault claims based on alleged termination of the policy.
- GL Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51239(U))The insurer failed to prove effective cancellation against an assignor outside the named insured's household because timely DMV filing was unproved.
Similar decisions
- Medical Supply of NY Servs., Inc. v Foremost Signature Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 51980(U))The insurer's summary judgment motion based on preaccident policy cancellation was denied on appeal.
- SK Prime Med. Supply v Permanent Gen. Assur. Corp. (2019 NY Slip Op 52052(U))The insurer established effective policy cancellation before the accident by proving proper mailing and timely filing with the DMV. The insurer sought summary judgment dismissing the provider's assigned no-fault claim for lack of coverage after cancellation for nonpayment of the premium.
- Prompt Med. Group, Inc. v Erie Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2025 NY Slip Op 51164(U))The insurer's hearsay submissions and conflicting accident accounts failed to establish that its insured vehicle was uninvolved.
- Akai Acupuncture, P.C. v Foremost Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2024 NY Slip Op 50630(U))The insurer failed to prove mailing of a Florida policy cancellation notice and was denied dismissal on its no-coverage defense.
- KJC Chiropractic, P.C. v Hartford Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51792(U))The insurer established that it validly canceled the policy for nonpayment before the accident, defeating the provider's claim.