August 18, 2006
Prestige Med. & Surgical Supply, Inc. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51672(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/prestige-med-surgical-supply-inc-v-clarendon-natl-ins-co-2006-ny-slip-op-51672u/
- Decided
- August 18, 2006
- Citation
- 2006 NY Slip Op 51672(U) · 13 Misc 3d 127(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 3 later decisions (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- Claimant's prima facie case on motions · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Prestige Med. & Surgical Supply, Inc. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51672(U))
| Prestige Med. & Surgical Supply, Inc. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. |
| 2006 NY Slip Op 51672(U) [13 Misc 3d 127(A)] |
| Decided on August 18, 2006 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT:: PESCE, P.J., WESTON PATTERSON and GOLIA, JJ
2005-1263 Q C. NO. 2005-1263 Q C
against
Clarendon National Insurance Company, Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Joseph Esposito, J.), entered June 17, 2005. The order denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment.
Order reversed without costs, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment granted and matter remanded to the court below for the calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees.
In an action to recover first-party no-fault benefits for medical supplies furnished to its assignor, a provider generally establishes a prima facie entitlement to summary judgment by proof that it submitted a claim, setting forth the fact and the amount of the
[*2]
loss sustained, and that payment of no-fault benefits was overdue (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]; Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 128[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51701[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). A provider establishes the “submission” of the claim form by demonstrating proof of proper mailing, which gives rise to the presumption that the claim form was received by the addressee. In the instant case, the lower court properly found that plaintiff’s moving papers were insufficient to demonstrate that any of the claim forms were properly mailed. However, said deficiency was cured by defendant’s acknowledgment of receipt in its denial of claim forms (see A.B. Med. Servs. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 3 Misc 3d 136[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50507[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]; A.B. Med. Servs. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 3 Misc 3d 130[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50387[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]) and by the admissions of the claims’ receipt in the affidavits of defendant’s claims adjusters. Accordingly, plaintiff established a prima facie case, and the burden then shifted to defendant to demonstrate a triable issue of fact (see Alvarez v Prospect Hosp., 68 NY2d 320, 324 [1986]).
Contrary to the determination of the court below, defendant failed to establish that the denial of claim forms were timely mailed to plaintiff. The affidavits of defendant’s claims adjusters merely stated that the claims were timely denied without asserting personal knowledge of the mailing or setting forth sufficient facts to create a presumption of mailing (see Residential Holding Corp. v Scottsdale Ins. Co., 286 AD2d 679 [2001]; Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v Travelers Home & Mar. Ins. Co., 7 Misc 3d 133[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50648[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]; Amaze Med. Supply v Allstate Ins. Co., 3 Misc 3d 133[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50447[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). Accordingly, since defendant failed to demonstrate that it denied the claims within the 30-day prescribed period following their receipt (Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [c]), it was precluded from raising its defenses, with exceptions not herein relevant (see Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 282 [1997]; PDG Psychological P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 11 Misc 3d 128[A], 2006 NY Slip Op 50246[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]).
We need not reach the issue of whether the letters which stated that payment of benefits was being delayed pending receipt of hospital/physician records were, in effect, verification requests since defendant’s acknowledged receipt of the information recommenced the running of the 30-day claim determination period. Since defendant failed to submit adequate proof of having mailed the claim denials within that period, it did not meet its burden of raising a triable issue of fact.
In view of the foregoing, the court below erred in denying plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment. Accordingly, the order is reversed, plaintiff’s motion for summary
[*3]
judgment granted, and the matter is remanded to the court below for the calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees pursuant to Insurance Law § 5106 (a) and the regulations promulgated thereunder.
Pesce, P.J., and Weston Patterson, J., concur.
Golia, J., concurs in a separate memorandum.
Golia, J., concurs with the result only, in the following memorandum:
I am constrained to agree with the ultimate disposition in the decision reached by the majority. I am constantly amazed by the continued failure of defendants to obtain and submit affidavits by someone with personal knowledge in order to establish sufficient proof of mailing of documents such as denials (NF-10), verifications, requests for independent medical examinations, etc.
Nevertheless, I wish to note that I do not agree with certain propositions of law set forth in cases cited by the majority which are inconsistent with my prior expressed positions and generally contrary to my views.
I further wish to note that I would find that the letters sent to plaintiff herein denoted as “delay letters” should serve to toll the 30-day claim determination period. They are, in fact, verification requests irrespective of terminology, indeed at the very least they are a functional equivalent of a verification request.
In support of this finding, I cite the majority opinion in the case of Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Citiwide Auto Leasing Inc. (8 Misc 3d 138[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 51314[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). Whereas I filed a concurrence in that case and did not reach the issue at hand, the case held that even if a document is labeled a verification request, it will not serve to toll the 30-day period if it merely informs that the claim is delayed pending an investigation but fails to specify the particular information sought.
The “delay letters” in the case at bar not only informed the plaintiff that payment of the claim was being delayed, but also specifically set forth the particular information sought, to wit: the hospital/physician records. Clearly these “delay letters” must serve as a verification request inasmuch as the plaintiff was well aware of what information was required to complete the claims filed. They therefore serve the same purpose. For me, this is a matter of substance over form.
I point to plaintiff’s counsel’s assertion in his moving papers that this information should have been requested from the prescribing physician and not from the plaintiff herein which does not maintain or have direct access to a medical file. Given that assertion, plaintiff has effectively acknowledged that the defendant must seek the requested information from a different source. That is exactly what the defendant herein did.
Decision Date: August 18, 2006
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case
Held the provider established its prima facie case because, although its own mailing proof was insufficient, the insurer's denial forms and adjusters' affidavits acknowledged receipt of the claims.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's proof did not establish mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Held the adjusters' affidavits merely stated the claims were timely denied without personal knowledge of mailing or facts creating a presumption, so the insurer did not prove timely mailing of its denials.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 257 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359) FollowedThe hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
- Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51701(U)) FollowedA provider's completed claim forms establish its prima facie case without additional medical proof when the insurer is precluded.
- A.B. Med. Servs. v N. Y. Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50507(U)) FollowedAn insurer opposing summary judgment on medical necessity must submit admissible proof even if unaffirmed reports supported a timely denial.
- A.B. Med. Servs. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50387(U)) FollowedThe insurer's EUO request did not toll the denial period under the former regulations, and its fraud evidence raised no triable issue.
- Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v Travelers Home & Mar. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50648(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish verification tolling because requests were untimely or unproved and its policy's EUO endorsement was not shown.
- Amaze Med. Supply Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50447(U)) FollowedThe provider's signed postal ledger and president's affidavit established mailing, and the insurer failed to raise a triable issue of timely denial.
- PDG Psychological P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50246(U)) FollowedA provider may rely on denial forms annexed to an insurer's motion to establish the insurer's receipt of the claims.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- East Acupuncture, P.C. v Electric Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51281(U)) FollowedThe insurer's late denials did not bar its coverage defense, and its evidence raised a triable issue of a staged incident.
- Lenox Hill Radiology v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28275) FollowedThe insurer failed to prove its MRI fee reduction, and the provider failed to establish a business-record foundation for its claim form.
- AR Med. Rehabilitation, P.C. v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50631(U)) FollowedA provider may prove submission and receipt of no-fault claims at trial through the insurer's witness and denial forms.
- Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 27072)Interest on unpaid no-fault benefits runs from 30 days after claim receipt when the insurer issues no valid denial within that period.
- Superior Oxygen & Ortho Supplies, Ltd. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50348(U))The insurer failed to prove timely mailing of EUO scheduling letters or tolling and thus failed to avoid preclusion of its EUO nonappearance defense.
- AR Med. Rehabilitation v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 25287)A provider may use the insurer's NF-10 denial as an admission of claim receipt without a business-record foundation.
Similar decisions
- A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51426(U))The insurer's conclusory medical-necessity denials were ineffective, but policy-limit exhaustion remained a factual issue.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51415(U))A peer review submitted on summary judgment cannot cure a medical-necessity denial lacking specific facts and medical rationale.
- A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Ins. (2006 NY Slip Op 51662(U))The insurer proved mailing of one medical necessity denial but failed to prove verification mailing for four other claims.
- Infinity Health Prods., Ltd. v Eveready Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28271)The insurer's follow-up verification demand, mailed 27 days after its initial demand, was premature and did not toll the claim determination period.
- Uptodate Med. Servs., P.C. v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51502(U))The insurer failed to prove timely mailing of verification requests and denials, precluding its medical-necessity defense.