• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
August 19, 2008

Mid Atl. Med., P.C. v Victoria Select Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51758(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/mid-atl-med-p-c-v-victoria-select-ins-co-2008-ny-slip-op-51758u/

Court
Appellate Term, Second Department
Decided
August 19, 2008
Citation
2008 NY Slip Op 51758(U) · 20 Misc 3d 143(A)
Posture
Motion to dismiss (CPLR 3211)
Outcome
Split result
Later treatment
Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
Issues
Declaratory judgment, res judicata Policy issues Discovery and procedure
Legal questions
Effect of insurer's declaratory judgment (see the maps)
Cite as
Mid Atl. Med., P.C. v Victoria Select Ins. Co., 20 Misc 3d 143(A), 2008 NY Slip Op 51758(U) (App Term, 2d Dept, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2008)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The insurer waived its CPLR 3211 (a) (5) defense, but the Virginia rescission papers raised a triable coverage issue. Under CPLR 3211 (e), the defense was waived because it appeared in neither a timely pre-answer motion nor the answer. The provider was not collaterally estopped by the Virginia order: it took assignments before that proceeding, was not a party, and lacked privity with the insured. Nevertheless, the petition and uncertified rescission order supported a founded belief of no coverage. The Appellate Term, Second Department, modified the order to deny the insurer's dismissal cross motion while affirming denial of the provider's summary judgment motion; a separate concurrence objected to leaving the unchallenged prima facie case unexamined.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Mid Atl. Med., P.C. v Victoria Select Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51758(U))

[*1]
Mid Atl. Med., P.C. v Victoria Select Ins. Co.
2008 NY Slip Op 51758(U) [20 Misc 3d 143(A)]
Decided on August 19, 2008
Appellate Term, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.
Decided on August 19, 2008

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS


PRESENT: : RIOS, J.P., PESCE and GOLIA, JJ
2007-162 K C. NO. 2007-162 K C
Mid Atlantic Medical, P.C. a/a/o REGINALD SMALLS and KEVIN JOHNSON, Appellant,

against

Victoria Select Ins. Co., Respondent.

Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Delores J. Thomas, J.), entered November 3, 2006. The order denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion to dismiss the complaint.

Order modified by providing that defendant’s cross motion to dismiss the complaint is denied; as so modified, affirmed without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved for summary judgment and defendant cross-moved to dismiss the complaint pursuant to CPLR 3211 (a) (5), based upon a Virginia court’s order rescinding the subject insurance policy. The court below denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion to dismiss the complaint. Plaintiff appeals.
An objection based on CPLR 3211 (a) (5) must be raised either by motion made before service of the responsive pleading is required or in the responsive pleading (see CPLR 3211 [e]). As defendant did neither, its post-answer cross motion to dismiss should have been denied. [*2]
Turning to plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, we note that defendant raised no issue below or on appeal with respect to plaintiff’s establishment of its prima facie case, and we therefore do not pass on the propriety of the determination of the court below with respect thereto.
In opposition to plaintiff’s motion, defendant made the same collateral estoppel argument it proffered in support of its cross motion to dismiss. It submitted a petition commencing an action in a Virginia court seeking a declaratory judgment voiding the subject insurance policy on the ground that the insured made material misrepresentations on his application for insurance including, inter alia, that he resided in, and his car was to be garaged in, Virginia. Defendant further submitted an uncertified order of a Virginia court, dated April 4, 2005, which provided that the subject insurance policy was “rescinded, void ab initio, and of no effect.”
We note at the outset that defendant may not invoke the doctrine of collateral estoppel against plaintiff herein because plaintiff was not a party to the Virginia proceeding, which was commenced by defendant herein against its insured. Prior to the commencement of the Virginia proceeding, plaintiff was assigned the instant claims by two eligible injured persons, neither of whom are the named insured but both of whom were allegedly eligible for benefits under said policy. Plaintiff was therefore not “afforded a full and fair opportunity to contest” the Virginia order, nor was it in privity with one who was (see Gramatan Home Invs. Corp. v Lopez, 46 NY2d 481, 485-487 [1979]). We find, however, that the submission of the aforementioned documents is sufficient to demonstrate a defense based upon a “founded belief that the alleged injur[ies] do[ ] not arise out of an insured accident” (Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195, 199 [1997]). Thus, defendant has raised a triable issue of fact as to whether there was coverage under the subject insurance policy (see Hernandez v City of New York, 35 AD3d 812, 813 [2006]; Matter of Eagle Ins. Co. v
Singletary, 279 AD2d 56 [2000]; Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90
NY2d 195 [1997], supra). Therefore, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment was properly denied (see Zuckerman v City of New York, 49 NY2d 557 [1980]).
Rios, J.P., and Pesce, J., concur.
Golia, J., concurs in a separate memorandum.
Respondent.
Golia, J., concurs in the result only, in the following memorandum:
I am constrained to agree with the ultimate disposition in the decision reached by the majority. I, however, wish to note that I do not agree with certain propositions of law set forth in cases cited therein which are inconsistent with my prior expressed positions and generally contrary to my views.
I do not believe this Court can choose to abrogate its responsibility to pass upon the most fundamental and pre-eminent issue to be determined in any litigation, that being whether or not [*3]the plaintiff has established a prima facie case (see Uptodate
Med. Serv., P.C v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co., Misc 3d , 2008 NY Slip
Op 51502[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2008] [dissenting op by Golia, J.]; see also Alvarez v Prospect Hosp., 68 NY2d 320 [1986]).
Decision Date: August 19, 2008

Legal questions

A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Effect of insurer's declaratory judgment

Open the full map

Does an insurer’s no-coverage declaratory judgment, or pending declaratory action, bar or stay a no-fault claimant’s action?

This decision: No preclusion because the claimant (or insurer) was not a party or privy to the DJ (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)

Held the Virginia order rescinding the policy had no collateral estoppel effect because the provider was not a party and its assignments predated that proceeding, though the order raised a triable coverage issue defeating summary judgment.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 4
  • Appellate TermApp Term 132
  • Trial courtsTrial 28
2021, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Stayed pending DJ)2016, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Stayed pending DJ)2015, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Stay denied)2025, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Barred by DJ)2023, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (5 Barred by DJ, 1 Not bound: parties, 1 DJ does not reach)2022, Appellate Term: 11 decisions (9 Barred by DJ, 1 DJ does not reach, 1 Stay denied)2021, Appellate Term: 11 decisions (8 Barred by DJ, 2 Not bound: parties, 1 DJ does not reach)2020, Appellate Term: 12 decisions (9 Barred by DJ, 1 Not bound: parties, 2 DJ does not reach)2019, Appellate Term: 15 decisions (7 Barred by DJ, 3 Not bound: parties, 1 DJ does not reach, 4 Stay denied)2018, Appellate Term: 11 decisions (7 Barred by DJ, 2 Not bound: parties, 2 DJ does not reach)2017, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (3 Barred by DJ, 2 DJ does not reach)2016, Appellate Term: 15 decisions (13 Barred by DJ, 1 Not bound: parties, 1 DJ does not reach)2015, Appellate Term: 14 decisions (11 Barred by DJ, 1 Not bound: parties, 2 DJ does not reach)2014, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (4 Barred by DJ)2013, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Barred by DJ, 1 DJ does not reach, 1 Stayed pending DJ)2012, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Barred by DJ, 1 Not bound: parties)2011, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Barred by DJ, 1 DJ does not reach)2010, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Not bound: parties, 1 Stayed pending DJ)2009, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Barred by DJ)2008, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Not bound: parties)2024, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Not bound: parties, 2 DJ does not reach)2025, Appellate Term: 11 decisions (1 Barred by DJ, 1 Barred in part, 1 Not bound: parties, 8 DJ does not reach)2026, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Not bound: parties)2023, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 DJ does not reach)2022, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Barred by DJ, 1 Not bound: parties)2021, Trial courts: 4 decisions (4 Barred by DJ)2020, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Barred by DJ)2019, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Barred by DJ)2018, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Barred by DJ)2013, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Barred by DJ)2011, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Barred by DJ, 1 Stayed pending DJ)2009, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Stayed pending DJ)2008, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Not bound: parties)2007, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Barred by DJ, 1 Stayed pending DJ)2006, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Not bound: parties)2024, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Barred by DJ, 1 DJ does not reach)2026, Trial courts: 5 decisions (4 Barred by DJ, 1 Stay denied)2012, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Stay denied)This decision
2010201520202025
Barred by DJBarred in partNot bound: partiesDJ does not reachStayed pending DJStay deniedThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 164 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 20 (this one included) are in the same category.

Cited in this decision

  • Uptodate Med. Servs., P.C. v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51502(U))The insurer failed to prove timely mailing of verification requests and denials, precluding its medical-necessity defense.

Cited by

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • Magic Recovery Med. & Surgical Supply Inc. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 20130) FollowedThe provider was not collaterally estopped by default declaratory judgments in actions where it was neither a party nor in privity.

Similar decisions

  • Mid Atl. Med. P.C. v Victoria Select Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 52039(U))Virginia law governed the policy's retroactive rescission because Virginia had the most significant contacts with the insurance contract.
  • A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Ins. (2006 NY Slip Op 51662(U))The insurer proved mailing of one medical necessity denial but failed to prove verification mailing for four other claims.
  • V.S. Med. Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50304(U))The provider's summary judgment motion was denied because the insurer's investigator affidavit raised a triable coverage issue.
  • Align for Health Chiropractic, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51862(U))The insurer failed to prove timely verification requests, and the provider failed to lay a business-records foundation.
  • A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50785(U))The insurer's attorney affirmation and unsworn reports failed to raise a triable staged-collision issue without an excuse for inadmissibility.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.