• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
April 2, 2009

LMK Psychological Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 02481)

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/lmk-psychological-servs-p-c-v-state-farm-mut-auto-ins-co-2009-ny-slip-op-02481/

Court
Court of Appeals
Decided
April 2, 2009
Citation
2009 NY Slip Op 02481 · 12 NY3d 217
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Earlier history
Appeal from LMK Psychological Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 10443) (Reversed)
Later treatment
Followed in 12 later decisions (see Cited by)
Issues
Interest and attorney fees
Cite as
LMK Psychological Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 12 NY3d 217 (2009)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

No-fault attorney fees are calculated on the aggregate bills for each insured, and an untimely denial does not defeat interest tolling. The Court of Appeals reversed the order, insofar as appealed from, in the insurer's favor and remitted for recalculation of fees and interest awarded to the providers on summary judgment. Under Insurance Law § 5106 (a) and 11 NYCRR 65-4.6 (e), fees were 20 percent of benefits plus interest, capped at $850 for each insured's aggregate claim. The Superintendent's interpretation warranted deference as neither irrational nor contrary to the statute. Under 11 NYCRR 65-3.9 (c), interest was suspended when the claimant failed to seek arbitration or sue within 30 days after receipt of a denial, even if the denial was untimely.

Reported in New York Official Reports at LMK Psychological Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 02481)

LMK Psychological Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co.
2009 NY Slip Op 02481 [12 NY3d 217]
April 2, 2009
Pigott, J.
Court of Appeals
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, May 13, 2009

[*1]

LMK Psychological Services, P.C., et al., Respondents,
v
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, Appellant.

Argued February 11, 2009; decided April 2, 2009

LMK Psychological Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 46 AD3d 1290, reversed.

{**12 NY3d at 221} OPINION OF THE COURT

Pigott, J.

Plaintiffs, two medical providers that treated various automobile accident victims insured by defendant State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, commenced this action against State Farm after it denied no-fault insurance benefit claims assigned to plaintiffs by the insureds. Plaintiffs asserted one cause of action for each insured treated, alleging that State Farm failed to pay or deny multiple bills within the requisite 30 days. [*2]

Plaintiffs were granted summary judgment awarding them, among other things, attorneys’ fees and interest. As relevant to this appeal, attorneys’ fees were awarded “on each claim within each cause of action”; in other words, attorneys’ fees were calculated on each bill submitted for each insured. This amount differed substantially from that proposed by State Farm, which sought a calculation of attorneys’ fees on a per insured basis.

In addition, Supreme Court awarded plaintiffs interest at the statutory rate of 2% per month, without applying the tolling provision set forth in the Insurance Department regulations, which provide for the suspension of interest 30 days after denial of payment until plaintiffs commence an action seeking payment.

On appeal, the Appellate Division rejected State Farm’s contention that Supreme Court failed to properly apply the tolling provision in awarding interest to plaintiffs (46 AD3d 1290 [2007]). The court held that because State Farm did not issue a proper and timely denial to plaintiffs’ no-fault claims, it was not entitled to the benefit of the tolling provision.

As it pertained to attorneys’ fees, the court held that Supreme Court properly awarded fees on a per bill basis rather than a per insured basis. The court expressly rejected an opinion letter of the Superintendent of Insurance, finding it in conflict with the express language of Insurance Law § 5106, as well as case law. This Court granted defendant leave to appeal (10 NY3d 717 [2008]) and we now reverse.

“New York’s no-fault automobile insurance system is designed ‘to ensure prompt compensation for losses incurred by accident victims without regard to fault or negligence, to reduce the burden on the courts and to provide substantial premium savings to New York motorists’ ” (Hospital for Joint Diseases v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co., 9 NY3d 312, 317 [2007] [citation{**12 NY3d at 222} omitted]). We recently reiterated that the no-fault scheme’s core objective is “to provide a tightly timed process of claim, disputation and payment” (id. at 319, quoting Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 281 [1997]). In furtherance of this objective, an insurer’s failure to pay or deny a claim within the requisite time period carries significant consequences, including the payment of attorneys’ fees and interest.

Insurance Law § 5106 (a) provides that “[if] a valid claim or portion was overdue, the claimant shall . . . be entitled to recover his attorney’s reasonable fee, for services necessarily performed in connection with securing payment of the overdue claim . . . .” Pursuant to the authority delegated to him by section 5106 (a), the Superintendent of Insurance promulgated regulation 11 NYCRR 65-4.6 establishing a minimum attorneys’ fee and further providing that the “attorney’s fee shall be limited as follows: 20 percent of the amount of first-party benefits, plus interest thereon, awarded by the . . . court, subject to a maximum fee of $850” (11 NYCRR 65-4.6 [e]).

On October 8, 2003, the Superintendent issued an opinion letter interpreting that regulation and stating that the minimum amount of attorneys’ fees awarded to an assignee health [*3]care provider pursuant to Insurance Law § 5106 is

“based upon the aggregate amount of payment required to be reimbursed based upon the amount awarded for each bill which had been submitted and denied. The minimum attorney fee . . . is not due and owing for each bill submitted as part of the total amount of the disputed claim sought in the court action” (Ops Gen Counsel NY Ins Dept No. 03-10-04 [Oct. 2003]).

In referring to the regulations, specifically 11 NYCRR 65-4.6 (e), the Superintendent stated:

“[That provision] makes it clear that the amount of attorney’s fees awarded will be based upon 20% of the total amount of first party benefits awarded. That total amount is derived from the total amount of individual bills disputed in either a court action or arbitration, regardless of whether one bill or multiple bills are presented as part of a total claim for benefits, based upon the health services rendered by a provider to the same eligible insured” (id.).{**12 NY3d at 223}

We have long held that the Superintendent’s “interpretation, if not irrational or unreasonable, will be upheld in deference to his special competence and expertise with respect to the insurance industry, unless it runs counter to the clear wording of a statutory provision” (Matter of New York Pub. Interest Research Group v New York State Dept. of Ins., 66 NY2d 444, 448 [1985]). The responsibility for administering the Insurance Law and, in particular, fair claims settlement under the No-Fault Law rests with the Superintendent (see Insurance Law §§ 301, 5106 [a]). For purposes of calculating attorneys’ fees, the Superintendent has interpreted a claim to be the total medical expenses claimed in a cause of action pertaining to a single insured, and not—as the courts below held—each separate medical bill submitted by the provider. Because this interpretation is neither irrational, unreasonable, nor counter to the clear wording of the statute, it is entitled to deference. Thus, this Court accepts the Insurance Department’s interpretation of its own regulation and, upon remittitur, directs Supreme Court to calculate attorneys’ fees based on the aggregate of all bills for each insured.

State Farm next contends that the Appellate Division erred in finding that an insurance company that fails to issue a proper and timely denial is not entitled to the benefit of the tolling provision. We agree.

Pursuant to Insurance Law § 5106 (a), interest accrues on overdue no-fault insurance claims at a rate of 2% per month. A claim is overdue when it is not paid within 30 days after a proper demand is made for its payment (Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; 11 NYCRR 65.15 [g]). The Superintendent’s regulation tolls the accumulation of interest if the claimant “does not request arbitration or institute a lawsuit within 30 days after the receipt of a denial of claim form or payment of benefits calculated pursuant to Insurance Department regulations” (11 NYCRR 65-3.9 [c]). [*4]

The Superintendent has interpreted this provision to mandate that the accrual of interest is tolled, regardless of whether the particular denial at issue was timely. That interpretation is similarly entitled to deference given that it is “not irrational or unreasonable” (Matter of Council of City of N.Y. v Public Serv. Commn. of State of N.Y., 99 NY2d 64, 74 [2002]). Indeed, it is consistent with section 5106, entitled “Fair claims settlement,” the purpose of which is to encourage claimants to swiftly seek to resolve any dispute concerning their entitlement to no-fault benefits. Once a denial is issued, even if an untimely one, a{**12 NY3d at 224} claimant should still be encouraged to act to resolve the dispute quickly. Supreme Court is therefore directed to calculate appropriate interest on each claim, taking into consideration the tolling provision of section 5106 (a) as interpreted by the Superintendent of Insurance.

Accordingly, the order of the Appellate Division, insofar as appealed from, should be reversed, with costs, and the matter remitted to Supreme Court for further proceedings in accordance with this opinion.

Judges Ciparick, Graffeo, Read, Smith and Jones concur; Chief Judge Lippman taking no part.

Order, insofar as appealed from, reversed, etc.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • LMK Psychological Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 10443) ReversedAttorney fees for no-fault claims are calculated per claim rather than per assignor under Insurance Law § 5106 (a).
  • Hospital for Joint Diseases v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 09067)An insurer that fails to timely seek verification of an assignment cannot later contest its validity when the underlying claim is covered.

Cited by (28)

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • All Boro Psychological Servs., P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 22307) FollowedA provider that delays suit beyond 30 days after receiving a denial resumes accruing interest upon completed service under CCA 412.
  • Surgicare Surgical v National Interstate Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 24362) FollowedAn insurer complies with 11 NYCRR 68.6 by paying the applicable local fee-schedule amount for services rendered outside New York. The Civil Court, Bronx County, granted the insurer's motion to dismiss and denied the provider's summary judgment cross motion concerning surgery performed in New Jersey.
  • Optimal Well-Being Chiropractic, P.C. v MVAIC (2014 NY Slip Op 51861(U)) FollowedMVAIC's untimely payment supported interest and attorney's fees, but the amounts awarded were excessive.
  • A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Ins. (2010 NY Slip Op 50264(U)) FollowedAttorney's fees are calculated on the aggregate of all bills for each insured, subject to an $850 maximum under LMK Psychological Servs. The provider obtained summary judgment on four unpaid claims involving one insured.
  • City Care Acupuncture, P.C. v Allstate Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51793(U)) FollowedStatutory no-fault attorney fees are not discretionary or dependent on the actual value of counsel's services.
  • Longevity Med. Supply, Inc. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 20137) FollowedTimely IME no-show denials defeated the provider's motion where it did not show that the denials were legally insufficient.
  • MSB Physical Therapy, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. (2021 NY Slip Op 50750(U)) FollowedEUO requests sent before receipt of a claim do not toll the insurer's 30-day period to pay or deny it.
  • Quick Health Pharm. Corp. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 25038) FollowedAttorney's fees for a successful article 75 challenge to a no-fault award are not subject to the arbitration fee cap.
  • A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 50436(U)) FollowedA clerk's error calculating statutory no-fault attorney fees may be corrected under CPLR 5019 when the calculation is ministerial.
  • EMA Acupuncture P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50348(U)) FollowedThe provider's potential attorney-fee recovery was capped at $850 for consolidated claims involving the same assignor and accident.
Show all 28 citing decisions
  • Sayyed DC, P.C. v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50311(U)) Followed
  • NY Wellness Med. P.C. v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50382(U)) Followed
  • Belt Parkway Imaging, P.C. v State Wide Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52229(U))
  • Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co. v Alev Med. Supply Inc. (2009 NY Slip Op 29389)
  • Corona Hgts. Med., P.C. v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 21130)
  • Devonshire Surgical Facility v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 50793(U))
  • Arzu v NYC Tr. Auth. (2012 NY Slip Op 22008)
  • Fine Healing Acupuncture, P.C., v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 21361)
  • Garden State Anesthesia Assoc., PA v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 23332)
  • SZ Med., P.C. v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 20044)
  • Hilda-Bloor Med., P.C. v MVAIC (2013 NY Slip Op 50382(U))
  • Devonshire Surgical Facility v American Transit Insurance Company (2011 NY Slip Op 51660(U))
  • First Stop P.T., P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 50947(U))
  • State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Farescal (2009 NY Slip Op 50937(U))
  • Medalliance Med. Health Servs. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 23156)
  • Surgicare Surgical Assoc. v National Interstate Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op25338)
  • New Chiropractic Care, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2020 NY Slip Op 50652(U))
  • American Tr. Ins. Co. v Nexray Med. Imaging PC (2023 NY Slip Op 50953(U))

Similar decisions

  • Fortune Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28218)No-fault attorney's fees are calculated per claim, with the $850 maximum applied to each claim rather than the entire action.
  • New York & Presbyterian Hospital v Allstate Insurance Company (2006 NY Slip Op 04815)An insurer liable for overdue no-fault benefits must pay 2% monthly interest from 30 days after claim presentation until payment.
  • Matter of Lam Quan MD, P.C. v LM Gen. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 03328)Overdue no-fault benefits accrue interest at 2% per month, calculated pro rata using a 30-day month.
  • A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51520(U))The provider's failure to prosecute after denial of summary judgment justified tolling no-fault statutory interest.
  • American Tr. Ins. Co. v Barakat PT PC (2026 NY Slip Op 01750)The provider's attorney fee award was reversed because its basis was unexplained and the record contained conflicting evidence.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.