• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
January 9, 2009

Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50047(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/vista-surgical-supplies-inc-v-state-farm-mut-ins-co-2009-ny-slip-op50047u/

Court
Appellate Term, Second Department
Decided
January 9, 2009
Citation
2009 NY Slip Op 50047(U) · 22 Misc 3d 128(A)
Posture
Trial
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Issues
Provider's prima facie case Trial and evidence
Legal questions
Claimant's prima facie case at trial (see the maps)
Cite as
Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co., 22 Misc 3d 128(A), 2009 NY Slip Op 50047(U) (App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

An insurer's admission that it received a claim form does not concede the truth of the facts stated in that form. At a nonjury trial, the provider called no witnesses and relied on its notice to admit and the insurer's response to establish its prima facie case. Although the insurer acknowledged receipt and that the attached copy was accurate, the provider still had to establish a business-record foundation to prove the form's contents. Its failure to do so defeated its prima facie showing. The Appellate Term, Second Department, affirmed the judgment dismissing the complaint in the insurer's favor and reached no other issue.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50047(U))

[*1]
Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co.
2009 NY Slip Op 50047(U) [22 Misc 3d 128(A)]
Decided on January 9, 2009
Appellate Term, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected in part through February 24, 2009; it will not be published in the printed Official Reports.
Decided on January 9, 2009

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

APPELLATE TERM: 2nd, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS


PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., GOLIA and RIOS, JJ
2008-308 Q C.
Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. a/a/o TYRONE PEARSON, Appellant,

against

State Farm Mutual Insurance Co., Respondent.

Appeal from a decision of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Diccia T. Pineda-Kirwan, J.), dated October 6, 2006, deemed from a judgment of said court entered December 26, 2007 (see CPLR 5520 [c]). The judgment, after a nonjury trial, dismissed the complaint.

Judgment affirmed with $25 costs.

At the trial in this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff did not call any witnesses. Rather, plaintiff orally moved for the admission into evidence of its notice to admit and defendant’s response thereto, contending that they were sufficient to establish plaintiff’s prima facie case. Defendant objected and cross-moved for a directed verdict dismissing the complaint. The court granted defendant’s cross motion, holding that plaintiff’s notice to admit was improper because it sought information going to the heart of the matter. A judgment was entered dismissing the complaint. This appeal by plaintiff ensued.

An admission that defendant received plaintiff’s claim form is not a concession of the facts set forth in said claim form (Bajaj v General Assur. Co., 18 Misc 3d 25, 28 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]; Midborough Acupuncture, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 13 Misc 3d 132[A], 2006 NY Slip Op 51879[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]). While defendant acknowledged that it received plaintiff’s claim form and that a true copy was annexed to plaintiff’s notice to admit, it remained plaintiff’s burden to lay a sufficient foundation to establish that the claim form is admissible pursuant to the business records exception to the hearsay rule to prove the truth of the matters asserted therein (see Art of Healing Medicine, P.C. v Travelers Home & Mar. Ins. Co., 55 AD3d 644 [2008], affg 15 Misc 3d 144[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 51161[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]). Since plaintiff failed to proffer such [*2]proof, the court properly held that plaintiff failed to make a prima facie showing (see id.; Dan Med. P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 14 Misc 3d 44 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]). Accordingly, the judgment is affirmed (see Parochial Bus Sys. v Board of Educ. of City of N.Y., 60 NY2d 539 [1983]).

In light of the foregoing, we reach no other issue.

Pesce, P.J., Golia and Rios, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: January 09, 2009

Legal questions

A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Claimant's prima facie case at trial

Open the full map

What must a no-fault claimant prove at trial to make out its prima facie case for overdue benefits?

This decision: Insufficient: claim forms not admitted as business records / insurer's admissions held not to prove the claim

Held at trial that the insurer's admission of receipt of the claim form did not concede its contents, and the provider, calling no witness, failed to lay a business-records foundation, so it made no prima facie showing.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 3
  • Appellate TermApp Term 64
  • Trial courtsTrial 36
2008, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Other element missing)2006, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Other element missing)2010, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Business-record foundation lacking)2019, Appellate Term: 12 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 11 Other element missing)2016, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 4 Other element missing)2015, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Other element missing)2014, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Other element missing)2013, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (4 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Business-record foundation lacking, 2 Other element missing)2012, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Mailing/receipt not shown)2011, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2010, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2009, Appellate Term: 11 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown, 9 Business-record foundation lacking)2008, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Business-record foundation lacking)2006, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Business-record foundation lacking)2017, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Other element missing)2018, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Other element missing)2020, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Other element missing)2022, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Other element missing)2025, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Other element missing)2017, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2015, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Other element missing)2013, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Business-record foundation lacking, 1 Other element missing)2011, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Mailing/receipt not shown)2010, Trial courts: 4 decisions (4 Proof sufficient)2008, Trial courts: 5 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown, 2 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2006, Trial courts: 9 decisions (6 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Business-record foundation lacking, 1 Other element missing)2004, Trial courts: 5 decisions (4 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2005, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2009, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2021, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2022, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Other element missing)This decision
20052010201520202025
Proof sufficientMailing/receipt not shownOverdue not shownBusiness-record foundation lackingOther element missingThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 103 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 21 (this one included) are in the same category.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Bajaj v General Assur. (2007 NY Slip Op 27487)An insurer's admission that a denial form is genuine does not establish the provider's claim form as an admissible business record.
  • Midborough Acupuncture, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51879(U))The provider's attorney affirmation failed to establish the admissibility of its claim forms or a prima facie entitlement to judgment.
  • Art of Healing Medicine, P.C. v Travelers Home & Mar. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 07846) FollowedThe providers failed to establish a prima facie case because they did not demonstrate the admissibility of their billing records.
  • Art of Healing Medicine, P.C. v Travelers Home & Mar. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51161(U))The providers' billing manager failed to lay a business-records foundation for their partial summary judgment motion.
  • Dan Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26483)The provider failed to establish its prima facie case because its corporate officer did not lay a business-records foundation for the claim documents.

Similar decisions

  • Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 52470(U))The provider failed to prove claim submission in its moving papers and could not supply that essential element through inadmissible reply material.
  • Vista Surgical Supplies Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 52520(U))The provider failed to prove mailing of its claim, while the insurer established that it had never received the claim.
  • Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51556(U))The provider failed to establish claim submission because its mailing proof did not connect the claims to the certified mail receipt.
  • Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v Statewide Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51118(U))The provider failed to establish claim submission because its mailing receipts and the insurer's verification letters were not linked to the claims.
  • Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v General Assur. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51034(U))The provider's action was premature because timely verification requests remained unanswered when the action began.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.