April 2, 2010
First Aid Occupational Therapy, PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50594(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/first-aid-occupational-therapy-pllc-v-country-wide-ins-co-2010-ny-slip-op50594u/
- Decided
- April 2, 2010
- Citation
- 2010 NY Slip Op 50594(U) · 27 Misc 3d 128(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at First Aid Occupational Therapy, PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50594(U))
| First Aid Occupational Therapy, PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. |
| 2010 NY Slip Op 50594(U) [27 Misc 3d 128(A)] |
| Decided on April 2, 2010 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : WESTON, J.P., GOLIA and RIOS, JJ
2008-1939 Q C.
against
Country-Wide Insurance Company, Appellant.
Appeal from a judgment of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Diane A. Lebedeff, J.), entered June 23, 2008. The judgment, entered upon an order of the same court entered June 19, 2008 granting plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and denying defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint, awarded plaintiff the sum of $8,153.54.
ORDERED that the judgment is reversed without costs, the portions of the order entered June 19, 2008 which granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and which denied the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the second, fourth, fifth, sixth, ninth and tenth causes of action, as well as so much of the third cause of action as sought to recover upon the $30.80 claim, are vacated, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is denied and the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the second, fourth, fifth, sixth, ninth and tenth causes of action, as well as so much of the third cause of action as sought to recover upon the $30.80 claim, are granted, and the matter is remitted to the Civil Court for all further proceedings on the first, seventh and eighth causes of action as well as so much of the third cause of action as sought to recover upon the $523.20 claim.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, the Civil Court
granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and implicitly denied
defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. A judgment
was subsequently entered, and this appeal by defendant ensued.
Since the affidavit of defendant’s claims representative conceded receipt of the claims in question (see East Acupuncture, P.C. v Electric Ins. Co., 16 Misc 3d 128[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 51281[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]; Oleg Barshay, D.C., P.C. v State Farm Ins. [*2]Co., 14 Misc 3d 74 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]) and the affidavit of plaintiff’s billing manager established that the documents annexed to plaintiff’s motion were admissible pursuant to CPLR 4518 (see Art of Healing Medicine, P.C. v Travelers Home & Mar. Ins. Co., 55 AD3d 644 [2008]; Dan Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 14 Misc 3d 44 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]), plaintiff’s prima facie entitlement to summary judgment was established.
The affidavit of defendant’s no-fault litigation supervisor sufficiently established the timely mailing of the NF-10 denial of claim forms and verification requests since it described, in detail, based on the affiant’s personal knowledge, defendant’s standard office practices or procedures used to ensure that said documents were properly mailed (see Residential Holding Corp. v Scottsdale Ins. Co., 286 AD2d 679 [2001]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]).
In regard to plaintiff’s second, fourth, fifth, sixth and ninth causes of action, as well as so much of the third cause of action as sought to recover upon a $30.80 claim, defendant timely mailed its initial requests for verification (see Insurance Department Regulations [11 NYCRR] § 65-3.5 [b]), and plaintiff failed to provide the information requested. Plaintiff also did not provide the information requested in defendant’s follow-up verification requests, which were mailed on either the 29th or 30th day after the initial verification requests, but prior to the expiration of the full 30-day period within which plaintiff was required to respond to defendant’s initial requests for verification. As the foregoing facts are nearly identical to those in Infinity Health Prods., Ltd. v Eveready Ins. Co. (67 AD3d 862 [2d Dept 2009]), “the 30-day period within which the defendant was required to pay or deny the claim[s] did not commence to run [and] plaintiff’s action is premature” (id. at 865 [citations omitted]). As a result, defendant was entitled to summary judgment dismissing these causes of action.
Defendant also established that it had timely denied the two $182.84 and three $523.20 claims on the ground that the services for which payment was sought were part of another service and, thus, were not separately reimbursable (see St. Vincent Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 26 Misc 3d 58 [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]), and defendant’s opposition papers were sufficient to raise a triable issue of fact with respect thereto. Consequently, neither party was entitled to summary judgment on the first, seventh and eighth causes of action, as well as so much of the third cause of action as sought to recover upon the $523.20 claim.
Moreover, we note that defendant correctly argues that plaintiff submitted duplicate claims for $209.32. Therefore, defendant is entitled to summary judgment dismissing the tenth cause of action.
Accordingly, the judgment is reversed, the portions of the order entered June 19, 2008 which granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and which denied the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the second, fourth, fifth, sixth, ninth and tenth causes of action, as well as so much of the third cause of action as sought to recover upon the $30.80 claim, are vacated, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is denied and the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the second, fourth, fifth, sixth, ninth and tenth causes of action, as well as so much of the third cause of action as sought to recover upon the $30.80 claim, are granted, and the matter is remitted to the [*3]Civil Court for all further proceedings on the first, seventh and eighth causes of action as well as so much of the third cause of action as sought to recover upon the $523.20 claim.
Weston, J.P., Golia and Rios, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: April 02, 2010
Legal questions (4)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did unanswered verification requests make the provider’s claim premature, or justify denying it for nonresponse?
This decision: Timely requests went unanswered; the claim is not overdue and the action is premature
Held the action premature on most claims because the insurer timely mailed initial and follow-up verification requests that went unanswered, and a follow-up sent on day 29 or 30 was effective, so the 30-day period never began.
Of the 374 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 151 (this one included) are in the same category.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the provider made its prima facie showing because the insurer's claims representative conceded receipt of the claims and the billing manager's affidavit made the annexed documents admissible under CPLR 4518.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer's litigation supervisor's affidavit established timely mailing of its denials and verification requests because it described in detail, from personal knowledge, the standard office practices ensuring proper mailing.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove that the amount billed exceeded the applicable workers’ compensation fee schedule?
This decision: Insurer's proof did not establish the excess as a matter of law; question left for trial (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer's timely denials asserting the services were part of another service and not separately reimbursable raised a triable issue, so neither party obtained summary judgment on those claims.
Of the 284 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 85 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- East Acupuncture, P.C. v Electric Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51281(U)) FollowedThe insurer's late denials did not bar its coverage defense, and its evidence raised a triable issue of a staged incident.
- Oleg Barshay, D.C., P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26496) FollowedA provider's deficient proof of claim submission may be cured by an insurer's denial form submitted in opposition to summary judgment.
- Art of Healing Medicine, P.C. v Travelers Home & Mar. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 07846) FollowedThe providers failed to establish a prima facie case because they did not demonstrate the admissibility of their billing records.
- Dan Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26483) FollowedThe provider failed to establish its prima facie case because its corporate officer did not lay a business-records foundation for the claim documents.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345) FollowedAn insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- Infinity Health Prods., Ltd. v Eveready Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 08585) FollowedA provider that ignored two verification requests was estopped from invoking preclusion based on a follow-up sent three days early.
- St. Vincent Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29508) FollowedFollow-up verification requests mailed on the 30th day after the initial requests are premature and do not toll claim determination periods.
Cited by
- Total Family Chiropractic v Mercury Cas. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51470(U))The insurer obtained dismissal of a duplicate claim and removal of the notice of trial to pursue its fraudulent-procurement defense.
Similar decisions
- St. Vincent Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50444(U))Unanswered verification requests rendered seven claims premature, while separate-reimbursement denials raised factual issues on two others.
- St. Vincent Med. Care, P.C. v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50488(U))Unanswered verification requests kept eight claims premature despite a follow-up mailed before the full response period expired.
- Compas Med., P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50249(U))Seven provider claims were dismissed for IME nonappearance or unanswered verification; neither side established summary judgment on two others.
- Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50199(U))The insurer failed to establish timely denial of one claim or its fee schedule defense to another, requiring denial of dismissal as to both.
- Brooklyn Hgts. Physical Therapy, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 52398(U))Neither party established entitlement to summary judgment on the claims reviewed after reargument.