• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
August 13, 2010

Total Family Chiropractic v Mercury Cas. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51470(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/total-family-chiropractic-v-mercury-cas-co-2010-ny-slip-op-51470u/

Court
Appellate Term, Second Department
Decided
August 13, 2010
Citation
2010 NY Slip Op 51470(U) ยท 28 Misc 3d 138(A)
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Split result
Issues
Discovery and procedure Policy issues Verification requests
Cite as
Total Family Chiropractic v Mercury Cas. Co., 28 Misc 3d 138(A), 2010 NY Slip Op 51470(U) (App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2010)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The insurer obtained dismissal of a duplicate claim and removal of the notice of trial to pursue its fraudulent-procurement defense. The Appellate Term, Second Department, reversed, vacated the order, dismissed only the duplicate claim, denied the provider's summary judgment cross motion, struck the notice of trial, and remitted. Spreadsheets lacked an admissible foundation under CPLR 4518 (a) and did not prove timely verification requests. Fraudulent procurement remained available despite preclusion, and certified EUO transcripts supported discovery under CPLR 3101 (a). The notice was timely challenged under 22 NYCRR 208.17 (c). Dismissal of remaining claims and compelled appearances were denied; the assignors, who were not the provider's directors, members, or employees, had to be subpoenaed.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Total Family Chiropractic v Mercury Cas. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51470(U))

[*1]
Total Family Chiropractic v Mercury Cas. Co.
2010 NY Slip Op 51470(U) [28 Misc 3d 138(A)]
Decided on August 13, 2010
Appellate Term, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.


Decided on August 13, 2010
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

APPELLATE TERM: 2nd, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS

PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., GOLIA and RIOS, JJ
2009-1490 Q C.

Total Family Chiropractic/DR. BRIAN ROSS as Assignee of CRYSTAL FRANKLIN-BROWN and KAROY BROWN, Respondent,

against

Mercury Casualty Company, Appellant.


Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Leslie J. Purificacion, J.), entered February 13, 2009, deemed from a judgment of the same court entered June 8, 2009 (see CPLR 5501 [c]). The judgment, entered upon the February 13, 2009 order denying defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint or, in the alternative, to strike the notice of trial and compel plaintiff’s assignors to attend examinations before trial, and granting plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment, awarded plaintiff the principal sum of $3,142.48.


ORDERED that the judgment is reversed without costs, the order entered February 13, 2009 is vacated, the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary
judgment dismissing the complaint is granted to the extent of dismissing the complaint insofar as it sought to recover upon the claim form dated March 22, 2007 for services rendered to assignor Karoy Brown on February 7 and 9, 2007, the branch of defendant’s motion seeking to strike the notice of trial and to compel plaintiff’s assignors to attend examinations before trial is granted to the extent of striking the notice of trial, plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment is denied, and the matter is remitted to the Civil Court for all further proceedings.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, the Civil Court denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint or, in the alternative, to strike the notice of trial and compel plaintiff’s assignors to attend examinations before trial, and granted plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment. The instant appeal by defendant ensued. A judgment was subsequently entered, from which the appeal is deemed to be taken (see CPLR 5501 [c]).

Inasmuch as defendant raises no issue on appeal with respect to plaintiff’s prima facie case, we do not pass upon the propriety of the Civil Court’s determination with respect thereto.

Defendant argues that plaintiff failed to establish that it was entitled to summary judgment upon the claim form dated March 22, 2007 for services rendered to assignor Karoy Brown on February 7 and 9, 2007, as it was duplicative of the claim form plaintiff [*2]
submitted to defendant dated February 17, 2007, which sought payment for the same services. Upon a review of the record, we agree with defendant’s contention, and defendant is awarded summary judgment dismissing the complaint insofar as it sought to recover upon the claim form dated March 22, 2007 (see e.g. First Aid Occupational Therapy PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 27 Misc 3d 128[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 50594[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2010]).

In an attempt to establish that the time period in which it had to pay or deny the claims was tolled due to outstanding verification requests, defendant relied upon spreadsheets annexed to the affidavit of its claim representative. However, because the claim representative did not establish that the spreadsheets constituted evidence in admissible form (see CPLR 4518 [a]; People v Kennedy, 68 NY2d 569, 579-580 [1986]; Palisades Collection, LLC v Kedik, 67 AD3d 1329, 1330-1331 [2009]; Speirs v Not Fade Away Tie Dye Co., 236 AD2d 531 [1997]), defendant has not shown that it made timely verification requests.

While defendant has failed to demonstrate that it is not precluded from raising most defenses (see Presbyterian Hosp. in City of NY v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 282 [1997]), in any event, defendant is not precluded from raising the defense of fraudulent procurement of the insurance policy (see Matter of Insurance Co. of N. Am. v Kaplun, 274 AD2d 293 [2000]; A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Commercial Mut. Ins. Co., 12 Misc 3d 8 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]). The certified transcripts of plaintiff’s assignors’ examinations under oath, annexed to defendant’s motion papers, support defendant’s assertion that the assignors’ testimony at an examination before trial would be material and necessary to the defense of fraudulent procurement of an insurance policy (see CPLR 3101 [a]). Since plaintiff served the notice of trial two weeks after defendant served its answer and it is uncontroverted that defendant timely moved to vacate the notice of trial within 20 days of its receipt of same (see Uniform Rules for Civ Ct [22 NYCRR] § 208.17 [c]), the branch of defendant’s motion seeking to strike the notice of trial is granted. However, as plaintiff’s assignors are not directors, members or employees of plaintiff, defendant must subpoena them to compel their appearance at examinations before trial (see CPLR 3016 [b]; see also A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Inso Co., 14 Misc 3d 143[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 50384[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]).

Accordingly, the judgment is reversed, the order entered February 13, 2009 is vacated, the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted to the extent of dismissing the complaint insofar as it sought to recover upon the claim form dated March 22, 2007, the branch of defendant’s motion
seeking to strike the notice of trial and to compel plaintiff’s assignors to attend examinations before trial is granted to the extent of striking the notice of trial, plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment is denied, and the matter is remitted to the Civil Court for all further proceedings.

Pesce, P.J., Golia and Rios, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: August 13, 2010

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • First Aid Occupational Therapy, PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50594(U))The provider's claims failed in part for outstanding verification and duplicate billing, while separate reimbursement remained disputed.
  • A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Commercial Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26118) FollowedAn insurer may assert the insured's fraudulent policy procurement against a provider assignee despite the 30-day preclusion rule.
  • A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50384(U))The provider could not be compelled to produce the treating physician for deposition while the physician's employment status was unclear.

Similar decisions

  • Compas Med., P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50249(U))Seven provider claims were dismissed for IME nonappearance or unanswered verification; neither side established summary judgment on two others.
  • Clinton Place Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50963(U))The insurer proved its IME nonappearance defense for 13 claims but failed to establish timely denial of the fourteenth.
  • Compas Med., P.C. v Farm Family Cas. Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51704(U))The insurer lacked personal-knowledge proof of EUO nonappearance, while disputed billing receipt and deficient proof defeated the provider's motion.
  • K.O. Med., P.C. v Mercury Cas. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51614(U))A default declaratory judgment denying no-fault coverage barred the provider's action under res judicata.
  • BR Clinton Chiropractic, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50880(U))The insurer proved the IME no-show defense for four causes of action, but its mailing affidavit omitted the third cause of action.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.