August 31, 2012
W.H.O. Acupuncture, P.C. v Travelers Home & Mar. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51707(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/w-h-o-acupuncture-p-c-v-travelers-home-mar-ins-co-2012-ny-slipop-51707u/
- Decided
- August 31, 2012
- Citation
- 2012 NY Slip Op 51707(U) · 36 Misc 3d 152(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
- Later treatment
- Followed in 4 later decisions (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- Proof of mailing · No-show defense: insurer's proof (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at W.H.O. Acupuncture, P.C. v Travelers Home & Mar. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51707(U))
| W.H.O. Acupuncture, P.C. v Travelers Home & Mar. Ins. Co. |
| 2012 NY Slip Op 51707(U) [36 Misc 3d 152(A)] |
| Decided on August 31, 2012 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., RIOS and SOLOMON, JJ
2010-3338 Q C.
against
Travelers Home and Marine Ins. Co., Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Maureen A. Healy, J.), entered November 15, 2010. The order, insofar as appealed from as limited by the brief, granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. The appeal is deemed to be from a judgment of the same court entered December 16, 2010 dismissing the complaint (see CPLR 5501 [c]).
ORDERED that the judgment is reversed, without costs, so much of the order entered November 15, 2010 as granted the branches of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the complaint insofar as it sought to recover upon claims for $728.28, for dates of service July 21, 2008 through August 14, 2008, and $171.36, for dates of service August 20, 2008 through August 25, 2008, is vacated, and those branches of defendant’s motion are denied.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals, as limited by its brief, from so much of an order of the Civil Court entered November 15, 2010 as granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. The appeal is deemed to be from a judgment of the same court entered December 16, 2010 dismissing the complaint (see CPLR 5501 [c]).
Plaintiff brought this suit to recover upon three claims which defendant had denied based [*2]upon the assignor’s failure to appear for duly scheduled independent medical examinations (IMEs). Contrary to plaintiff’s argument on appeal, defendant established the mailing of the IME scheduling letters, by submitting an affidavit by an employee of the entity which had sent the letters, which affidavit sufficiently demonstrated that the IME scheduling letters had been mailed in accordance with that entity’s standard office practices and procedures (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]). Plaintiff’s argument that the assignor was not required to respond to those IME requests because they came from a third party lacks merit, as the letters “clearly apprised the assignor” that they “were being sent on defendant’s behalf” (Eagle Surgical Supply, Inc. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 27 Misc 3d 142[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 51057[U], *1 [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2010]). As plaintiff raises no other argument with respect to its claim for $171.36, for dates of service September 3 and 4, 2008, the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing this claim was properly granted.
However, defendant was not entitled to summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s claims for $728.28, for dates of service July 21, 2008 through August 14, 2008, and for $171.36, for dates of service August 20, 2008 through August 25, 2008, because, according to the proof submitted by defendant in support of its motion, the first IME had not been scheduled to be held within 30 days of defendant’s receipt of those claims, as required by Insurance Department Regulations (11 NYCRR) § 65-3.5 (d).
Accordingly, the judgment is reversed, so much of the order entered November 15, 2010 as granted the branches of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s claims for $728.28, for dates of service July 21, 2008 through August 14, 2008, and for $171.36, for dates of service August 20, 2008 through August 25, 2008, is vacated, and those branches of defendant’s motion are denied.
Pesce, P.J., Rios and Solomon, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: August 31, 2012
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Rejected the provider's challenge and held the sending entity's standard-practice affidavit sufficiently showed the IME scheduling letters were mailed.
Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 809 (this one included) are in the same category. 3 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer did not show its requests met the regulatory timing, follow-up or justification requirements (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the defense established for one claim, the letters properly mailed and from an agent acting for the insurer, but failed for two claims because the first IME was not scheduled within 30 days of receipt.
Of the 858 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 102 (this one included) are in the same category. 3 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345) FollowedAn insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- Eagle Surgical Supply, Inc. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51057(U)) FollowedEUO notices sent by retained counsel are not nullities when they identify the insurer's retention of counsel and are sent on its behalf.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- American Tr. Ins. Co. v Longevity Med. Supply, Inc. (2015 NY Slip Op 06761) FollowedAn insurer seeking summary judgment on an IME no-show must prove compliance with the 30-day period in 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (d).
- American Tr. Ins. Co. v Clark (2015 NY Slip Op 06759) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish that the assignor's IMEs were scheduled within the 30-day period required by 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (d).
- American Tr. Ins. Co. v Vance (2015 NY Slip Op 06762) FollowedThe insurer failed to show that the assignor's IMEs complied with the 30-day scheduling period under 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (d).
- Irina Acupuncture, P.C. v Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51461(U)) FollowedThe insurer's first IME was not scheduled to be held within 30 days of receipt of the claims, warranting judgment for the provider.
- Utopia Equip., Inc. v ELRAC, Inc. (2017 NY Slip Op 50949(U))IME notices from a third party adequately identified the claims processor, and the doctor's affirmation proved nonappearance.
- W.H.O. Acupuncture, P.C. v Kemper Independence Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 52046(U))The provider's third-party objection to IME requests failed because the letters clearly stated they were sent on the insurer's behalf.
Similar decisions
- W.H.O. Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50884(U))The provider's employee affidavit raised a factual issue about timely denial of the claim for services rendered August 2 through August 9, 2007.
- W.H.O. Acupuncture, P.C. v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52298(U))The insurer admitted mailing its denial after 30 days and failed to establish a verification toll, defeating summary judgment.
- W.H.O. Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Indem. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51900(U))The insurer's sworn IME report established a lack of medical necessity for the acupuncture services at issue.
- Eastern Star Acupuncture, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52205(U))The insurer's IME nonappearance defense was precluded for the claim its denial form instead denied based on an IME report.
- Brooklyn Hgts. Physical Therapy, P.C. v Liberty Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51712(U))The insurer's proof of timely IME notices and denials and the assignor's nonappearance raised a triable issue on six causes of action.