September 22, 2017
Compas Med., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51239(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/compas-med-p-c-v-american-tr-ins-co-2017-ny-slip-op-51239u/
- Decided
- September 22, 2017
- Citation
- 2017 NY Slip Op 51239(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Compas Med., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51239(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
American Transit Ins. Co., Respondent.
The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell, Esq.), for appellant. Law Office of Jason Tenenbaum, P.C. (Jason Tenenbaum, Esq.), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Richard G. Latin, J.), entered June 13, 2014. The order, insofar as appealed from and as limited by the brief, denied the branches of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment on the second through seventh causes of action and granted the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the third through seventh causes of action.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by providing that the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the third through seventh causes of action are denied; as so modified, the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved for summary judgment and defendant cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. Insofar as is relevant to this appeal, the Civil Court denied the branches of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment on the second through seventh causes of action and granted the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the third through seventh causes of action.
Contrary to plaintiff’s contention, the Civil Court correctly determined that there are triable issues of fact with respect to the second cause of action. With respect to the third through fifth causes of action, defendant made a prima facie showing that it had not received the [*2]requested verification, but plaintiff correctly argues that the affidavit it submitted in opposition to defendant’s motion was sufficient to give rise to a presumption that the requested verification had been mailed to, and received by, defendant (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]). In light of the foregoing, there is a triable issue of fact as to whether these causes of action are premature (see Compas Med., P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co., 49 Misc 3d 152[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 51776[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2015]).
With respect to the sixth and seventh causes of action, plaintiff correctly argues that defendant did not demonstrate, as a matter of law, that it had fully paid plaintiff for the services at issue in accordance with the workers’ compensation fee schedule. However, plaintiff failed to establish its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment on these causes of action, since the proof submitted by plaintiff failed to establish that the claims had not been timely denied (see Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 25 NY3d 498 [2015]), or that defendant had issued timely denial of claim forms with respect thereto that were conclusory, vague or without merit as a matter of law (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 78 AD3d 1168 [2010]; Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co., 32 Misc 3d 128[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 51292[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]).
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by providing that the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the third through seventh causes of action are denied.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: September 22, 2017
Legal questions (4)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Insufficient: claimant did not prove the claim was overdue (not paid or timely denied)
Held the provider failed to establish its prima facie case on the sixth and seventh causes of action because its proof did not show the claims were not timely denied or that the denials were conclusory, vague or meritless.
Of the 1,065 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 247 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The mailing proof (of either party) left only a triable issue of fact on whether or when the item was mailed or received
Held the provider's opposing affidavit raised a presumption that its verification responses were mailed and received, which, against the insurer's showing of non-receipt, left a triable issue on whether verification was received.
Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 103 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did unanswered verification requests make the provider’s claim premature, or justify denying it for nonresponse?
This decision: Fact issues remain on whether the verification defense applies
Held a triable issue existed on whether the third through fifth causes of action were premature because the provider's affidavit raised a presumption that the requested verification was mailed and received despite the insurer's non-receipt showing.
Of the 385 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 114 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove that the amount billed exceeded the applicable workers’ compensation fee schedule?
This decision: Insurer's proof did not establish the excess as a matter of law; question left for trial
Held the insurer did not demonstrate as a matter of law that it had fully paid the sixth and seventh causes of action under the workers' compensation fee schedule, so its cross motion on them was denied.
Of the 285 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 85 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Compas Med., P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51776(U)) FollowedThe provider raised a factual issue on verification, but the insurer proved IME nonappearance warranting dismissal of the remaining claims.
- Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 04787) FollowedA provider establishes entitlement to summary judgment on overdue no-fault claims with admissible proof of mailing and receipt of statutory claim forms.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 08933)The provider failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment because the insurer partially paid and denied the claim within 30 days.
- Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51292(U))The provider failed to establish summary judgment entitlement because nonpayment alone did not show an absent or legally insufficient denial.
Similar decisions
- Compas Med., P.C. v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51228(U))The insurer failed to establish a timely denial of the fourth claim but proved full fee-schedule payment of the first and fifth claims.
- Compas Med., P.C. v Farm Family Cas. Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51704(U))The insurer lacked personal-knowledge proof of EUO nonappearance, while disputed billing receipt and deficient proof defeated the provider's motion.
- Compas Med., P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51000(U))The insurer failed to establish its fraudulent-procurement defense, and the provider raised a factual issue about outstanding verification.
- Compas Med., P.C. v Hartford Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50784(U))The provider obtained summary judgment on the fourth, fifth and tenth causes of action because the insurer failed to deny those claims timely.
- Compas Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50307(U))The insurer failed to establish IME nonappearance, excessive fees, duplicate billing, or nonreceipt, and timely claim submission remained disputed.