June 3, 2021
State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Surgicore of Jersey City, LLC (2021 NY Slip Op 03536)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/state-farm-mut-auto-ins-co-v-surgicore-of-jersey-city-llc-2021-ny-slip-op03536/
- Decided
- June 3, 2021
- Citation
- 2021 NY Slip Op 03536 · 195 AD3d 454
- Posture
- Default or vacatur
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 5 later decisions (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- No covered accident (founded belief) · No-show defense: insurer's proof (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Surgicore of Jersey City, LLC (2021 NY Slip Op 03536)
| State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Surgicore of Jersey City, LLC |
| 2021 NY Slip Op 03536 [195 AD3d 454] |
| June 3, 2021 |
| Appellate Division, First Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
[*1]
| State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company,
Appellant, v Surgicore of Jersey City, LLC, et al., Defendants, and Wellmart RX, Inc., Respondent. |
Rivkin Radler LLP, Uniondale (Stuart M. Bodoff of counsel), for appellant.
Orders, Supreme Court, New York County (Barbara Jaffe, J.), entered December 18, 2019 and May 12, 2020, which, to the extent appealed from as limited by the briefs, denied plaintiff’s motion for a default judgment on its claims seeking a declaration of noncoverage against all defaulting defendants other than Keith Dumont and Steven Rob, unanimously reversed, on the law, with costs, the motion granted in its entirety and it is so declared.
In support of its motion for entry of a default judgment plaintiff submitted evidence of defendants’ defaults after proper service, as well as an affidavit of its no-faults claims representative sufficiently setting forth the basis for plaintiff’s claims seeking a declaration of noncoverage (see CPLR 3215 [f]; Woodson v Mendon Leasing Corp., 100 NY2d 62, 70-71 [2003]). The claim representative’s affidavit set forth the factual basis for plaintiff’s belief that the accident was not a covered event because the loss was intentionally caused and the injuries purportedly sustained by the claimants in connection with the June 1, 2018 accident therefore did not arise from an insured event. By failing to answer, the defaulting defendants are “deemed to have admitted” the allegations in the complaint, including that the accident was intentional and staged (Al Fayed v Barak, 39 AD3d 371, 372 [1st Dept 2007] [internal quotation marks and brackets omitted]). The claims representative’s affidavit, as well as red flags raised by defendant Walton’s testimony at her EUO, support plaintiff’s belief. In addition, on reargument, plaintiff submitted an arbitration award in which the Arbitrator found that plaintiff had demonstrated by a preponderance of the evidence that it had a founded belief that the subject accident was not a covered event, because it was a deliberate event in furtherance of an insurance fraud scheme. As a result, plaintiff is entitled to a declaration that it is not obligated to defend or indemnify Jhoie Bradford, the owner of the insured vehicle, or Walton, the driver, or to provide no-fault coverage to any of the claimants in connection with the June 1, 2018 accident.
As to claimant Ronald Marcellus, plaintiff additionally provided sufficient proof that he failed to appear for an examination under oath (EUO) despite receiving proper notice, which vitiates the policy (see Hertz Corp. v Active Care Med. Supply Corp., 124 AD3d 411 [1st Dept 2015]). Generally, an insurer must provide proof that the EUO requests were timely mailed, within 15 business days of receipt of the prescribed verification forms, in compliance with 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 in order to obtain a default declaratory judgment (see e.g. Hertz Vehicles, LLC v Best Touch PT, P.C., 162 AD3d 617, 617-618 [1st Dept 2018]). However, that requirement does not apply where, as here, the EUOs are scheduled prior to the insurance company’s receipt of a claim form (see Mapfre Ins. Co. of N.Y. v Manoo, 140 AD3d 468, 469 [1st Dept 2016]; see also [*2]Hereford Ins. Co. v Lida’s Med. Supply, Inc., 161 AD3d 442, 443 [1st Dept 2018]). Since Marcellus failed to appear on two or more occasions and the EUO requests were sent prior to plaintiff’s receipt of a claim form, plaintiff did not need to demonstrate compliance for the verification requests under 11 NYCRR 65-3.5. Concur—Manzanet-Daniels, J.P., Kapnick, Mazzarelli, Oing, JJ.
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer show the claimed injuries did not arise from a covered accident (staged, intentional, or unrelated)?
This decision: Insurer proved the injuries did not arise from a covered accident
Granted a default declaration of noncoverage because the claims representative's affidavit and EUO red flags set out the factual basis for the founded belief that the accident was intentional and staged.
Of the 29 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 14 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer proved mailed, compliant requests and the nonappearance; claimant's answers rejected (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer sufficiently proved one claimant missed two EUOs despite proper notice, and need not show 65-3.5 compliance because the EUOs were scheduled before any claim form was received.
Of the 163 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 92 (this one included) are in the same category. 2 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Hertz Corp. v Active Care Med. Supply Corp. (2015 NY Slip Op 00212) FollowedA provider's failure to attend EUOs violates a condition precedent to no-fault coverage and vitiates the policy.
- Hertz Vehicles, LLC v Best Touch PT, P.C. (2018 NY Slip Op 04854)The insurer failed to prove timely EUO requests for default relief against providers but established one claimant's failure to sign an EUO. The motion omitted receipt dates for the providers' verification forms and another claimant's application, preventing assessment of the 15-business-day deadline under 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (a) and (b).
- Mapfre Ins. Co. of N.Y. v Manoo (2016 NY Slip Op 04446) FollowedEUO requests made before receipt of a claim form are not subject to the verification notice requirements of 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 and 65-3.6.
- Hereford Ins. Co. v Lida’s Med. Supply, Inc. (2018 NY Slip Op 03226)The insurer's scheduling letters, service affidavits, and medical professionals' affidavits established the claimants' IME nonappearances.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. v AA Acupuncture Serv., P.C. (2023 NY Slip Op 03562) FollowedThe insurer established viable default claims for noncoverage based on an intentional or staged collision and a claimant's EUO nonappearance.
- Unitrin Safeguard Ins. Co. v Manuel (2025 NY Slip Op 01727) FollowedThe insurer established a founded belief that the claimants' injuries did not arise from the reported accident.
- State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. v Axial Chiropractic, P.C. (2022 NY Slip Op 03487) FollowedThe insurer established grounds for a default declaration of noncoverage based on an intentional or staged collision and EUO nonappearances.
- State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Equinox Physical Therapy, P.C. (2024 NY Slip Op 05193) FollowedEUO notices mailed before receipt of the providers' no-fault verification forms are not subject to the 15-day period in 11 NYCRR 65-3.5.
- State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v All City Family Healthcare Ctr., Inc. (2022 NY Slip Op 04142) FollowedThe 15-business-day period for requesting EUOs runs from receipt of verification forms, rather than the NF-2 application.
- MSB Physical Therapy, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. (2022 NY Slip Op 50564(U))An insurer need not prove that its first EUO scheduling letter was sent within 15 days of receiving an NF-2 or another provider's claim.
- Columbus Imaging Ctr., LLC v Erie Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2022 NY Slip Op 50569(U))An insurer need not prove that its first IME scheduling letter was sent within 15 days of receiving an NF-2 or another provider's claim.
Similar decisions
- State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v AK Global Supply Corp. (2022 NY Slip Op 01890)The insurer established EUO nonappearance and a founded belief of noncovered injuries, but defective service limited default relief.
- Progressive Advanced Ins. Co. v McAdam (2016 NY Slip Op 03484)The insurer failed to establish staged collisions or proper mailing of EUO requests through admissible proof.
- State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. v Soliman (2023 NY Slip Op 01949)The 15-business-day period for requesting EUOs begins upon receipt of the prescribed NF-3 verification forms, rather than the NF-2 application.
- Hertz Vehs., LLC v Ace Med Supplies Inc. (2025 NY Slip Op 51959(U))A staged-accident coverage defense is not precluded by untimely denial.
- Nationwide Gen. Ins. Co. v South (2024 NY Slip Op 00028)The insurers established a founded belief that the collision was not covered and, independently, the claimants' EUO nonappearance.