December 9, 2022
Ezra Supply, Inc. v Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. (2022 NY Slip Op 22383)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/ezra-supply-inc-v-nationwide-affinity-ins-co-of-am-2022-ny-slip-op-22383/
- Decided
- December 9, 2022
- Citation
- 2022 NY Slip Op 22383 · 77 Misc 3d 15
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- No-show: coverage defense or precludable? (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Ezra Supply, Inc. v Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. (2022 NY Slip Op 22383)
| Ezra Supply, Inc. v Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. |
| 2022 NY Slip Op 22383 [77 Misc 3d 15] |
| Accepted for Miscellaneous Reports Publication |
| Supreme Court, Appellate Term, Second Department, 2d, 11th and 13th Judicial Districts |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| As corrected through Wednesday, March 1, 2023 |
[*1]
| Ezra Supply, Inc., as Assignee of Samira Bowens, Respondent, v Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of America, Appellant. |
Supreme Court, Appellate Term, Second Department, 2d, 11th and 13th Judicial Districts, December 9, 2022
APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL
Hollander Legal Group, P.C. (Allan S. Hollander and Jennifer B. Ettenger of counsel) for appellant.
Kopelevich & Feldsherova, P.C. (David Landfair of counsel) for respondent.
{**77 Misc 3d at 16} OPINION OF THE COURT
Ordered that the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals from so much of an order of the Civil Court as denied defendant’s motion which had sought summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear for duly scheduled examinations under oath (EUOs).
Contrary to defendant’s contention on appeal, defendant’s motion failed to establish that defendant had timely denied plaintiff’s claims after plaintiff’s assignor failed to appear at both an initial and a follow-up EUO (see Island Life Chiropractic Pain Care, PLLC v 21st Century Ins. Co., 74 Misc 3d 17 [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2021]; Quality Health Supply Corp. v Nationwide Ins., 69 Misc 3d 133[A], 2020 NY Slip Op 51226[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2020]). Upon receipt of the claim forms at issue on March 18, [*2]2018, the first EUO was scheduled, by letter sent to assignor’s counsel on March 26, 2018, for April 9, 2018. Neither the assignor nor her counsel appeared on April 9, 2018. On April 12, 2018, defendant sent a letter scheduling the “final date” for the EUO for May 8, 2018. Neither the assignor nor her counsel appeared on May 8, 2018. On May 10, 2018, defendant sent a letter scheduling an EUO for June 6, 2018. The assignor did not appear, but apparently on that day, defendant received a call from the assignor’s counsel, asking for the EUO to be scheduled for June 13, 2018. On June 7, 2018, defendant sent a letter scheduling an EUO for June 13, 2018. On June{**77 Misc 3d at 17} 13, 2018, the assignor again did not appear. For each of these four scheduled dates, defendant’s counsel put a statement on the record documenting the nonappearance. On June 23, 2018, defendant issued a denial of the relevant claims, which denial states, “The claimant failed to attend an [EUO] scheduled on 4/9/18, 5/8/18, 6/6/18 and 6/13/18, which is a breach of the above policy condition . . . .” Defendant argues on appeal that this denial was timely because it was issued within 30 days of the June 13, 2018 failure to appear.
A no-fault claim must be paid or denied “within 30 calendar days after the insurer receives proof of claim” (11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [a] [1]; see e.g. New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 31 AD3d 512 [2006]), which period may be tolled by timely and proper requests for verification, including an EUO request. Here, defendant properly commenced a toll of its time to pay or deny these claims by sending an EUO scheduling letter within 15 business days of its receipt of the claim forms (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [b]).[FN*] Defendant also properly continued the toll by sending a follow-up letter within 10 days of the April 9, 2018 failure to appear, giving the assignor a second opportunity to provide the requested EUO on May 8, 2018 (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 [b]). The assignor did not appear on May 8, 2018. As we have held before,
“[w]here, as here, no other verification request is outstanding, the 30-day period for an insurer to pay or deny a claim (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [a] [1]) based upon a failure to appear for an EUO begins to run on the date of the second EUO nonappearance, when an insurer is permitted to conclude that there was a failure to comply with a condition precedent to coverage” (Quality Health Supply Corp. v Nationwide Ins., 69 Misc 3d 133[A], 2020 NY Slip Op 51226[U], *1-2 [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2020] [citation omitted][*3][Quality]).
In view of the foregoing, once the assignor failed to appear on{**77 Misc 3d at 18} May 8, 2018, defendant’s 30-day time period to pay or deny the claims at issue began to run, making defendant’s deadline to pay or deny those claims June 7, 2018.
In spite of the rule set forth in Quality, defendant argues that its June 23, 2018 denial was timely. Defendant notes that, under the no-fault regulations, insurers are not to treat their insureds in an adversarial fashion (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.2 [b]). Defendant asserts that it was acting in good faith in scheduling a third EUO due to confusion as to the date of the first EUO and that the fourth EUO was scheduled at the request of the assignor’s counsel. Thus, defendant contends, the facts herein are distinguishable from Quality. In any event, defendant argues, it should not be limited to offering a claimant only two opportunities to appear for an EUO.
While we agree that there is nothing in the no-fault regulations preventing an insurer from offering a claimant more than two opportunities to appear for an EUO, that issue is distinct from whether an insurer has properly continued a toll of its time to pay or deny a particular claim (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 [b]). For example, had the assignor appeared on June 6, 2018, the third scheduled date, or June 13, 2018, the fourth scheduled date, defendant could have properly conducted the EUO. However, the toll of defendant’s time to pay or deny the claims at issue ended on May 8, 2018, when the assignor failed to appear for the second scheduled EUO, and any denial based upon a precludable defense—like the defense that the assignor failed to appear for duly scheduled EUOs—would have had to have been issued by June 7, 2018, in order to be timely.
Neither the May 10, 2018 letter scheduling the EUO for June 6, 2018, nor the June 7, 2018 letter scheduling the EUO for June 13, 2018, continued the toll because the no-fault regulations only contemplate one follow-up request for verification (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 [b]) and that follow-up request was made on April 12, 2018, in a letter that scheduled a “final date” for the EUO for May 8, 2018. Once the assignor’s second and “final” opportunity to appear for an EUO was scheduled for May 8, 2018, to further toll defendant’s time to pay or deny the claims past June 7, 2018, the parties could have rescheduled that examination for a later date (see Progressive Health Chiropractic, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 55 Misc 3d 142[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 50603[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 9th & 10th Jud Dists 2017]; Five Boro Psychological Servs., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 41 Misc 3d 140[A], 2013 NY Slip Op 52005[U] [App{**77 Misc 3d at 19} Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2013]; see also Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. v George, 183 AD3d 755 [2020]). However, rather than claiming that there was a rescheduling of a scheduled EUO that would have continued the toll past June 7, 2018, defendant clearly treated each of the four scheduled EUOs as a nonappearance, choosing to deny the claim after the fourth one. The no-fault regulations do not permit an insurer to indefinitely extend the toll to pay or deny a claim beyond a second nonappearance by scheduling successive additional EUOs and then arbitrarily choosing when to end its toll.
As defendant has not demonstrated that its June 23, 2018 denial was timely, it has not established that it is not precluded from raising the assignor’s nonappearance at duly scheduled EUOs as a defense (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co., 60 AD3d 1045 [2009]). [*4]Thus, its motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint was properly denied.
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed.
Aliotta, P.J., Weston and Buggs, JJ., concur.
Footnotes
Footnote *:Indeed, here defendant had initially sent a letter on March 12, 2018, prior to receiving the claims at issue, which letter scheduled an EUO for April 8, 2018. Upon realizing that April 8, 2018, was a Sunday, defendant sent the March 26, 2018 letter changing the date of the EUO to April 9, 2018. It is noted that the March 12, 2018 pre-claim EUO scheduling letter was also sufficient to commence a toll for the bills subsequently received on March 18, 2018 (see ARCO Med. N.Y., P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co., 34 Misc 3d 134[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 52382[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]).
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?
This decision: No-show defense is subject to preclusion and fails for want of a timely, proper denial
Held the insurer had not shown it was not precluded from its EUO no-show defense because the toll ended at the second nonappearance, later EUO letters did not extend it, and the denial issued after the 30-day deadline.
Of the 500 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 162 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Island Life Chiropractic Pain Care, PLLC v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 21340)An untimely EUO no-show denial of one claim does not waive the defense against later claims that are individually timely denied.
- Quality Health Supply Corp. v Nationwide Ins. (2020 NY Slip Op 51226(U)) FollowedThe 30-day pay-or-deny period for EUO nonappearance begins with the second missed EUO when no other verification is outstanding.
- New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 05602)The insurer proved a timely denial but failed to establish that the provider's treatment was unrelated to the accident.
- Progressive Health Chiropractic, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 50603(U))The insurer failed to prove two IME nonappearances on one claim, and conflicting mailing evidence precluded summary judgment on another.
- Five Boro Psychological Servs., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 52005(U))An EUO rescheduled by mutual agreement before its scheduled date does not constitute a failure to appear.
- Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. v George (2020 NY Slip Op 02801)The insurer proved timely EUO notices, two nonappearances by each assignor, and timely denials; the providers raised no factual issue.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 02589) FollowedThe insurer's investigation letters did not toll the 30-day period to pay or deny the provider's claim.
- ARCO Med. N.Y., P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52382(U))A follow-up EUO request is not premature when sent within 10 days after failure to appear for the initial scheduled examination.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Allstate Chiropractic, P.C. v Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. (2023 NY Slip Op 50299(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish timely denials because scheduling another EUO did not extend the deadline after the second nonappearance.
- MSB Physical Therapy, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. (2022 NY Slip Op 51378(U))The insurer failed to establish timely denial after the provider's second EUO nonappearance or raise a triable issue on that defense.
- MSB Physical Therapy v Nationwide Ins. (2022 NY Slip Op 51381(U))The insurer failed to establish timely denial after alleged EUO nonappearances, and the provider failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment.
Similar decisions
- FJL Med. Servs., P.C. v Nationwide Ins. (2022 NY Slip Op 51213(U))An insurer cannot extend the claim determination toll after a second EUO nonappearance by unilaterally scheduling further EUOs. The insurer recorded four provider nonappearances and denied the claim more than 30 days after the second.
- Z.M.S. & Y. Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Gen. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 27189)The insurer's one-day delay in sending a follow-up EUO request did not excuse the provider's four nonappearances on this record.
- MLG Med. P.C. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2023 NY Slip Op 23199)The insurer's denial after the assignor's fourth EUO nonappearance was timely despite issuance more than 30 days after the second.
- Lender Med. Supply, Inc. v Hartford Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50903(U))An insurer's consent to adjourn an EUO prevents it from counting nonappearance on that date as a no-show.
- Sure Way NY, Inc. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 26413)An insurer has 15 business days to request a provider's EUO when new information from the assignor's EUO warrants it.